Halifax Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 61 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Halifax home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Halifax handle your home insurance claim? Our Halifax home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much mor...

READ MORE

Halifax home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Halifax handle your home insurance claim? Our Halifax home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Halifax? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Home Insurance Reviews

61 reviews

Review Halifax's Home Insurance now

Unprofessional

After a break in , we informed Halifax that we needed the garage to be made safe, they said 24 hrs it would be done, 4 days later they rang to say , has it be done the answer was no.So we took it into our own hands and got it sorted, ourselves, and did no Read more

After a break in , we informed Halifax that we needed the garage to be made safe, they said 24 hrs it would be done, 4 days later they rang to say , has it be done the answer was no.So we took it into our own hands and got it sorted, ourselves, and did not bother claiming as we were dealing with fools who were not interested. Then our Renewal turns up for a extra £100 for the year I don't think so, even though we have been loyal customers for years, obviously making enough money , without mine.

Reviewed on 15th June 2022
Tim Parr's avatar
Tim Parr

A greedy company with no care for its customers

Whilst I've had no reason to complain over the last 3 years even though I have had to argue the quote every year to come to a reasonable increase in their premium, this year was way beyond a joke as they had almost doubled their quote. When I phoned the Read more

Whilst I've had no reason to complain over the last 3 years even though I have had to argue the quote every year to come to a reasonable increase in their premium, this year was way beyond a joke as they had almost doubled their quote. When I phoned them they had no explanation for the increase and, although they did offer to reduce it slightly, did not give a monkeys whether I stayed with them or not. I suspect that they were hoping that their increased charge would go through unnoticed on automatic renewal but fortunately, I do not allow insurance companies to have this facility for this very reason. This company is greedy and cares nothing for its customers. Give them a miss.

Reviewed on 30th May 2022
Terence Roberts's avatar
Terence Roberts

A greedy and uncaring company

Whilst I've had no reason to complain over the last 3 years even though I have had to argue the quote every year to come to a reasonable increase in their premium, this year was way beyond a joke as they had almost doubled their quote. When I phoned the Read more

Whilst I've had no reason to complain over the last 3 years even though I have had to argue the quote every year to come to a reasonable increase in their premium, this year was way beyond a joke as they had almost doubled their quote. When I phoned them they had no explanation for the increase and, although they did offer to reduce it slightly, did not give a monkeys whether I stayed with them or not. I suspect that they were hoping that their increased charge would go through unnoticed on automatic renewal. Fortunately, I do not allow insurance companies to have this facility for this very reason. This company is greedy and cares nothing for its customers. Give them a miss.

Reviewed on 30th May 2022
Terence Roberts's avatar
Terence Roberts

Avoid at all costs

I tried to make a buildings claim in the recent storms after some minor tile damage took place in the high winds. That's where the issues started, Halifax are virtually impossible to contact, the phone line plays a COVID message and disconnects and they d Read more

I tried to make a buildings claim in the recent storms after some minor tile damage took place in the high winds. That's where the issues started, Halifax are virtually impossible to contact, the phone line plays a COVID message and disconnects and they didn't respond to my emails. Thankfully my issue wasn't major, I dread to think of dealing with this company after a major leak or a stressful burglary. Useless!

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Gamer's avatar
Gamer

Do not insure with them

Storm damage in february 2022 useless customer services and claims advisor over 30 calls and e-mails and still they insist it is ware and tare on our roof when it is not we got a copy of there contractors report who say the roof is in good condition (so w Read more

Storm damage in february 2022 useless customer services and claims advisor over 30 calls and e-mails and still they insist it is ware and tare on our roof when it is not we got a copy of there contractors report who say the roof is in good condition (so where is the ware and tare) there is none we were told to get 2 estimates which we did and both guys found the problem straight away the side of the house got full force of the storms and it has ripped the roof of the side of the wall and is letting the rain water and snow and winds under the roof causing all the damage as we have the kitchen ceiling and the hall ceiling and the bedroom all needing new ceilings due to water damage ..We have had to take it to the ombudsman as they will not listen and hang up when you ask them a question. Do not take insurance from the halifax.

Reviewed on 9th April 2022
mike's avatar
mike

My renewal premium increased by 100% in a year!

I haven't made any changes or claims on my house insurance but my renewal premium with Halifax went from £289 to £579 in a year! I suspect they take a chance that people won't bother looking and just renew it.

Reviewed on 23rd March 2022
Darren Roberts 's avatar
Darren Roberts

What do they cover

My mum passed away last October and I inherited a ring. This week while doing housework I noticed I had lost the central ruby ( I had seen it in the ring earlier in the day). I’m not covered for jewellery outside of my home but thought I was at home. Appa Read more

My mum passed away last October and I inherited a ring. This week while doing housework I noticed I had lost the central ruby ( I had seen it in the ring earlier in the day). I’m not covered for jewellery outside of my home but thought I was at home. Apparently it’s not lost just misplaced and if by chance it’s gone down the sink, drains are outside the home so I’m not covered. This experience leaves me scared of what might happen if something major happened, for example if there was a fire would a claim be declined because I had matches in the house , this should sound ridiculous but now I’m not so sure

Reviewed on 12th February 2022
Teresa Tuck's avatar
Teresa Tuck

Price increase of 67.7% !!

I was flabbergasted to see my home insurance with the Halifax had increased from £301 to £520 on renewal. I had had no claims and the policy was identical to last years'. When I queried it with them on the phone, there was a recorded message saying they Read more

I was flabbergasted to see my home insurance with the Halifax had increased from £301 to £520 on renewal.
I had had no claims and the policy was identical to last years'.
When I queried it with them on the phone, there was a recorded message saying they could not offer any discounts. The lady I spoke to gave me three other quotes : Bronze £568, Silver £718 and Gold £986.
I think my policy was the Silver.
I cannot comment on how they deal with claims as I haven't had one , but the proof of a good insurance company is how they look after you when you need them. I will not be giving Halifax the chance!!
Needless to say I will NOT be renewing with the Halifax.

Reviewed on 9th February 2022
Anita's avatar
Anita

Great product

Great product and price. Simple to read policy document. Great app

Reviewed on 19th January 2022
Mickey's avatar
Mickey

Ombudsman Take Note

I had a home insurance policy with Halifax. I was sent a renewal notice that informed me my premium was to increase by almost 50%. I went onto their website, and cancelled my policy from the renewal date. Some weeks later, I noticed that Halifax had de Read more

I had a home insurance policy with Halifax. I was sent a renewal notice that informed me my premium was to increase by almost 50%. I went onto their website, and cancelled my policy from the renewal date.

Some weeks later, I noticed that Halifax had debited by bank account for the premium of the policy renewal. Upon phoning them to complain, I was informed that setting the policy to cancel on their website was basically a waste of time as there was no automatic system to ensure the policy was not renewed. Appalling behaviour! If I was not a person who regularly checked my bank account, I may not have noticed. How many people are being ripped off like this?

Ombudsman man - take note and investigate!! I will be writing directly.

Avoid at all costs!

Reviewed on 31st December 2021
Simon Jefford's avatar
Simon Jefford

Do not even consider taking a home insurance policy with the Halifax

Made a claim for storm damage and apparently their staff are paid a bonus.ti decline claims. They told lie after lie and said the wind was 1mph less than their limit. This was measured 10 mile away from our house. Claim now referred to Insurance Ombuds Read more

Made a claim for storm damage and apparently their staff are paid a bonus.ti decline claims. They told lie after lie and said the wind was 1mph less than their limit. This was measured 10 mile away from our house. Claim now referred to Insurance Ombudsman.

Reviewed on 13th December 2021
Derek Garner's avatar
Derek Garner

Run!!!

Floodeed flat by pipes..policy said alternative accomodation.....don't believe them Lloyd's is terrible run run run away from any UK insurer for that atter

Reviewed on 10th December 2021
Patrick Sy-arsenal's avatar
Patrick Sy-arsenal

Disappointed

13 days since some of my roof landed in my front garden with storm damage and they done nothing but say the estate l sent was to high. How they know that I'm unsure because no one has came to look at the damage which is getting worse because of more wind Read more

13 days since some of my roof landed in my front garden with storm damage and they done nothing but say the estate l sent was to high. How they know that I'm unsure because no one has came to look at the damage which is getting worse because of more wind and rain. After using halifax for 40 year sorry to say there home insurance service is rubbish

Reviewed on 8th December 2021
Christine Stephen's avatar
Christine Stephen

The Pseudonymous Customer Reviews Halifax

We all know the one place we look forward to after a long day at work or an outdoor vacation be it a relaxing international trip or an adventures weekend. That place we call our beloved 'Home Sweet Home'. We all know the joy and pride in owning one, feels Read more

We all know the one place we look forward to after a long day at work or an outdoor vacation be it a relaxing international trip or an adventures weekend. That place we call our beloved 'Home Sweet Home'. We all know the joy and pride in owning one, feels like a lifetime of an achievement however, let's not forget the never-ending financial budgeting that comes along with it. Let's get together and have our say on how Halifax should've done it right. Watch our channel on YouTube for more such reviews and a dedicated Halifax video. Just search for The Pseudonymous Customer in the search field on YouTube. See you there.
YouTube Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RF_MTisg7C4

Reviewed on 26th November 2021
The Pseudonymous Customer's avatar
The Pseudonymous Customer

Scam artists

Don't bother insuring with these. Bedroom ceiling came down after torrential rain and gusts shifted a roof tile. Won't pay out they said no record of heavy rain or wind. Has to be over 55mph wind and 55mm rain in a short period. They trick way out of any Read more

Don't bother insuring with these. Bedroom ceiling came down after torrential rain and gusts shifted a roof tile. Won't pay out they said no record of heavy rain or wind. Has to be over 55mph wind and 55mm rain in a short period. They trick way out of any pay out, fraudulent company. Look at truspilot reviews and go elsewhere. Sneaky dirty scammers

Reviewed on 7th October 2021
Steve's avatar
Steve

Ripping people off

Ripping people off doesn't provide any service please avoid

Reviewed on 24th May 2021
Muhammad Aftab baig's avatar
Muhammad Aftab baig

Making up policies as they go along

I have a home insurance policy with Halifax. I have claimed a couple of times in the distant past and had great service but just tried to get an emergency plumber (I have home emergency cover) and found that despite the fact that my policy documents sugg Read more

I have a home insurance policy with Halifax. I have claimed a couple of times in the distant past and had great service but just tried to get an emergency plumber (I have home emergency cover) and found that despite the fact that my policy documents suggested I was covered, there are extra things that are not written in the policy document which means I am not covered for the leak itself (as it is not constant but only happens if you run the bath) and the excess on making good the water damage is £200 plus an extra £250. I just don't understand how they can get away with this. I will be cancelling my policy and cutting up my credit card and never using Halifax for anything again.

Reviewed on 4th May 2021
Julia Weiner's avatar
Julia Weiner

Appalling service

Been with Halifax for several years, many cheaper deals around but thinking it was a good company, how wrong. Claimed on buildings insurance following water leak, they didn't cover the damage caused by our builder tracing where the leak was coming from w Read more

Been with Halifax for several years, many cheaper deals around but thinking it was a good company, how wrong. Claimed on buildings insurance following water leak, they didn't cover the damage caused by our builder tracing where the leak was coming from which obviously we needed to know or how could we repair it. Absolutely disgraceful, their manner is very poor, we will never use this company again, intend to cancel all policies immediately and as landlords with many properties we have a lot of policies. Please save your money and go elsewhere, when you need to make a claim you don't need the extra upset of dealing with these rip off merchants.

Reviewed on 6th January 2021
R Shelley's avatar
R Shelley

Avoid

I have had nothing but antagonistic behaviour from start to finish. A burst water pipe and my downstairs ruined and repairs and painting half done or paint painted over dried peeling paint wood work, items damaged and no one informed me, no expection of Read more

I have had nothing but antagonistic behaviour from start to finish.
A burst water pipe and my downstairs ruined and repairs and painting half done or paint painted over dried peeling paint wood work, items damaged and no one informed me, no expection of your property at the finished date before signing off- recipe for disaster ! I will not be recommending Halifax home insurance to anyone.

Reviewed on 18th September 2020
Sarah Faye's avatar
Sarah Faye

My Halifax home insurance experience

I had a comprehensive home insurance with Halifax up until last week. I tried to claim in July for a broken computer.My first insurance claim in 11 years. So I sent in a claim which was acknowledged, two weeks later nothing heard so I rang them. They knew Read more

I had a comprehensive home insurance with Halifax up until last week. I tried to claim in July for a broken computer.My first insurance claim in 11 years. So I sent in a claim which was acknowledged, two weeks later nothing heard so I rang them. They knew nothing of it. So they asked for a variety of things including an estimate for repair. They then handed the claim to an agency. They rang me a week later, obviously they didn't wish to speak to me, wanted the same and more information. They are uncontactable by phone and so hostile it's untrue!
So we are into this over a month by now. I replaced the item myself and cancelled the claim. I asked to complain. A month later someone from Halifax called to apologise. I cancelled the policy that day. It is a waste of time and money insuring with Halifax, they are useless.

Reviewed on 7th September 2020
Mick Philbin's avatar
Mick Philbin