Sainsburys Bank Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 48 reviews       Last review 6 days ago    

Sainsburys Bank home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Sainsburys Bank handle your home insurance claim? Our Sainsburys Bank home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you...

READ MORE

Sainsburys Bank home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Sainsburys Bank handle your home insurance claim? Our Sainsburys Bank home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Sainsburys Bank? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Home Insurance Reviews

48 reviews

Review Sainsburys Bank's Home Insurance now

Avoid avoid avoid

They have made my life a nightmare. Gave me anxiety and they mis-interpreted the information i gave them and turned everything against me to suit them. Preparing ombudsman complaint now.

Reviewed on 25th November 2022
Katrina's avatar
Katrina

First make your judgement based upon the reviews

Though you are able to cancell a policy within the 14 days of the cooling off period there is a an admin charge of £20 deducted from the return of premium. Not all companies make such a charge. Best to research & do your home work first to avoid this exp Read more

Though you are able to cancell a policy within the 14 days of the cooling off period there is a an admin charge of £20 deducted from the return of premium. Not all companies make such a charge. Best to research & do your home work first to avoid this expensive mistake

Reviewed on 27th October 2022
Malcolm McNeill's avatar
Malcolm McNeill

100 % hike in home insurance

Booked our home insurance last year At a reasonable price. NO. CLAIMS. This year they want double with no explanation . Goodbye Sainsburys !

Reviewed on 22nd September 2022
Chris Pratt's avatar
Chris Pratt

Absolutely Disgraceful

I am absolutely disgusted with Sainsbury's. I contacted customer service, if that’s what you can even call it!! Due to me being very poorly I missed a direct debit payment, I spoke to them 4 times in a day. I asked if they could possibly wait one week for Read more

I am absolutely disgusted with Sainsbury's. I contacted customer service, if that’s what you can even call it!! Due to me being very poorly I missed a direct debit payment, I spoke to them 4 times in a day. I asked if they could possibly wait one week for my payment. They had even sent me a text message saying that if you are experiencing difficulty to call them and they will help and sort out a payment plan or add the payment onto the next monthly payments. I asked the girl on the phone who she had spoken to to ask if they could help? Did she speak to someone on Teams? Her reply was “it’s none of your business!” Excuse me, I am the customer here, she kept over talking me and was extremely rude. Sainsbury's have not treated me fairly at all! They are cancelling my policy and I have even advised them of my circumstances. I asked to speak to a manager, the girl said well you can’t! I raised a complaint and I was told well it won’t be any good because you won’t get a reply for eight weeks and your policy will be cancelled today. Please do not take out a policy with Sainsbury’s. They do not have any customer care whatsoever! I came off the telephone and I was in tears from the way I had been treated and spoken too.

Reviewed on 24th August 2022
Jeff Tally's avatar
Jeff Tally

18 months for my claim.ti be settled for TV acc dage

I sufder from mentle health and took home insurence with Saunsbury trusting a house hold name My wife fell whilst changing a spot light bulb and the ladder hit my plaama.and dammaged the screen When i made a claim sainsbury passed me.over to LV ins Read more

I sufder from mentle health and took home insurence with Saunsbury trusting a house hold name

My wife fell whilst changing a spot light bulb and the ladder hit my plaama.and dammaged the screen

When i made a claim sainsbury passed me.over to LV insurance and have washed there hands wih it after then.

Lv have given me the run around being pushed from pilar to post making ever excuse under the sun.

i am Indian decent the reason a state his is to not judge the department dealing with it know it has been sent out to india to be dealt wih and have not heard from them in 8 months i have emailed them and LV again and again and 18months on sill no response.

SAI SBURY ARE CLEATLY ACTING AND JUST USING THER NAME TO EATN COMMISSION.

As stated i suffer with mentle healh and not having a tv for 18months is very hard

Reviewed on 31st July 2022
Nico 's avatar
Nico

How do you prevent renewal?

I cannot stop these crooks renewing. The renewal premium is £150 more than the market average, and I want to go elsewhere. But it seems impossible to do this in my on-line account, and of course if I call their phone lines, they're always experiencing an Read more

I cannot stop these crooks renewing. The renewal premium is £150 more than the market average, and I want to go elsewhere. But it seems impossible to do this in my on-line account, and of course if I call their phone lines, they're always experiencing an unusually high volume of calls and my phone times out after an hour. You can't email them, you can't reply to their emails or text messages, you can't find a postal address to write to them. They are total crooks.

Reviewed on 25th June 2022
Stephen Lunn's avatar
Stephen Lunn

Insurance delays

After suffering a leak in my home I had to contact Sainsburys insurance 3 times - each time getting a different set of instructions of what to do next. After THREE MONTHS the adjuster came out and told me it was straight forward and that he was going to w Read more

After suffering a leak in my home I had to contact Sainsburys insurance 3 times - each time getting a different set of instructions of what to do next. After THREE MONTHS the adjuster came out and told me it was straight forward and that he was going to write up his estimate. Soon after I get an email saying that they are transferring my claim to an investigative adjuster - when asked why, I was told it was because of my Post code which seemingly has a higher number of claims that normal. It is now 8 months since I submitted the claim and the claim is no where near complete. the adjuster has also said that he will only pay for works completed and invoiced which means I am going to have to pay out of pocket and claim the money back.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

Reviewed on 2nd June 2022
Neil's avatar
Neil

I'm glad I wasn't trying to make a claim.

My house has been insured with Sainsbury's Bank for some years. Disappointingly it proved impossible to renew my policy this year. I tried to do it online, but for some reason it did not accept my email address or password. Numerous telephone calls went Read more

My house has been insured with Sainsbury's Bank for some years. Disappointingly it proved impossible to renew my policy this year. I tried to do it online, but for some reason it did not accept my email address or password. Numerous telephone calls went unanswered,, when eventually someone did pick up the phone and took my policy number, they then disappeared and failed to respond to my query. I am particularly annoyed about this because I have lost nine years no claims bonus on having to renew with one of their competitors who incidentally answered the phone in less than a minute.

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
David Clarke's avatar
David Clarke

Renewal mayhem

When it came to renewal time they emailed me the same email 3 times a day for 3 weeks telling me I can renew online. There was no way to renew online. So I opted for automatic renewal which remained as "pending" until the renewal date arrived and they can Read more

When it came to renewal time they emailed me the same email 3 times a day for 3 weeks telling me I can renew online. There was no way to renew online. So I opted for automatic renewal which remained as "pending" until the renewal date arrived and they canceled. I rang them abd they told me my only option is to buy as a new customer. Then they told me they won't do monthly payments. I asked why and her response was "the computer says no"...! Unbelievable.

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Frederick Chatwin's avatar
Frederick Chatwin

Easy home insurance and reward

This home insurance product from Sainsbury's bank was easy to apply for online and also offered nectar points.

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Christopher Greaves's avatar
Christopher Greaves

Absolutely appalling on all levels.

Whatever you do, do not get insurance via Sainsburys Bank. They lie Say they'll cover you, then casually decide not to Hold onto your money fraudulantly Have an incapable customer service department All have a different opinion of their own T&Cs Read more

Whatever you do, do not get insurance via Sainsburys Bank.

They lie
Say they'll cover you, then casually decide not to
Hold onto your money fraudulantly
Have an incapable customer service department
All have a different opinion of their own T&Cs
Have shocking relationships with their underwriters
And waste huge proportions of your time.

Despite having a question on their sign-up form of 'will you be undertaking building works', you selecting 'yes' and them congratulating you that they'll cover you and merrily taking your money in full. When you then call them to inform them the building works are starting, they then say they don't cover you.

Annoying but not the end of the world as they say they'll refund you the remainder of your policy given they are unable to provide the insurance service for you, and you'll be waived the cancellation fee. Cheque is on it's way to you... happy days.

SIX MONTHS & 10 x 1.5 hour phone calls later, (prepare for call wait times of 40 minutes each time with the same one ghastly song playing over and over) still no cheque, and no customer service representative has any idea of previous conversations. Nor any authority to do anything.
Nor can they access the call recordings they supposedly use for training purposes. I can assure you the grand total of ZERO training occurs at Sainsburys Bank.

They then cheekily write a letter saying they've decided to close the policy six months later but you must pay them £25 for the privilege and no refund.

It's fraudulent, a process riddled with lies & total incompetence.

I wish zero stars was an option .

Reviewed on 10th January 2022
Emma's avatar
Emma

Appalling service

Had a policy until this morning with time for home insurance, I changed bank so cancelled my direct debit with bank, made payment manually to Sainsbury’s and was up to date with payment only for them to cancel this morning?! Never choosing Sainsbury’s aga Read more

Had a policy until this morning with time for home insurance, I changed bank so cancelled my direct debit with bank, made payment manually to Sainsbury’s and was up to date with payment only for them to cancel this morning?! Never choosing Sainsbury’s again and will go elsewhere

Reviewed on 14th December 2021
Andrushka's avatar
Andrushka

Cancellation fees are ridiculous!

Couldn't get through on the phone after several calls. Cancelled online but had to pay £25.00 for the cancellation fee (fine not a problem) but also an extra charge which was more than the monthly insurance cost I paid - considering I only paid for my ins Read more

Couldn't get through on the phone after several calls. Cancelled online but had to pay £25.00 for the cancellation fee (fine not a problem) but also an extra charge which was more than the monthly insurance cost I paid - considering I only paid for my insurance less than a week ago I thought that was so cheeky - I have only just moved house! Nobody answers the phone for you to complain so had no choice but to pay. Will never use them again!

Reviewed on 7th December 2021
L's avatar
L

Shambolic money grabbing operation

Robotic, impersonal, cynical service I would advise anyone to stay away from. Forced me to pay early termination on coverage I was given incorrect information about. Shambolic.

Reviewed on 6th December 2021
tooshay's avatar
tooshay

Auto renewal SCAM

Tried to cancel but cant get through to speak to anyone. This is an absolute scam. avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 24th November 2021
Alan Taylor's avatar
Alan Taylor

Absolutely awful

My home was not insured as they put the wrong house number to my home that did not show up on the internet log in.I cannot get through to them without 40 minute waits on the phone. Complaint raised after the 5th phone call.I have not heard anything after Read more

My home was not insured as they put the wrong house number to my home that did not show up on the internet log in.I cannot get through to them without 40 minute waits on the phone. Complaint raised after the 5th phone call.I have not heard anything after 2 weeks!..Terrible terrible service. And my home was uninsured for a year , paying max premium.Please avoid Sainsbursy insurance.

Reviewed on 22nd November 2021
Jo Ganpatsingh's avatar
Jo Ganpatsingh

Stay Clear! It's a trap!!!!

My husband and I took Sainsburys home insurance, and close to renewal date, we received a much higher quote and upon checks online, decided to change our insurer for the following year. However, Sainsbury's have (unbeknownst to us), kept us on a "auto re Read more

My husband and I took Sainsburys home insurance, and close to renewal date, we received a much higher quote and upon checks online, decided to change our insurer for the following year.
However, Sainsbury's have (unbeknownst to us), kept us on a "auto renewal" scheme and the letter informed us that unless we contact them by phone to stop the renewal, it will go ahead.
Now that's where the Sainsbury's scam begins: You cannot stop the renewal by login into your account. The site tells you to call an specific number. When you call the number, after going through a long and irritating menu, you are simply cut off. So, we tried other numbers. Five in total. We got NOWHERE!!!! You are either kept on the line indefinitely (45 min at one point) or you are cut off.
This is nothing short of a scam and we are so furious because our Bank says we need them to stop the auto renewal and they conveniently wont take any calls nor will allow us to cancel it online.
It's a NIGHTMARE!!!!!

Reviewed on 19th November 2021
Mrs C's avatar
Mrs C

Very poor quality

narketed as a comprehensive policy, but doesn't cover contents in the garden, fences, hedges & gates from storm damage

Reviewed on 1st November 2021
nick blatcher's avatar
nick blatcher

Do not fall into the trap, stay away

Impossible to get through to them on the phone. I wanted to cancel my renewal because it was more than double what i could get elsewhere. But cancelling is next to impossible. They thought that by not attending to me, I will go away! It only made me deter Read more

Impossible to get through to them on the phone. I wanted to cancel my renewal because it was more than double what i could get elsewhere. But cancelling is next to impossible. They thought that by not attending to me, I will go away! It only made me determined to not use any of their services.

Reviewed on 19th October 2021
Gokul Nayar's avatar
Gokul Nayar

Very poor customer service.

Our policy has just come up for renewal and as the premiums had more than doubled we decided to cancel. Then came the fun part. Trying to get through the phoneline was practically impossible, I eventually found an email address to make a complaint and did Read more

Our policy has just come up for renewal and as the premiums had more than doubled we decided to cancel. Then came the fun part. Trying to get through the phoneline was practically impossible, I eventually found an email address to make a complaint and did recieve a phone call apologising. I explained that I couldn't access the online portal to cancel the policy but was told that there shouldn't be an issue. Also recieved a letter from Sainsbury's bank with a somewhat sarcastic undertone to it. If I could give zero stars I would.

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
Maureen Haslam's avatar
Maureen Haslam