Nationwide Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 58 reviews       Last review 5 days ago    

Nationwide home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Nationwide handle your home insurance claim? Our Nationwide home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and...

READ MORE

Nationwide home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Nationwide handle your home insurance claim? Our Nationwide home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Nationwide? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Home Insurance Reviews

58 reviews

Review Nationwide's Home Insurance now

Terrible Service

Worst customer service. Deny receiving paperwork that they've already confirmed that they have, unable to trace accounts and then don't follow their own complaints procedure.

Reviewed on 5th August 2022
Steve Ford's avatar
Steve Ford

Absolutely shocking. Must Avoid at all costs!!!

This bank / building society has to be the worst ever for customer service. It’s standard rates are very unfriendly towards customers that have a buy to let Mortgage like myself. You would think they can do better in terms of the current financial climate Read more

This bank / building society has to be the worst ever for customer service. It’s standard rates are very unfriendly towards customers that have a buy to let Mortgage like myself. You would think they can do better in terms of the current financial climate. But no, this company care only about their money and nothing else, absolute greed and nothing else.
Their customer service is totally shocking, I’d wished I’d never had a Mortgage with this bank, and wish to leave ASAP and to wash my hands clean of this company! With my situation they just do not care,(which is not surprising being the worst company in the UK), and do NOT offer full options, in which you would think they would do so in my situation. I hate this company, I wished I’d never had anything to do with this company, and one day I will not, and will never for the rest of my life!! I have serious concerns with this disgusting and useless company and am extremely dissatisfied. About four of my last calls have expressed signs of extreme and I mean extreme dissatisfaction and this has not been picked up!!! Totally shocking company, I hate this company, can’t wait to fully be disconnected from this company!!!!

Reviewed on 5th August 2022
Eren Mutludag's avatar
Eren Mutludag

horrific

Horrific, avoid at all costs. BVS were appointed by Nationwide home insurance to deal with our claim for roof damage. Was asked to get 3 quotes, and the cheapest we got was £3900. Bvs said the boards did not require replacing even though every roofing Read more

Horrific, avoid at all costs.

BVS were appointed by Nationwide home insurance to deal with our claim for roof damage. Was asked to get 3 quotes, and the cheapest we got was £3900. Bvs said the boards did not require replacing even though every roofing company that came up said they did.
Got a call officering just over £2000 settlement figure from BVS. Said no, so they then said they would put into the hands of another company called MA assist. They then contacted a company called Cheshire Maintenance who then subcontracted to another company called Spain Maintenance. So, including Nationwide there are 5 companies dealing with our claim, all getting a nice backhander.

Since found out that quote that BVS precured via MA assist was for £7165, over £3200 higher than our quote. When I contacted Bvs about their quote they wouldn't confirm the quote price. When I quoted £7165 back to them there was a very awkward silence. Finally, they admitted that figure was correct.

Reviewed on 27th July 2022
chris's avatar
chris

Don't waste your money

A repair needs done urgently and they book it in for a month's time! It's a joke service with bad customer service.

Reviewed on 20th May 2022
Aristotle Change's avatar
Aristotle Change

Insurance cover

I tried to cancel an insurance after paying the money for nearly 2 years for nothing. They kept passing me to different departments and at the end I still couldn’t cancel it. Just make the cancellation easy. When I applied for that insurance no one passed Read more

I tried to cancel an insurance after paying the money for nearly 2 years for nothing. They kept passing me to different departments and at the end I still couldn’t cancel it. Just make the cancellation easy. When I applied for that insurance no one passed me to thousands department and it was really quick how come for cancellation you waste customers time and hired all stupid

Reviewed on 30th December 2021
Millie Zarnegar's avatar
Millie Zarnegar

Insurance cover

I tried to cancel an insurance after paying the money for nearly 2 years for nothing. They kept passing me to different departments and at the end I still couldn’t cancel it. Just make the cancellation easy. When I applied for that insurance no one passed Read more

I tried to cancel an insurance after paying the money for nearly 2 years for nothing. They kept passing me to different departments and at the end I still couldn’t cancel it. Just make the cancellation easy. When I applied for that insurance no one passed me to thousands department and it was really quick how come for cancellation you waste customers time and hired the most stupid people. Extremely unhappy with your telephone customer service. You did not train your staff well and all of them had to call other departments and ask them my simple question and the funniest at end they didn’t help us at all.

Reviewed on 30th December 2021
Millie Zarnegar's avatar
Millie Zarnegar

Shower blew up

My shower blew up i have a cronic disabled partner phoned on a sunday 3pm explained they said they get a plumber/electrician out within 4 hours now 7pm phoned they cannot find anybody to come out tonight what a bunch off clowns they advertise a ,247 servi Read more

My shower blew up i have a cronic disabled partner phoned on a sunday 3pm explained they said they get a plumber/electrician out within 4 hours now 7pm phoned they cannot find anybody to come out tonight what a bunch off clowns they advertise a ,247 service they cannot deliver serious complaint coming

Reviewed on 19th December 2021
Mark Frost's avatar
Mark Frost

Same cover as previous house insurance with loyalty discounts

I got the same cover with the same underwriter at almost half the price. Fantastic saving and the cover is just as good.

Reviewed on 29th August 2021
dianabarnold@icloud.com's avatar
dianabarnold@icloud.com

Same cover as previous house insurance with loyalty discounts

I got the same cover with the same underwriter at almost half the price. Fantastic saving and the cover is just as good.

Reviewed on 29th August 2021
dianabarnold@icloud.com's avatar
dianabarnold@icloud.com

Customer loyalty

We had our mortgage with them so they offered us a discounted rate. Good customer service and recognising loyalty

Reviewed on 1st March 2021
Cerys_Lane's avatar
Cerys_Lane

Don't buy a policy here

I made a claim for damage to a flat roof . A tile came off the main house roof in a storm and landed on the flat roof causing damage. A friend replaced the tile for me. After 12 days a surveyor eventually arrived after several phone calls and unanswered e Read more

I made a claim for damage to a flat roof . A tile came off the main house roof in a storm and landed on the flat roof causing damage. A friend replaced the tile for me. After 12 days a surveyor eventually arrived after several phone calls and unanswered emails. He told me that Nationwide Home Insurance would say it was accidental damage as I didn't have accidental cover. Guess what. That's exactly what they did so now a storm is an accident. I have cancelled my policy and gone elsewhere. Please spend your money elsewhere and give Nationwide Home Insurance a miss. I wish I had read other peoples reviews before I bought my policy but having been a Nationwide customer for several years I trusted them. Feel betrayed and let down.

Reviewed on 18th February 2021
Thomas's avatar
Thomas

Nationwide - never again

I've been a long term customer of Nationwide home insurance +10 years, but last 2 renewals noticed the price creeping up significantly, I've only got a 2 bed house no garage or outbuildings but they were quoting £400 per annum. After looking into it furt Read more

I've been a long term customer of Nationwide home insurance +10 years, but last 2 renewals noticed the price creeping up significantly, I've only got a 2 bed house no garage or outbuildings but they were quoting £400 per annum. After looking into it further I noticed as an existing NW customer of other products I was entitled to 25% discount. When I enquired about this discount I was informed I didn't quality as I didn't take out a fresh quote and I had a 'different' type of policy. What bull, well on the basis that I don't matter as a long term customer I've cancelled the policy and spent my money elsewhere on an equivalent good quality policy for £180, I wish I'd done this a couple of years ago but lesson learnt now each time I renew anything.

Reviewed on 25th October 2020
Revubob's avatar
Revubob

total waste of time and money

I have had contents insurance with Nationwide for 20 years and never made one claim until August this year for freezer food after my freezer blew up at midnight. They've taken thousands of pounds in insurance premiums but having submitted the (by comparis Read more

I have had contents insurance with Nationwide for 20 years and never made one claim until August this year for freezer food after my freezer blew up at midnight. They've taken thousands of pounds in insurance premiums but having submitted the (by comparison measly) claim online mid-August, no one bothered their backside to get back to me despite their assurance online that they will do so within 24 hours. Still waiting, will not renew and never touch any Nationwide product ever again. AVOID AT ALL COST

Reviewed on 7th October 2020
Paula Emmenegger's avatar
Paula Emmenegger

Con artists!

Avoid at all costs! They will take your money but than ignore you!

Reviewed on 29th June 2020
Sergej's avatar
Sergej

Building insurance claim

Not given correct information when I first made claim. Assessing company closed my claim without discussing my settlement. Settlement not reached by finding a contractor quote - just a scope of works and a lump sum which did not cover cost of repair. Did Read more

Not given correct information when I first made claim. Assessing company closed my claim without discussing my settlement. Settlement not reached by finding a contractor quote - just a scope of works and a lump sum which did not cover cost of repair. Didn’t tell me that I would have to find my own contractor for repair as claim under £1000. Couldn’t find this information in policy booklet.

Reviewed on 6th June 2020
Grace Fellows's avatar
Grace Fellows

They dont understand basic insurance!

Having just taken out a buildings and contents policy they have requested a valuation for my watch, the policy is written on a new for old basis which basically means they will replace all my processions (excluding clothes) as new, so I asked why do they Read more

Having just taken out a buildings and contents policy they have requested a valuation for my watch, the policy is written on a new for old basis which basically means they will replace all my processions (excluding clothes) as new, so I asked why do they require a valuation when I have the original receipt baring in mind they would replace it with a new one and they don’t, they just keep quoting their policy guidelines! How many people who provided an up to date receipt have they swindled out of money and told them to underinsure! Shame on you Nationwide and shame on you RSA for not spotting this!

Reviewed on 23rd April 2020
Adam Thomson's avatar
Adam Thomson

absolutely rubbish

Please do not buy from them. My mother made a claim, surveyor wasn’t even a roof surveyor and didn’t even go on roof and made up some nonsense. Claim refused. I called them asking for a roof surveyor which they so kindly refused (sarcasm). Customer servic Read more

Please do not buy from them. My mother made a claim, surveyor wasn’t even a roof surveyor and didn’t even go on roof and made up some nonsense. Claim refused. I called them asking for a roof surveyor which they so kindly refused (sarcasm). Customer service lady rude and rude and rude. My mother has been with them 14 years and never made a claim. Will never insure with them again. Disgusting and a total fraud company.

Reviewed on 3rd April 2020
Haya's avatar
Haya

Still waiting!!

We had a slow water leak which was discovered on 2 September, when the original surveyor came out he lied to nationwide about our conversation and claimed I accepted full responsibility for the leak(which I didn’t) nationwide then appointed a new surveyor Read more

We had a slow water leak which was discovered on 2 September, when the original surveyor came out he lied to nationwide about our conversation and claimed I accepted full responsibility for the leak(which I didn’t) nationwide then appointed a new surveyor and work started , half of our downstairs has been ripped out and now we have been told the work to reinstate it won’t happen till January!! We have constantly had to chase them and it’s been very stressful . I would not recommend them .

Reviewed on 26th November 2019
T paige's avatar
T paige

Shocking

After a water leak in a new kitchen, I have tried to claim from Nationwide who instructed BVS assessors. They seem intent on offering cash settlements of less than half the quote to repair After 4 quotes of more than double the offer still waiting with Read more

After a water leak in a new kitchen, I have tried to claim from Nationwide who instructed BVS assessors. They seem intent on offering cash settlements of less than half the quote to repair
After 4 quotes of more than double the offer still waiting with a damaged kitchen.

Reviewed on 12th November 2019
Andrew Bottomley's avatar
Andrew Bottomley

Insurance claim

Don’t waste your money buying household insurance from Nationwide - they are crooks and will not pay up Pay a bit more and go elsewhere Will never touch a Nationwide product again

Reviewed on 25th October 2019
Simon Purchas 's avatar
Simon Purchas