LV - Liverpool Victoria Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 79 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

LV - Liverpool Victoria home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did LV - Liverpool Victoria handle your home insurance claim? Our LV - Liverpool Victoria home insurance reviews can help you to find out...

READ MORE

LV - Liverpool Victoria home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did LV - Liverpool Victoria handle your home insurance claim? Our LV - Liverpool Victoria home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with LV - Liverpool Victoria? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Home Insurance Reviews

79 reviews

Review LV - Liverpool Victoria's Home Insurance now

Awful experience with LV - please avoid

Haven’t been able to claim for a leaking pipe despite it causing damage - it might be worth asking LV what they do actually insure as it doesn’t seem to be for the service you’d expect from a home insurance policy. Absolute rubbish. Was originally told we Read more

Haven’t been able to claim for a leaking pipe despite it causing damage - it might be worth asking LV what they do actually insure as it doesn’t seem to be for the service you’d expect from a home insurance policy. Absolute rubbish. Was originally told we’d be covered now we’re going to have to find thousands of pounds to fix the issue. I would definitely not recommend this company.

Reviewed on 26th August 2022
Becky's avatar
Becky

Good until you have a claim

Not a good company to be with. Everything is alright until you have to claim something with them.

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous

Will not pay you out and will do their best to avoid refunding too

Absolutely awful, insured my wedding ring and engagement ring, spoke to them over the phone regarding the policy and took it out online to get my quidco cashback,I had a plus policy. My rings sadly have been stolen which has been extremely distressing and Read more

Absolutely awful, insured my wedding ring and engagement ring, spoke to them over the phone regarding the policy and took it out online to get my quidco cashback,I had a plus policy. My rings sadly have been stolen which has been extremely distressing and now they have come back to say they are voiding my policy as the rings are worth more than my policy cover, even though I am only asking for what they were insured for I do not wish to have more money for them just what I paid the policy for. Be very wary. When I asked them to trace the phone call they are saying they can't find a record and whats more is if I rang off a withheld number they would never be able to find the call as its through phone numbers not account information which is insanity. Appalled at their service, now they are stating that they will more than likely not refund me for my policy either, I just find it disgusting and will be taking this to the ombudsman.

Reviewed on 14th July 2022
natasha reynolds's avatar
natasha reynolds

VERY HELPFUL

Phoned the otherday about a pension withdrawel , after speaking to Elliot Webb he explained the circumstace, the problem was from my investment firm PORTAFINA , we went throught a few things and he managed to sort the problem so that I can get payed Midwe Read more

Phoned the otherday about a pension withdrawel , after speaking to Elliot Webb he explained the circumstace, the problem was from my investment firm PORTAFINA , we went throught a few things and he managed to sort the problem so that I can get payed Midweek, nothing was to much trouble and I appologise for being angery at the start put after he explained i have nothing but praise for him

Reviewed on 9th July 2022
bob gaunt's avatar
bob gaunt

A nightmare

I had some water damage and LV referred it to Refurbishment UK, to whom they had given delegated authority to approve the claim. It took them three weeks to tell me it wasn’t covered in spite of initially being told it was covered. LV just passed the buck Read more

I had some water damage and LV referred it to Refurbishment UK, to whom they had given delegated authority to approve the claim. It took them three weeks to tell me it wasn’t covered in spite of initially being told it was covered. LV just passed the buck and didn’t want to know. Shameful! Needless to say, I won’t be renewing.

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
Pete Hrekow's avatar
Pete Hrekow

Disappointed

Our cats damaged three carpets, so we made a claim. We didn’t want to replace with carpet because it will only happen again. It cost us £250 excess, and now we have exactly £542 to replace carpets in two rooms and on the landing with lino. We’re only g Read more

Our cats damaged three carpets, so we made a claim. We didn’t want to replace with carpet because it will only happen again. It cost us £250 excess, and now we have exactly £542 to replace carpets in two rooms and on the landing with lino. We’re only going to be about £800 short and I suspect they will load our policy next year. I’m sure other companies are the same, but two carpets were only a few months old. I’m not impressed, and all because we don’t want to replace with like-for-like (and claim again inside a year).

Reviewed on 22nd May 2022
DebH's avatar
DebH

Same old insurance story

LV covers my household insurance. I had a leak from the skylight into the kitchen but because this happened ‘over a period of time’ as opposed to a one off event ( not true - It was a number of one off events) I was told i was not covered. I have had to Read more

LV covers my household insurance. I had a leak from the skylight into the kitchen but because this happened ‘over a period of time’ as opposed to a one off event ( not true - It was a number of one off events) I was told i was not covered. I have had to pay for my ceiling to be repainted the skylight to be mended the leak to be blocked & the decking that was above it to be replaced because it had rotted due to the leak. I thought LV was different and trusted them – it turns out that, as usual, you pay the premiums and they refuse to pay out on your policy when you need them. Always finding a way to squirm out of paying out. I have cancelled my polucy.

Reviewed on 20th May 2022
Emma Henderson's avatar
Emma Henderson

Poor customer service experienced

After receiving a renewal letter for my home insurance I noticed that some of the details were incorrect. I phoned LV to be kept on hold for a considerable amount of time whilst the member of staff tried to get some advice. When he finally came back to me Read more

After receiving a renewal letter for my home insurance I noticed that some of the details were incorrect. I phoned LV to be kept on hold for a considerable amount of time whilst the member of staff tried to get some advice. When he finally came back to me he said they were cancelling my policy from that moment. No care, support or advice given, despite the fact they could hear I was very shocked. I have been a valued customer for many years and felt very badly treated!

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
gilcatherine's avatar
gilcatherine

If I could give you zero I would

My advice would be never go near this company. My parents are both nearly 80 and are in poor health found this out the hard way. A Leaking upstairs toilet, through to the ceiling. Several people came with different views, parents were given the option of Read more

My advice would be never go near this company. My parents are both nearly 80 and are in poor health found this out the hard way. A Leaking upstairs toilet, through to the ceiling. Several people came with different views, parents were given the option of paying for the bathroom tiles to be changed which would of cost them their £500 excess and a 50% contribution, the area is under 1 ms and they had 33 SPARE yes spare tiles so they said no, because they couldn’t afford it, LV agreed that the area could be re-tiled using existing tiles and the spares. First the kitchen ceiling was coated, not repaired. Next the toilet was removed, a new cistern fitted, original was slim line and whilst old was of good quality, what went back was neither, the toilet now being 9” further into the room, this left enough room for Dad to walk sideways with his sticks between the sink and toilet, LV agreed to change the cistern back to a slim line, the toilet had now been fitted at an angle, laughable if my mom wasnt stood there crying and saying sorry. 2 weeks then Gelder supervisor finally visited and said “I know it looks bad but it’s only 10mm” refitted and again another day of disruption, keep in mind my parents are nearly 80, Dad has terminal cancer and mom suffers with nerves.
Again I visited on the weekend, next was tiling, pieces of cardboard from toilet role and pizza box’s had been used as spacers, none of the joints matched, the tiles were kicked out at the tops, sides, bottoms and gaps were between 2mm and 10mm, the tiles appeared to have been cut with a bread knife and the tile edges were snapped and the corners not even 45 degree joints, Gelder supervisor came out and said “I know it’s not his best work, but it might hide it when it’s grouted” he finally agreed to send round his tiler to redo the job, when I asked who the hell had done this then if it wasn’t his tiler he told me it was the plumber as the tiler was busy. A few days later, Gino a great guy came to look at it, called the Gelder group office and said it was the worst tiling job he had seen in 30 years, he then asked them to find out where the plumber had put the 33 spare tiles to which the reply “he errr used them all” he fought our corner for us for an hour with Gelder group, explained that this could not be redone and the standard was appalling. Gelder promptly passed it back to LV to deal with, after weeks of ignored emails finally insisted on sending a company round called “Magic Man” who could repair broken tiles and rebuild tiles that were cut short, they had ever confidence “we would hardly notice" The results:“no chance at all, never seen a job that bad and I’ve seen a few, who’s done that?" We were then offered a compromise,“how about we get some white tiles and make a feature out of that part of the wall?”the next compromise was “we noticed you had spare kitchen tiles, can we use those, I know the colour and size is different but if we mix them in it will look ok” we insisted on a retiling . We now choose our own contractor, LV agreed, they offered was £2100 for everything, this includes putting the leaking toilet right (still leaking a year on) replacing the floor, replastering and new tiles, the bathroom has to come out for tiling, shower, radiator, toilet, sink
We had two quotes from bathroom fitters, around £4,500.
For months now LV have delayed making a final decision on paying out, full of sympathy but it’s going from person to person, dept to dept.
“there were mistakes on both parts”, my parents mistake being they couldn’t make up their minds quickly, partly because they are old and partly because that many different people came that told them different things they got confused to hell, the other mistake according to LV was my parents didn’t want to pay the excess or 50% contribution because of upheaval and finances, of course they wouldn’t?? Who would when you have a 1ms area and 33 spare tiles!!
An unfortunate case of “their old, don’t worry about it”
Think about this story before you take out a policy with this company.

Reviewed on 15th February 2022
Matt C's avatar
Matt C

Best home insurance we have had

Great customer service when making a claim. Excellent at restoring contents and property with great tradesmen.

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
WendyS 's avatar
WendyS

HIUGE PRICE INCREASE NO EXPLANATION

Had a 20% price uplift, no claims and no explanation, despite numerous contacts who promised a response that never came. Used to be a caring company but management changes give me the strong impression that they are living off a old reputation.

Reviewed on 30th September 2021
Peter Gittings's avatar
Peter Gittings

Terrible Communication

I initially went with LV because it had good reviews and a reasonable quote. Unfortunately I had water leak, the first call I had was really good and positive. I was put in contact with a Company LV use to carry out repairs. They came around and did a det Read more

I initially went with LV because it had good reviews and a reasonable quote. Unfortunately I had water leak, the first call I had was really good and positive. I was put in contact with a Company LV use to carry out repairs. They came around and did a detailed inspection and could not pin point the exact problem. Now that was on around 15 October 2020, They took sample out of my wall and left. Fast foreword until 19 Nov 2020, I have tried and tried to get them to let know what was happening, assured a phone call back nothing. I managed to get hold of someone who was helpful and he explained there was a letter in the post. I got him to Email me the letter and to my astonishment I have basically be accused of fraud. I had a leak nearly 3 years ago and now they want me to produce receipts and quotes for the work that was carried out. I wrote back explaining that I have not got any but told them to look at the last time I had a leak it was different part of the house. I am now waiting for a reply but the way they have been so far with communication I doubt that I will hear back. It looks like I will have to go to the Ombudsman. I have never in all my years been so angry, i have been left with an unusable bathroom and bedroom.

Reviewed on 19th November 2020
Rob's avatar
Rob

Despite slogan they have no heart

We had our house insurance through Legal and General which was taken over by LV in January 20. In June we contacted L&G as we were concerned about possible subsidence to our home. After a very lengthy time scale due to a difference of opinion between L&G' Read more

We had our house insurance through Legal and General which was taken over by LV in January 20. In June we contacted L&G as we were concerned about possible subsidence to our home. After a very lengthy time scale due to a difference of opinion between L&G's subsidence team, who, after 3 attempts finally agreed to send a structural engineer out, but sent a surveyor round instead, and our own independent structural engineer as recommended by our builder we were informed that whether it was subsidence or settlement made no difference and we were not covered.

As such, at a time when so many people are struggling financially due to Coronavirus, and at a time when lots of people are having issues with their mental health and emotional well being, we have been hit with a bill of thousands of pounds for an issue in our house that we were completely unaware of when we moved in, despite having a survey done. And an issue which is 100% not our fault. I am disgusted that we are not covered. And that L&G's policy makes the wording in their policy so ambiguous. We were certainly not aware that something so important and expensive is deliberately left out of policies and the insurance company do not make this clear for their customers. LV have the slogan 'It's our heart that sets us apart' I find this highly ironic. They are like any other insurance company. They have no heart!

Reviewed on 28th September 2020
J Hutchinson 's avatar
J Hutchinson

No quibble service

Always helpful when in need of making a claim

Reviewed on 16th September 2020
Joe loftus's avatar
Joe loftus

excellent insurance

excellent insurance offering very good value ,best prices

Reviewed on 11th September 2020
James Irwin's avatar
James Irwin

Lovely Company to Deal With

Their customer service is second to none. Prompt settlement and reasonable premiums. I wouldn't want to go elsewhere.

Reviewed on 10th September 2020
Mike Peach's avatar
Mike Peach

Great value

Saved £100 on my renewal. Great service

Reviewed on 16th July 2020
Letty Baker's avatar
Letty Baker

Great

Great value for money Easy to purchase

Reviewed on 27th June 2020
Gary Chauntry's avatar
Gary Chauntry

House Insurance and more!

I have been with LV for house insurance in the past but recently I had to change my motorbike insurance and LV were the only company prepared to give me a realistic price on my premium! So once my house insurance was up for renewal I contacted them and th Read more

I have been with LV for house insurance in the past but recently I had to change my motorbike insurance and LV were the only company prepared to give me a realistic price on my premium! So once my house insurance was up for renewal I contacted them and the service I received was second to none. The process was easy and the customer support that I have experienced has been professional, friendly and efficient. Not to mention that the price I was given for my house insurance premium was great aswell!

Thankyou LV again I really wouldn’t be able to have the bike I wanted without you. I hope I am able to insure all my household with you in the future.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewed on 24th June 2020
Calum 's avatar
Calum

mouse infestation

i had a mouse infestation. Over 2 weeks i had 10 burst water pipes chewed by mice i had pipes repaired by british gas insurance. I rand lv to deal with water damage .They said did it happen on same day . No over 2 weeks oh so your xs is £350 so time 10 Read more

i had a mouse infestation. Over 2 weeks i had 10 burst water pipes chewed by mice i had pipes repaired by british gas insurance. I rand lv to deal with water damage .They said did it happen
on same day . No over 2 weeks oh so your xs is £350 so time 10 your xs for repair is £3500 what a great deal

Reviewed on 6th December 2019
Denis Edwards's avatar
Denis Edwards