Aviva Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 331 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

The Aviva car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you. We’ve got hundreds of genuine Aviva car insurance reviews to help you decide if Aviva is the right company for your needs, budget, and vehicle. With over one million cus...

READ MORE

The Aviva car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you. We’ve got hundreds of genuine Aviva car insurance reviews to help you decide if Aviva is the right company for your needs, budget, and vehicle. With over one million customers, Aviva is one of the largest UK car insurance providers, with policies spanning different vehicle types and various levels of cover. Your car insurance is an ongoing financial commitment, and provides important protection should an unfortunate incident occur, so it really is worth taking the time to make an informed decision. Our reviews on Aviva car insurance cover everything from multi car insurance, to electric car insurance, to young driver policies, so you’re sure to find some that are relevant to you. And remember, if you've used Aviva before, you can also leave a review to help other drivers. Not sure what to write about? Share your experiences on customer service, or setting up a policy, or give your thoughts on whether it’s good value for money. You may also want to offer details on how efficient the claims process was for example. Don’t forget to include what kind of policy you’ve taken out too; this is all really valuable information for drivers doing their research. Smart Money People is the UK’s largest financial services review site. Together, we can help to increase trust and transparency in financial services. Read or write an Aviva car insurance review below.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

331 reviews

Review Aviva's Car Insurance now

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Had an accident that wasn't my fault. Rang Aviva to get it booked in for repair and to get a courtesy van. Once the vehicle was "assessed" by O.M.C ford Oldham. (A guy in a suit walked round the vehicle without even lifting the bonnet) they deemed the veh Read more

Had an accident that wasn't my fault. Rang Aviva to get it booked in for repair and to get a courtesy van. Once the vehicle was "assessed" by O.M.C ford Oldham. (A guy in a suit walked round the vehicle without even lifting the bonnet) they deemed the vehicle safe for the road after the accident. I wasn't convinced and took it to my local mechanic to be assessed properly. Turns out my radiator was leaking and no water left in it. I rang my Aviva to let them know and they refused to deem the vehicle unsafe for use. They told me I would have to wait for 2 months for it to be repaired. After 6 hours on the phone being pushed round to different departments. They finally accepted it wasn't safe for the road and agreed to take it away within 48 hours. After more messing about with the hire vehicle it finally went in for repair. 3 days later my van has been repaired, picked the van up and drove it home to find out they have replaced the radiator but it was still leaking. By the time I got home the radiator was bone dry. I've now had to take it back again! I've made a complaint with Aviva after loosing 4 days wages with being messed about. All they could offer me was £150 compensation after I've lost £1000 in wages. Between Aviva, OMC ford Oldham and enterprise this has been the worst experience ever. I will not be renewing my business insurance with them.

Reviewed on 6th June 2022
Michael Farrand's avatar
Michael Farrand

Appalling

Aviva took my car away to repair a window. They neglected it for 5 weeks and left it sitting outside in all conditions. The car ended up a write off and all they offered was a book price. Left me £1000’s out of pocket. Avoid this company.

Reviewed on 23rd May 2022
William Worgan's avatar
William Worgan

one of the most incompetent companies

Aviva is a total rip off they charge customers beyond limit and the service they provide is the poorest I have ever received from any insurance company, please shop around for better companies and better rates before you get into this mess. I trusted Aviv Read more

Aviva is a total rip off they charge customers beyond limit and the service they provide is the poorest I have ever received from any insurance company, please shop around for better companies and better rates before you get into this mess. I trusted Aviva for three years but I was completely wrong and should have listened to my friends not to insure my cars with Aviva, not only the prices are exorbitantly high but the customer service is so poor and incompetent they don't really care, when I met with an accident I called registered my claim which was not even registered and and was given assurance that they'll be in touch, after which I received a letter from the other party solicitors making a claim only to find out my claim wasn't registered after I called Aviva back I was told that somehow my claim hasn't been registered all they did was apologise over the phone. the worst was yet to come they sent my car to a body shop for repairs saying its Audi Recognised but my car came back worse then I could even imagine the interiors were shabby I had to clean the car myself at home and sanitise it, it was sent back again and it got even worse there was blemishes and dinks and chips put on my car and all swirl marks. I'm completed disappointed my car use to be gleaming before it went for repairs. I have now requested to send my car to a proper Audi centre and get it done again but I'm told it will at least take 8 weeks to prove that the body shop is responsible for doing so even after providing with pictures. so if you ever wanna waste your money then think twice before insuring your car with Aviva, i have finally got a new insurer which is £1200 cheaper the Aviva.

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
Steve Fernandes's avatar
Steve Fernandes

AVIVA - INCOMPETENCE PERSONIFIED

DO NOT INSURE YOUR VEHICLE OR ANYTHING ELSE WITH THIS SHOWER OF NUMPTIES!! Two weeks after my accident AVIVA are still unable to provide me with a courtesy car/hire car (War in Ukraine, COVID pandemic, this is just some the excuses from them). To reach t Read more

DO NOT INSURE YOUR VEHICLE OR ANYTHING ELSE WITH THIS SHOWER OF NUMPTIES!!
Two weeks after my accident AVIVA are still unable to provide me with a courtesy car/hire car (War in Ukraine, COVID pandemic, this is just some the excuses from them). To reach this unsatisfactory outcome i had to endure 28 hrs of calls with 13 different advisors and am no further on. I did make a suggestion that i would put a SORNED vehicle that i have back on the road which initially they agreed to meeting the costs of mot/tax etc, but only two hours later they called back to say i had been misled and that they could not help. I have been constantly lied to, talked over, spoken down to and told each time i called that the complaint had been escalated to the highest level - bullsh*t!!
After only a couple of calls to AVIVA your health and well being will head south so i would suggest to any prospective customers to avoid this lot and any of the companies that AVIVA own and go elsewhere - you have been warned!!

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Gordon Donaldson's avatar
Gordon Donaldson

Worse insurance company ever.

Notified them a potential issue with my car and it is now marked with claim. put my insurance up for hundreds, I told them i dont need their help any more and they confirmed it would only be a notification, but! it has left a mark! Never claimed any money Read more

Notified them a potential issue with my car and it is now marked with claim. put my insurance up for hundreds, I told them i dont need their help any more and they confirmed it would only be a notification, but! it has left a mark! Never claimed any money from them. what a joke of a company

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Daz Jin's avatar
Daz Jin

Over 3 months & just ignored

My vehicle, being driven under 3rd Party cover, was stationary at ATS in December 2021 when an Aviva customer drove into it, causing it to be a likely financial write-off. The driver accepted total responsibility and Aviva said they would deal direct with Read more

My vehicle, being driven under 3rd Party cover, was stationary at ATS in December 2021 when an Aviva customer drove into it, causing it to be a likely financial write-off. The driver accepted total responsibility and Aviva said they would deal direct with me. Multiple E-Mails have been sent and never one response received from them. My pride and joy car has been on my driveway now for over three months. Aviva clearly does not care about people and their upset, just money. I would never have a policy with this company, will do my best to ensure family and friends avoid too and have no choice now but to find out how to take legal proceedings against them, all because they don't have the basic courtesy to communicate.
Shame on you Aviva, you are a disgrace to your sector.

Reviewed on 8th April 2022
FrasNM's avatar
FrasNM

Professional & Quality Insurer

I've been with Aviva for just one year and all my contact with them has been professional and prompt. I would recommend.

Reviewed on 3rd April 2022
Helen Swales's avatar
Helen Swales

DONT USE THIER RECOMMENDED REPAIRERS

Seven weekas ago I had an accident on the motoway that very windy day - blown into the barrier. I should have used BMW but Aviva said it was £250 extra excess. They could move the car to a repair company near to me and provide a loan car. They did move Read more

Seven weekas ago I had an accident on the motoway that very windy day - blown into the barrier. I should have used BMW but Aviva said it was £250 extra excess. They could move the car to a repair company near to me and provide a loan car. They did move it and seven weeks later I dont have any idea of when the car will be repaired nor do I have a loan car. The garage (IRG Bristol) fianlly says they have produced an estimate and are wating for Aviva to approve, Aviva says thay havent had it!!!! Tha garage says they dont have any loan cars and Aviva says they should hire one!! Impossible to get answers? Do I go to the Finacial Ombudsman or hire a solicitor but I dont think it likely to make a difference. So DONT use thier approved repair companies, I should have used BMW who sent a hire car (it's part of the waranty within a few hours - brillaint service but it went rapidly downhill with Aviva

Reviewed on 3rd April 2022
Ian Gott's avatar
Ian Gott

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

I NEEDED TO ASK SOME INSURANCE QUESTIONS ABOUT TEMPORARY COVER AND CHANGING VEHICLE AND WHAT THESE WOULD COST. I TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT AVIVA NUMBERS WHICH ALL LED DOWN A SEEMINGLY ENDLESS STREAM OF OPTIONS WHICH ALL ENDED UP NOWHERE NO MATTER WHICH ONES Read more

I NEEDED TO ASK SOME INSURANCE QUESTIONS ABOUT TEMPORARY COVER AND CHANGING VEHICLE AND WHAT THESE WOULD COST. I TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT AVIVA NUMBERS WHICH ALL LED DOWN A SEEMINGLY ENDLESS STREAM OF OPTIONS WHICH ALL ENDED UP NOWHERE NO MATTER WHICH ONES YOU CHOOSE. THE ONLY WAY I GOT THROUGH TO AN ACTUAL PERSON WAS TO PRETEND I NEEDED TO MAKE A CLAIM AND THAT SNOTTY WOMAN PUT ME THROUGH TO CUSTOMER SERVICES WHICH LED ME STRAIGHT DOWN THE SAME OPTIONS TO NOWHERE. I'M NOT ABLE TO PURCHASE THE CAR I'M INTERESTED IN BECAUSE I CAN'T GET ANY INFORMATION FROM AVIVA, IT'S SO INFURIATING, WHY CAN'T THEY JUST ANSWER THE PHONE TO CUSTOMERS, IT WOULD BE SO SIMPLE, JUST CALL, ASK YOUR QUESTION AND DONE. I WILL BE LOOKING FOR NEW COVER WHEN MINE EXPIRES.

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
ALEX's avatar
ALEX

DO NOT GO THERE PEOPLE

AFTER JUST ONE YEAR THEY RAISED MY PREMIUM WITHOUT ANY CLAIMS BY €100!!LADY ON THE PHONE ADVICED ME TO GO TO OTHER COMPANY

Reviewed on 9th March 2022
Rafal Sych's avatar
Rafal Sych

renewal notification

found Aviva great on price but when it came to renewal i had no notice prior to my renewal date , i assumed they did not want my business so acquired a new insurance from a different company , then got a message from Aviva thanking me for renewing with th Read more

found Aviva great on price but when it came to renewal i had no notice prior to my renewal date , i assumed they did not want my business so acquired a new insurance from a different company , then got a message from Aviva thanking me for renewing with them ?????????????????? it then cost me £28 to stop the renewal ...utterly flabberghasted ... be very careful dealing with this company

Reviewed on 24th February 2022
Steve Blue Paynter's avatar
Steve Blue Paynter

Avoid they won't repair your car pr provide a hire vehicle

They failed to provide me with a repair garage and a hire car following a non fault claim. The third party insurer admitted liability within an hour of the accident. I called their call center many times was on hold each time for over an hour, I get the Read more

They failed to provide me with a repair garage and a hire car following a non fault claim. The third party insurer admitted liability within an hour of the accident.
I called their call center many times was on hold each time for over an hour, I get the same response from the customer service,you will be called to book a garage within an hour. I never got called. I was never provided with a hire car. I also escalated the issue, nothing changed.
I had to go to the third party insurer who repaired my car and provided me with a hire car.
I feel aviva has stolen my money. They say in their policy they provide a hire car within one working day, not true.
I raised a complaint, aviva says on their website they respond within 8 weeks. They didn't.

Reviewed on 5th February 2022
Yusra Mohammad's avatar
Yusra Mohammad

Avoid

Their online car insurance is a nightmare, been unaccessible since the start, there's no helpline and all they keep replying is log into your account to make ammendments, but if you can't log in it's impossible to do anything. 11 months on and still not s Read more

Their online car insurance is a nightmare, been unaccessible since the start, there's no helpline and all they keep replying is log into your account to make ammendments, but if you can't log in it's impossible to do anything. 11 months on and still not sorted, renewing elsewhere.

Reviewed on 2nd February 2022
Gary Young's avatar
Gary Young

Avoid like the plague!

Terrible customer service. Revoked my No Claim Bonuses even though the 3rd party has amitted liability and their insurance has paid Aviva and me. Getting through to customer services to get my NCB back is near enough impossible. Would never use Aviva agai Read more

Terrible customer service. Revoked my No Claim Bonuses even though the 3rd party has amitted liability and their insurance has paid Aviva and me. Getting through to customer services to get my NCB back is near enough impossible. Would never use Aviva again.

Reviewed on 26th January 2022
JB's avatar
JB

aviva £1173.54 and tesco £294

AVIVA £1173.54 AND TESCO £294 THAT SAYS IT ALL

Reviewed on 18th January 2022
pop.daykin@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
pop.daykin@hotmail.co.uk

cover voided and mistreated

I paid for 1 year car insurance but I could use its cover for only 2 weeks. The policy investigator couldn't find the temporary address address I provided when I applied for the policy, and instead of contacting me to inquiry about it, they have blocked Read more

I paid for 1 year car insurance but I could use its cover for only 2 weeks.
The policy investigator couldn't find the temporary address address I provided when I applied for the policy, and instead of contacting me to inquiry about it, they have blocked my car cover.
They just sent an email notifying that they void the cover... luckily I read it the day after, I risked to drive without cover for days because they didn't bother to make a phone call.
First shoot and then ask questions, they treated me like I was a terrorist.
I called them and instead of apologise and fix the situation, they told me I have to re apply for another cover and my previous premium money are lost.
They made a mistake in checking the address, they mistreated me like I was a terrorist, they put me in a dangerous condition (voiding my cover without warning me), and I must pay.
I am contacting lawyers, they must pay for what they did.
Do you want to join them? First find a good lawyer.

Reviewed on 17th December 2021
Andres Pibiri's avatar
Andres Pibiri

Better Insurers Elsewhere

My advice would be to avoid Aviva. Still waiting for liability of my claim to be process 3 months after the accident. Simple rear end accident yet I have to pay excess and interest with no timeline by Aviva provided. On top of this they only communicate ' Read more

My advice would be to avoid Aviva. Still waiting for liability of my claim to be process 3 months after the accident. Simple rear end accident yet I have to pay excess and interest with no timeline by Aviva provided. On top of this they only communicate 'when asked' and you have to be on old for hours for the privilege.

Reviewed on 30th November 2021
B Kantsler's avatar
B Kantsler

AVOID!!

Avoid! They are good on marketing and looking from outside but when you really need to deal with them they just want your money. A non fault claim they "see it" as fault because they did not recover the money from 3rd party. You loose NCD because of that Read more

Avoid! They are good on marketing and looking from outside but when you really need to deal with them they just want your money. A non fault claim they "see it" as fault because they did not recover the money from 3rd party. You loose NCD because of that even if it was not your fault at all! but wait...it is your fault that they cannot or did not recover the money after 7 months because their solicitors are too lazy and don't care much because there is not much money involved. Absolutely outrageous! A big fat cat!

Reviewed on 12th November 2021
Mirel MM's avatar
Mirel MM

Excellent support and service when I needed it.

We've been with Aviva for quite a while and have our car insurances with them. They have always been very helpful when deciding what to do and their support has been top notch. More so this last year as we needed their help with a small knock (my first in Read more

We've been with Aviva for quite a while and have our car insurances with them. They have always been very helpful when deciding what to do and their support has been top notch. More so this last year as we needed their help with a small knock (my first in 20 years) and they really helped me through it all. On top of that they are still very competitive on premiums.

Reviewed on 5th October 2021
Naeem Dean's avatar
Naeem Dean

Good value for money

Good use of IT to keep costs down

Reviewed on 25th September 2021
K Neale's avatar
K Neale