Voting in the British Bank Awards is now open! Share your feedback & enter our £1,000 prize draw.Vote now

Halifax Home Insurance Reviews

Ratings based on 37 reviews Last review 2 months ago

Halifax home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Halifax handle your home insurance claim? Our Halifax home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much...

Read Full Description

Halifax home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Halifax handle your home insurance claim? Our Halifax home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Halifax? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

5 22
4 7
3 2
2 0
1 6

Your Home Insurance Reviews (37)

Get Product
11th July 2018

Unfair and unacceptable customer care from Halifax Home Insurance - Do not use them!

I am not usually one to write reviews on companies unless they are acceptionally good or acceptionally bad.. unfortunately this is for the...

Read more

I am not usually one to write reviews on companies unless they are acceptionally good or acceptionally bad.. unfortunately this is for the latter...

If you expect to get a decent and fair settlement figure when going through a claims process do not go to Halifax for home insurance. Having lost my diamond from my engagement ring I am over 12 weeks into a dispute where they are only offering me just over half of what my ring is insured for. It is valued higher than what it’s insured for too, which makes the situation worse. They are still dragging out the process and saying they need more time. Not happy at all as all I want is a fair settlement figure for a very valuable and sentimental piece of jewellery. They are also holding my engagement ring band until the issue has been resolved. It is my property.

Customer service and communication has been very poor. I have on several occasions asked for proof of valuation stating all information in relation to the valuation they have been supplied by Goldsmith’s Jewellers, this has never arrived. I have provided proof on two occasions from a diamond merchant that it’s impossible to come up with such a low figure - they have chosen to ignore this information provided. I could go on with this review but I think this says enough in itself.

I hope people will think twice about using this insurance company.

Get Product
12th February 2018

rude, shoddy incompetent service that you should never use if you value your safety

Have paid an extortionate amount for home insurance with Halifax for many years. The first time I needed to use it was 16 January 2018 when I had a break in, and the service I have been provided with has been poor and shoddy from start to finish....

Read more

Have paid an extortionate amount for home insurance with Halifax for many years. The first time I needed to use it was 16 January 2018 when I had a break in, and the service I have been provided with has been poor and shoddy from start to finish. Insurance are supposed to support you, not further add to your headaches and distress.

I was allocated building services from VPS following the break in. The break in happened on Monday 14 January, and the property was left vulnerable for 11 days, depriving the police the opportunity of completing forsensics in my garden.

When the fitter eventually arrived, he was rude and unprofessional and failed to bring adequate materials with him. He "fixed" the door in a extremely poor and shoddy way using a £3 wood filler which I could have bought on ebay, not even matching the colour so that anyone would know that the door had been damaged. To make matters worse, he also broke an existing bolt on the door, whilst trying to prove that it still worked, so arguably left the door in a worse position than it was.

I have no idea what I paid the £100 excess for, after such an extortionate spend on home insurance where they could not do something simple like replace a door. Even an employee at VPS said that she would not have been happy with that sort of work done on her home, and a subsequent builder commented that they cannot have spent more than 5 minutes doing what they did do.

The VPS "professional" could not even state whether his £3 wood filler was waterproof, and also stated that his work could not be guaranteed, and the rain may have already damaged this wooden door, because of their own 11 day delay

Another "professional" came to analyse the situation who was rude, incompetent and came with the attitude of trying to cover the poor workmanship. I was a woman alone in my own home and found his attitude terrifying and he came with another man and started opening my cupboards without permission to find out where I kept my outdoor keys, and insisted on coming at a time which suited him, when the home owner wasn't at home and I was on my own. I would never want anyone from VPS or Halifax entering my home again after that horrific experience.

My door had been perfect before the break in, and this incompetent idiot just made it worse and refused to replace it. and, and he left the door in a worse condition by breaking the bolts. To add insult to injury, he then asked my Mum, a vulnerable woman in her 60s, to sign a document stating that the job was complete to her satisfaction whilst obscuring the terms and conditions so that she couldn't read that bit. She is not that stupid and obviously refused to sign.

Never dreamed that Halifax and VPS would provide such a shoddy service, leaving a broken door, damaging it further and to top it off, trying to take advantaged of a widowed and retired woman

They should be ashamed of themselves and have a good think about the lack of service provided. At the very least I should have my £100 excess refunded this was incompetent from start to finish.I have paid for this "service" for 10 years and it has been a total waste of money. You should have no customers based on this kind of attitude.

Someone purported to try and resolve this for me, but made no difference and actually never returned my calls or refunded the access. Insurance being cancelled and never to be reinstated.

I have been paying nearly £75 per month for absolutely nothing. This is a rude, shoddy incompetent service that you should never use if you value your safety or want to actually work with professionals. Avoid at all costs if you actually value your safety and professionalism.

Get Product
7th July 2017

Halifax Home Insurance - Not Good

When taking out Home Insurance with the Halifax, it certainly pays to read the small...

Read more

When taking out Home Insurance with the Halifax, it certainly pays to read the small print.
I attempted to make a claim for a camera and equipment which was stolen from my home.

However, because I suspected that it may have been stolen by someone invited into the home. I was told by the Halifax that I wasn't covered under these circumstances.

So basically I've had camera and equipment worth hundreds of pounds stolen and no way of replacing it - seems quite a harsh getout clause from the Halifax.

Get Product
2nd May 2017

Got There In The End.....

Although having had my house insurance (and mortgage) with Halifax for several years i was initially disappointed with the increase in the premium that came through this year to renew the house insurance. However, after pointing out my loyalty and...

Read more

Although having had my house insurance (and mortgage) with Halifax for several years i was initially disappointed with the increase in the premium that came through this year to renew the house insurance. However, after pointing out my loyalty and running through the policy with their advisor, we came to a very satisfactory renewal figure for both sides and i have happily stayed with the Halifax on this occasion.

Get Product
1st November 2016

Sky high charges for the elderly (but they don't know)

Do not use the Halifax Home Insurance, they have stolen by stealth over £3000 over the last 10 years from my 95 year old mother with huge insurance premiums for a 2 bedroom cottage, this year £703, I got a new quote from the Hx for the same house and i...

Read more

Do not use the Halifax Home Insurance, they have stolen by stealth over £3000 over the last 10 years from my 95 year old mother with huge insurance premiums for a 2 bedroom cottage, this year £703, I got a new quote from the Hx for the same house and it was £188 for the same policy.
The Hx seem to think that is fair game, financially abusing 90 year old customers.. Make no mistake loyalty of 30 years counts for nothing, new customers are the sole purpose of their insurance business. Elderly people finance the new lower price deals.
After an investigation they rang me today and thought it was fair, and that all people are given options and should search the net for better quotes, quite ridiculous at 95. This policy is now cancelled and exactly the same insurance with More Than for £160.
Thanks very much Halifax for stealing that amount of money from my mother, a customer at the HX Building society for 40 years, gravely mistaken loyalty.
The excess payments every year would have paid her monthly electricity bills. WELL DONE HALIFAX, much appreciated.

Articles related to Halifax