Admiral Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 10,091 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    
  Visit website

Admiral car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Admiral car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review ...

READ MORE

Admiral car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Admiral car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Admiral before, you too can write a short Admiral car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Admiral Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

57% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: App

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

10,091 reviews

Review Admiral's Car Insurance now

Will not fulfil claim after taking car in for weeks saying they are unable to contact their engineers,

A catalog of errors, delays and apparent ignorance

Reviewed on 4th May 2022
james hill's avatar
james hill
Get Product

AVOID ADMIRAL

My insurance has just risen from £646 to £1093 for NO reason. Ive net had a claim for 2022 nothing has changed since 2021. How can they justify that ???? My advice. AVOID ADMIRAL

Reviewed on 1st May 2022
martin coleman's avatar
martin coleman
Get Product

When you have an accident check what price you get back for car

I was going to renew my car insurance a friend recommended me and he had accident he phone me and stated the car was a write off they tried to give him quarter of the value I went to Marks and Spencer's insurance I never heard anything like it utter rubb Read more

I was going to renew my car insurance a friend recommended me and he had accident he phone me and stated the car was a write off they tried to give him quarter of the value I went to Marks and Spencer's insurance I never heard anything like it utter rubbish.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
roger 's avatar
roger
Get Product

Admiral to the rescue

My daughter had an awful experience with 1st Central Insurance. She ended up buying new insurance from Admiral which was so quick and easy to set up.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
David 's avatar
David
Get Product

Take money without notice!

If you want a car insurance company to take your money direct from the bank without notice you, choose Admiral. Even I had well informed them I had a non-fault claim months ago (Tyres punched in motorway), they already offered a higher than market policy Read more

If you want a car insurance company to take your money direct from the bank without notice you, choose Admiral.
Even I had well informed them I had a non-fault claim months ago (Tyres punched in motorway), they already offered a higher than market policy price, they can still increase the price AFTER two months of the policy started!!
AND they have no single word to inform you that will be happen!
I will not ever choose this company again.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Leung SK's avatar
Leung SK
Get Product

Believe ALL the poor reviews

I have been a customer for over 9 years and have been appauled with the level of service i have recieved within the last 2 years. They claim Customer Quality is of their top priority when the service of their staffs constantly contradicts this. The Custom Read more

I have been a customer for over 9 years and have been appauled with the level of service i have recieved within the last 2 years. They claim Customer Quality is of their top priority when the service of their staffs constantly contradicts this. The Customer Service staff are shamelessly incompetent, the managers shy away from complaints , When one is available they provide as little help as their advisors. This is an absolute dreadful company and i am shocked that given the outstanding reviews of dissatified customers, they are still in business.

Reviewed on 23rd April 2022
Shelena's avatar
Shelena
Get Product

DO NOT USE!!!

DO NOT USE!!! Admiral have without doubt the WORST customer service department I have ever dealt with. When ur not waiting in hour long queues only to be hung up on, which has happended to me on three different occasions. The staff are completely incom Read more

DO NOT USE!!!

Admiral have without doubt the WORST customer service department I have ever dealt with. When ur not waiting in hour long queues only to be hung up on, which has happended to me on three different occasions. The staff are completely incompetent and never have any useful information to give u and usually pawn you off to a different department just to be put to the back of a queue again. Even if you have to pay slightly more I would recommend going with another provider as you will save yourself a great deal of stress and time.

Reviewed on 22nd April 2022
Callum Moglia's avatar
Callum Moglia
Get Product

Windscreen

I had make claim for my windscreen on the 1 April 22 at that date I spook to manger and all promisees,,,no one get back time until today 20 April 22 after I spent hours to tell them about my claim and I find it very ridiculous since I asked them for the Read more

I had make claim for my windscreen on the 1 April 22 at that date I spook to manger and all promisees,,,no one get back time until today 20 April 22 after I spent hours to tell them about my claim and I find it very ridiculous since I asked them for the Mercedes windscreen and they said no we do not provide the original ..I will never recommend it to any one . Please be carful as I believe you pay to much money to get this insurance as I did ..for sure I will never renew it with them

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Mounes Hammadeh's avatar
Mounes Hammadeh
Get Product

Company rips off public

How can a company charge you ten pound to call them even when it’s their fault you have to call them because they’re online communication don’t work pure joke

Reviewed on 13th April 2022
Andrew Crombie's avatar
Andrew Crombie
Get Product

Poor customer care

After calling for the fifth day in a row and being on hold for hours, I was finally able to speak to someone. I'd suffered a cracked windscreen from flying debris hitting my car on the motorway. Could not log a claim on their lines because no one would pi Read more

After calling for the fifth day in a row and being on hold for hours, I was finally able to speak to someone. I'd suffered a cracked windscreen from flying debris hitting my car on the motorway. Could not log a claim on their lines because no one would pick up. Tried directly with autoglass, but the earliest they could offer me was in 5 days time. As any working person, I need my car every day and could not wait this long. I proceeded to book with another company and paid them, as I could not reach admiral directly for confirmation they would pay. Finally after speaking to them today, I'm being told they can only reimburse me £50 for the entire windscreen replacement. I'm not sure where this Mickey mouse figure came from, but the entire screen replacement cost me almost 6 times this amount. What is the point in having insurance if they refuse to payout a legitimate claim (I have all the evidence and receipts). Clearly, they'll do the absolute bare minimum to fob you off. Apalling.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
Komal Ahm's avatar
Komal Ahm
Get Product

Beyond dreadful

Dreadful claims handling No customer service Useless and inaccurate e-mails, the final straw? Customer service REFUSED to register my complaint!

Reviewed on 11th April 2022
Jeff Bell's avatar
Jeff Bell
Get Product

Cancel my insurance after my car was hit when parked

My car was hit when parked in front of my house and i just reported to be able to repair it. And i receive the following email with subject date from 52 years ago:) “Following the incident on 01/01/1970 involving vehicle Jour Claims Department has adv Read more

My car was hit when parked in front of my house and i just reported to be able to repair it. And i receive the following email with subject date from 52 years ago:)
“Following the incident on 01/01/1970
involving vehicle
Jour Claims
Department has advised us to remove this
vehicle from your policy. You should
already have received confirmation from
them regarding this.
As a result, we are unable to continue
insurance on your vehicle registration
All insurance cover for this
vehicle is cancelled for you and any other
drivers on the policy with effect from
16/03/2022. This includes the Driving
Other Vehicles extension, if applicable.
If your policy has other properties or
vehicles currently on cover, then they will
remain insured. If you had a single vehicle
policy, then your policy has now been
cancelled.“

Reviewed on 10th April 2022
Razvan Boca's avatar
Razvan Boca
Get Product

Steer Clear

Utterly and totally unprofessional. Steer clear. After charging me for two policies for the same car eventually Admiral cancelled it and owes me over £200. I told them that the account I paid from was closed due to Covid so they are basically stealing the Read more

Utterly and totally unprofessional. Steer clear. After charging me for two policies for the same car eventually Admiral cancelled it and owes me over £200. I told them that the account I paid from was closed due to Covid so they are basically stealing the money. I have sent them proof that it was closed yet they are refusing to refund me the money as they say they have refunded the closed account. It is disgraceful. This was their response to me

Dear Ms Edmundson
Policy Number: P64007667
Complaint Reference: 220321048
Thank you for your response dated 28/03/2022, I am sorry you remain dissatisfied with our
services.
I can confirm a Final Decision was issued on behalf of Admiral on 23/03/2022. Within this
document I addressed the complaint points raised during your initial contact with us on
18/03/2022, which were:
• You are unhappy with our refund procedure as the refund was processed a closed bank
account.
As previously explained the refund of £259.07 was issued on the 19/02/2022 to the debit card
ending 4026. This was processed on the 18/02/2022 after you emailed to cancel the policy.
Our Accounts Department have advised for you contact the card issuer and ask to check your
closed account. ’if the payment fails for any reason, we will issue you a cheque instead’’. Our
Accounts department have also advised we are not a bank and therefore met the refund
regulations set by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA).
I understand you have emailed our CEO to see your comments, I should explain the Complaints
Department was created to deal with all complaints on behalf of the business. As a responsible
and regulated insurer, we follow the FCA’s dispute regulations.
This means it is the businesses decision who deals and responds to these concerns. In our
case, as mentioned, we have a dedicated Complaints Department. Our complaints procedure
asks customers to address any complaint to the ‘Quality Manager’ and not to any other specific
individual.
Any correspondence addressed to our CEO is redirected to us or the original complaint handler
as per the process explained above. However, I will pass your comments on to higher
management, but our decision remains unchanged in relation to your complaint.
I am sorry this may not be the response you were hoping for, and I respect your position on
this.
Yours sincerely

FormCode: COM022 236581574/AD/P001
Jules Crook
Customer Assurance Executive

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Paula Edmundson's avatar
Paula Edmundson
Get Product

Find another car insurer

Terrible company. Used them about 10 years ago and was really impressed with their prices and service. This time round the service has been shocking and they've charged me an autorenewal charge which is a 3rd of the cost of my policy for a renewal I didn' Read more

Terrible company. Used them about 10 years ago and was really impressed with their prices and service. This time round the service has been shocking and they've charged me an autorenewal charge which is a 3rd of the cost of my policy for a renewal I didn't want or authorise. I'd advise using a proper company like Direct Line rather than these these thieves

Reviewed on 25th March 2022
Sam Wright's avatar
Sam Wright
Get Product

the worst thing you can do to your self is taking car insurance from Admiral. Please Stay way from them

the worst car insurance broker I ever seen.

Reviewed on 24th March 2022
AAA Khan's avatar
AAA Khan
Get Product

Dreadful Customer Service

Had an accident in January. Still jumping through the hoops to get my car fixed and a hire car. I have complained but they simply fob you off with the other company Auxillis which organises the repairs and loan car. No one answers the phone, responds to e Read more

Had an accident in January. Still jumping through the hoops to get my car fixed and a hire car. I have complained but they simply fob you off with the other company Auxillis which organises the repairs and loan car. No one answers the phone, responds to emails, it’s shocking!

Reviewed on 21st March 2022
melissadavies75@hotmail.com's avatar
melissadavies75@hotmail.com
Get Product

Ease of use

Very easy to make changes and very fair pricing!

Reviewed on 17th March 2022
Talal Albakry's avatar
Talal Albakry
Get Product

Loyalty Rewarded

I've been with this company for about 5 years and they always try their utmost to keep their prices competitive, I've seen a steady decline in my premiums which is very much welcome in today's age of high inflation.

Reviewed on 9th March 2022
Harry Clark's avatar
Harry Clark
Get Product

Avoid this company

All was good until had to make a non-fault claim. They decided to write-off my car. Copart has collected the vehicle in 2 days, only after collection Admiral came back with "market value" offer which was in fact a "trade value". I'm working in motor indus Read more

All was good until had to make a non-fault claim. They decided to write-off my car. Copart has collected the vehicle in 2 days, only after collection Admiral came back with "market value" offer which was in fact a "trade value". I'm working in motor industry for over 5 years and provided them valuations from CAP Hpi and AT Dealer Portal, platforms that are mostly used for underwriting vehicles in UK. They came back with a total increase of £300 which is still over £1000 below retail market value.
I'm raising a complaint with Financial Ombudsman Service.

Reviewed on 4th March 2022
Vladys Md's avatar
Vladys Md
Get Product

Charged me over double - Admiral are rip off merchants

Admiral renewed my policy for £1372.48 (same vehicle as previous year), an increase from last year's premium of £854.87. I then received a quote of £574.50 from another provider with very similar if not better T&C's. So to reward me for my business, Admir Read more

Admiral renewed my policy for £1372.48 (same vehicle as previous year), an increase from last year's premium of £854.87. I then received a quote of £574.50 from another provider with very similar if not better T&C's. So to reward me for my business, Admiral charged me £797.98 more than a rival company!!

Smart money people should never consider Admiral for insurance - use comparethemarket, I did and saved enough cash to take my family on a weekend break!

They also charged me £40.00 to cancel! I asked their supervisor - Thomas Moore to reconsider the charge and apparently they couldn't. When I suggested cancelling the direct debit, they threatened to pass on the £40.00 charge to a debt collection agency. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 2nd March 2022
Luke Sewell's avatar
Luke Sewell
Get Product