Post Office Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 49 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Post Office home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Post Office handle your home insurance claim? Our Post Office home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you...

READ MORE

Post Office home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Post Office handle your home insurance claim? Our Post Office home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Post Office? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Home Insurance Reviews

49 reviews

Review Post Office's Home Insurance now

Good company.

Good company been with the post office a long time and trust with this company is very good.

Reviewed on 12th October 2022
Scott McClements's avatar
Scott McClements

Post Office Home Insurance

We took out the Gold package home insurance with the Post Office for my elderly mum. Last week the boiler stopped giving out hot water. Called them on Tuesday and reported this. An 'Engineer' arrived on Wednesday and removed the part that he thought from Read more

We took out the Gold package home insurance with the Post Office for my elderly mum. Last week the boiler stopped giving out hot water. Called them on Tuesday and reported this. An 'Engineer' arrived on Wednesday and removed the part that he thought from the boiler that needed replacing and advised us that he needed a part and would be back in the afternoon. He did not turn up until Friday and this time he took off more parts and switched the water completely off in the whole house. He has not been seen since. I received a call from the Post Office who advised me that it will take 7 to 10 days for the part to be delivered. I was NOT advised however that there was no water in the house. The toilet does NOT flush and my mum is NOT able to use the shower as there is no water. I called the post office on Friday, Saturday and today and was advised that someone would ring me back. It is now Monday and no one has called me back. My mum is 77 years old, vulnerable and without water in the house.

Just an update - On Monday I recieved a vm telling me that the parts had arrived and the Engineer would arrive between 8am and 2pm on Tuesday (yesterday) I called to confirm this on Monday. It is now Wednesday and 11:15 am and now one turned up yesterday. I am currently on hold and have been for over 30 minutes.

Reviewed on 5th September 2022
ramaiya9L's avatar
ramaiya9L

good

recommended. fair price for home insurance

Reviewed on 15th August 2022
Mohammad Samanian's avatar
Mohammad Samanian

Absolutely disgusting service

Absolutely disgusted with the service from Post Office Home Insurance, complete scammers

Reviewed on 18th July 2022
Stephen Wright's avatar
Stephen Wright

Total scammers and rip off

My daughter moved house ten years ago and She applied for home insurance in new bought property as she was staying in council house. She just noticed they were taking £50 off by direct debit for a two bedroom house. When sh e finally got through to someo Read more

My daughter moved house ten years ago and She applied for home insurance in new bought property as she was staying in council house. She just noticed they were taking £50 off by direct debit for a two bedroom house. When sh e finally got through to someone,they said it was because she never signed credit agreement ,total nonsense,. They just keep talking a load of garbage. Don’t ever want to buy anything from post office , my daughter is single parent and they were sending letters to old address,Thomas D

Reviewed on 25th June 2022
Thomas drummond's avatar
Thomas drummond

Conflict of interest

First off, I'm not insured by The Post office but my rear neighbor is and when a section of a fir tree that was on the boundary fell during storm Eunice. He contacted the Post office who insured his house and the sent an assessor to see the damage which c Read more

First off, I'm not insured by The Post office but my rear neighbor is and when a section of a fir tree that was on the boundary fell during storm Eunice. He contacted the Post office who insured his house and the sent an assessor to see the damage which consisted of broken tiles and damaged guttering. Two days later, a tree surgeon came and started to cut down all the trees on the shared border. I accepted the fact that the lovely tree had to go as I had seen the rot in the branch that fell and conceded that it might be prudent to fell it. But then the tree surgeon started to fell the other trees and I challenged him. He said the assessor had said they were all dangerous and needed to come down. I asked him to state his reasons one if which was that they moved in the wind. Now these are fir trees and have been safely in place for many years and posed no threat. The branch that fell only came down because the house owner had cut the lower branches down and ivy had sent roots into the tree allowing water ingress. When I pointed this out to the tree surgeon, he said he couldn't see any ivy roots even when I grabbed a handful, he just asked what my qualification were. I asked who had instructed him and he said the Post office assessor. I am now waiting to see the assessor report on the matter. Not a good advert for the PO. I have not been consulted in this action although it does affect me and others in the area.

Reviewed on 20th February 2022
Don Lawrence mix's avatar
Don Lawrence mix

Robbers!

I did t want to renew in view of the policy increasing by £20 with no claims! I was told I would be charged a £20 cancellation fee plus a £10 admin fee!!! Logged a complaint but heard nothing and they have taken the money! Please avoid!

Reviewed on 19th February 2022
Nicola's avatar
Nicola

Good value product

House contents insurance offered at a very competitive price and straightforward application.

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Jane's avatar
Jane

always quick phone reply. good staff.

Have renewed with Post Office as their Home Emergency plumber was superb.

Reviewed on 24th September 2021
Joyce Turner's avatar
Joyce Turner

Worst ins on market

Have home ins they are now saying they are not paying out even after photos and videos and video calls of the damage .wont be using this company ever again only gave 1 star because i couldnt give them minus

Reviewed on 6th September 2021
Patricia Gibson's avatar
Patricia Gibson

Misadvised

I would not recommend the Post Office for home insurance. We had a policy with them and when we purchased bikes we phoned up to check whether they would be covered. We were told they were fully covered, even outside the home. Well, when one bike was stole Read more

I would not recommend the Post Office for home insurance. We had a policy with them and when we purchased bikes we phoned up to check whether they would be covered. We were told they were fully covered, even outside the home. Well, when one bike was stolen we were then told the advisor had misinformed us and PO refused the claim and then dismissed our complaint. Certainly won't be renewing our policy with them.

Reviewed on 4th August 2021
Fiona's avatar
Fiona

contents insurance

I Had contents insurance with them 2 years ago and cancelled it 2 years ago because the policy changed and the price and now 2 years later they have taken money out of my Bank account for a new policy which I did not know about . I am still waiting for my Read more

I Had contents insurance with them 2 years ago and cancelled it 2 years ago because the policy changed and the price and now 2 years later they have taken money out of my Bank account for a new policy which I did not know about . I am still waiting for my money to be refunded , which they took without my consent . Disgraceful behaviour . THEY MUST BE DESPERATE.

Reviewed on 7th May 2021
Jeffrey Matthews's avatar
Jeffrey Matthews

Disgusting

Would not cover storm damage to roof

Reviewed on 22nd April 2021
Ken Hughes's avatar
Ken Hughes

Poor service from a trusted household name

I was happy with Post Office contents insurance until things changed at renewal stage. Trying to cancel a policy is difficult and their fees are extortionate. This is not what we expect from the Post Office. Don’t even consider this as an option for your Read more

I was happy with Post Office contents insurance until things changed at renewal stage. Trying to cancel a policy is difficult and their fees are extortionate. This is not what we expect from the Post Office. Don’t even consider this as an option for your contents insurance!!

Reviewed on 18th December 2020
Sarah Godwin's avatar
Sarah Godwin

Left without hot water and heating for two weeks during winter

Horrendous customer service, boiler broke two weeks ago and no end in sight for getting hot water or heating back. If and when it gets fixed I will be complaining for compensation and then leaving them.

Reviewed on 2nd December 2020
Joe's avatar
Joe

Terrible customer service and knowledge

Tried to make change before renewal date ie got reduced price and letter to confirm but still took full price! Also I am now retired and charge for that 16.00! Still haven't been refunded difference and no confirmation of job status amendment!!

Reviewed on 12th November 2020
Charlie Robinson's avatar
Charlie Robinson

Dreadful - cannot cancel a policy!

I do not know where to begin. I owned two properties. both insured for buildings with Post Office. I sold one and needed to cancel the policy. Told I could not cancel. Then told I could cancel but they would need to take a £35 cancellation fee off my Read more

I do not know where to begin. I owned two properties. both insured for buildings with Post Office. I sold one and needed to cancel the policy. Told I could not cancel. Then told I could cancel but they would need to take a £35 cancellation fee off my card and was that alright. No mention of any refund. Computer systems all over the place. Have rung countless times to try to cancel policy. Was told computer system has a problem and cannot be done. Send emails to manager one reply then silence, heard nothing. Have written to Managing Director. Was told by one operator any refund could not be guaranteed to be backdated to the date of completion of property sale. Dreadful, would never use again.

Reviewed on 11th November 2020
D Hatton's avatar
D Hatton

Rip of scammers

I purchased the insurance and the very next day realised I had missed something off. I tried to amend this online but got a message saying you can't make any amendments online. Were in 2020 and you can't do things online??? So I call them to ammend and f Read more

I purchased the insurance and the very next day realised I had missed something off. I tried to amend this online but got a message saying you can't make any amendments online. Were in 2020 and you can't do things online??? So I call them to ammend and first they say they will charge a £10 ammendment fee and then they quote me a ridiculous amount for what I want to change. So I then choose to cancel and I have to pay £20 fee? Within a day? Disgusting service never use them for anything again.

Reviewed on 7th August 2020
Pink667's avatar
Pink667

They're OK but you really need to watch them!

I had a letter saying that my home insurance policy was due to be automatically renewed but my payment details were out of date. I phoned the centre and they said that they can't do anything as they haven't got the details there themselves yet (but yet, I Read more

I had a letter saying that my home insurance policy was due to be automatically renewed but my payment details were out of date. I phoned the centre and they said that they can't do anything as they haven't got the details there themselves yet (but yet, I had a letter?).
With this in mind I took out a new policy. Days later, I saw that they had taken the money for the old policy as well! Long wait on the phone to sort their mistake out.
Also, like with all insurance companies, they will sting you on the renewal price if you don't shop around.

The phone manner of the customer service advisor is great though. The man was clear, happy to explain anything etc. so that's a plus.

Reviewed on 20th May 2020
John's avatar
John

They do you on the renewal

Didn’t have any claims then got a renewal letter...gone up 35% for nothing. Log in to the online “self service” (ha!) system and you can’t cancel the renewal. Tried via the online chat. The online chat agent can’t cancel the renewal. I have to phone a sep Read more

Didn’t have any claims then got a renewal letter...gone up 35% for nothing. Log in to the online “self service” (ha!) system and you can’t cancel the renewal. Tried via the online chat. The online chat agent can’t cancel the renewal. I have to phone a separate renewal agent (First Source)...and then spend forever on hold. I would just cancel the direct debit, but they have a separate credit agency who have just told me they will start charging if I don’t sign the paperwork as the renewal is valid...but I can’t get through on the phone because of Covid-19.... Why have a self service website if you can’t do anything? Bunch of jokers. Will never use post office for anything. Shoddy.

Reviewed on 11th May 2020
MT's avatar
MT