Tesco Bank Pet Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 66 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Tesco Bank offer pet insurance policies designed to help keep your beloved pet safe and sound. With pet owners understandably wanting to make sure that they choose the best pet insurnace company, Smart Money People is the place for independent Tesco Bank ...

READ MORE

Tesco Bank offer pet insurance policies designed to help keep your beloved pet safe and sound. With pet owners understandably wanting to make sure that they choose the best pet insurnace company, Smart Money People is the place for independent Tesco Bank pet insurance reviews. Our mission is to use the power of YOUR reviews to help increase trust and transparency in financial services. You can help us by writing your own Tesco Bank pet insurance reviews to help other pet owners to find out what life as an Tesco Bank pet insurace customer is really like.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Pet Insurance Reviews

66 reviews

Review Tesco Bank's Pet Insurance now

Old fashioned processes. First claim rejected, even though condition not pre-existing

Everything slow and paper based. Claims forms filled out by hand and submitted via email, so prehistoric, policy paperwork all paper based and takes weeks to arrive. Claim for one dog’s ear infection refused because they said she had treatment for it befo Read more

Everything slow and paper based. Claims forms filled out by hand and submitted via email, so prehistoric, policy paperwork all paper based and takes weeks to arrive. Claim for one dog’s ear infection refused because they said she had treatment for it before our policy started. Even though that was a completely different issue. Poor. Will be looking for a different insurance company.

Reviewed on 18th June 2022
Katherine Bannon's avatar
Katherine Bannon

Disappointed

My dog, had a yeast infection in her ear, the overall cost was £350. She has had three previous infections over her almost six years of age. Tesco, refused to pay, said she had the condition ongoing from 2017! Ear infections are acute, not chronic, and Read more

My dog, had a yeast infection in her ear, the overall cost was £350. She has had three previous infections over her almost six years of age. Tesco, refused to pay, said she had the condition ongoing from 2017! Ear infections are acute, not chronic, and like humans, dogs can get them. Vet wrote a letter, advising, it was a different type of yeast, still refused to pay! I am so disappointed with a Tesco, I expected better. I will not insure my animals with them ever again, nor will I recommend them, I have walked with my feet and no longer shop with them either.

Reviewed on 11th June 2022
Sue Tomlin's avatar
Sue Tomlin

Never any problems

I've been insuring my dogs with Tesco for many years. They've never rejected a single claim. I find them fair, and their customer service helpful and polite. As long as your claim complies with their T&C's, your ok. I would recommend them any time.

Reviewed on 27th May 2022
AnnaM's avatar
AnnaM

Premium increases of in excess of 50% annially

Very responsive to claims, however be aware, after a claim your premiums will almost double year on year. Stay clear rip off

Reviewed on 29th April 2022
Jayne Stokes's avatar
Jayne Stokes

A CLAIM OF £500 AND MY PREMIUM DOUBLED

I HAVE JUST RECEIVED MY PET INSURANCE RENEWAL AFTER PUTTING IN A CLAIM OF APPROXIMATELY £500 AND MY MONTHLY PAYMENT HAS GONE FROM £31 TO £62. NOT ONLY THAT - RECEIVED MY RENEWAL THE 22ND MARCH ONLY TO FIND IT RENEWED ON 18TH!!!! AVOID THIS COMPANY AT AL Read more

I HAVE JUST RECEIVED MY PET INSURANCE RENEWAL AFTER PUTTING IN A CLAIM OF APPROXIMATELY £500 AND MY MONTHLY PAYMENT HAS GONE FROM £31 TO £62.
NOT ONLY THAT - RECEIVED MY RENEWAL THE 22ND MARCH ONLY TO FIND IT RENEWED ON 18TH!!!!
AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS

Reviewed on 23rd March 2022
Lisa hill's avatar
Lisa hill

Courteous helpful service

My puppy broke her leg and needed a plate screwing into bones for best outcome and prevent further breaks. Rang tesco to tell them and they said straight away before going to emergency vet that she was covered. Rang to see if referral vet was o their li Read more

My puppy broke her leg and needed a plate screwing into bones for best outcome and prevent further breaks. Rang tesco to tell them and they said straight away before going to emergency vet that she was covered.
Rang to see if referral vet was o their list of accepted vets and they were.
Cost of treatment has been approx. 5560. She went through 3 different vets hands during course of treatment. All were paid within 5 days of forms submitted.
All the phone calls I made were handled well and professionally in a friendly sympathetic manner.
I would not have afforded this treatment without insurance.

Reviewed on 17th March 2022
Mildred Boardman's avatar
Mildred Boardman

Avoid this company will not pay claim

Avoid like the plague. When I had my shar pei puppy was noticed she had mild entropy and was stated by my vet no treatment was needed. After 6 years she had to have eye surgery as she had an eye ulcer and they will not pay the fees for vet surgery to cle Read more

Avoid like the plague. When I had my shar pei puppy was noticed she had mild entropy and was stated by my vet no treatment was needed. After 6 years she had to have eye surgery as she had an eye ulcer and they will not pay the fees for vet surgery to clear this ulcer as it was noted this entropy was recorded in 2016. Even though I have had her insured with Tesco since 2017 after free insurance given with the price of the puppy they are refusing this claim.
I shall be insuring her in future somewhere else in future

Reviewed on 22nd February 2022
Jackie's avatar
Jackie

Absolutely rubbish

Discovered that the £120 Excess I have on my pet insurance is per condition, per year, which effectively means although it is an ongoing condition I need to fund £120 of medication myself, get a few paid for, and then go back into paying the £120 again. A Read more

Discovered that the £120 Excess I have on my pet insurance is per condition, per year, which effectively means although it is an ongoing condition I need to fund £120 of medication myself, get a few paid for, and then go back into paying the £120 again. About an hour to get through to find this out, followed by being put on hold to cancel, and then being offered a call back. On pressing this option it promptly cut me off. Not a good service, and very loathe to pay, without finding some way of not paying due to clause 10, subclause 195 a, amended version. Avoid.

Reviewed on 15th January 2022
Lynn B's avatar
Lynn B

Cannot cancel

Unable to get through to anyone. No phone number easily accessible to cancel policy. Contacted the e-mail given to cancel. Still after months they are stealing money from me. Have now tried to cancel through my bank.

Reviewed on 3rd December 2021
Phoebe Thomas's avatar
Phoebe Thomas

Tesco let insurance are extremely efficient, empathetic and good value for money

When I took out my pet insurance they were extremely kind and helpful as taking out any insurance can as a be a mine field . They were very patience with me .

Reviewed on 27th August 2021
Julie Williams's avatar
Julie Williams

RIP off on yearly renewal

As my heading says “Rip of on yearly renewals” look elsewhere for pet insurance, don’t let them rip you off

Reviewed on 11th February 2021
Moira Ross's avatar
Moira Ross

Not what you would expect from Tesco

A very poor insurance policy. Very much a case of the detail being hidden in the small print. I have two dogs, yes I have had to make claims in respect of one but I had not appreciated just how much the premium would be increased as a consequence. In add Read more

A very poor insurance policy. Very much a case of the detail being hidden in the small print.
I have two dogs, yes I have had to make claims in respect of one but I had not appreciated just how much the premium would be increased as a consequence. In addition, the statement that they cover each and every condition up to a set amount does not reflect the fact that the time period for claims is only 12 months from the date of the first claim. Not sure why that is because there must be many situations as mine when your pet doesn't receive all of the required treatment in that period.
I have done away with the cover which had reached nearly £100 a month, for one dog which is 2 years old and the second being under 7, with excesses still payable and past conditions not covered.
Tesco should look closely at their partners Royal and Sun Alliance because the money paid does not reflect the service provided.

Reviewed on 28th January 2021
Chris Brackley's avatar
Chris Brackley

100% price increase on renewal

I insure both of my dogs with Tesco Pet Insurance and have never had a claim. Just got my renewal quote and they have double the premiums to £618 a year for absolutely no reason. How do they think people can afford those sort of premiums? Absolute rip-off Read more

I insure both of my dogs with Tesco Pet Insurance and have never had a claim. Just got my renewal quote and they have double the premiums to £618 a year for absolutely no reason. How do they think people can afford those sort of premiums? Absolute rip-off. I have to go find another insurance company but now with dogs that are older. Tesco gave me the impression that they wouldn't increase the premiums much as the dogs got older but that certainly is not the case. If they had been transparent about this from the start I would never have taken out a policy with them. They are a complete rip-off.

Reviewed on 25th November 2020
Kim Bromage's avatar
Kim Bromage

Fab

great price, helpful and kind. I love tesco so much

Reviewed on 16th September 2020
Penelope225's avatar
Penelope225

No problems.

Filled form in, and vets filled in then sent it off. Paid my excess and vets paid out within 2 to 3 weeks. Vetphone were ok. Sadly when it came to euthanasia and cremation vets filled in the form and sent it off. I paid in full (knowing wouldn't get back Read more

Filled form in, and vets filled in then sent it off. Paid my excess and vets paid out within 2 to 3 weeks. Vetphone were ok. Sadly when it came to euthanasia and cremation vets filled in the form and sent it off. I paid in full (knowing wouldn't get back excess fee and paperwork cost) within two weeks they had paid out the full £200 as advertised and stated.

Reviewed on 7th September 2020
Nic's avatar
Nic

Easy to use and good value

Really easy to get a quote, best rates and no issues when needing to make a claim - very easy to get in touch with too.

Reviewed on 7th September 2020
Rebecca Jarrett's avatar
Rebecca Jarrett

No recommend at all

I never made any claims but every year paid more and more this year had enough when they expected me to pay half of the money more insurance payments have gone from nearly £20 to nearly £30 and when I have cancelled they told me to pay nearly £34 final pa Read more

I never made any claims but every year paid more and more this year had enough when they expected me to pay half of the money more insurance payments have gone from nearly £20 to nearly £30 and when I have cancelled they told me to pay nearly £34 final payment but for what I'm asking i have found new one similar condition and lots cheaper..would never recommend..cheaters ..if I could I would give zero star

Reviewed on 17th August 2020
viola's avatar
viola

Rip off renewal

Premium for our dog insurance was ok for first year but 50% hike on renewal. Customer “service” said this was due to vets in area putting charges up and the age of the dog meaning more likely to get sick. Dog is two!! Hardly geriatric and less likely to n Read more

Premium for our dog insurance was ok for first year but 50% hike on renewal. Customer “service” said this was due to vets in area putting charges up and the age of the dog meaning more likely to get sick. Dog is two!! Hardly geriatric and less likely to need treatment than a one year old as now neutered and less bouncy. As for vets...... insurance for my other dog (12) with Animal FrieNds went up by only 10%, despite his age. We’ve made no claims so can only suppose Tesco only want to keep customers who don’t check renewal prices.

Reviewed on 9th August 2020
Richard Prince's avatar
Richard Prince

Fantastic service

I don't usually praise an insurance company but Tesco Pet Insurance have been amazing! They processed my claim so quickly and unlike other companies did cover me for Euthanasia and Cremation costs for my pet no quibble no problems ❤️. Its only when you cl Read more

I don't usually praise an insurance company but Tesco Pet Insurance have been amazing! They processed my claim so quickly and unlike other companies did cover me for Euthanasia and Cremation costs for my pet no quibble no problems ❤️. Its only when you claim you find out if they are any good or not. Well top marks I'm proper impressed x

Reviewed on 31st July 2020
Ruth Hart's avatar
Ruth Hart

Good customer service

Good customer service but no loyalty and quite a price increase hence switched to another provider .

Reviewed on 26th June 2020
Kellyroxannesmith 's avatar
Kellyroxannesmith