Admiral Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 12 reviews       Last review 3 days ago    

Admiral travel insurance reviews can help you to find out more about this leading UK insurer. Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected...

READ MORE

Admiral travel insurance reviews can help you to find out more about this leading UK insurer. Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adventure-packed holiday. But with so many different policies to choose from, finding the right policy for you can be quite confusing. Reading our Admiral travel insurance reviews can help you find out what other travellers have to say. You can also write your Admiral travel insurance review too!

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Admiral Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Ease

80% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: Branch

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Travel Insurance Reviews

12 reviews

Review Admiral's Travel Insurance now

Deliberately Obstructive and Slow

It's now been two months since I put in a claim for a replacement train ticket home from a ski holiday with no indication of an end in sight, or indeed any communication from Admiral for weeks at a time. I raised my claim with their online form which, Read more

It's now been two months since I put in a claim for a replacement train ticket home from a ski holiday with no indication of an end in sight, or indeed any communication from Admiral for weeks at a time.

I raised my claim with their online form which, though detailed, was a decent process. I attached evidence of my original booking, an explanation that I had missed this train due to a coach leaving the resort late, and the new tickets I had to purchase to get home as well as proof of payment from my bank.

This should be straight forward under my Annual Multi Trip Platinum policy with winter sports and gadget cover added. It has been anything but.

They then sent me two more sets of forms by email which were lengthy but were trying to get all the same information that I had already submitted. What's worse, they were non-editable .pdfs and I haven't got a printer/scanner at home. When I asked for them to be posted or an editable version sent I received no reply, so 2 weeks later I called.

I was asked to upload some additional evidence, which I did, and nothing for a couple more weeks until I again called them.

The last thing I had from them was an email saying they will only progress the claim if the company that provided the coach writes a letter stating why they were late and how much by. Utterly irrelevant, no answer they can give is material to the validity of the claim. I gave it a try anyway and, naturally, the coach company hasn't responded, neither have Admiral in the few weeks since I questioned why they were asking for this.

They are too big a business for this to be sheer incompetence, so my only conclusion is that they deliberately frustrate the claims process. I am now engaged in a formal complaint which I have been told will take 8 weeks for them to deal with.

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Andrew's avatar
Andrew

Amazing

Such a quick service and amazingly kind people.

Reviewed on 18th September 2020
Loww19's avatar
Loww19

Insurance payment

After having to put two claims in within 4 months of each other, one due to sudden death, one due to illness on holiday, I cannot praise Admiral enough for their customer service and very prompt payment. No stress, no hassle, just provided the informatio Read more

After having to put two claims in within 4 months of each other, one due to sudden death, one due to illness on holiday, I cannot praise Admiral enough for their customer service and very prompt payment. No stress, no hassle, just provided the information requested and received payment seven days later. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed on 30th September 2019
D westwood's avatar
D westwood

Excellent cover

Easy to set up, cheap and easy to personalise

Reviewed on 1st September 2019
Jackelyne weeks's avatar
Jackelyne weeks

Travel Insurance

I got this whilst i went on holiday, simple, easy and fuss free experience

Reviewed on 30th July 2019
William J's avatar
William J

Quick, easy, competitive pricing.

Buying travel insurance through admiral was hassle-free, quick and I son't think that we could have got it cheaper elsewhere.

Reviewed on 15th July 2019
Amelia148's avatar
Amelia148

High excess and poor customer service

Admiral charge higher excess fees than other leading insurers and especially higher if you use a price comparison site. When we did have to make a claim, they have made it almost impossible to do so and make you call back several times and have lost infor Read more

Admiral charge higher excess fees than other leading insurers and especially higher if you use a price comparison site. When we did have to make a claim, they have made it almost impossible to do so and make you call back several times and have lost information previously given. Terrible. Do not waste your time or hard earned money.

Reviewed on 23rd April 2019
Hannah's avatar
Hannah

Great insurance provider

Used admiral for annual travel insurance and never had a problem.

Reviewed on 16th July 2017
Connor McCourt's avatar
Connor McCourt

Do Not BUY Amiral Travel Insurance

My 23yr son bought Admiral travel insurance to cover him for a weeks holiday in Malia Greece in September 2015. It was just their basic premium Insurance Policy at £5.00 & some pence. The day after he landed in Malia he became seriously ill with gastroe Read more

My 23yr son bought Admiral travel insurance to cover him for a weeks holiday in Malia Greece in September 2015. It was just their basic premium Insurance Policy at £5.00 & some pence. The day after he landed in Malia he became seriously ill with gastroenteritis ie ( excruciating abdominal pain & projectile vomiting).He attended the local clinic were they gave him blood tests ect to confirm his condition & they then wanted to move him to the nearest hospital which was some 20-30 miles away but he assured them he felt better because all he wanted to do was get home. The treatment cost him 280 Euros. (£210.00) their was no holiday rep, his friends tried to contact Admiral but could not get through but they managed to get him a flight home that night, the only flight to the UK that day which cost nearly £400. When he did get through to Admiral Travel, they reminded him the excess on his policy was £250, (This excess is printed on page 17 of their policy) Also the fact he had not got a note from the attending doctor to say in his opinion he should return home, so therefore his repatriation flight was not covered either. They also stated that they would not pay anything towards the clinic costs because he should have attended the general hospital that excepted EHIC cards even though it was 20- 30 miles away. when asked how he was supposed to get there in his condition they refused to answer & also refused to accept these mitigating circumstances.( he also sent them proof that he did have a valid EHIc card)but under the circumstances could not use it. My son managed to get home with the help of the medication from the clinic. & attended an emergency appointment at our local doctors surgery the next day for more medication , he then spent the rest of the week resting at home. Therefore in my opinion Admiral Insurance policies are not worth the paper they are written on.

Reviewed on 21st September 2016
Lynda Ashcroft's avatar
Lynda Ashcroft

excellent service

excellent service, straight forward and simple to set up with absolutely no problems, really good affordable price

Reviewed on 29th August 2016
Ann-Marie Gould's avatar
Ann-Marie Gould

Don't go with the Cheapest

I too have an annual travel insurance policy with Admiral. I have been insured with them for 12 years and had 2 claims for cancellation ( close family death and personal illness).Once I provided the proofs claims were settled with no hassle. Insurance Read more

I too have an annual travel insurance policy with Admiral. I have been insured with them for 12 years and had 2 claims for cancellation ( close family death and personal illness).Once I provided the proofs claims were settled with no hassle.

Insurance is not about cost.It is about how you are treated in the unlikely event of a claim.Do not go for the cheapest.

Reviewed on 24th December 2015
John Sotos's avatar
John Sotos

Easy and honest

I bought their annual travel insurance, it was a good price compared to others, the company had a good reputation and so I bought it. I luckily did not have to make a claim but I had every confidence that if I had needed to, they had provided me with all Read more

I bought their annual travel insurance, it was a good price compared to others, the company had a good reputation and so I bought it. I luckily did not have to make a claim but I had every confidence that if I had needed to, they had provided me with all the information to do so. I would recommend this company for single or annual travel insurance that has a good reputation.

Reviewed on 9th November 2015
pinchingpennies's avatar
pinchingpennies