Aviva Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 340 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

The Aviva car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you. We’ve got hundreds of genuine Aviva car insurance reviews to help you decide if Aviva is the right company for your needs, budget, and vehicle.

With over one million customers, Aviva is one of the largest...

READ MORE

The Aviva car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you. We’ve got hundreds of genuine Aviva car insurance reviews to help you decide if Aviva is the right company for your needs, budget, and vehicle.

With over one million customers, Aviva is one of the largest UK car insurance providers, with policies spanning different vehicle types and various levels of cover. Your car insurance is an ongoing financial commitment, and provides important protection should an unfortunate incident occur, so it really is worth taking the time to make an informed decision. Our reviews on Aviva car insurance cover everything from multi car insurance, to electric car insurance, to young driver policies, so you’re sure to find some that are relevant to you.

And remember, if you've used Aviva before, you can also leave a review to help other drivers. Not sure what to write about? Share your experiences on customer service, or setting up a policy, or give your thoughts on whether it’s good value for money. You may also want to offer details on how efficient the claims process was for example. Don’t forget to include what kind of policy you’ve taken out too; this is all really valuable information for drivers doing their research.

Smart Money People is the UK’s largest financial services review site. Together, we can help to increase trust and transparency in financial services. Read or write an Aviva car insurance review below.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

340 reviews

Review Aviva's Car Insurance now

Great Company

Been with Aviva for many years, good company, my wife was hit at rear of car, Aviva dealt with quickly and efficiently.

Reviewed on 20th September 2022
Norman Pratt's avatar
Norman Pratt

Terrible stressful experience

Someone drove into my car, I had three witnesses and rang Aviva to be told I have to do the claim online. The following day I have an email asking for information I had already provided. They didn't send me the information for getting car repaired, I spen Read more

Someone drove into my car, I had three witnesses and rang Aviva to be told I have to do the claim online. The following day I have an email asking for information I had already provided. They didn't send me the information for getting car repaired, I spent almost all day ringing as on hold for so long. The company they agree can fix car is not a good garage and if I use my own which is approved by other insurers I can not have a courtesy car and have to pay additional money remembering I shouldn't be paying a penny as it's the other person's insurance that will pay. To get my money back I have to use a solicitor they provide. They have not assessed damage so assume it is drivable even though I don't know if any other damage unseen. This has been the worst experience and has caused me more stress and upset than the actual incident. I should put in a legal claim for stress from Aviva not the driver who hit the car. Appalling service do not use this company they only care about money.

Reviewed on 15th September 2022
Lorraine Welch's avatar
Lorraine Welch

No Claims proof

Aviva Zero keep sending Emails to ask me to send in proof of No Claims .I have uploaded and Emailed them back about 10 times. However they continue to Email me telling me they have not received this. Aviva Zero is a complete scam.They will take your money Read more

Aviva Zero keep sending Emails to ask me to send in proof of No Claims .I have uploaded and Emailed them back about 10 times. However they continue to Email me telling me they have not received this. Aviva Zero is a complete scam.They will take your money from you but will not reply to Emails.And you are unable to contact them.

Reviewed on 12th September 2022
Marc's avatar
Marc

Aviva Zero

Does anyone know how to contact aviva zero i have sent multiply emails since last thursday no reply from actual real person just a generic response. i have sent proof of no claims discount and they dont reply can someone help me what to do they said they Read more

Does anyone know how to contact aviva zero i have sent multiply emails since last thursday no reply from actual real person just a generic response. i have sent proof of no claims discount and they dont reply can someone help me what to do they said they will cancel and charge my policy if it is not uploaded but i have uploaded it and sent multiply photos of the no claims discount getting fed up with there service

Reviewed on 7th September 2022
Bruce Vardy's avatar
Bruce Vardy

Poor service when making claim

We have motor insurance with Aviva. A tree branch fell on my partners car while she was driving, it landed on the bonnet and caused significant damage. We made a claim with Aviva and they advised that a third party company called Co Part would arrang Read more


We have motor insurance with Aviva. A tree branch fell on my partners car while she was driving, it landed on the bonnet and caused significant damage.

We made a claim with Aviva and they advised that a third party company called Co Part would arrange collection of the car and then we would be told if the car is a write off and told the settlement figure. The collection happened within 2 days and we were advised it would then be 3 to 5 days to get the report (confirmation of write off and settlement figure), 5 days later I chased them to confirm the report would be issued that day, I was casually told it would be a few more days. The person on the phone seemed to have no concept of how urgent an issue like this is and I had to push to get the report that day. This is when the trouble really started. They provided a settlement figure of £3,500 which is £1000 below the market value of the car from examples on Autotrader. I got no report or explanantion as to how they arrived at that figure. They told me to send three examples from Autotrader which I did and they increased the valuation to £3,850 which is still far below the market value and again no evidence or explanation was provided from their side. I asked for their complaints email address which they provided but the email address was fake or incorrect as the email bounced back when I tried it. Now they are not responding to my emails and this is all delaying my money.

Aviva, can you please sort this out, I have sent a formal complaint via your website where you will have all my claim details etc. Please stop using this dodgy company Co Part.

Reviewed on 2nd September 2022
Craig McCullough's avatar
Craig McCullough

Nice price last year

But renewal price is up over 20%

Reviewed on 15th August 2022
C Thompson's avatar
C Thompson

Good company

Good price for car insurance and breakdown cover.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
AaronM's avatar
AaronM

Very poor service

Don't use this company or some of their smallest companies ,like General Accident.My car had an accident ,not my fault, and they can not give me any information about repairing 9 months.After 8 months they offered me a courtesy car only for a week.How lo Read more

Don't use this company or some of their smallest companies ,like General Accident.My car had an accident ,not my fault, and they can not give me any information about repairing 9 months.After 8 months they offered me a courtesy car only for a week.How long it will take,I still don't mnow,no one calls me and I can not get in touch with them.Avoid this company.

Reviewed on 8th August 2022
ivanka petkova's avatar
ivanka petkova

Dreadful

Insured my son's car with Aviva and paid extra for legal cover. He had to claim for a no-fault motorway prang. Claim passed by Aviva to their solicitors (Carpenters) over 4 months ago. Am still awaiting resolution. Aviva have absolved themselves of all re Read more

Insured my son's car with Aviva and paid extra for legal cover. He had to claim for a no-fault motorway prang. Claim passed by Aviva to their solicitors (Carpenters) over 4 months ago. Am still awaiting resolution. Aviva have absolved themselves of all responsibility. Have now had to take case to SRA and Financial Ombudsman. Avoid this company like the plague.

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Fiona Goble's avatar
Fiona Goble

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Had an accident that wasn't my fault. Rang Aviva to get it booked in for repair and to get a courtesy van. Once the vehicle was "assessed" by O.M.C ford Oldham. (A guy in a suit walked round the vehicle without even lifting the bonnet) they deemed the veh Read more

Had an accident that wasn't my fault. Rang Aviva to get it booked in for repair and to get a courtesy van. Once the vehicle was "assessed" by O.M.C ford Oldham. (A guy in a suit walked round the vehicle without even lifting the bonnet) they deemed the vehicle safe for the road after the accident. I wasn't convinced and took it to my local mechanic to be assessed properly. Turns out my radiator was leaking and no water left in it. I rang my Aviva to let them know and they refused to deem the vehicle unsafe for use. They told me I would have to wait for 2 months for it to be repaired. After 6 hours on the phone being pushed round to different departments. They finally accepted it wasn't safe for the road and agreed to take it away within 48 hours. After more messing about with the hire vehicle it finally went in for repair. 3 days later my van has been repaired, picked the van up and drove it home to find out they have replaced the radiator but it was still leaking. By the time I got home the radiator was bone dry. I've now had to take it back again! I've made a complaint with Aviva after loosing 4 days wages with being messed about. All they could offer me was £150 compensation after I've lost £1000 in wages. Between Aviva, OMC ford Oldham and enterprise this has been the worst experience ever. I will not be renewing my business insurance with them.

Reviewed on 6th June 2022
Michael Farrand's avatar
Michael Farrand

Appalling

Aviva took my car away to repair a window. They neglected it for 5 weeks and left it sitting outside in all conditions. The car ended up a write off and all they offered was a book price. Left me £1000’s out of pocket. Avoid this company.

Reviewed on 23rd May 2022
William Worgan's avatar
William Worgan

one of the most incompetent companies

Aviva is a total rip off they charge customers beyond limit and the service they provide is the poorest I have ever received from any insurance company, please shop around for better companies and better rates before you get into this mess. I trusted Aviv Read more

Aviva is a total rip off they charge customers beyond limit and the service they provide is the poorest I have ever received from any insurance company, please shop around for better companies and better rates before you get into this mess. I trusted Aviva for three years but I was completely wrong and should have listened to my friends not to insure my cars with Aviva, not only the prices are exorbitantly high but the customer service is so poor and incompetent they don't really care, when I met with an accident I called registered my claim which was not even registered and and was given assurance that they'll be in touch, after which I received a letter from the other party solicitors making a claim only to find out my claim wasn't registered after I called Aviva back I was told that somehow my claim hasn't been registered all they did was apologise over the phone. the worst was yet to come they sent my car to a body shop for repairs saying its Audi Recognised but my car came back worse then I could even imagine the interiors were shabby I had to clean the car myself at home and sanitise it, it was sent back again and it got even worse there was blemishes and dinks and chips put on my car and all swirl marks. I'm completed disappointed my car use to be gleaming before it went for repairs. I have now requested to send my car to a proper Audi centre and get it done again but I'm told it will at least take 8 weeks to prove that the body shop is responsible for doing so even after providing with pictures. so if you ever wanna waste your money then think twice before insuring your car with Aviva, i have finally got a new insurer which is £1200 cheaper the Aviva.

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
Steve Fernandes's avatar
Steve Fernandes

AVIVA - INCOMPETENCE PERSONIFIED

DO NOT INSURE YOUR VEHICLE OR ANYTHING ELSE WITH THIS SHOWER OF NUMPTIES!! Two weeks after my accident AVIVA are still unable to provide me with a courtesy car/hire car (War in Ukraine, COVID pandemic, this is just some the excuses from them). To reach t Read more

DO NOT INSURE YOUR VEHICLE OR ANYTHING ELSE WITH THIS SHOWER OF NUMPTIES!!
Two weeks after my accident AVIVA are still unable to provide me with a courtesy car/hire car (War in Ukraine, COVID pandemic, this is just some the excuses from them). To reach this unsatisfactory outcome i had to endure 28 hrs of calls with 13 different advisors and am no further on. I did make a suggestion that i would put a SORNED vehicle that i have back on the road which initially they agreed to meeting the costs of mot/tax etc, but only two hours later they called back to say i had been misled and that they could not help. I have been constantly lied to, talked over, spoken down to and told each time i called that the complaint had been escalated to the highest level - bullsh*t!!
After only a couple of calls to AVIVA your health and well being will head south so i would suggest to any prospective customers to avoid this lot and any of the companies that AVIVA own and go elsewhere - you have been warned!!

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Gordon Donaldson's avatar
Gordon Donaldson

Worse insurance company ever.

Notified them a potential issue with my car and it is now marked with claim. put my insurance up for hundreds, I told them i dont need their help any more and they confirmed it would only be a notification, but! it has left a mark! Never claimed any money Read more

Notified them a potential issue with my car and it is now marked with claim. put my insurance up for hundreds, I told them i dont need their help any more and they confirmed it would only be a notification, but! it has left a mark! Never claimed any money from them. what a joke of a company

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Daz Jin's avatar
Daz Jin

Over 3 months & just ignored

My vehicle, being driven under 3rd Party cover, was stationary at ATS in December 2021 when an Aviva customer drove into it, causing it to be a likely financial write-off. The driver accepted total responsibility and Aviva said they would deal direct with Read more

My vehicle, being driven under 3rd Party cover, was stationary at ATS in December 2021 when an Aviva customer drove into it, causing it to be a likely financial write-off. The driver accepted total responsibility and Aviva said they would deal direct with me. Multiple E-Mails have been sent and never one response received from them. My pride and joy car has been on my driveway now for over three months. Aviva clearly does not care about people and their upset, just money. I would never have a policy with this company, will do my best to ensure family and friends avoid too and have no choice now but to find out how to take legal proceedings against them, all because they don't have the basic courtesy to communicate.
Shame on you Aviva, you are a disgrace to your sector.

Reviewed on 8th April 2022
FrasNM's avatar
FrasNM

Professional & Quality Insurer

I've been with Aviva for just one year and all my contact with them has been professional and prompt. I would recommend.

Reviewed on 3rd April 2022
Helen Swales's avatar
Helen Swales

DONT USE THIER RECOMMENDED REPAIRERS

Seven weekas ago I had an accident on the motoway that very windy day - blown into the barrier. I should have used BMW but Aviva said it was £250 extra excess. They could move the car to a repair company near to me and provide a loan car. They did move Read more

Seven weekas ago I had an accident on the motoway that very windy day - blown into the barrier. I should have used BMW but Aviva said it was £250 extra excess. They could move the car to a repair company near to me and provide a loan car. They did move it and seven weeks later I dont have any idea of when the car will be repaired nor do I have a loan car. The garage (IRG Bristol) fianlly says they have produced an estimate and are wating for Aviva to approve, Aviva says thay havent had it!!!! Tha garage says they dont have any loan cars and Aviva says they should hire one!! Impossible to get answers? Do I go to the Finacial Ombudsman or hire a solicitor but I dont think it likely to make a difference. So DONT use thier approved repair companies, I should have used BMW who sent a hire car (it's part of the waranty within a few hours - brillaint service but it went rapidly downhill with Aviva

Reviewed on 3rd April 2022
Ian Gott's avatar
Ian Gott

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

I NEEDED TO ASK SOME INSURANCE QUESTIONS ABOUT TEMPORARY COVER AND CHANGING VEHICLE AND WHAT THESE WOULD COST. I TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT AVIVA NUMBERS WHICH ALL LED DOWN A SEEMINGLY ENDLESS STREAM OF OPTIONS WHICH ALL ENDED UP NOWHERE NO MATTER WHICH ONES Read more

I NEEDED TO ASK SOME INSURANCE QUESTIONS ABOUT TEMPORARY COVER AND CHANGING VEHICLE AND WHAT THESE WOULD COST. I TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT AVIVA NUMBERS WHICH ALL LED DOWN A SEEMINGLY ENDLESS STREAM OF OPTIONS WHICH ALL ENDED UP NOWHERE NO MATTER WHICH ONES YOU CHOOSE. THE ONLY WAY I GOT THROUGH TO AN ACTUAL PERSON WAS TO PRETEND I NEEDED TO MAKE A CLAIM AND THAT SNOTTY WOMAN PUT ME THROUGH TO CUSTOMER SERVICES WHICH LED ME STRAIGHT DOWN THE SAME OPTIONS TO NOWHERE. I'M NOT ABLE TO PURCHASE THE CAR I'M INTERESTED IN BECAUSE I CAN'T GET ANY INFORMATION FROM AVIVA, IT'S SO INFURIATING, WHY CAN'T THEY JUST ANSWER THE PHONE TO CUSTOMERS, IT WOULD BE SO SIMPLE, JUST CALL, ASK YOUR QUESTION AND DONE. I WILL BE LOOKING FOR NEW COVER WHEN MINE EXPIRES.

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
ALEX's avatar
ALEX

DO NOT GO THERE PEOPLE

AFTER JUST ONE YEAR THEY RAISED MY PREMIUM WITHOUT ANY CLAIMS BY €100!!LADY ON THE PHONE ADVICED ME TO GO TO OTHER COMPANY

Reviewed on 9th March 2022
Rafal Sych's avatar
Rafal Sych

renewal notification

found Aviva great on price but when it came to renewal i had no notice prior to my renewal date , i assumed they did not want my business so acquired a new insurance from a different company , then got a message from Aviva thanking me for renewing with th Read more

found Aviva great on price but when it came to renewal i had no notice prior to my renewal date , i assumed they did not want my business so acquired a new insurance from a different company , then got a message from Aviva thanking me for renewing with them ?????????????????? it then cost me £28 to stop the renewal ...utterly flabberghasted ... be very careful dealing with this company

Reviewed on 24th February 2022
Steve Blue Paynter's avatar
Steve Blue Paynter