John Lewis Partnership Card Reviews

  Ratings based on 418 reviews       Last review 11 hours ago    

Read our John Lewis Finance Partnership Card reviews to help you to find out about the pros and cons of taking out the Partnership credit card. What kind of features does the John Lewis Partnership card have? What do people think of John Lewis' customer service? Does the card have...

READ MORE

Read our John Lewis Finance Partnership Card reviews to help you to find out about the pros and cons of taking out the Partnership credit card. What kind of features does the John Lewis Partnership card have? What do people think of John Lewis' customer service? Does the card have great benefits?

Find out more about the Partnership card by reading our reviews from the Smart Money People community - people like you. You can also write your own John Lewis Partnership Card review to share your own experiences.


Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review and insight hub. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Poor

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Partnership Card Reviews

418 reviews

Review John Lewis's Partnership Card now

Poor Service

Having spent over one hour on the telephone trying to resolve an issue with my purchase of foreign currency on line I reluctantly gave up. I tried another retailer and had my order processed within five minutes. I remember well the days when John Lewis wa Read more

Having spent over one hour on the telephone trying to resolve an issue with my purchase of foreign currency on line I reluctantly gave up. I tried another retailer and had my order processed within five minutes. I remember well the days when John Lewis was renowned for its customer service, those days have sadly gone. I'm considering like so many others cancelling my account and moving to a retailer who can genuinely look after customers.

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
Michael Beevis 's avatar
Michael Beevis

Inexplicable rejection for new Partnership Card

After initially being incensed and frustrated after several long calls, appeals and letters having been a long standing John Lewis cardholder with a sizeable credit limit, at my seemingly inexplicable rejection, homeowner, 999 credit rating sizeable incom Read more

After initially being incensed and frustrated after several long calls, appeals and letters having been a long standing John Lewis cardholder with a sizeable credit limit, at my seemingly inexplicable rejection, homeowner, 999 credit rating sizeable income etc etc, I have read these reviews and am now intensely grateful that I have been rejected. If anyone is collecting ageist or sexist reasons - I exactly fit the bill I am a widow over 60. Why on earth John Lewis has gone out of its way to change provider from a respected bank to a bunch of cowboys who are immediately alienating their primary target shoppers by denying them a credit card is a complete mystery. I had always associated John Lewis with quality and customer service and New Day is a very long stretch away from that. I have now switched to a Sainsbury card and looking forward to saving money on petrol and my groceries. Good bye John Lewis.

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
Brave Designs's avatar
Brave Designs

There are no stars, but had to put one, reluctantly.

Having had a Partnership card for nearly 20 years with a £17000 credit limit, I have been issued with a new card issued by Newday, (who are not an actual bank) with a reduced credit limit. This has also reduced my 999 credit score to 987. Like so many l Read more

Having had a Partnership card for nearly 20 years with a £17000 credit limit, I have been issued with a new card issued by Newday, (who are not an actual bank) with a reduced credit limit. This has also reduced my 999 credit score to 987. Like so many long standing and loyal customers of John Lewis I have therefore cancelled my account and am appalled how John Lewis can disregard so many of us. This would never had have happened on Andy Street's watch who had Customer Service run through his veins.

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
L&TCoates's avatar
L&TCoates

A complete and utter waste of time and effort

John Lewis has been on a downward spiral for some years now and this New Day credit card is helping them continue the process. This new credit card gave me a credit limit of less than 8% of the one being withdrawn making it useless. Talking to their tel Read more

John Lewis has been on a downward spiral for some years now and this New Day credit card is helping them continue the process. This new credit card gave me a credit limit of less than 8% of the one being withdrawn making it useless. Talking to their telephone operator was pointless and having waited more than 30 minutes to log a complaint (the operator's suggestion) and all I heard was the usual garbage of there being an exceptionally large number of calls but no Human Being answered . I tried again and wasted my time with a New Day Robot asking for the card number over and over again.

Then of course there is the John Lewis complaint procedure that has been moved to the Carribean where it is so difficult to even understand the operator at all. I was given a number for the UK but ended back in the Carribean again to be told that I should try again and hopefully I will be lucky.

John Lewis please please please wind your retail operations up and put us all out of our misery and then perhaps some new operation can emerge that might offer new a never being knowingly undersold slogan with genuine customer support and not a hopeless automaton that you think, quite incorrectly, are mankind's salvation.

Finally the card from New Day sent to me: I shall not bother to activate it despite of all those emails asking me to.

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
Martin s's avatar
Martin s

Accepted ,no card

After much frustration Finally sorted out transferring to new account after giving up on the phone and on line and eventually going into a store. That was over a month ago received pin nos immediately but still no card ,can’t get through on phone , am no Read more

After much frustration Finally sorted out transferring to new account after giving up on the phone and on line and eventually going into a store. That was over a month ago received pin nos immediately but still no card ,can’t get through on phone , am now applying for M and S instead

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
deekowalski@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
deekowalski@hotmail.co.uk

Partnership Card debacle

After reading the reviews and having experience of New Day in the past I have mad a decision to cease doing business with John Lewis Finance and move my business to M&S. Interestingly M&S card services are provided by HSBC and my customer service experien Read more

After reading the reviews and having experience of New Day in the past I have mad a decision to cease doing business with John Lewis Finance and move my business to M&S. Interestingly M&S card services are provided by HSBC and my customer service experience was flawless - I didn't receive a confirmation email for my application so I contacted M&S (HSBC) and they resolved it within minutes, acceptance email sent and signed all within a few minutes of calling, oh and no 45 minute wait either!

New Day are sub-prime specialists (credit builders) and I suspect the way they finance their financial commitments is not the same as major well funded banks. I work in finance, so I suspect their credit capabilities are based on what they can leverage from the markets - which may explain the reduced credit limits as they simply can't underwrite that volume of debt. It also explains their reduced interest free period as they need the cash flow to fund their markeet exposure.

Is this really the kind of business JLP wants to be associated with?

Anyway I'm looking forward to a long and rewarding relationship with M&S now.

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
JasonC's avatar
JasonC

Very unfaithful with customer

They closed the old credit card for odd reason but refused their existing customer to have the new one card despite of having good credit with them. Very disappointed

Reviewed on 4th October 2022
Nhope 2021's avatar
Nhope 2021

Time to do a Truss turnaround JL

The above one-star review relates only to the fiasco of applying for the new card. In fact my own application sailed through without a hitch, but my husband was refused in spite of much discussion with New Day. I then received an email from JL congratul Read more

The above one-star review relates only to the fiasco of applying for the new card. In fact my own application sailed through without a hitch, but my husband was refused in spite of much discussion with New Day. I then received an email from JL congratulating me on having been successful. The gall of it. In view of the comments from other users on this site, I doubt I shall use the card when it finally arrives.

Reviewed on 4th October 2022
Sarah Kelen's avatar
Sarah Kelen

New JL credit card

Had my old card for around 15 years, always paid on time and have great credit rating. Applied for and received new card but queried the new credit limit of £250 (versus my old limited of over £6k !!) just received letter to say my complaint has been reje Read more

Had my old card for around 15 years, always paid on time and have great credit rating. Applied for and received new card but queried the new credit limit of £250 (versus my old limited of over £6k !!) just received letter to say my complaint has been rejected and the £250 stands ! Sorry JL but that’s not even enough to do my sainsburys shop ! So I’m off and can’t even be bothered to activate my new card . Think you will come to regret this decision, all you seem to have achieved is to alienate your loyal customer base….. so long …..

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
Anthea Foot's avatar
Anthea Foot

Shame on you. Loyal customer, perfect pay history, credit limit slashed

High earner, long standing customer, regularly spending 10k or more per month on the card and paying off in full. Processed the new application with code provided and got credit limit slashed by 90% to a fraction of typical monthly spend. Pressed cancel a Read more

High earner, long standing customer, regularly spending 10k or more per month on the card and paying off in full. Processed the new application with code provided and got credit limit slashed by 90% to a fraction of typical monthly spend. Pressed cancel and applied online for Amex card. Accepted in seconds with a credit limit more than double the previous JLP limit, plus loads of extra benefits and services besides.
Bye, bye JLP & Waitrose. There’s plenty of alternatives out there. Your loss their gain.
Shame on you for teaming up with such a low quality company. It’s clear from all these reviews they are not interested in better credit-rated customers who spend a lot of money and pay off their balance, but only those who pay interest, even encouraging payment of the minimum amount which financially costs those customers the most. That will come home to roost when they realise the amount of money spent is a fraction of the amount that HSBC processed (and John Lewis see their sales tumble too) whilst lower credit quality loans are the first to default in a recession- which is looming fast.

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
RobF's avatar
RobF

This is specifically about the new JL credit card - not JL in general. And it's pants.

It's a mess. If you want to keep your rewards going, you have to switch to this card provided by 'New Day'. As many others have remarked, the website is set up to encourage you only to pay a minimum amount, and thus pay interest. Which, of course, is ho Read more

It's a mess. If you want to keep your rewards going, you have to switch to this card provided by 'New Day'. As many others have remarked, the website is set up to encourage you only to pay a minimum amount, and thus pay interest. Which, of course, is how credit card companies earn their money, but this is pretty blatant. The website is also inaccurate, and frequently impossible to login. I paid the full amount of my first statement balance; three days later I got an email telling me I had to pay £5 within 6 days. No explanation. I wish I had not taken out this new card, and I will stop using it. I'm really surprised and disappointed at John Lewis getting into bed with such an outfit.

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
Anne Connell's avatar
Anne Connell

Ageism is illegal

Ageism is illegal around the modern world. But it seems NewDay and John Lewis will take their chances with the law and the Financial Ombudsman. I've written for clarification of my interpretation of the NewDay approach to "responsible lending". At 60+ Read more

Ageism is illegal around the modern world. But it seems NewDay and John Lewis will take their chances with the law and the Financial Ombudsman. I've written for clarification of my interpretation of the NewDay approach to "responsible lending".
At 60+ and now retired since first having the JLP card for many years I'm now surplus to requirements. I have a 999 credit rating and a good pension. I've been refused the replacement card by NewDay. Whereas my son who's in his first low paid job with no real credit history was successful and had his credit limit tripled without even asking. Actually to a level he could never pay back. NewDay are irresponsible lenders and either by design or stupidity have discriminated against aged JLP customers, who will take it personally and not return. In my written exchanges with John Lewis and NewDay, they have both avoided a response with any reference to Ageism.
I've made a formal complaint to the Financial Ombudsman as it is illegal to knowingly or indirectly act in a way that financially discriminates.
The outcry on t'internet is palpable. This is John Lewis's "Ratners" moment and they appear to have a new slogan... Never Knowingly Going Under.

I feel for the "partners". I would bet that JLP will not recover their current staggering seasonal debt by this Christmas and January sales as normal for the sector. Watch this space. I'd guess Dame Sharon White will be needing to take dramatic action early 2023. Clearly the crucial strategy of customer retention doesn't appeal.

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
Creditworthy and Mature's avatar
Creditworthy and Mature

free credit period chopped!

The previous HSBC run card wasn't perfect but at least I could get minimum 25 days' free credit. New day only gives 15 days between statement and payment which is a significant reduction in utility and value.

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
David W7's avatar
David W7

Designed to make you pay the minimum and incur debt

The design of this new app clearly encourages users of the JL card to incur debt as it has minimum payment right in the middle and this doesn’t clear even when you have paid off the debt in full for that month. It would also appear that the usual £99 take Read more

The design of this new app clearly encourages users of the JL card to incur debt as it has minimum payment right in the middle and this doesn’t clear even when you have paid off the debt in full for that month. It would also appear that the usual £99 taken to check viability when buying petrol from Tesco is not removed quickly as in the past. Inevitably this may have to be paid for one month before being returned the following month. This is totally unacceptable. I have been a loyal and long standing customer of John Lewis but now I am seeking another card provider. What a pity for me and others caught in this changeover that no-one requested. Maybe that's what they want. I guess there is no profit in those of us who pay up every month. JL will need to consider this move very carefully if they are not to lose many more customers.

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
LJB's avatar
LJB

Utter Shammbels

Have been trying for over a week to register the new John Lewis Partnership Credit Card (NewDay), whenever I attempt to register, I get the message 'system currently unavailable. please try again'. After 10+ attempts, I have better things to do with my t Read more

Have been trying for over a week to register the new John Lewis Partnership Credit Card (NewDay), whenever I attempt to register, I get the message 'system currently unavailable. please try again'. After 10+ attempts, I have better things to do with my time and I won't be trying again. M&S here I come.

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
Alister JUDD's avatar
Alister JUDD

I'm off!

Over 20 years with my old JL card and used for all my spending. New Day halved my credit limit plus it won't register for contactless payment on my Google Wallet. M&S card application on its way. JL losing its way badly.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2022
Les Stone's avatar
Les Stone

confusing

i had a text telling me that i had a payment due, no record of what it was for. I had to log on and pay and then had no receipt. this was only 2 weeks after i had cleared the last account.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2022
Alex Wilson's avatar
Alex Wilson

Bitterly disappointed

We were accepted with the same credit limit for the Newday card and I can only sympathise with the loyal customers who are angered by being refused for no good reason. However, we now feel that being rejected would have been preferable. We’ve been stresse Read more

We were accepted with the same credit limit for the Newday card and I can only sympathise with the loyal customers who are angered by being refused for no good reason. However, we now feel that being rejected would have been preferable. We’ve been stressed and embarrassed by having cards that only work sometimes. We’ve spent ages on the ‘phone to Newday and have been alarmed to receive fraud alerts when we’ve tried to make purchases and been declined. We’ve issued a complaint to Newday. I’ve shopped in JL and Waitrose practically since the last ice age. I opened the JL card as soon as it came out. I echo what everyone else has said about loyalty, anger and disappointment. There’s something else I’ve come to realise- I rely on my credit card, like my bank account, it provides security and confidence as I go about life. That has gone out of the window. We’re researching other credit card choices.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2022
Alan Workman's avatar
Alan Workman

Big Mistake by JL

Issuing a card went OK although limit was less than on JL's HSBC backed card. Used for about 3 weeks and then got a text to say balance to be paid in 10 days, a much shorter time than most cards. Also, they had ignored my request for a specific statement Read more

Issuing a card went OK although limit was less than on JL's HSBC backed card. Used for about 3 weeks and then got a text to say balance to be paid in 10 days, a much shorter time than most cards. Also, they had ignored my request for a specific statement date despite asking me for one. On going into my account, I noticed that paper statements were not an option and they only stayed online for 6 months. Had monthly statements from previous card which suits me. Decided to ring them to get statement date changed and get clarification on a few things. None of the options were suitable and there were layers and layers of them. There seemed no way to actually speak to anyone. So, I decided to push the option to cancel my card, thinking that would trigger a response from a human. It didn’t! After telling me all the things I had to do if cancelling my card, it announced it had cancelled it! JL have gone from a flexible card with good customer service to one with a lesser time to pay, no flexibility and as good as no customer service. They will regret this move.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2022
Manimag's avatar
Manimag

New day POOR

Applied for a new JLP card,held a card for 10 years always pay off payment and clear balance,application was denied,not a happy customer,BYE BYE JOHN LEWIS

Reviewed on 1st October 2022
Richard North's avatar
Richard North