John Lewis Partnership Card Reviews

  Ratings based on 219 reviews       Last review 5 days ago    

Read our John Lewis Finance Partnership Card reviews to help you to find out about the pros and cons of taking out the Partnership credit card. What kind of features does the John Lewis Partnership card have? What do people think of John Lewis' customer s...

READ MORE

Read our John Lewis Finance Partnership Card reviews to help you to find out about the pros and cons of taking out the Partnership credit card. What kind of features does the John Lewis Partnership card have? What do people think of John Lewis' customer service? Does the card have great benefits? Find out more about the Partnership card by reading our reviews from the Smart Money People community - people like you. You can also write your own John Lewis Partnership Card review to share your own experiences.

Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review and insight hub. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Partnership Card Reviews

219 reviews

Review John Lewis's Partnership Card now

Hopeless J Lewis

When trying to buy online my Mastercard gets rejected. By four separate companies. I rang JL and was told it was not them but the other companies systems. These are companies I have successfully used many times before. When I used my debit card it wor Read more

When trying to buy online my Mastercard gets rejected. By four separate companies.
I rang JL and was told it was not them but the other companies systems.
These are companies I have successfully used many times before.
When I used my debit card it worked perfectly.
As I said hopeless John Lewis

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
Tony Small's avatar
Tony Small

Customer support

Abysmal audio connection quality to customer support, after yet another flagged transaction.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
DM's avatar
DM

Impossible to obtain any reliable information from Customer Service

New Partnership card received and activated 17.05.22 along with the card reader. Had problems with the initial use of the card reader when purchasing a small TV from John Lewis the end of last week. I had to resort to ringing customer service who proce Read more

New Partnership card received and activated 17.05.22 along with the card reader.
Had problems with the initial use of the card reader when purchasing a small TV from John Lewis the end of last week. I had to resort to ringing customer service who processed the order.
On 6th June I used my card to pay two small amounts to local suppliers in person, in both cases my card was blocked.I had to use my debit card to pay.
Rang customer services and was advised that as my card had been blocked, I should go into a branch of HSBC and could unblock it at an ATM. andl that was the only way to unblock the card.
I bank with HSBC and visited a local branch, and was advised that they could not do this, as the credit card operation was completely separate from other HSBC functions, and they would not share information with the bank network. This was a total waste of time and erroneous information provided by the Customer Service Representative (Mustafa) who I spoke to. He appeared to try and help, he told me that this was the only way to unblock the card.
I was then told that a new pin number would be sent to me, even though I said I knew my number, the assumption was that I had forgotten it. The pin arrived on Saturday 11th June; it is the same number as I had previously.
I tried to use the card today and had a message to use my card reader, I put the card in as requested, but when I put in my PIN, it was immediately blocked.
I logged onto the John Lewis Financial Services web page and followed the instructions, only to be told that they did not recognise my details. Strange that I had received my statement a few days previously with a bill for over one thousand pounds due to be paid by 28.06.22 which will be paid, but am seriously considering cutting up the card. I have been a loyal John Lewis customer for many years and have had their credit card for some time with no problems, it is only since the revised credit checks have come in that problems have arisen. Local mobile signals are poor in this area and it seems that rural dwellers are being discriminated against. To be told when I try to log onto to my account that they cannot recognise my details is somewhat strange, when I have just had my statement in the post. I appreciate J.Lewis are changing their credit card supplier, but this mess cannot go on for much longer


Reviewed on 13th June 2022
Elspeth Watt's avatar
Elspeth Watt

Hopeless,

I've had a couple of texts with a OTP to use on an online purchase. However I've not attempted to make a purchase. Texts come on usual Johnlewisfs number and look genuine. Message said call them if not recognised. So I did. They claim its a scam. I do Read more

I've had a couple of texts with a OTP to use on an online purchase. However I've not attempted to make a purchase. Texts come on usual Johnlewisfs number and look genuine. Message said call them if not recognised. So I did. They claim its a scam. I don't believe them as there is no way a scammer could benefit. This has happened twice and each time I get the same from JL. Patronising to say the least. I've asked for a new card, but I think.i should dump.them. Possible good news is that JL is switching from MBNA later this year.

Reviewed on 11th June 2022
Mick Simmons's avatar
Mick Simmons

Unbelievably Inefficient

Transactions pending suddenly had over 21 payments to an American company plus various for Apple Pay. I don't shop in America and don't use Apple Pay. Card blocked a new one arrived after a week. Activate new card, try to use in to pay £4.20 in the post o Read more

Transactions pending suddenly had over 21 payments to an American company plus various for Apple Pay. I don't shop in America and don't use Apple Pay. Card blocked a new one arrived after a week. Activate new card, try to use in to pay £4.20 in the post office, card was "declined". Rang JL to be told the card had been blocked on 28th May. I didn't receive the new card until the 1st June so why was a new, inactive card blocked?! The card was in bloc but within 30 mins of it being activated there were 11 fraudulent pending payments...how was that even possible? So, no credit card since 26th May...what an appalling company. I wish I could speak to someone in the UK, not someone in a call centre on the other side of the world, and someone who has English as their first language...

Reviewed on 9th June 2022
Jane's avatar
Jane

Big problem with their new credit card security system

Have been using the Partnership credit card for years. In the last few weeks, numerous problems with their security system. Online purchases ( concert tickets, pharmacy purchases, I tunes, everything online really) have been problematic. When I try to pu Read more

Have been using the Partnership credit card for years. In the last few weeks, numerous problems with their security system.
Online purchases ( concert tickets, pharmacy purchases, I tunes, everything online really) have been problematic. When I try to purchase online, the vendor says my card has been declined. When I called JL to ask why my card has been blocked, they say it isn’t blocked.
Frankly, I’ve just given up and started using another credit card and my debit card instead.
If you can’t rely on a credit card when you’re well inside your limit, what is the point of having it? I think I will pay my balance and close down the card. Shame really, I’ve been a customer for years.

Reviewed on 22nd May 2022
Di's avatar
Di

Won't accept payment on credit card

Made a couple of large purchases using the JL credit card, want to pay it off in full, every time says payment is declined. I had more than enough money in my current account to cover it. Contacted my bank, they say the issue is at JL end....this has bee Read more

Made a couple of large purchases using the JL credit card, want to pay it off in full, every time says payment is declined. I had more than enough money in my current account to cover it. Contacted my bank, they say the issue is at JL end....this has been going on since Thursday!

This also happened a couple of months ago, seems to be linked to their change of credit service provider

Reviewed on 21st May 2022
Sharon's avatar
Sharon

Useless

My earlier review reported that I am intermittently unable to log into my Partnership card account, because it is falsely claimed that my 'details do not match' their 'records', This is now invariable. I am unable to investigate fraud on my account beca Read more

My earlier review reported that I am intermittently unable to log into my Partnership card account, because it is falsely claimed that my 'details do not match' their 'records', This is now invariable. I am unable to investigate fraud on my account because I cannot see the transactions.

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Anthony Baker's avatar
Anthony Baker

Worse fraud protection customer services ever

Appallingly bad customer services. 2 days to unblock a card that triggered a security alert. Endless repetitive security questions to verify my ID... question after question. Ask for impossible to remember details about transaction dates and amounts. Thei Read more

Appallingly bad customer services. 2 days to unblock a card that triggered a security alert. Endless repetitive security questions to verify my ID... question after question. Ask for impossible to remember details about transaction dates and amounts. Their weekend staff are even worse. Avoid this card you could be stuck with a non working one in a difficult situation.

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
John Dowe's avatar
John Dowe

Customer Service agent did not have a clue what he was doing.

I had a wrong booking from JL Financials / HSBC on my credit card. Instead of a notification that my 0% period had ended, by making both a debit and a credit booking that would cancel each other out, they booked a charge of £10 twice, leaving me having to Read more

I had a wrong booking from JL Financials / HSBC on my credit card. Instead of a notification that my 0% period had ended, by making both a debit and a credit booking that would cancel each other out, they booked a charge of £10 twice, leaving me having to pay £20 for the notification that I hadn't asked for.
The customer service agent, working from home in Cairo in Egypt, had to talk to his supervision several times, and after 38 minutes of trying stuff, he still didn't know how to resolve this.
When I asked to speak to a supervisor or a more experienced colleague, he initially said they were not available, even where he had been talking to them several times.
Only after I threatened with a formal complain to both JL Partnership and th HSBC, was it suddenly possible to talk to the manager. At leat that is what he said. Some 20 mintues later and a full hour into the call, I gave up and hung up the phone.
Next steps: formal complaint to HSBC (of which John Lewis Financial Services is a subsidary) and to John Lewis Partnership, whose brand is being used on this credit card.

Reviewed on 29th April 2022
Eddy van Hattum's avatar
Eddy van Hattum

Rejected chargeback claim

JL rejected my claim, saying they don’t cover bad quality of service. My claim was not about bad quality, it was about a service that was not as described, and therefore in breach of contract. Absolutely useless, would not recommend using their card. I Read more

JL rejected my claim, saying they don’t cover bad quality of service. My claim was not about bad quality, it was about a service that was not as described, and therefore in breach of contract. Absolutely useless, would not recommend using their card. I will be closing my account.

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
TP's avatar
TP

Refused chargeback claim

I was advised to submit a claim online. I did this but it only allowed me to upload 4 documents. After not receiving any kind of notification about the claim, I called them a couple of weeks later to be told they had rejected my claim. They had classed Read more

I was advised to submit a claim online. I did this but it only allowed me to upload 4 documents. After not receiving any kind of notification about the claim, I called them a couple of weeks later to be told they had rejected my claim. They had classed it as ‘bad quality service’ not being covered. My dispute was not about ‘bad quality service’. My claim was about a service received that was not as described and clearly in breach of the contract. Would not recommend using this card - they are absolutely useless.

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
TP's avatar
TP

Outrageous and despicable behaviour

Tried to purchase online order this mondayonly to Tried to purchase some items on line and after completing details and using partnership card it was declined ! This started a long and exceedingly stressful saga. I was told security would have to phon Read more

Tried to purchase online order this mondayonly to

Tried to purchase some items on line and after completing details and using partnership card it was declined ! This started a long and exceedingly stressful saga. I was told security would have to phone me as they did not know reason card blocked ! They could not unblock card ! Day 3 no phone call from security ! If this was my only credit card imagine the consequences. You cannot block someone’s credit card without informing them the reason why. DO NOT GET A JOHN LEWIS CREDIT CARD. It will let you down and will go unresolved !


Reviewed on 6th April 2022
Fiona Thomas's avatar
Fiona Thomas

Disappointed in John Lewis Credit Card

The card is run by HSBC bank and the customers services for it is now outsourced to Cairo in Egypt, This is very disappointing. How can JL pretend that the card is related to their UK Business. I don't want to talk to people in other countries about my Read more

The card is run by HSBC bank and the customers services for it is now outsourced to Cairo in Egypt, This is very disappointing. How can JL pretend that the card is related to their UK Business. I don't want to talk to people in other countries about my finances. I am going to finish with the card.

Reviewed on 6th April 2022
Nettielilac's avatar
Nettielilac

Professional, competent, reliable

Never had any problems with John Lewis; good company

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Ralph Truscott's avatar
Ralph Truscott

What has happened to JL

Just in the last week every time I make a purchase I get a call from fraud services. I refuse to give the unexpected caller my details but then that means I have to go through another queue with someone who refuses to put me through until they’ve updated Read more

Just in the last week every time I make a purchase I get a call from fraud services. I refuse to give the unexpected caller my details but then that means I have to go through another queue with someone who refuses to put me through until they’ve updated my contact details despite me telling them I did it yesterday and the day before. When I eventually speak to someone they are so passive aggressive it takes all my self control to not lose my temper. All in all spectacularly awful service.

Reviewed on 26th March 2022
Jessie's avatar
Jessie

Very frustrating.

I have been using my card for online Waitrose grocery delivery regularly for the past 2 years and have used the account for many years in both Waitrose stores and John Lewis for many years (10/15 years). This week, for no apparent reason, when trying to p Read more

I have been using my card for online Waitrose grocery delivery regularly for the past 2 years and have used the account for many years in both Waitrose stores and John Lewis for many years (10/15 years). This week, for no apparent reason, when trying to pay online for my groceries, I have had a notice on the screen telling me that my account cannot be authenticated. I phoned the number as suggested and had one of the most frustrating experiences I can remember. A pleasant lady, who had obviously received lots of "customer care" training kept assuring me that she had no doubt that I was a genuine customer but was very sorry but she couldn't connect me on the system. "Computer says no" in other word!!. She tried a series of security questions with "ah, bless you" interjected between what she explained were progressively easier questions. I do understand the need for security BUT please make it clear the information you need to have ready when phoning and train your call handlers that being apparently "kind" can result in a perception of condescension. Quite frankly, I ended up feeling stupid abd incompetent. I am neither and still have no proper explanation as to why my account cannot be authenticated. I now have to wait, goodness knows for how long, for Accounts to phone me. Not good enough and very poor customer service!

Reviewed on 18th March 2022
J Maddern's avatar
J Maddern

Customer Service is dreadful

Having moved house, I needed to change the address on the card. Could not do this online and the agent on the phone could not assist. Sent details on secure messages and 4 days on...I have still not had a response or acknowledgement to the secure message. Read more

Having moved house, I needed to change the address on the card. Could not do this online and the agent on the phone could not assist. Sent details on secure messages and 4 days on...I have still not had a response or acknowledgement to the secure message.
The customer service at the John lewis partnership card service is woeful - avoid this if you can.

Reviewed on 13th March 2022
Smartee's avatar
Smartee

what has happened to this service!

What has happened to the John Lewis Partnership Card customer service! I have had to phone yesterday and today and both call handlers clearly have very limited experience and can only do minimal searches. Has the customer service side of business been s Read more

What has happened to the John Lewis Partnership Card customer service! I have had to phone yesterday and today and both call handlers clearly have very limited experience and can only do minimal searches. Has the customer service side of business been sourced out? This is not only very frustrating as it is taking much longer than usual to get an issue dealt with but today I was told to leave things for a week! This might well have been a valid response and although the call handler was being helpful and everything they should, it was as though they were having to read for a page to page script for very basic answers. No longer happy and always have been up until now with JL Partnership Card.

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Pauline Hamilton's avatar
Pauline Hamilton

Useless Customer Services

Since the 3rd February I have been unable to log on to my Partnership card account. I have rung customer services and explained my problem over and over again and I am still no further forward. I have now decided to stop using the card totally and pay my Read more

Since the 3rd February I have been unable to log on to my Partnership card account. I have rung customer services and explained my problem over and over again and I am still no further forward. I have now decided to stop using the card totally and pay my bill off. I cant get access to my statements or transactions and cant make any sense out of the attitude and total disregard for my complaints. What a letdown from John Lewis and they will lose more customers if they dont take notice of the complaints.

Reviewed on 26th February 2022
Pamela's avatar
Pamela