Hastings Direct Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 426 reviews       Last review 2 days ago    

Hastings Direct car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Hastings Direct car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the...

READ MORE

Hastings Direct car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Hastings Direct car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Hastings Direct before, you too can write a short Hastings Direct car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

426 reviews

Review Hastings Direct's Car Insurance now

Please please steer clear

Please do not use this company. I am claiming on them as I was driven into by someone who is insured with them and they have done nothing but be deceitful, ignore messages and do anything they can to not pay out what I am owed. There are many stories I ha Read more

Please do not use this company. I am claiming on them as I was driven into by someone who is insured with them and they have done nothing but be deceitful, ignore messages and do anything they can to not pay out what I am owed. There are many stories I have (the accident was in July and still unresolved even though driver admitted fault) For your own sake please do not use them.

Reviewed on 3rd October 2022
Francesca Quilley's avatar
Francesca Quilley

Do not use this company

The whole process from start to finish has been awful. I have been claiming on the driver who was at fault insurance- Hastings. They have had my car for over 2 months and its being written off. I have spoke to 10+ people and they have all bar 1, had no cl Read more

The whole process from start to finish has been awful. I have been claiming on the driver who was at fault insurance- Hastings. They have had my car for over 2 months and its being written off. I have spoke to 10+ people and they have all bar 1, had no clue what to say or do. They also have tried to con me at multiple turns. So glad I am not insured with them and needed real help. No active contact - and then when I had been waiting 4 weeks for a valuation they ended the hire car contract and did not tell me, it was only because enterprise rang me to say I was going to be charged as it was 2 days overdue. Please steer clear!

Reviewed on 22nd September 2022
Francesca Quilley's avatar
Francesca Quilley

Worst customer service I have ever experienced

Appalling customer service, being told I have to wait a month for a hire car after an accident. They simply will not provide you with one, it just won’t happen. Don’t even bother trying to get through on the phone, they continually pass the buck between t Read more

Appalling customer service, being told I have to wait a month for a hire car after an accident. They simply will not provide you with one, it just won’t happen. Don’t even bother trying to get through on the phone, they continually pass the buck between themselves, Vizion and the repairer. I wish I had never got involved with this awful company. Simply the worst, please, for your peace of mind, use a different insurer.

Reviewed on 22nd September 2022
Pete Brock's avatar
Pete Brock

Car insurance

Excellent quality value for money Easy to use app quality service would highly recommend to all my family and friends

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
C Spence's avatar
C Spence

Very poor service

Contact them on 24/08 because they require more information. Sent the requested code to them via e-mail on 25/08. On the 2/09 in the afternoon I received an email saying that the code was wrong that I should send a screenshot from the government website Read more

Contact them on 24/08 because they require more information. Sent the requested code to them via e-mail on 25/08. On the 2/09 in the afternoon I received an email saying that the code was wrong that I should send a screenshot from the government website with the code. On the end of the morning of 3/09 I received an email saying that my policy has been cancelled on 30/08. If my policy has been cancelled on the 30/08 why I haven't been informed on the day? Why no one called or email me saying the code was wrong before? Why the deducted money on my account on 31/08? ....?

Reviewed on 3rd September 2022
Bruna Graziele da silva Bottino's avatar
Bruna Graziele da silva Bottino

Awful service

Spent 3 days on the phone, due to an admin error their end which was admitted by management when put through complaints system, apologies were given however I was told they could do nothing,I was left out of pocket by over £150 due to this admin error and Read more

Spent 3 days on the phone, due to an admin error their end which was admitted by management when put through complaints system, apologies were given however I was told they could do nothing,I was left out of pocket by over £150 due to this admin error and monthly payments increased. Over all communication is poor, poor record keeping, phone calls had to listened back to find their errors, which ended up being admitted and confirmed by them, long call waiting service. A simple admin error their end, and three consistent days of calls, being passed on to people to sort insurance cover with no support.
I have been with this company for four years. Will not renew next time.
Unfortunately stuck with them for the next twelve months. Management clearly need to train staff to higher standard of customer service support.
I've never put an online complaint on before but I found this service well beyond par, and with today's climate would not want people to loose out by going with this company.

Reviewed on 27th August 2022
helen's avatar
helen

very good value

cheap and good value online house insurance im happy with

Reviewed on 24th August 2022
harvey's avatar
harvey

call centre is shocking and unfriendly

omg girl on call centre wasn't happy about me not renewing insurance with them was extremely rude and unhappy about i am planning to leave, insurance went up more than £300 and she was trying make me feel i am still getting best deal even if i shop arou Read more

omg girl on call centre wasn't happy about me not renewing insurance with them was extremely rude and unhappy about i am planning to leave, insurance went up more than £300 and she was trying make me feel i am still getting best deal even if i shop around i wont find better one, after long chat she dropped phone without any good bye , made me feel so unwelcome , NEVER AGAIN getting insurance with this company

Reviewed on 24th August 2022
Neo's avatar
Neo

Horrendous

I was unfortunate to be hit by a Hastings policy holder on the 20/05/22. It's now the 24/08/22 and I'm still waiting to be paid out for my car which was declared a write off. I have a disabled son and a baby due in a few weeks. Absolutely shocking service Read more

I was unfortunate to be hit by a Hastings policy holder on the 20/05/22. It's now the 24/08/22 and I'm still waiting to be paid out for my car which was declared a write off. I have a disabled son and a baby due in a few weeks. Absolutely shocking service!

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
WASIM Afzal's avatar
WASIM Afzal

Warning Awful company, don't ever use them

Bad insurance company, corrupt, not keen to give you gdpr, about as useful as a chocolate teapot look else where Changed to NFU, cheaper, more helpful

Reviewed on 8th August 2022
Jez's avatar
Jez

DID NOT RENEW CAR INS

DID NOT RENEW MY CAR INS AS STATED IN LETTER AFTER CHECKING BANK DETAILS CORRECT. UNABLE TO VISIT FAMILY TODAY SUNDAY. CANNOT DRIVE TO WORK TOMORROW, MONDAY. LOST A DAYS WAGES. GOOD JOB I CHECKED OTHERWISE I COULD OF BEEN PROSECUTED BY THE POLICE.

Reviewed on 7th August 2022
SHANNY 's avatar
SHANNY

Avoid this shower at all cost. 0 stars should be an option!

Worst insurance provider it’s ever been my misfortune to deal with. They took my money from my credit card without my permission even after they had acknowledged that I did not want to renew.

Reviewed on 4th August 2022
Q's avatar
Q

Extortionate fees and charges

I've been with this company for a while. I tried to cancel my policy when it was up for renewal but it was an impossible task. I was paying £35 a month for a 13 plate Focus. The engine blew, and I ended up with a 2.2 SRi Vectra, which cost the same per mo Read more

I've been with this company for a while. I tried to cancel my policy when it was up for renewal but it was an impossible task. I was paying £35 a month for a 13 plate Focus. The engine blew, and I ended up with a 2.2 SRi Vectra, which cost the same per month as the Focus. I have just changed to 64 plate Seat, and when I changed the car on my policy, it jumped from £35 to £66 a month!! Having dropped from a Group 22 car to a Group 11 car. Checked on Compare the Market and numerous providers were offering identical cover for £35 a month. So I called Hastings to be told that the best price they could find was £140 a month, and if I want to cancel I have to pay a £45 admin fee, and in top of that a further £55 due to the loss of interest as my policy is paid monthly. Needless to say, I will not be renewing.

Reviewed on 4th August 2022
Ian Whitlock's avatar
Ian Whitlock

Renewed without my consent

They renewed my policy without me telling them. In the website there is a button to renew your policy I didn't press this and it still renewed. I called them and they charged me 20 pounds to cancel it but it was there fault. They would budge on it after 2 Read more

They renewed my policy without me telling them. In the website there is a button to renew your policy I didn't press this and it still renewed. I called them and they charged me 20 pounds to cancel it but it was there fault. They would budge on it after 2 trips to consult with his supervisor.And then he hung up on me. Don't go with this shower of fraudsters.

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
Ray Murray's avatar
Ray Murray

Would give -50 stars if i could, AVOID!!

The WORST insurance going, absolutely disgusting company! Avoid at all costs!!! The whole front of my car was ripped off by a wreckless driver as i was coming out of my driveway. Insurance said it was my fault and i “shouldn't have been coming out of my d Read more

The WORST insurance going, absolutely disgusting company! Avoid at all costs!!! The whole front of my car was ripped off by a wreckless driver as i was coming out of my driveway. Insurance said it was my fault and i “shouldn't have been coming out of my driveway” alright then let me just not go to work or ever leave my house again!!!! Non stop battle for the past three weeks trying to sort it out, got a different story every time i called them! One person told me i would need to admit liability to be entitled to a courtesy car, another person told me that it was my fault because i was reversing out… IV’E NO FRONT END!! Another person told me i had admitted liability - deffo didn't do that!!! Coming up to 4 weeks since the accident and i still don't have a courtesy car, but the man who hit me (also conveniently insured with hastings) got one 2 days later! I wonder if i was a man would i have recieved a car quicker? Very clear discrimination there. Not ONCE has this company reached out to me since the accident!! I’ve had to ring them (any many other companies they associate with) myself!!!!! The stress they have caused me is like no other!! Please please please avoid!!!!!!!! Not to mention they’ve already double my premium (due in august) without even discussing anything with me or letting me know what is happening with my claim!!!!! Ive never been so angry and so disgusted by the way a company treats people!!! I have started a formal complaint against them and there even making that a pain!!!!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!

Reviewed on 31st July 2022
Nicole Rowland's avatar
Nicole Rowland

Would give Zero if I could

Would give 0 stars if I could. Money Supermarket sent me to Hastings while trying to insure my car, paid the deposit, submitted DD details then received nothing. Got in touch with customer services after being redirected from live chat, couldn't get a Read more

Would give 0 stars if I could.

Money Supermarket sent me to Hastings while trying to insure my car, paid the deposit, submitted DD details then received nothing. Got in touch with customer services after being redirected from live chat, couldn't get an answer so was delayed collecting the new car.

Unbeknownst to me, my family were arranging a surprise birthday for me the following day, a surprise which was unfortunately spoiled when I had to collect the car a day late due to needing to insure elsewhere, because when Hastings finally got back in touch and explained that my policy didn't bind, they couldn't offer me insurance after all, despite me going back to Money Supermarket And being offered the exact same quote.

I eventually got the deposit refunded days later, then out of the blue the complaints department got in touch with me, so I complained, wasn't going to as I'd got the deposit back. They explained that the issue that prevented my policy working was known, and the refund process was also known, but not followed. They told me it would be used as a training experience for the staff. Small consolation to me as they told me all this while I was on a short break that was planned by my kids as a birthday present, so all told, two weekends disrupted.

They offered me £50 compensation, which had to be a cheque, then I got a voicemail saying the could bank transfer it instead, but it still hasn't arrived, so I've started including the CEO in the email thread, which does get them moving briefly, but then silence again.

Thanks to the power of the web, I've now got the CEOs mobile number and personal email, both of which I've made use of, but as yet, nothing. We're over 3 weeks down the line from the original attempt to insure, and I'm getting royally p&_£#ed off with it now, hence my review.

Avoid them like the plague folks, no good will come of doing business with Hastings.

Reviewed on 28th July 2022
Pete Howell's avatar
Pete Howell

Awful customer service

Incredibly bad customer service, from the start until the end 1 month later.

Reviewed on 28th July 2022
Etienne Pansegrauw's avatar
Etienne Pansegrauw

Amazing

I have a blackbox with hastings. It isn't bad at all! Although it is sensitive, that's how it should be as its keeping drivers safe. I drive normally and carefully and have never gone below 90. They don't constantly email to say you've done something wron Read more

I have a blackbox with hastings. It isn't bad at all! Although it is sensitive, that's how it should be as its keeping drivers safe. I drive normally and carefully and have never gone below 90. They don't constantly email to say you've done something wrong. (Not for me anyway) No curfews. Very cheap. Very reliable.

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
Lightydreamer 21's avatar
Lightydreamer 21

They do not settle total loss claims at true value of car

BEWARE: Cheap insurance for a reason, having suffered a total loss, this company goes to great lengths to avoid paying the true value of my car, even after providing evidence, thousands away and truly shocking behaviour. Clearly cheap insurance for a rea Read more

BEWARE: Cheap insurance for a reason, having suffered a total loss, this company goes to great lengths to avoid paying the true value of my car, even after providing evidence, thousands away and truly shocking behaviour. Clearly cheap insurance for a reason as I have found out.

Reviewed on 13th July 2022
JO's avatar
JO

Read the small print...

After being insured with Hastings for a number of years I just rung to cancel my policy as I sold my car. Despite being fully paid up to date I get a £45 admin fee for the pleasure. Read the small print guys, they get their money in other ways from you. A Read more

After being insured with Hastings for a number of years I just rung to cancel my policy as I sold my car. Despite being fully paid up to date I get a £45 admin fee for the pleasure. Read the small print guys, they get their money in other ways from you. Absolutely disgusting.

Reviewed on 5th July 2022
Jon Vine's avatar
Jon Vine