Axa Reviews

Ratings based on 136 reviews Last review 1 month ago
3.69 / 5Great overall rating

Axa reviews can help you to find out what life as an Axa customer is really like. Axa believe that when their customers need them...the little things they do to help can sometimes make the biggest difference. Smart Money People is the place for Axa...

Read Full Description

Axa reviews can help you to find out what life as an Axa customer is really like. Axa believe that when their customers need them...the little things they do to help can sometimes make the biggest difference. Smart Money People is the place for Axa reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 59
4 38
3 5
2 6
1 28

Your Axa Reviews (136)

Write a review
13th August 2019

AXA's Abysmal handling and customer service

AXA my home insurer recommended and made an appointment for a drainage company (Lanes For Drains) to visit my property on the 21st of May to fix a partially blocked bath. Upon calling AXA, I was told that I had an Home Emergency Cover Extra Policy, so...

Read more

AXA my home insurer recommended and made an appointment for a drainage company (Lanes For Drains) to visit my property on the 21st of May to fix a partially blocked bath. Upon calling AXA, I was told that I had an Home Emergency Cover Extra Policy, so as such there was No excess to pay, I was cover up to £1000 and this did not affect my NO CLAIMS BONUS. 
Engineer upon arrival put snake machine down bath waste making a whole in the waste beneath the bath and proceeded to fill the bath to ensure blockage had gone. I coincidentally went downstairs to get a glass of water. Upon open my Living room door on the way to my kitchen, I found water coming through my ceiling in several locations, causing damage to ceiling, wooden floor below, blinds and a floor lamp.A result of the engineer filling the bath and making a whole in the bath waste, all the water coming through my ceiling and get in to my electrics 

I Took videos and photos of the damage caused and the engineer who caused damage helping me to stem the flow of water. To be followed the next day by engineer denying he had caused any damage in my house

Further damage 3 days later caused in removing tiles to get access to the waste. Before removal, Area manager for drainage company attend giving me his direct number via business card and word, ensuring me that any damage done would be fixed and repaired back to original state. 
(It was later found by a further engineer who changed the waste beneath the bath, that the blockage was caused by a build up of debris in the soil stack, not the pipes beneath the bath as all were brand new and replaced when I recently installed a new bathroom less than year ago. 
3 Months later after supplying AXA and the drainage company with videos and pictures from the damage done, neither AXA or the drainage company have taken any responsibility for damage to my recently refurbished house and are deeming me liable for cause and refused to pay for the damage to both bathroom and living room, none of which was present before engineer arriving on the 21st of May 2019 

AXA have shown zero understanding, empathy or taken any responsibility for what has taken place and offered a deplorable £300 to fix all damages, after asking me to get several quotes for the repairs, which I supplied ranging from £4000-£4500

I find this to totally disrespectful and unconscionable on their part to treat customers this way and to take no accountability

I have been paying and had home insurance for the past 20 plus years and never once claimed, so to be treated like this when I asked for help I find despicable.

As a result of this, I will be cancelling my policy and will NEVER spend money, recommend with or do business with AXA again.

POLICY NUMBER : DU HHS 5101386

Write a review
22nd July 2019

Great customer service,great reward scheme

I've been a member of the AXA group health insurance since 2010. They offer me 50% back on the cost of dental care, eye care, day(s) in hospital , maternity and some other medical services. It have recommended a few people to join them, couple of...

Read more

I've been a member of the AXA group health insurance since 2010. They offer me 50% back on the cost of dental care, eye care, day(s) in hospital , maternity and some other medical services. It have recommended a few people to join them, couple of whom did do so. I was so pleased about that. Their customer service has been exceptional. Whenever I'm changed my personal details or address, I either ring them or write to them informing them of the changes. For eg: after I got married, I sent that information to them. They sent me a letter saying 'thank you for informing them about my recent changes. All original documents were returned to me and it makes me feel good about the level and quality of service I have received from them. Thanks for providing a great service x

Write a review
22nd June 2019

Useless

Case 2035459 I'm only writing this in the hope someone at axa will reply to my emails. A car reversed into my unoccupied, parked car, recorded on ccTV, and 7 weeks later AXA still haven't allocated blame. Infuriating. I need to get my car fixed.

Read more

Case 2035459

I'm only writing this in the hope someone at axa will reply to my emails.

A car reversed into my unoccupied, parked car, recorded on ccTV, and 7 weeks later AXA still haven't allocated blame. Infuriating. I need to get my car fixed.

Write a review
4th June 2019

Scum of the earth company

Terrible Insurance company. They just want your money, but when you try to claim, they don't pay out. We accidentally spilled a couple of drinks on our carpet and they treated us like criminals for weeks, they kept lying and misrepresenting things,...

Read more

Terrible Insurance company. They just want your money, but when you try to claim, they don't pay out. We accidentally spilled a couple of drinks on our carpet and they treated us like criminals for weeks, they kept lying and misrepresenting things, and the people that work there are horrible. They really are a scum of the earth company - I wouldn't wish them on my worst enemy.

Write a review
21st April 2019

Don't....Just don't

I had car insurance which cost £260 that I had to cancel 2 months in. They charged me £57 administration fee even their own website says "A cancellation fee of £35 may be charged, and a refund due if you've paid your premium in full in advance." where ...

Read more

I had car insurance which cost £260 that I had to cancel 2 months in. They charged me £57 administration fee even their own website says "A cancellation fee of £35 may be charged, and a refund due if you've paid your premium in full in advance." where did the £57 come from!!!

Write a review
23rd September 2018

Axa direct

Thankfully I've never had to have much dealings with my insurance company. However any time I have contacted them their customer service is excellent. They answer queries and questions quickly and continue to keep you up to date with emails. Cost wise...

Read more

Thankfully I've never had to have much dealings with my insurance company. However any time I have contacted them their customer service is excellent. They answer queries and questions quickly and continue to keep you up to date with emails. Cost wise they have always been the cheapest local company to me and then lower my cover cost when I recommended my partner to the same company.

Write a review
25th August 2018

AXA Home Insurance - A Tale of Woe - Part 1

We are a family of 6, of which 4 are young children. Here is our tale of woe, that has involved countless telephone calls, emails, wasted time (Nov 17 to Aug 18 and onward) and cost us a lot of...

Read more

We are a family of 6, of which 4 are young children. Here is our tale of woe, that has involved countless telephone calls, emails, wasted time (Nov 17 to Aug 18 and onward) and cost us a lot of money.

We had an escape of water in a small ensuite bathroom last November where the shower tray had cracked unexpectedly. The water travelled as it was trapped underneath the vinyl and continued across the house. It reached the main family bathroom and spilled out where the vinyl there met the hallway carpet soaking it. A lot of water subsequently came through our kitchen ceiling causing the ceiling to crack and bend.
We contacted AXA and were initially impressed, they told us they would send a surveyor from BVS to assess the damage within a couple of days. The surveyor offered a cash settlement to fix the repairs and advised us the hall way carpets could be replaced. A company specialising it drying properties was sent out to try and stop further damage, they left dryers on in our home for almost 2 weeks to remove as much moisture as possible. To aid the drying process they removed segments of the vinyl to expose the wooden boards. Unfortunately, this was where things started to go wrong.
We had humidity tests done on our kitchen ceiling and bathrooms after the drying company finished and they were still showing high levels a month afterwards. We got a series of quotes for the repairs and found that the settlement would only cover about 10% of the cost. Given AXA didn’t seem to want to accept the quote as “fair” we decided in January that we would get our own contractors in to fix our kitchen ceiling as we wanted to avoid future issues and would reclaim the additional costs later. Our contractors repaired that damage professional and promptly, however we were now £300 out of pocket as the settlement (before the excess was deducted) hadn’t been sufficient. We challenged AXA on this and eventually they accepted the repair cost for the kitchen ceiling was greater than initially believed and increased the settlement amount for this aspect, although we were still out of pocket for it.

Write a review
25th August 2018

AXA Home Insurance - A Tale of Woe - Part 2

We are a family of 6, of which 4 are young children. Here is our tale of woe, that has involved countless telephone calls, emails, wasted time (Nov 17 to Aug 18 and onward) and cost us a lot of...

Read more

We are a family of 6, of which 4 are young children. Here is our tale of woe, that has involved countless telephone calls, emails, wasted time (Nov 17 to Aug 18 and onward) and cost us a lot of money.

As AXA didn’t feel the quotes we sent them for the bathrooms were reasonable and we couldn’t come to agreement we agreed that AXA could instruct its own contractors to carry out the repairs, as if additional damage was incurred this would be covered. After several visits to scope the work we were expecting the works to be agreed by the end of February. However, AXA spent over a month negotiating the costs with the contracts and the works weren’t agreed till the later end of March. The expected date for the works during Easter came and went and still nothing had been done.

We complained and subsequently the contracts had to do another site visit (why we have no idea!), and a date for the works was agreed for July. However, as they did not order the replacement vinyl they did not turn up nor notify us in advance, which wasted the time we booked of work. A later date at the end of July was agreed, the work should have taken 2 days as per the scope of works, however when the contractors turned up at 8am they did not have all the necessary materials they had to go pick up this, in addition they didn’t seem interested in carrying out all the works on the scope and had to be challenged on this. They left our house at 11:30am the same day as they had “finished”.

However, their definition of finishing involved them causing thousands of pounds of damage to our bathroom tiles, as they had failed to show due care and attention at our property. In their rush to “finish” the job they had caused more damage than they been sent to fix, they could not connect soil pipes correctly and our sinks aren’t level (they are about 1cm higher on the right hand side). When we complained to the contractor they told us that new scoping would be needed for the tiling repairs so they wouldn’t be fitting the vinyl, so at this point we had been 8 months without proper covering for our bathroom floors!

We complained to AXA about this, according the “Claims Manager” the contractors had been trying to “minimise disruption for our family” which was why they hadn’t been there that long. The damage to the tiling was “incidental” and wasn’t the contractors fault. Personally I’m shocked by such a claim as normally if you are experiencing difficulties you would advise the home owner, or stop and inform them after damage is incurred, not carry on and destroy the other bathroom before informing the home owner!

AXA is refusing to cover the cost of repairing he bathrooms to their former state, they also want to use their contractors again and follow a suggested plan (which we have been advised by other contractors is unlikely to work without incurring further damage). Apparently AXA has no other contractors who service our area (North Essex) except the ones based in East London so we’re limited to them, or a cash settlement. When told they could use their own contractors again on the provision they agree to cover further damage as a result of the repair attempt I was told that AXA could not agree to this condition.

Our only recourse now has to been to seek new quotes for the repairs and once supplied we will be initiating small claims court action as AXA has no intention of fulfilling their contractual agreement.

Articles related to Axa