Admiral Personal Loan Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,388 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Want to know if a personal loan from Admiral is right for you? Read reviews from our community members, whether it's for home improvement, debt consolidation, a new car, or whatever else, Admiral personal loan customers leave their reviews here. Already have a loan with Admiral? Share your own comments...

READ MORE

Want to know if a personal loan from Admiral is right for you? Read reviews from our community members, whether it's for home improvement, debt consolidation, a new car, or whatever else, Admiral personal loan customers leave their reviews here. Already have a loan with Admiral? Share your own comments and you'll be helping others who are trying to decide if Admiral is the right choice for them.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Your Personal Loan Reviews

1,388 reviews

Review Admiral's Personal Loan now

Great, straight forward service

I honestly don't understand the negative reviews on here. My experience was fantastic! Applied online, follow up call to check details 2 days later. Loan approved 2 hours later and an email to says funds will be available in 3 working days. All at the APR Read more

I honestly don't understand the negative reviews on here. My experience was fantastic! Applied online, follow up call to check details 2 days later. Loan approved 2 hours later and an email to says funds will be available in 3 working days. All at the APR I had seen online. I was worried as I read reviews after applying, I'm glad I didn't read them before otherwise I would not have applied. Great service, thanks!

Reviewed on 12th October 2022
Mmcl's avatar
Mmcl

Understanding

Great interest rate and really good customer service, i applied for a personal loan for a car shortly after paying off my last car finance after precious vehicle was stolen, previous car finance was still showing on credit file (as unpaid) and so fully ex Read more

Great interest rate and really good customer service, i applied for a personal loan for a car shortly after paying off my last car finance after precious vehicle was stolen, previous car finance was still showing on credit file (as unpaid) and so fully expected to get declined for this reason however admiral phoned to ascertain my circumstances and approved the loan once circumstances were explained and the lady I spoke to was really lovely!

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Katie Beever's avatar
Katie Beever

Very easy and fast service

Very easy to apply and fast service. Quick payment and full easy to understand paperwork.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Nikki Stokes's avatar
Nikki Stokes

Terrible company

Like a lot of previous reviews, I was told a loan with admiral was pre approved. Applied online with a hard credit search to be told couldn’t complete all security checks. Then had an email 24 hours later to state they couldn’t do one of their security c Read more

Like a lot of previous reviews, I was told a loan with admiral was pre approved. Applied online with a hard credit search to be told couldn’t complete all security checks.
Then had an email 24 hours later to state they couldn’t do one of their security checks and there was nothing I could submit to change it.
Disgrace of a company and there should be stricter control and regulation.
Don’t go anywhere near them.

Reviewed on 8th June 2022
Thomas Campbell's avatar
Thomas Campbell

Pre - approved scam

I was pre-approved for a top-up loan, however when I submitted the loan application and it was under review I received an email saying that I had been rejected. Hard search on my credit file that could have been avoided, absolutely shocking.

Reviewed on 19th May 2022
robin's avatar
robin

AVOID IT

It’s not guarantee that you get the loan even if you are pre approved. All the process is very slow. There is better options from other lenders

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Miltos's avatar
Miltos

Don't bother ! Pre-approved scam.

Pre-approved via Experian which I have used on other products before with no issues. Click through only to be told I needed to provide loads of documentation. Had to double check I wasn't applying for a mortgage ! They don't take screenshots so it's a bit Read more

Pre-approved via Experian which I have used on other products before with no issues. Click through only to be told I needed to provide loads of documentation. Had to double check I wasn't applying for a mortgage ! They don't take screenshots so it's a bit of a pain. Sent what I thought they wanted only to be told they needed more ! Cancelled the application and went elsewhere with far less hassle. Will be complaining to the FCA regarding the false pre-approval.

Reviewed on 16th May 2022
P's avatar
P

Got there eventually!

I was 100% pre-approved on both Money Supermarket and Clearscore for a 'guaranteed' low rate, so I applied but it went to review and I had to give access to 12 months of bank statements. After coming on here I was worried I'd get rejected/rate would chang Read more

I was 100% pre-approved on both Money Supermarket and Clearscore for a 'guaranteed' low rate, so I applied but it went to review and I had to give access to 12 months of bank statements. After coming on here I was worried I'd get rejected/rate would change but after 48 hours the loan was approved with no further information needed, at the rate I'd been promised. It's a shame it took so long and also that, instead of getting an email to say it was approved, the email said I hadn't completed my application. I ended up having to get in touch with Admiral for them to tell me it had been approved and the email was for me to sign my contract (it didn't say that in any way, shape or form). I did get a text shortly afterwards. Communication needs to be clearer but IMHO it's good that the company does the correct risk assessment and due diligence prior to lending, and the rate was lower than other providers who make quick decisions based on computer-generated algorithms. If the process from application to money arriving could be streamlined, and communication clearer, it would be 5 stars.

Reviewed on 13th April 2022
Katherine Bannon's avatar
Katherine Bannon

0 if possible waste of time

Would have left 0 if I could Never heard from them the day they said they would so had to go to chat to get in touch with them… 100% per approved took the credit hit then got declined - interests rate is a scam anyway but bad credit means little ch Read more

Would have left 0 if I could

Never heard from them the day they said they would so had to go to chat to get in touch with them…

100% per approved took the credit hit then got declined - interests rate is a scam anyway but bad credit means little choice now worse credit thanks to these jokers.

Stay away

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
13817181's avatar
13817181

had 100% pre aproval then told no ??

Waste of time, they said i was 100% pre approved then was told no after they have done a hard search and made my credit rating go down ??? What a bunch of clowns F*** off, never again will I use Admiral. Why lie and tell me Im pre approved when I obviou Read more

Waste of time, they said i was 100% pre approved then was told no after they have done a hard search and made my credit rating go down ???
What a bunch of clowns
F*** off, never again will I use Admiral. Why lie and tell me Im pre approved when I obviously am not. C*nts Dont waste my time

Reviewed on 11th April 2022
Jim manning's avatar
Jim manning

Good but a bit slow

Applied through ClearScore with 100% pre approval on Sunday, and got accepted for the loan on Wednesday. It was very straightforward however I had to upload quite a few documents which I didn’t mind, but obviously the review process slows it down a bit so Read more

Applied through ClearScore with 100% pre approval on Sunday, and got accepted for the loan on Wednesday. It was very straightforward however I had to upload quite a few documents which I didn’t mind, but obviously the review process slows it down a bit so not recommended if you’re looking for a quick approval. Felt a bit worried after reading the negative reviews below but I ended up with the same rate that was shown and got approved in the end so happy with the service.

Reviewed on 16th March 2022
Marie's avatar
Marie

Admiral Loans

I had the ClearScore pre approved, triple locked guarantee. I submitted the application to be told it was under review. At that point I found the reviews on here and felt very disheartened at the many reviews reporting phone calls, rejection after being p Read more

I had the ClearScore pre approved, triple locked guarantee. I submitted the application to be told it was under review. At that point I found the reviews on here and felt very disheartened at the many reviews reporting phone calls, rejection after being pre approved, or a hike in rate. I already had the hit on my credit file from the hard search.
I received the phone call the next day and was surprised that the questions were minimal, I did not have to produce any documents. I was told I would get a decision within a few days. Within half an hour I had an email that I was approved. The money arrived 3 days later. Same rate, no fuss. I found the process to be fine.

Reviewed on 2nd March 2022
Charlotte Edwards's avatar
Charlotte Edwards

Excellent services

Professional and very easy application process

Reviewed on 21st January 2022
Prince's avatar
Prince

An absolute scam

I was pre approved for a small loan and told that the money would be in my bank account within 3 days. I applied through Experian. I then got an urgent email requesting that I contact them. I did the next day only to be told that they were not proceeding Read more

I was pre approved for a small loan and told that the money would be in my bank account within 3 days. I applied through Experian. I then got an urgent email requesting that I contact them. I did the next day only to be told that they were not proceeding with my loan because my mobile number was wrong on file!
An absolute joke!
They had already sent the loan application by post....all approved. An email stated the same but because I didn't contact them immediately, they closed the application.
Don't use them. Go elsewhere.
Mrs Jameson

Reviewed on 2nd October 2021
Sparkie 's avatar
Sparkie

Terrible

Pre-approved and then asked to upload masses of documentation, 3 months bank statements( with around 2-3 pages per month), 3 months wage slips..a real pain if you're paid weekly. Tried to upload but too many and their system couldn't take it as it had to Read more

Pre-approved and then asked to upload masses of documentation, 3 months bank statements( with around 2-3 pages per month), 3 months wage slips..a real pain if you're paid weekly. Tried to upload but too many and their system couldn't take it as it had to be through a link that they send. I'm paid electronically and they do not accept screenshots of pay. Only photos of payslips accepted!!?? The hoops to jump through are numerous, frustratingly difficult and ludicrous. I have cancelled the application before attempting to go further with them, and after reading reviews on here it seems I've made the right decision. Whether this will impact on my excellent credit record I have no idea.
Avoid !!

Reviewed on 28th September 2021
Linda Dowson's avatar
Linda Dowson

Terrible

I was 100% pre approved through Clearscore with an excellent credit rating, never missed a payment on any account. Applied online through the app, only to find out I had to link my bank accounts, which I did. Missed a call from them two days later so spen Read more

I was 100% pre approved through Clearscore with an excellent credit rating, never missed a payment on any account. Applied online through the app, only to find out I had to link my bank accounts, which I did. Missed a call from them two days later so spent the best part of 2 hours on hold trying to speak with someone. They told me that because my house doesn't have a street name I'd need to reapply through their website. So despite having access to my full address history through whatever credit reference agency they use, I still needed to re-submit a fresh application! I've decided not to use these, and opted for Zopa whom I have used in the past. No issues at all with them, applied online, got a great APR and the money is already in my bank, 20 minutes after being approved! That's how a personal application should be done. Terrible experience with Admiral

Reviewed on 21st September 2021
Chris Phipps's avatar
Chris Phipps

Pre Approved what a joke

Clearscore indicated that we were pre approved at a good rate, only 2 days later to be called up to be interrogated by their underwriter. We were then declined for a loan that we can afford, an absolute joke. Now my credit file is affected due to th Read more

Clearscore indicated that we were pre approved at a good rate, only 2 days later to be called up to be interrogated by their underwriter.

We were then declined for a loan that we can afford, an absolute joke.

Now my credit file is affected due to the misleading pre approval status.

Completely out of order

Reviewed on 7th August 2021
Stephen Brooks's avatar
Stephen Brooks

Pre-Approved - But a real struggle!!!

Like many others I can see reviewing here, I was 'pre-approved' via ClearScore for what seemed to be a great deal! The application was seemingly quick and easy. I was then asked for a fair amount of documentation which I was happy to send in. That sai Read more

Like many others I can see reviewing here, I was 'pre-approved' via ClearScore for what seemed to be a great deal!

The application was seemingly quick and easy. I was then asked for a fair amount of documentation which I was happy to send in. That said, I then came across a stumbling block, the account I requested my monies to be paid in should I be approved, was a new account that I'd just switched my main account over to (closing my current/previous main account). With them wanting 3 months of full statements for the new account, I simply was unable to provide the information.

I explained this to the people on live chat (who were all very helpful) and I was asked to provide open banking instead and noted on my account the statements provided are my most recently but the account was recently switched. The next day, I'm again requested for 3 months of new statements on the new account. I once again go on live chat and explain the situation only to be told that unfortunately that's what's required if I'd like to proceed the loan. I say I cannot provide this, because the account isn't 3 months old. I'm then told to provide whatever I can and the underwriting team will them re-review and let me know if its adequate.

At this point, I choose to cancel my application. Whilst I appreciate their diligence, they make it incredibly difficult in certain circumstances despite lots of evidence already being provided, to proceed the loan.

If I'm pre-approved for something, I wouldn't expect to front so much personal information.

I've now gone to another provider, who has paid out the same day without me needing to spend hours trying to prove my information to them. Of course the APR isn't as good as what the admirals quote was (though I suspect I wouldn't have been offered 11% in the end from reading other reviews) but I'd suggest it was worth it just to avoid the hassle.

Reviewed on 11th June 2021
ArkTek94's avatar
ArkTek94

OFFERED PRE APPROVED LOAN THEN ASKS FOR LOADS OF DOCUMENTS AND PROOF ! YOU SHOULD NIOT BE OFFERING PRE APPROVED AND I HAVE PERFECT CREDIT!1

APPLIED CLEARSCORE OFFERED PRE APPROVED SAID YES THEN THEY TAKE YOU TO A PAGE SAYING YOUR BANK CAN DOWNLOAD YOUR STATEMENT HISTORY TO THEM,SO I DID BUT ONLY CERTAIN BANKS DEAL WITH THEM? MINE DOESENT CO OPERATIVE BANK , SO TGHEN THEY ASK FOR ITEMS I COUL Read more

APPLIED CLEARSCORE OFFERED PRE APPROVED SAID YES THEN THEY TAKE YOU TO A PAGE SAYING YOUR BANK CAN DOWNLOAD YOUR STATEMENT HISTORY TO THEM,SO I DID BUT ONLY CERTAIN BANKS DEAL WITH THEM? MINE DOESENT CO OPERATIVE BANK , SO TGHEN THEY ASK FOR ITEMS I COULD HAVE GIVEN TO BETTER RATE LOAN NOT PRE APPROVED?// SO WHY FALSE ADVERTISNG PRE APPROVED?/

Reviewed on 19th May 2021
KYLE TAYLOR's avatar
KYLE TAYLOR

Quick and easy

Straight forward application and money was in my bank quickly

Reviewed on 19th May 2020
Heather's avatar
Heather