Aviva Health Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 79 reviews       Last review 5 days ago    

Aviva health insurance reviews can help to you to get the inside track on life as a Aviva health insurance customer before you take out a policy. Making sure that you find the best health insurance provider for you can help to give you piece of mind...which is were we...

READ MORE

Aviva health insurance reviews can help to you to get the inside track on life as a Aviva health insurance customer before you take out a policy. Making sure that you find the best health insurance provider for you can help to give you piece of mind...which is were we come in! Smart Money People in the UK's leading financial services review site. Our mission is to help increase trust and transparency using the power of YOUR reviews...so why not write a Aviva health insurance review today!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Health Insurance Reviews

79 reviews

Review Aviva's Health Insurance now

Avoid at all costs

Took out health cover and have never claimed. I went though a broker and he did switch me once but under a continuous moratorium. When I did try to claim they denied the claim and kept changing their reasons for doing so. And said that when I switched it Read more

Took out health cover and have never claimed. I went though a broker and he did switch me once but under a continuous moratorium. When I did try to claim they denied the claim and kept changing their reasons for doing so. And said that when I switched it was new t&cs which pretty much exclude everything. Basically I’ve wasted my premiums because they will find any way possible to get out of paying a claim.they said a letter from my consultant was irrelevant, they said the broker was not qualified to advise me on what I was covered for. Complete shower , avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 23rd September 2022
Bev's avatar
Bev

Happy to take your money

I have a holiday house in France , when Aviva found out I was out of the UK for several months a year , they cancelled my Private Health Cover within 2 mins - been paying in for a long time , never ever mentioned If out of the UK then I knew I could no Read more

I have a holiday house in France , when Aviva found out I was out of the UK for several months a year , they cancelled my Private Health Cover within 2 mins - been paying in for a long time , never ever mentioned
If out of the UK then I knew I could not use them , which was to their advantage
They will of course make some excuse if this review is shown to them
But this is part of there last e.mail to me
"This essentially means that members must remain a UK resident for the entire policy year, however we do allow members to be outside of the UK for up to 3 months each policy year, to account for short-term holidays abroad."
So , if you are with them , find someone else

Reviewed on 8th September 2022
Christopher Tayulor's avatar
Christopher Tayulor

Not Fit For Purpose

Impossible to contact on any level. No one answers the phone. The chatbot doesn’t work. My documents are not available on their portal. What on earth is the point of health insurance (at prodigious cost) if they are uncontactable? NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE

Reviewed on 7th September 2022
Nicholas Lambarde-Scott's avatar
Nicholas Lambarde-Scott

Avoid avoid avoid

If I could, I would give them less than 1 star. Very expensive premium which turns out to be a total scam because they do not cover anything I require for medical purposes. Even suggested that I go to the NHS the cheeky buggers. On top of this the system Read more

If I could, I would give them less than 1 star. Very expensive premium which turns out to be a total scam because they do not cover anything I require for medical purposes. Even suggested that I go to the NHS the cheeky buggers. On top of this the system is I believe purposefully convoluted & customer service terrible. Avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 30th August 2022
Fee Leslie's avatar
Fee Leslie

Uncaring and avoiding liability

Could not be worse. Paid the premium/never claimed for over 40 years and then they look for any reason to avoid liability. They paid in the end but I had to contribute. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 20th August 2022
chris's avatar
chris

Terrible

I've been fortunate to have had private medical insurance for over 40 years. We recently changed to Aviva. Never again! They rejected a claim on the most spurious of grounds and subsequently proved totally inflexible when asked to reconsider. We have now Read more

I've been fortunate to have had private medical insurance for over 40 years. We recently changed to Aviva. Never again! They rejected a claim on the most spurious of grounds and subsequently proved totally inflexible when asked to reconsider. We have now left them.

Reviewed on 17th August 2022
Howard Berman's avatar
Howard Berman

Will find a way not to cover your claim, avoid the huge premium which will give you nothing

I have paid into my company health insurance to cover my family for years and as soon as it comes to making a claim, they managed to find a reason not to support us. Needless to say I will be feeding back to my company but I am sure Aviva won't care!!!

Reviewed on 3rd August 2022
Steve's avatar
Steve

Beware

When I tried to make a (totally genuine) claim I immediately got the impression they were going to do everything they could to avoid honouring the claim. And that’s exactly what happened. They confirm all the terrible stories we’ve heard about health insu Read more

When I tried to make a (totally genuine) claim I immediately got the impression they were going to do everything they could to avoid honouring the claim. And that’s exactly what happened. They confirm all the terrible stories we’ve heard about health insurance companies. Wish I’d stuck with BUPA.

Reviewed on 3rd July 2022
Russell Wailes's avatar
Russell Wailes

Total Madness

Been with them for many years and because we have a house in France I phoned them to ask if it was possible to increase my policy to include my times whilst in France , as there are many Aviva agents there . When I said I could be there for anything over Read more

Been with them for many years and because we have a house in France I phoned them to ask if it was possible to increase my policy to include my times whilst in France , as there are many Aviva agents there . When I said I could be there for anything over 3 months per year , they cancelled my policy there and then .
Totally stunned I was told that being out of the UK was not allowed , when did this happen I asked ,the 3 month clause happened in January they said , why was I never told . We do not tell clients I was informed but if we find out we cancel their policy . I would have thought it benefitted them we not being in the UK – still do not understand this , so now I do not have private cover
If other people are in the same position and holiday abroad for more than 3 months then I hope you cancel being with them and find someone else
Unbelievable behaviour – speechless .

Reviewed on 2nd July 2022
Christopher Tayulor's avatar
Christopher Tayulor

Avoid Avoid Avoid

Absolutely rubbish. Happy taking your money, but very poor communication when you put a claim in. They ultimately almost always find any excuse to refuse the claim. Much better to put your money into a savings account and draw money from there when you ne Read more

Absolutely rubbish. Happy taking your money, but very poor communication when you put a claim in. They ultimately almost always find any excuse to refuse the claim. Much better to put your money into a savings account and draw money from there when you need it.

Reviewed on 29th June 2022
Nazya Fiaz's avatar
Nazya Fiaz

Customer service where are you?

After more than 2 hours wait on the phone they disconnected me. No ways to get in touch. Live chat not working either. Simply appalling. Beware of the "invited" reviews on Tripadvisor

Reviewed on 29th June 2022
Barbara's avatar
Barbara

Aviva are nothing but thieves

I was diagnosed with cancer after I took out the policy and they refused to pay for my treatment. They had copies of all my consultations and could see clearly that I’d never had a a diagnosis of cancer before or treatment on this particular area but they Read more

I was diagnosed with cancer after I took out the policy and they refused to pay for my treatment. They had copies of all my consultations and could see clearly that I’d never had a a diagnosis of cancer before or treatment on this particular area but they slithered out of paying. How can one person take on such a large company with lots of lawyers? I will never use them for any insurance again and strongly suggest no one else does either, they are corrupt!

Reviewed on 23rd June 2022
Fiona's avatar
Fiona

Appaling

Lack of transparency about costs, inflated treatment prices, terrible customer service: stay away!

Reviewed on 13th June 2022
Antonio Cerella's avatar
Antonio Cerella

Scammers ! Avoid avoid avoid

Do not use use Aviva Health care! They are only willing to pay £500 per year on any consultation! Nothing is explained clearly on the phone My premiums are £960 per year and my consultation cost came up to £1000! They are only willing to pay the minimum Read more

Do not use use Aviva Health care! They are only willing to pay £500 per year on any consultation! Nothing is explained clearly on the phone My premiums are £960 per year and my consultation cost came up to £1000! They are only willing to pay the minimum £500 Do not believe them when they say you can increase the £500 per year! They won’t allow you! Avoid using Aviva Health Care!




Reviewed on 8th June 2022
Nina Schwartz's avatar
Nina Schwartz

Woeful Digital GP Service

Cancelled without notifying me then a totally different GP left a voicemail to te me he was on video waiting for me. Useless and incompetent.

Reviewed on 21st May 2022
Simon Durkin's avatar
Simon Durkin

Disgusting!

Wanted some preemptive counselling for my nine year old. They talked me round in circles and did absolutely everything they could not to help the child. Absolutely disgusted by them. Have left immediately. I just want health security for my family and am Read more

Wanted some preemptive counselling for my nine year old. They talked me round in circles and did absolutely everything they could not to help the child. Absolutely disgusted by them. Have left immediately. I just want health security for my family and am willing to pay yet I've just spent hours on the phone fighting for my daughter to no avail. Worse support that the poor NHS. At least the NHS Has its heart in the right place. I repeat: disgusting.

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Danielle Holden's avatar
Danielle Holden

False assurances and mis-sold insurance

A complete waste of money! Beware when taking out a medical insurance policy to cover you in the event of illness and inability to work. At a time when you are unwell and at your most vulnerable, Aviva will not pay out for the first month and will keep yo Read more

A complete waste of money! Beware when taking out a medical insurance policy to cover you in the event of illness and inability to work. At a time when you are unwell and at your most vulnerable, Aviva will not pay out for the first month and will keep you waiting without financial support for a number of months. They will also bring up your whole medical history and try to find an excuse not to support your claim.

Reviewed on 10th May 2022
Alison Luxford's avatar
Alison Luxford

The Worst! - try to wheedle out of paying legitiate clam

I took out Aviva Healthcare for me and my wife in April Last year - they asked about any conditions or treatments in the prior 5 years - I confirmed hat there weren't any. I renewed the policy last month and initiated a claim as my doctor had recommended Read more

I took out Aviva Healthcare for me and my wife in April Last year - they asked about any conditions or treatments in the prior 5 years - I confirmed hat there weren't any. I renewed the policy last month and initiated a claim as my doctor had recommended a colonoscopy (Due to my dad dying of Bowel cancer 12 yrs ago), when I started the claim, they looked at my records and saw that I had previously had a colonoscopy July 10th 2016 - 6 Years ago.... they refused to honour the claim stating that I had had a a investigation (Which found nothing) withn 5 Years... I pointd out that it was 6 years ago... and they defaulted to he start date of he policy - April 24th 2021 - which was 4 Years and 10 months after my previous investigation ... and have now said that as I consulted my doctor.. I would have to wait another 5 years before they would consider covering this procedure how is this effective preventative support... in five years, a Polyp can go from being harmless to stage 4 inoperable cancer!!!

Reviewed on 3rd May 2022
chris jones's avatar
chris jones

Avoid like the plague

Dreadful service. From the first call, their attitude was ‘how are we going to get out of this?’ Wish I’d stuck with BUPA.

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Russell Wailes's avatar
Russell Wailes

Thieves

This Company took over my previouse insurer. I have been with them for 40 years and currently pay them £650 a month. You take insurance out for those occasiions when you need medical help especially life saving. A number of times over the last 40 years Read more

This Company took over my previouse insurer.
I have been with them for 40 years and currently pay them £650 a month.
You take insurance out for those occasiions when you need medical help especially life saving.
A number of times over the last 40 years I have had to pay up to £3600 out of my own pocket.
Now they have given 6 months notice they won't cover my heart condition.

With insurance some people claim and some people like my wife never claim. Thats why we insure in the first place.

This company is a disgrace and I wish I had never heard of them.

If your thinking of useing them DON'T you will be sorry. Once they refuse treatment it's to late to go somewhere else and you can die for all they care.

Reviewed on 15th April 2022
John Russell's avatar
John Russell