HSBC Premier Reviews

  Ratings based on 53 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

HSBC Premier reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest HSBC Premier reviews to find out what life as a HSBC customer is really like. And remember, if you are a HSBC customer, you ca...

READ MORE

HSBC Premier reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest HSBC Premier reviews to find out what life as a HSBC customer is really like. And remember, if you are a HSBC customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of HSBC Premier reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

HSBC Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

59% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Premier Reviews

53 reviews

Review HSBC's Premier now

word "premier" is meaningless, there is no service at all

There is just no meaning in calling it "premier". There is nothing good about this bank, their phone service and their app

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Marina Eronova's avatar
Marina Eronova

Shocking deterioration in service

I have been an HSBC customer for decades and an HSBC Premier customer for nearly 20 years. However, there has been such a shocking deterioration in service over the last few years that I am leaving. The telephone banking service has become infuriating and Read more

I have been an HSBC customer for decades and an HSBC Premier customer for nearly 20 years. However, there has been such a shocking deterioration in service over the last few years that I am leaving. The telephone banking service has become infuriating and almost unusable.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
richardlintongreen@gmail.com 's avatar
richardlintongreen@gmail.com

eroded all benefits and no longer open when needed

premier used to be a prestigious offering, it meant something to be a premier customer and you had access to 24/7 telephone assistance, global support, preferential rates and expert staff. now they are only open 8am -8pm, only remaining real benefit is tr Read more

premier used to be a prestigious offering, it meant something to be a premier customer and you had access to 24/7 telephone assistance, global support, preferential rates and expert staff. now they are only open 8am -8pm, only remaining real benefit is travel insurance which you can get anywhere and there is no global support anymore, add that to the poorly trained and equipped staff - no one ive spoken to has a clue what to do, says they will transfer me then cut me off, some premier banking proposition this is! move your accounts elsewhere, they dont deserve your money!

Reviewed on 14th March 2022
Ben Woodward's avatar
Ben Woodward

Exchange rates on intra account transfers are very poor

I bank with HSBC in the US and UK (I need a bank that will give me both). Service is indifferent with most branches closing in US. It is slightly redeemed by a good internet banking site. However, as a Premier customer, I have to transfer funds between my Read more

I bank with HSBC in the US and UK (I need a bank that will give me both). Service is indifferent with most branches closing in US. It is slightly redeemed by a good internet banking site. However, as a Premier customer, I have to transfer funds between my own accounts from UK and US. HSBC takes a whopping margin or spread of 3.25% over the market exchange rates which is more than many credit cards take. I wrote to them about it but received a letter basically saying they could not discuss it due to "commercial sensitivity". At 3.25%, doesn't seem very sensitive.

Reviewed on 6th December 2021
Andrew Taylor's avatar
Andrew Taylor

Not a Premier Service

I wanted to open a HSBC Premier Account, but was told by the branch it would be easier to open a classic account first. I did this online, and after no response for 2 weeks - I discovered they had cancelled my application. The branch staff couldn’t even u Read more

I wanted to open a HSBC Premier Account, but was told by the branch it would be easier to open a classic account first. I did this online, and after no response for 2 weeks - I discovered they had cancelled my application. The branch staff couldn’t even understand why.

When they phoned me to setup the Premier Account, they told me that since I was an existing customer, I had to show that I paid my salary into the existing account. As I would not be paid for another 4 weeks, the application would be put on hold.

Nowhere does it say this on the HSBC website. It says you can open a Premier Account in the branch - you cannot. It says you can pay your salary into the Premier Account - you can’t, as you have to prove that you qualify by paying into another account. It says you must phone to open a joint account - you don’t.

Not even HSBCs staff knows how the Premier Account works. I have now told them that I won’t be continuing with the application, and will be staying with my current bank.

Reviewed on 6th November 2021
Huw Vaughan Jones's avatar
Huw Vaughan Jones

8 Week to open Bank Account

Zero start review. opening joint account is taking more than 2 months and still the saga continue. Every time me we do what they asked us to do then we been told nothing else is required from us in two days everything will be sorted. only after few calls Read more

Zero start review. opening joint account is taking more than 2 months and still the saga continue. Every time me we do what they asked us to do then we been told nothing else is required from us in two days everything will be sorted. only after few calls and wait weeks we discover that we are still required to sign mandate documents. went again to the branch and after 50 minutes waiting we been served by probably 19 year old who go no clue on anything related to banking. she is good for doing photocopy only. after long argument with her on the ID we provided the branch manager told her to proceed and she shouldn't have never treated us like this. two weeks later we discover the branch still did not forward the singed document to the main office and we still couldn't have our account open. at least 10 call and complain and all what you get as response is if you are not happy about our service you can complain to the ombudsmen. two weeks later the only advice i can get is to get the document signed again, I am not sure this is correct as every time I call I get different story. I am premier customer with HSBC in over 3 countries and what I get here is second class treatment by unexperienced and unhelpful people all what they know is to say apologies. This is disgrace and everyone work there should be ashamed to work for this organization

Reviewed on 17th September 2021
Mayyad Bader's avatar
Mayyad Bader

PIMS account

Premier banking has really helped look after my money. I don’t claim to understand it entirely but my manager always puts me at ease and I trust his advice.

Reviewed on 17th September 2021
Anna Jakob's avatar
Anna Jakob

These accounts are far from Premier

I recently moved to HSBC Premier. I have experienced nothing but problems. These accounts are not Premier they are bolt standard accounts. They have a Premier Elite credit card and the credit limit they have provided is half that provided by my previous b Read more

I recently moved to HSBC Premier. I have experienced nothing but problems. These accounts are not Premier they are bolt standard accounts. They have a Premier Elite credit card and the credit limit they have provided is half that provided by my previous bank the HSBC owned First Direct.
When i tried to make a credit payment to the account to make a large purchase this was rejected.
When i called to complain, i was told by a very rude member of staff if i was not happy i should move banks.
If you are looking for a Premium banking service you need to look elsewhere.

Reviewed on 26th June 2021
Paul Wiltshire's avatar
Paul Wiltshire

Pretty useless. Service very far from premier.

Theyve sent all their premier staff home during Covid so there's no point in having this account. There wasnt much point before as the numbers on their contact cards are invalidated every time someone leaves and you cant get through. You cant contact you Read more

Theyve sent all their premier staff home during Covid so there's no point in having this account. There wasnt much point before as the numbers on their contact cards are invalidated every time someone leaves and you cant get through. You cant contact your local branch anyway.

Reviewed on 3rd June 2021
Sue's avatar
Sue

HSBC is still in the 20th Century

Huge mistake moving my account to HSBC Premier. The simplest tasks take an age, constant form filling by post. A letter from HSBC takes 14 days to receive and they attempt to blame Royal Mail. Their chat people are clueless and lie . Avoid

Reviewed on 8th May 2021
Paul Wiltshire's avatar
Paul Wiltshire

Awful, bureaucratic, hellscape

Absolute worst bank I’ve ever used, and I have used many. Seems even the simplest of things is made intentionally hard to do, often gated by tedious process and sometimes even actual paperwork. Support agents often have little to no power to help you solv Read more

Absolute worst bank I’ve ever used, and I have used many. Seems even the simplest of things is made intentionally hard to do, often gated by tedious process and sometimes even actual paperwork. Support agents often have little to no power to help you solve problems. Stay away. Far far away. Just closing my account took three months of constant fighting - I regret ever having registered.

Reviewed on 24th March 2021
Christopher Nadeau's avatar
Christopher Nadeau

Nothing 'Premier' about it!

Second month in with HSBC Premier and still not been assigned a relationship manager... after two phone calls to them - nothing back. Online chat response is non-existent. Generally rigid, impersonal and run of the mill basic banking services - my basic T Read more

Second month in with HSBC Premier and still not been assigned a relationship manager... after two phone calls to them - nothing back. Online chat response is non-existent. Generally rigid, impersonal and run of the mill basic banking services - my basic TSB account was better than this. Don't get sucked in with the 'Premier' label - it's a marketing gimmick - there is absolutely nothing 'Premier' about this service at all!

Reviewed on 3rd August 2020
Pete's avatar
Pete

Ok bank

No better or worse than any other bank

Reviewed on 7th February 2020
Lyn Gillespie's avatar
Lyn Gillespie

Fantastic service

My son was the victim of a ATM fraud and when I made a call to report it as it was happening they gave me the opportunity of cancelling his card for him even though I wasn’t the card holder. I thought that was amazing as the perpetrators were still at th Read more

My son was the victim of a ATM fraud and when I made a call to report it as it was happening they gave me the opportunity of cancelling his card for him even though I wasn’t the card holder. I thought that was amazing as the perpetrators were still at the scene harassing my son.

Amazing judgement call by the HSBC staff member

Reviewed on 7th January 2020
MaddyJ's avatar
MaddyJ

40% interest (just shy of) coming in 2020

Had my account since 2005 and always operated it within rules of useful for cash flow £5000 overdraft. This month they reduced my overdraft to £1000 & let me know from April they’re charging nearly 40% for it. Many better deals about and nothing special a Read more

Had my account since 2005 and always operated it within rules of useful for cash flow £5000 overdraft. This month they reduced my overdraft to £1000 & let me know from April they’re charging nearly 40% for it. Many better deals about and nothing special about this account any more so I’m binning them off

Reviewed on 26th December 2019
Rob's avatar
Rob

Good products, great service

Service really sets Premier apart. I appreciate the range of products, which could be wider (no LISA for instance), but having travel insurance included and points earnings capabilities for the corresponding credit card are pluses. Service is prompt, poli Read more

Service really sets Premier apart. I appreciate the range of products, which could be wider (no LISA for instance), but having travel insurance included and points earnings capabilities for the corresponding credit card are pluses. Service is prompt, polite and useful.

Reviewed on 21st November 2019
Deirdre M's avatar
Deirdre M

Great product with benefits

Have been Premier customers over 20 years. Special treatment.

Reviewed on 5th November 2019
Ann 's avatar
Ann

HSBC PREMIER Customer Service differ significantly between UK, Hong Kong and Indonesia

If you are an HSBC Premier customer in Indonesia, the customer treatment you received is very exclusive and special it really make you feel like VIP. In Hong Kong, the customer experience is good but not very exclusive and there are loads of customer occu Read more

If you are an HSBC Premier customer in Indonesia, the customer treatment you received is very exclusive and special it really make you feel like VIP. In Hong Kong, the customer experience is good but not very exclusive and there are loads of customer occupying the Premier lounge. In UK, specifically Newcastle, Sunderland and Morpeth branch, where some branches have no Premier section, you are just one of the masses, sometimes ignored and have to wait forever for the staff’s attention.

Reviewed on 15th April 2019
Ngandani's avatar
Ngandani

Best account

Quick response when calling. Fabulous account package. Great staff. Wouldn’t go anywhere different

Reviewed on 5th February 2019
Y80emm's avatar
Y80emm

on the ball and friendly

normally very helpful, friendly, quick assistance

Reviewed on 13th January 2019
neil musk's avatar
neil musk