Domestic and General Warranty Reviews

  Ratings based on 20 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

At Smart Money People, we collect Domestic and General Warranty reviews from customers like you. If you're thinking of getting Domestic and General Warranty check out our reviews, or if you're an existing Domestic and General customer - please share your experiences with our community in order to help out...

READ MORE

At Smart Money People, we collect Domestic and General Warranty reviews from customers like you. If you're thinking of getting Domestic and General Warranty check out our reviews, or if you're an existing Domestic and General customer - please share your experiences with our community in order to help out others!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Warranty Reviews

20 reviews

Review Domestic and General's Warranty now

Very Poor Service

Originally took out policy on appliances on 8/4/22. Was supposed to receive email that day or next with the policy info. Also, policy info would be provided by regular mail in 7-10 days. Did not receive email and called again. Email address had been i Read more

Originally took out policy on appliances on 8/4/22. Was supposed to receive email that day or next with the policy info. Also, policy info would be provided by regular mail in 7-10 days. Did not receive email and called again. Email address had been input incorrectly. Was told that I would receive email the next day. I did finally receive an email that allowed me to create an on-line account; but still no information pertaining to the policy. When I attempted to create an account, based on the received email, their system wouldn't allow it. System kept indicating that the zip code I was inputting was not valid. As of 9/8/22 I still had not received policy in mail. I called and was told that the original email that is sent out is only sent once. If it goes to the wrong address -- tough!! No way to resend it. (What a hell of a way to run a business.) I asked the representative I was speaking with about the inability to create an account due to the zip code issue. She suggested it was possibly a system error and I could try again tomorrow. This was at least my third attempt at creating an account, on different days, with all attempts failing due to the same issue -- invalid zip code. The representative went on to say that there was nothing she could do about not being able to create an account -- no referral to someone else, nothing!!! At this point, I decided to cancel this plan. Now, I'll wait to see if I actually receive my refund and no future charges are placed on my card.

Reviewed on 8th September 2022
Keith Philley's avatar
Keith Philley

Appalling cover and company

Appalling cover. You pay whilst appliances in warranty period, it turns out for accidental damage only. Once out of warranty they bump up prices (& say told me in email that probably went to junk). Then phone up to complain and complains dept wont take ph Read more

Appalling cover. You pay whilst appliances in warranty period, it turns out for accidental damage only. Once out of warranty they bump up prices (& say told me in email that probably went to junk). Then phone up to complain and complains dept wont take phone calls (I wonder why?!!) and I ask about claiming for accidental damage and they say that accidental dints etc not covered! Treatment disgraceful, my advice is avoid D&G, dont waste your money.

Reviewed on 26th August 2022
Stephen Andrew's avatar
Stephen Andrew

Fantastic service

White line appeared on my TV. Booked repair online. Was booked for 2 days later. The engineers called me the next day asking for pics. Once sent, received a text that they'd be replacing. Not long later got an email with an argos voucher. Managed to get a Read more

White line appeared on my TV. Booked repair online. Was booked for 2 days later. The engineers called me the next day asking for pics. Once sent, received a text that they'd be replacing. Not long later got an email with an argos voucher. Managed to get a bigger TV and only had to add £5 plus delivery. To confirm, booked repair online on the Monday, by weds night, around 8:45pm, new TV was in my bedroom.

Reviewed on 9th June 2022
Jah Laydij Huntez's avatar
Jah Laydij Huntez

Waste of time and money, worst customer service

one hour on the phone to file a claim, spoken to 11 people because I am keep getting transferred after asking not to me, I have been disconnected 2x, still calm and respectful to all the reps but they keep transferring me. its impossible to cancel as wel Read more

one hour on the phone to file a claim, spoken to 11 people because I am keep getting transferred after asking not to me, I have been disconnected 2x, still calm and respectful to all the reps but they keep transferring me. its impossible to cancel as well. I will have to call my CC b/c they refuse to cancel the service

Reviewed on 19th May 2022
Denise Keshani's avatar
Denise Keshani

The best excuse ever not to visit

AVOID after being in a queue for 37 mins , I got to speak to someone who told me I had to go to Hotpoint even though my fridge freezer is HiSense once there I got sent back to D&G who then gave me a phone number for Hotpoint I told them I now had been on Read more

AVOID after being in a queue for 37 mins , I got to speak to someone who told me I had to go to Hotpoint even though my fridge freezer is HiSense once there I got sent back to D&G who then gave me a phone number for Hotpoint I told them I now had been on phone for 52 minutes I explained I had already been put through to them , her response was well theres no engineers in your area for the near future , and did I want to fill in a complain form , 3years paying first attempt to claim

Reviewed on 10th May 2022
Darren Gallagher's avatar
Darren Gallagher

Avoid avoid avoid

Run away from this company as fast as possible. Between D&G, Whirlpool and Hotpoint, they can't arrange an engineer revisit to save their lives. I got passed from call centre to call centre saying they can't help, just kept getting asked to try calling Read more

Run away from this company as fast as possible. Between D&G, Whirlpool and Hotpoint, they can't arrange an engineer revisit to save their lives.

I got passed from call centre to call centre saying they can't help, just kept getting asked to try calling a different number.

The icing on the cake was the last number they gave me was no longer in use.

It's Frankensteins monster of insurance companies. Will definitely leave before my next renewal and I won't look back. They are not worth the money I'm paying.

Tldr: avoid at all costs, I beg you.

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Misbah Ahmed's avatar
Misbah Ahmed

Worry free Appliance insurance

Most of my Appliances are protected by domestic and General, it’s Easy to deal with customer services and user friendly app, I would definitely recommend them to all family and friends

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Kamel Malik's avatar
Kamel Malik

Damages your products instead of repairing it!

When I purchased my £999 Macbook Air via the John Lewis website I also purchased Domestic & General insurance for accidental damage. I had spilled a liquid over my laptop and I sent my MacBook Air in for repair, and after three weeks, I received my lapt Read more

When I purchased my £999 Macbook Air via the John Lewis website I also purchased Domestic & General insurance for accidental damage.
I had spilled a liquid over my laptop and I sent my MacBook Air in for repair, and after three weeks, I received my laptop in a flimsy paper envelope with dents all over it. I had received the laptop in WORSE condition than when I had shipped it.
Even worse, the laptop had not been repaired. There were no indications that the laptop had been repaired at all.
It's been more than two months since I sent my laptop in for repair, and it still hasn't been fixed.
After filing a complaint about my broken laptop, I contacted Domestic & General support (nearly 3 weeks after filing the complaint), and they had the audacity to lie to me over the phone. They claimed that the laptop repair company had made "several attempts to reach me." This is a blatant lie because I read my emails on a daily basis, including the junk folder.
They then lied to me on the phone, claiming that they had "called me earlier" and that I had told them that I was "unavailable”.
I had never had a call from them before, and I had informed the support representative of this, who was quick to deny it and tried to shrug it off.
They further claimed the flimsy envelope was "Apple approved packing." I've had many repairs done in the past, and this was NOTHING LIKE the packaging my laptop is typically packed in. This packaging would never be approved by Apple, as there is no bubble wrap to protect the laptop.
They had requested that I forward images of the dents on my laptop which I have done so and it has been 18 days and I have not got any update.
I purchased insurance for peace of mind but the service I have experienced has been the complete opposite. Instead I have been without a laptop for over 2 months and I have had lies fed to me the entire time.
My feedback to Domestic and General: Please assist me in resolving my issue; I want a fair and timely resolution that will satisfy me.

Reviewed on 24th March 2022
Krish Walia's avatar
Krish Walia

Appalling service

Avoid like the plague. Their warranty offers are beyond disappointing and their customer service is even worse.

Reviewed on 15th March 2022
Lina's avatar
Lina

Dont buy their policies, they are worthless

Do not buy their appliance cover its a scam I had all my kitchen appliances on your cover. Called you because my dishwasher wasnt operating correctly and damaged. engineer visits on a number of occasions, still waiting for parts, I make a complaint and y Read more

Do not buy their appliance cover its a scam
I had all my kitchen appliances on your cover. Called you because my dishwasher wasnt operating correctly and damaged. engineer visits on a number of occasions, still waiting for parts, I make a complaint and you write to tell me the machine functions correctly and I am satisfied with the repair. If I was satisfied I wouldnt have called you...no time scale for the parts or repair and currently 30 minutes on hold time to your laughable customer service team....I have an appliance currently held together with insulating tape and the company tell me its fine.

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Mark Lee's avatar
Mark Lee

WORSE COMPANY EVER!! BEWARE

WORSE COMPANY EVER!! BEWARE Been with this company for years but when called out for a radiator leak, the engineer came out but refused to repair the leak as he said the condition wasn’t good in the property. There was a baby in the house with no Read more

WORSE COMPANY EVER!! BEWARE

Been with this company for years but when called out for a radiator leak, the engineer came out but refused to repair the leak as he said the condition wasn’t good in the property.

There was a baby in the house with no heating for a couple of days but the engineer will not show any sympathy. It was only a five minutes repair I’ve done myself. After paying this company for years.

Tried to ring the Domestic & General a few times and was put on hold for hours and then put my phone down. After trying for weeks finally got through to a complaint department then they refuse to refund me and disconnect my phone and cancel my policy too.

Now I’m writing to the directors of the company to make them aware of the situation I hope they will help.

Please stay away from this company the worst company ever once you need to call them out.

Reviewed on 8th February 2022
S Mohammed's avatar
S Mohammed

Shocking service!!

Domestic and general think a 3x week time frame is fine for a repair. It will be 3x weeks to the day before they will repair our appliance shocking service. I will like to see those who say this is acceptable try and manage with a family with no washer dr Read more

Domestic and general think a 3x week time frame is fine for a repair. It will be 3x weeks to the day before they will repair our appliance shocking service. I will like to see those who say this is acceptable try and manage with a family with no washer dryer. Try else where for a repair plan!! After many years with them we certainly will!!

Reviewed on 21st January 2022
Alan Lee's avatar
Alan Lee

Leave well alone

Trouble with my Beko freezer. After queuing for 34 mins on the phone to D&G, appointment made for two days time. Promised to receive a phone call for ETA on morning of appointment, but no contact from them, rung 4:00pm, on queue for 42 mins. No apology, Read more

Trouble with my Beko freezer. After queuing for 34 mins on the phone to D&G, appointment made for two days time. Promised to receive a phone call for ETA on morning of appointment, but no contact from them, rung 4:00pm, on queue for 42 mins. No apology, no explanation just a “I’ll log a complaint for you”. No offer of a follow up appointment. Took to Twitter to vent my disappointment (no swearing, just factual). Blocked 10 minutes later by D&G. Happy to take your money, not interested in providing you with a service - leave well alone.

Reviewed on 11th June 2021
Paul's avatar
Paul

Great price

I have my Washing machine, boiler, oven and hob all covered for below £20 a month. Great friendly customer service

Reviewed on 2nd August 2020
Gemma Louise Griffiths's avatar
Gemma Louise Griffiths

Peace of Mind Cover

People always wonder whether domestic appliance insurance is worthwhile. Domestic and General are the main players in this market. In my opinion, as someone on an average income with very little 'wiggle room' in my finances, this cover is worth it's we Read more

People always wonder whether domestic appliance insurance is worthwhile. Domestic and General are the main players in this market.

In my opinion, as someone on an average income with very little 'wiggle room' in my finances, this cover is worth it's weight in gold. I would have needed to replace my washer four times over in the last three years without it.

The engineer is sent out quickly and the problem is fixed quickly. My premiums are reasonable and it gives me peace of mind that an appliance so critical to normal family life is covered without me having to find hundreds of pounds without warning for call out and repairs.

True, your appliance may never break down but, for a couple of pounds a month, I personally believe the peace of mind is worth it.

Domestic and General are easy to contact, friendly and efficient. I highly recommend them.

Reviewed on 11th July 2019
Sharon Thompson's avatar
Sharon Thompson

Very very poor service

Had washer/dryer warranty company they use give incredibly poor service when contacted over a machine problem Ordered wrong parts, nothing documented so engineer unable to fix so needed new appointment, 1 engineer brought his girlfriend with him and said Read more

Had washer/dryer warranty company they use give incredibly poor service when contacted over a machine problem
Ordered wrong parts, nothing documented so engineer unable to fix so needed new appointment, 1 engineer brought his girlfriend with him and said he had cleaned filter, but nachine still didnt heat up
On next appointment to fix un heating dyer the filter was full
When waiting for a part you had to phone daily to check when they would visit you
X2 they didnt turn up
Complained x2 but no folliw up from ,D&G so never renewed
Dreadful truly dreadful service by ,D&G and the company they use
Would give no stars if i could

Reviewed on 16th July 2017
Rita murray's avatar
Rita murray

great prices

they are easy to deal with and go above and beyond to help with any issues

Reviewed on 12th July 2017
Claire Elizabeth Griffiths's avatar
Claire Elizabeth Griffiths

Simple, fast and hassle free

Using D&G was a simple process. All of the forms and information were simple and quick to follow out. Communication from the company has been prompt and friendly, and I have had no isssue whatsoever. I'd definitely recommend them to anyone who wants a dec Read more

Using D&G was a simple process. All of the forms and information were simple and quick to follow out. Communication from the company has been prompt and friendly, and I have had no isssue whatsoever. I'd definitely recommend them to anyone who wants a decent and professional service.

Reviewed on 30th May 2017
David Reilly's avatar
David Reilly

Not Great!

I've had warranties with D&G for a few of my appliances and I pay monthly via Direct Debit. However, my DD failed twice and I only found out when I had a letter demanding the full price of £270-odd. I had no correspondence before this. Has I known after t Read more

I've had warranties with D&G for a few of my appliances and I pay monthly via Direct Debit. However, my DD failed twice and I only found out when I had a letter demanding the full price of £270-odd. I had no correspondence before this. Has I known after the first DD failed, I would have rectified this.

It also takes ages for anyone to answer emails or messages.

Reviewed on 24th December 2016
Anni Ezmerelda Large's avatar
Anni Ezmerelda Large

Always go direct

I had quote from curry's where I bought washing machine but don't rate their service . then had quote from Zanussi (who use Domestic and general) at £5.40 a month. I went direct to Domestic & General website and covered both washing machine and tumble dry Read more

I had quote from curry's where I bought washing machine but don't rate their service . then had quote from Zanussi (who use Domestic and general) at £5.40 a month. I went direct to Domestic & General website and covered both washing machine and tumble dryer for that money.

Reviewed on 13th September 2016
Hazel Lawrence's avatar
Hazel Lawrence