Smart Money People Logo

Admiral: Travel Insurance reviews

1.59
Based on 127 reviews, last reviewed 11th Jul 2024
No new 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
50% decrease in 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
20%
See only 4 star reviews
6%
See only 3 star reviews
1%
See only 2 star reviews
1%
See only 1 star reviews
72%

Latest highest rating:

4

Good, but... competitively priced and good coverage but for some reason your travel insurance can't be viewed alongside other insurances but only through a separat... Read more Reviewed on: 31st August 2023
woogers's avatar
woogers

Latest lowest rating:

1

Complete Waste of Money - AVOID! Booked annual European travel insurance with Admiral earlier this year for self and husband. Had 2 short European holidays booked at the time and dec... Read more Reviewed on: 11th July 2024
Lyn W's avatar
Lyn W

About the Travel Insurance

Whether you’re jetting off abroad or travelling across the UK, it’s beneficial to have the security of a travel insurance policy. Here at Smart Money People, we collect Admiral travel insurance reviews from genuine customers so that you can shop with confidence.

Admiral was first set up as a car insurance provider in 1993, but since then, has branched out to offer a variety of insurance products. Admiral strives for convenience and hassle-free insurance, developing an app to allow customers to manage their cover on the go.

Smart Money People hosts reviews for a variety of Admiral’s travel insurance policies, like the Single Trip cover for those who only travel once a year, and the Annual Travel policy for more frequent travellers. Admiral also offers specialist cover for winter sports holidays and cruises, as well as a policy to cover your gadgets - great if you’re travelling for business with lots of expensive tech. Read our Admiral travel insurance reviews to see what customers have said about their experiences.

Have you taken out a travel insurance policy with Admiral? Whatever your experience, leave a review with Smart Money People to help improve trust and transparency in financial services. Share how easy (or hard!) the sign-up process was. Have you been satisfied with the cover you received for the price of the policy? Did you deal with the customer service team at all? Leave an Admiral travel insurance review to help others find their perfect policy.

Review Admiral: Travel Insurance now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

Admiral Travel Insurance reviews (127)

Complete Waste of Money - AVOID!

1
Booked annual European travel insurance with Admiral earlier this year for self and husband. Had 2 short European holidays booked at the time and declared medical conditions were covered. Husband subsequently had a one off "faint/black-out and was referred for tests/scans. Admiral implemented a medical exclusion for issues related to "undiagnosed condition". We updated Admiral shortly prior to 2nd pre-booked trip departure date as he had experienced no further health issue and 2 test results just returned had not indicated any problems - but MRI scan still outstanding due to waiting lists. On phone, Admiral confirmed related medical exclusion would continue, not great, but we decided we would travel with global health insurance cards. Next evening (Friday) email received from Admiral cancelling husband's insurance completely. Not contactable over the weekend as office closed. Remonstrated with them on Monday and asked why we couldn't retain general cover with continuing medical exclusion as were due to travel within 2 days. They refused to consider any other alternative. We were apparently left with 2 options - 1) go on holiday with no insurance cover at all for husband. 2) Cancel trip with no option to put in a claim as policy does not cover you being able to cancel a holiday (booked before medical issue arose), as a result of Admiral having unreasonably completely cancelled your insurance cover.! A complete travesty! Reviewed on: 11th July 2024
Lyn W's avatar
Lyn W

Never received such awful care.

1
Never received such awful care. I would not recommend this company to anybody. Had a one-off knee operation 2 days ago (which I did not claim anything for) and because I have had a surgery, they have now cancelled my entire insurance policy for the rest of the year, despite having no follow ups needed with the doctors and being deemed healthy now. I am so confused as to how an insurance policy can just cancel your policy because you have had a surgery. This is the second time I have been let down by this company, the first relating to them refusing to pay for my flights to Ecuador after the FCDO advised against all but essential travel to the area. I feel incredibly let down by the company. Reviewed on: 2nd July 2024
Laura C's avatar
Laura C

Admiral do not cover connecting flights

1
We had a cancelled internal flight at short notice, which meant that we missed the international flight home. Admiral do not cover connecting flights - even if you have worldwide cover!!! We attempted to claim for the additional costs but were told that we were not covered and are now significantly out of pocket. The insurance is at best misleading and at worst potentially fraudulent. Worldwide cover should mean worldwide, and not just the first flight out and the last flight back, and only in very specific circumstances. If you want connecting flights covered for not choose Admiral. Reviewed on: 2nd June 2024
TD's avatar
TD

***PLEASE READ BEFORE PURCHASING***

1
Please be aware before buying travel insurance from Admiral! My husband was fit and well when I purchased annual travel cover. He was later diagnosed with prostrate cancer 11 weeks prior to our holiday. I rang to inform them, of the situation but not to raise a claim at that point and they cancelled his policy. So if you ever have health issues and require treatment, they will cancel the policy due to waiting time between diagnosis and treatment, which will always be the case. Surely that’s why you purchase travel insurance?? Reviewed on: 21st April 2024
Judith W's avatar
Judith W

Do you have a different Admiral product?

Share your experiences with products to help others make smarter financial decisions and learn more about different products available. Write a review

There's still more to see!

Admiral has a range of products available. Check the ratings of each product to find the right one for you. View all products