Admiral Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 51 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Whether you’re jetting off abroad or travelling across the UK, it’s beneficial to have the security of a travel insurance policy. Here at Smart Money People, we collect Admiral travel insurance reviews from genuine customers so that you can shop with confidence.

Admiral was first set up as a car...

READ MORE

Whether you’re jetting off abroad or travelling across the UK, it’s beneficial to have the security of a travel insurance policy. Here at Smart Money People, we collect Admiral travel insurance reviews from genuine customers so that you can shop with confidence.

Admiral was first set up as a car insurance provider in 1993, but since then, has branched out to offer a variety of insurance products. Admiral strives for convenience and hassle-free insurance, developing an app to allow customers to manage their cover on the go.

Smart Money People hosts reviews for a variety of Admiral’s travel insurance policies, like the Single Trip cover for those who only travel once a year, and the Annual Travel policy for more frequent travellers. Admiral also offers specialist cover for winter sports holidays and cruises, as well as a policy to cover your gadgets - great if you’re travelling for business with lots of expensive tech. Read our Admiral travel insurance reviews to see what customers have said about their experiences.

Have you taken out a travel insurance policy with Admiral? Whatever your experience, leave a review with Smart Money People to help improve trust and transparency in financial services. Share how easy (or hard!) the sign-up process was. Have you been satisfied with the cover you received for the price of the policy? Did you deal with the customer service team at all? Leave an Admiral travel insurance review to help others find their perfect policy.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Travel Insurance Reviews

51 reviews

Review Admiral's Travel Insurance now

DO NOT USE ADMIRAL TRAVEL INSURANCE - WORST SERVICE EVER claim from July 2022

They have refused to cover most things - cost of having to buy new air ticket when flights were cancelled, cost of replacement stolen passport(£100), stolen euros , cost of food and accommodation to stay extra 2 days while we wait for emergency passport Read more

They have refused to cover most things - cost of having to buy new air ticket when flights were cancelled, cost of replacement stolen passport(£100), stolen euros , cost of food and accommodation to stay extra 2 days while we wait for emergency passport to be covered, costs incurred to change return flight home, .. so what do they cover?? Then you send the documents by email, then they want them to be uploaded on a portal that sometimes doesn't work., then they still ask for the same documents you have already uploaded!!!

is this a delaying tactic??? do not waste your =money on admiral travel insurance

Reviewed on 27th November 2022
cc's avatar
cc

The most traumatic experience

Such a traumatic experience! I’m currently having a miscarriage, I have seen a doctor who wants to do further investigation but the completely incompetent staff at admiral haven’t signed it off yet. To get an ultrasound and blood tests it will cost us the Read more

Such a traumatic experience! I’m currently having a miscarriage, I have seen a doctor who wants to do further investigation but the completely incompetent staff at admiral haven’t signed it off yet. To get an ultrasound and blood tests it will cost us the equivalent of £700, of which I already paid at the first appointment when I initially started bleeding. My husband has been on the phone to them for a few hours each day for the last 4 days. They even told us to go to the hospital and then they didn’t sign off on the treatment. It’s just disgraceful. We’re chasing them constantly and they just give us more questionares to fill out. This is there emergency support. Please be ware, do not get travel insurance with them as you will not be covered in an emergency.

Reviewed on 11th November 2022
Emma 's avatar
Emma

Appalling service.

Late in processing claims. Agents are not well trained and changing their minds against the policy terms and conditions. Refusing to assist properly claim regarding lost luggage and do not assist in way special needs requests. Do not recommend this compan Read more

Late in processing claims. Agents are not well trained and changing their minds against the policy terms and conditions. Refusing to assist properly claim regarding lost luggage and do not assist in way special needs requests. Do not recommend this company at all and I regret buying the policy with them.

Reviewed on 8th November 2022
Mihaela's avatar
Mihaela

Almost five months to pay our claim

They say an insurance company is only as good as its claims processing. Admiral’s claims processing is appalling. My wife badly broke her ankle less than two weeks prior to our going on holiday. She needed an operation to fix it which required some metalw Read more

They say an insurance company is only as good as its claims processing. Admiral’s claims processing is appalling. My wife badly broke her ankle less than two weeks prior to our going on holiday. She needed an operation to fix it which required some metalwork and then was not allowed to travel. We submitted what we thought should be a straightforward holiday cancellation claim. Wrong. The amount of paperwork required was unbelievable. It’s almost as though it is designed to encourage policyholders not to bother claiming or just give up. I made umpteen phone calls to Admiral to find out what was happening to our claim. Unfortunately, the people answering the claims lines can only tell you what it says on the file on their screen. They all promised to find out and call me back. Without exception not one called me back. When asking to speak to a manager, they can’t put you through to one, they have to submit a request that a manager calls you. Of course, no one called. Eventually the claim was paid after nearly five months. Won’t be using Admiral again – appalling service.

Reviewed on 7th November 2022
Stephen Carden-Noad's avatar
Stephen Carden-Noad

NEVER ever use this company. UTTER DISGRACE

I lost my sight partially and they had no remorse wanting more and more documents to prove that I had no underlying issues for this which I hadn’t. The stress of this company made me I’ll in top. They are so rude and should Not be allowed to even exist! Read more

I lost my sight partially and they had no remorse wanting more and more documents to prove that I had no underlying issues for this which I hadn’t.
The stress of this company made me I’ll in top. They are so rude and should Not be allowed to even exist!

Reviewed on 3rd November 2022
Joanne Wright's avatar
Joanne Wright

the worst ever

the worst travel insurance i have ever had, never ending requests for more documents to prove it is a genuine claim. i provided all but they again came back and asked for more proof and more documents to make it impossible for anyone to claim successfully

Reviewed on 1st November 2022
Salam Beruti's avatar
Salam Beruti

Dreadful service - DO NOT USE AT ALL COSTS

I purchased travel insurance prior to going on holiday back in May. Unfortunately I broke my foot in 3 places whilst away. Put all documents onto their portal as requested, but this wasn't good enough. Then requested all again by email!!! Took over 2 mont Read more

I purchased travel insurance prior to going on holiday back in May. Unfortunately I broke my foot in 3 places whilst away. Put all documents onto their portal as requested, but this wasn't good enough. Then requested all again by email!!! Took over 2 months to settle a small claim with lots of phone calls. They even said they had called me back, when they hadn't....... Going on holiday again in November and called them just to check that I was still covered. Spoke to a chap in India, who said they knew nothing of my claim and I needed to advise them again otherwise I would not be covered. I said as you have paid out you must know about it, and it is not my problem that your company is so incompetent that one office does not talk to the other, and if this is the case I should been made aware at the time I made the claim, or it should be in big print in the insurance details. He also wanted to charge me an extra £68. I told him to cancel my policy immediately as I have no confidence that if I was ill on holiday they would pay up. They are a bunch of crooks only interested in stealing your money and wanting even more. I felt sorry for the poor guy in India who was only doing his job. I have raised a complaint, but all they do is lie and tell you they have tried to contact you followed by a pre-printed letter.

Reviewed on 22nd October 2022
Karen's avatar
Karen

Will NEVER, EVER deal with them again

Took out an annual travel policy and honestly declared our situation. Five months later, husband is diagnosed with a cancer. We postpone one holiday but leave others booked for later in the year. Contact Admiral who say that they cannot provide cover ( Read more

Took out an annual travel policy and honestly declared our situation. Five months later, husband is diagnosed with a cancer. We postpone one holiday but leave others booked for later in the year. Contact Admiral who say that they cannot provide cover (sorry - they already did when I took out the policy????) then try to force ME to say that I want to cancel the insurance. NO - I don't want to cancel anything - I just want what we paid for ie insurance cover for holidays which we have already booked. We don't want to cancel - and nor have we been advised. by the medical professionals that we cannot travel - but seemingly Admiral know best and have decided that they will only provide cover if we cancel the holiday. This is just bullying. Policy is now cancelled, then they have the cheek to refund only part of the money. I totally failed to see what they have provided at all, but have still taken money.

Look at the reviews. The high stars are awarded by people who have simply taken out a policy. Everything which is poor is from those 'customers' who have tried to have any subsequent interaction with Admiral. Speaks volumes.

Not only will we NEVER use this shower again, I am very clear to inform everyone I know of our experiences.

Completely disgusted.

Reviewed on 21st October 2022
KAS's avatar
KAS

Avoid at all costs

We went with Admiral as we have our car insurance with them. What a mistake! Two days before we were due to go on holiday my husband came down with Covid and was too sick to travel. This was in mid August and I am still trying to get my money back. De Read more

We went with Admiral as we have our car insurance with them. What a mistake! Two days before we were due to go on holiday my husband came down with Covid and was too sick to travel. This was in mid August and I am still trying to get my money back. Despite having all the documentation that we have available to us they continue to request further details and each time they ask for more information they reset the clock and it takes 6 weeks for them to get back to you. You can't speak to a person and have to wait for them to send you an email for further information. This is very frustrating as either way, we have not been informed if we will get a refund yet. Judging by other comments on this site, it could still take a few months before we reach a conclusion! I personally will not use this travel insurance again.

Reviewed on 19th October 2022
Travelsafe's avatar
Travelsafe

Great service!

Just what I needed for my week away!

Reviewed on 14th October 2022
Harriet 's avatar
Harriet

Excellent as always!

Admiral and their sister companies are brilliant. I have travel insurance from them currently and it is competitively priced. Previously, I have had car insurance and when making a claim Admiral were the best in supporting me throughout the process. Thank Read more

Admiral and their sister companies are brilliant. I have travel insurance from them currently and it is competitively priced. Previously, I have had car insurance and when making a claim Admiral were the best in supporting me throughout the process. Thank you

Reviewed on 14th October 2022
PS's avatar
PS

Easy to use website

We undertook an admiral insurance policy for a multi leg long haul trip to India. They were by far the easiest to provide what we needed, even our complex health history was easy to input. Decent price too

Reviewed on 10th October 2022
Denise Hewett's avatar
Denise Hewett

Your relative's pre-existing condition could render your claim ineligible !!

Beware of this company !! Their approach is completely unethical. My claim was turned down because my mother had Alzheimer's - she was fine when I booked the holiday (5 wks beforehand) but suddenly stopped eating and drinking and passed away 2 days before Read more

Beware of this company !! Their approach is completely unethical. My claim was turned down because my mother had Alzheimer's - she was fine when I booked the holiday (5 wks beforehand) but suddenly stopped eating and drinking and passed away 2 days before I was due to fly. Who hasn't got a relative with a pre-existing condition yet they don't ask you this nor do they stress how this can render your claim ineligible !! They've no issue taking your money though - NEVER AGAIN !!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Reviewed on 9th October 2022
Camilla Fitzpatrick's avatar
Camilla Fitzpatrick

Terrible experience

Terrible experience, please avoid this company at all costs. Classic insurance company that looks for any excuse not to pay off your claim. This time, it was a travel insurance I bought. They denied my claim because I didn't get back to the UK immedia Read more

Terrible experience, please avoid this company at all costs.

Classic insurance company that looks for any excuse not to pay off your claim. This time, it was a travel insurance I bought. They denied my claim because I didn't get back to the UK immediately after I travelled.

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
Daniele Causio's avatar
Daniele Causio

Awful travel insurance experience

Awful experience from start to finish. My son needed hospital treatment after collapsing on holiday. All paid for upfront by us and they will not confirm cover when speaking to them on the phone whilst all this is happening in a very stressful situation. Read more

Awful experience from start to finish. My son needed hospital treatment after collapsing on holiday. All paid for upfront by us and they will not confirm cover when speaking to them on the phone whilst all this is happening in a very stressful situation. Back in uk all documents submitted on portal. When you call to chase up they then request further documentation despite everything being sent. Receipts are not enough, bank statements on top of that. Still waiting for a decision 2 months down the line. Have had other travel insurance in the past and made one claim that was straightforward and clear. Admiral are the opposite. Still refusing to even confirm cover. Do not use admiral for travel insurance.

Reviewed on 28th September 2022
Julie Leighton's avatar
Julie Leighton

The worst travel insurance

The questioners arranged for the claim is not related to my claim in order your claim to process answer all question which are not related to my claim. always asking me to answer the same those qiestions . i thought its good company but now I can tell a Read more

The questioners arranged for the claim is not related to my claim in order your claim to process answer all question which are not related to my claim.
always asking me to answer the same those qiestions .
i thought its good company but now I can tell and wont recommond to other.

Reviewed on 23rd September 2022
A. R's avatar
A. R

Rip off

Paid £394 for one year multi trip, cruise and Europe for myself and wife. Approximately 2 weeks before holiday wife fell and fractured her shoulder making her unfit to travel. Put in claim, completed all relevant documentation, heard nothing. 3 days befor Read more

Paid £394 for one year multi trip, cruise and Europe for myself and wife. Approximately 2 weeks before holiday wife fell and fractured her shoulder making her unfit to travel. Put in claim, completed all relevant documentation, heard nothing. 3 days before we were due to travel for second holiday, informed they wanted £346 extra for update with regard arm injury. Funny how the new payment plus first payment equalled the amount they are expected to repay us. If not payed before our holiday, insurance will be cancelled

Reviewed on 17th September 2022
Geoffrey Bowman's avatar
Geoffrey Bowman

Travel nightmare

Was bitten by a spider in Thailand in May 22. My foot got infected and was rushed to hospital. Had an operation to clear infection so I had huge wounds on top and bottom of foot was in hospital for 6 days spending £12000 of my own money. Contacted admir Read more

Was bitten by a spider in Thailand in May 22. My foot got infected and was rushed to hospital. Had an operation to clear infection so I had huge wounds on top and bottom of foot was in hospital for 6 days spending £12000 of my own money. Contacted admiral and was met my obstacle after obstacle. After 6 days with no commitment to pay hospital fees I made the decision to leave hospital and go back to UK. Had to buy a new ticket as missed my booked flight still no contact from admiral. On arrival a k in UK I went to hospital and was there for 2 weeks finally while there contact with admiral was made and after 3 months they paid my claim for hospital fees but forgot to pay travel. Osts. Have finally got travel costs this week after much toing and throwing 5 moths after incident. Please think carefully before going with them and I am going to purchase another policy if I am a ble to travel soon with another company

Reviewed on 8th September 2022
Martin Wiseman's avatar
Martin Wiseman

Absolutely horrendous service

I made a claim in May and this has still not been resolved. Every month i receive an email stating they require something or another. I uploaded all the required documents and every time i speak to an advisor over the phone (after holding in for 30-45 Read more

I made a claim in May and this has still not been resolved. Every month i receive an email stating they require something or another.

I uploaded all the required documents and every time i speak to an advisor over the phone (after holding in for 30-45 mins) i ask if this is it or is there anything else they require to which they say ‘Nope this is it’.

I will be in touch with the travel ombudsman soon as i requested to speak to a manager and was told they would contact me within 72 hours its been double that time and still no contact.

I called again today and spoke to Liz who said her colleague Louise is dealing with my case and she will contact me before 5pm, but guess what.. no call!

I received an email (but can’t reply to it) at 17.13 requesting further information.

There service is absolutely appalling and i would never recommend anyone to take out travel insurance with Admiral. I actually have no words to express my pain.

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
Amzy Pat's avatar
Amzy Pat

Good Claims and Support when you need it most

Ex-partner was hospitalised in Thailand with Dengue Fever for 7 Days. Allianz paid out in full, quickly and easily and made sure we had the best care possible, with constant check ups on her condition.

Reviewed on 17th August 2022
Luke's avatar
Luke