Barclays Reviews

  Ratings based on 5,395 reviews       Last review 21 hours ago    

Barclays reviews can help you to find out more about this bank. Barclays' purpose is to help people achieve their ambitions in the right way. Smart Money People is the place for Barclays reviews, so tell us about your customer experience today. Read and w...

READ MORE

Barclays reviews can help you to find out more about this bank. Barclays' purpose is to help people achieve their ambitions in the right way. Smart Money People is the place for Barclays reviews, so tell us about your customer experience today. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Barclays Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

57% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: App

Best Business Banking Provider Winner of ‘Best Business Banking Provider’ in the British Bank Awards 2017

Bank Account

Judgemental and infuriating

I have banked with barclays my entire life. I am a disabled person and rely solely on benefits. I have been to them many, many times asking for financial assistance but they have never ever helped me in any way, shape or form. Everytime I speak to someone Read more

I have banked with barclays my entire life. I am a disabled person and rely solely on benefits. I have been to them many, many times asking for financial assistance but they have never ever helped me in any way, shape or form. Everytime I speak to someone there I feel incredibly judged and spoken to not only like a child, but like they assume that because I'm physically disabled that I'm also stupid. I would have moved bank accounts on numerous occasions if I could do it easily!

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Kirsty Phillips 's avatar
Kirsty Phillips
Write a review

Bank Account

Bank account

Very good bank and reliable trustworthy

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Dan Morar 's avatar
Dan Morar
Write a review

Bank Account

No customer service for overseas clients

I encountered a technical error while trying to access my account online. As I am overseas I am unable to use the app, so I tried the customer service chat. Note it's only available on iPhones, which I do not have. I borrowed one and after about 40 minute Read more

I encountered a technical error while trying to access my account online. As I am overseas I am unable to use the app, so I tried the customer service chat. Note it's only available on iPhones, which I do not have. I borrowed one and after about 40 minutes and 2 do-overs I was told I have to call (internationally during UK business hours only) or visit a branch (thousands of miles away...). In the meantime I can't even access my account balance. Apparently they are only focused on local customers who can pop into a branch every time they want to access their account.

Reviewed on 15th May 2022
Z Mail's avatar
Z Mail
Write a review

Bank Account

Incompetent

I begrudge having to award one star. It took 12 hours on the phone over three weeks for Barclays to rectify a problem that they caused. I spoke to six different customer service staff. They all told me they had solved the problem - not true. It Read more

I begrudge having to award one star. It took 12 hours on the phone over three weeks for Barclays to rectify a problem that they caused. I spoke to six different customer service staff. They all told me they had solved the problem - not true. It was finally solved by a manager.

Reviewed on 14th May 2022
 Chris Parkin's avatar
Chris Parkin
Write a review

Bank Account

GANG OF ZOMBIES.

Unbelievably obnoxious evil ungodly zombie heathens.

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
Honest Jim's avatar
Honest Jim
Write a review

Premier Current Account

New charges from Seotember 2022

I never signed up for a Premier current account.I earn 27p per month on my cash is paying 0.05% so object to a monthly charge of 20 pounds

Reviewed on 30th April 2022
P Peers's avatar
P Peers
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Traumatic experience with Barclays mortgage

I applied for a mortgage from Barclays as a first time buyer. The experience has been horrendous and thanks to its very incompetent mortgage team I'm going to lose the property. The seller is fed up with the length of time this is taking when my solicitor Read more

I applied for a mortgage from Barclays as a first time buyer. The experience has been horrendous and thanks to its very incompetent mortgage team I'm going to lose the property. The seller is fed up with the length of time this is taking when my solicitor sent all the paperwork related to the survey of the house around the 15th of Feb. Two months down the line this hasn't been sectioned. A complaint has been put through and even the complaint department didn't botherered to give me a ring when it was agreed through a text message. The stress and upset this is causing me is beyond belief. An absolute lack of respect to a customer. Never use Barclays as your lender

Reviewed on 13th April 2022
Paloma Soroa's avatar
Paloma Soroa
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Appalling Customer service from Barclays

Appalling customer service from Barclays Bank. As a current customer I was told I could port my mortgage at my current rate, and refund my earlier payment fee of nearly £8000, following the sale of my previous home. Due to their horrendous customer servi Read more

Appalling customer service from Barclays Bank. As a current customer I was told I could port my mortgage at my current rate, and refund my earlier payment fee of nearly £8000, following the sale of my previous home. Due to their horrendous customer service the 90 day period elapsed and have now had to remortgage costing me an extra £200 a month and losing over £8000. I am now 8 weeks down the line applying for a new mortgage and still no final offer, no feedback and when I managed to speak to them, my case has been passed around to 4 different advisors and a manager. The most recent excuse was they had lost the valuation, then when they managed to find it, there were IT issues attaching this to my case, with another further 3 weeks delay. I am now facing losing my property as the sellers are sick of hearing the different excuses and in such a competitive markets, this will probably cost me more money to find a new one.. The stress and upset is beyond belief. Can I suggest no one uses Barclay bank, as I now have no where to live due to short term rental running out and if this doesn’t complete, it will have cost me thousands!! If anyone from Barclays Senior leadership teams see’s this comment please help me!!!! If I lose my property the next steps are to seek legal advice and seek compensation. From a Very disgruntled customer.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
Tracey Pelham's avatar
Tracey Pelham
Write a review

Business Banking

Barclays Bank are not good for SMEs, let alone businesses in the UK

Barclays do not arrange with you, a proportionate repayment plan, should your business had ‘inactivity’ since January 2020 due to the PANDEMIC!!!! Which is nobody’s fault. To seek Customer Service Representative is a joke. Two months later we are still be Read more

Barclays do not arrange with you, a proportionate repayment plan, should your business had ‘inactivity’ since January 2020 due to the PANDEMIC!!!! Which is nobody’s fault. To seek Customer Service Representative is a joke. Two months later we are still being ping-ponged between various departments of Barclays without even being able to file a formal complaint. Barclays Bank are downright, sneaky with your money to pay our bills or for operating expenses.Barclays simply tap, without explanation or exploring how they can help you, during a downturn of business and are misappropriation of customers funds, to put them into deep overdraft is unacceptable. We would never use Barclays again and would caution anyone who would like to bank with Barclays to think twice.

Reviewed on 6th April 2022
Hadokcotdamn's avatar
Hadokcotdamn
Write a review

Bank Account

Not Outstanding but good solid performance over 30 years

I've generally been very pleased with Barclays Bank who have looked after me, answered my questions and generally been there when I needed them over the years which is all you can ask for in a "big bank". My only complaint is no branch near my home anymor Read more

I've generally been very pleased with Barclays Bank who have looked after me, answered my questions and generally been there when I needed them over the years which is all you can ask for in a "big bank". My only complaint is no branch near my home anymore - understandable but annoying at times

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
MarkA's avatar
MarkA
Write a review

Bank Account

Outstanding bank

Been with Barclays over 30 years. Outstanding in every way. Very safe place to save your money!

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Cara-jane Hunter's avatar
Cara-jane Hunter
Write a review

Bank Account

An appallingly bad bank

We wanted to set up a new account but were told that we would have to visit our nearest branch for this. Fair enough but Barclays were unable to offer an appointment THIS YEAR. Our daughter set up a business account with them but they made a mess of th Read more

We wanted to set up a new account but were told that we would have to visit our nearest branch for this. Fair enough but Barclays were unable to offer an appointment THIS YEAR. Our daughter set up a business account with them but they made a mess of this as they set it up in the wrong name. Several months later, this still has not been sorted and my daughter had therefore been able to use the account. Today my daughter wanted to exchange contracts on a house that she is buying but they would only allow her to transmit £10,000 on line not the maximum of £50k advertised on line. When she tried to ring to sort this they said she would have to call in at a branch the next day. I have a Euro account with them but every single transaction fails. This bank’s licence should be revoked

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
Alistair's avatar
Alistair
Write a review

Bank Account

Excellent company.

Barclays are very friendly & their banking app is easy to use & never goes down. Great bank.

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
Joziah Maclaire Hillier's avatar
Joziah Maclaire Hillier
Write a review

Bank Account

Its good

انه جيد واحبه كثيررررررر ولكن لا استعمله كثير

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
Hassan AbiZaid's avatar
Hassan AbiZaid
Write a review

Bank Account

Great support and an easy to navigate app

The banking app is really simple to use and I can check my financial status at any time

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
Joanne Cherry's avatar
Joanne Cherry
Write a review

Bank Account

A welcome Change

We've had various loans for car etc and now two mortgages. Every time I have had to contact Barclays they have been nothing more than perfect, courteous, polite and friendly. Thank you Barclays for all your support over the years. (Barclays is not our nor Read more

We've had various loans for car etc and now two mortgages. Every time I have had to contact Barclays they have been nothing more than perfect, courteous, polite and friendly. Thank you Barclays for all your support over the years. (Barclays is not our normal bank for everyday use) So thank you

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Woody Woodford-Price's avatar
Woody Woodford-Price
Write a review

Bank Account

Amazing

Always send statements on time, I have a current account and ISA account with them and nothing to complain about :)

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Chloe Totterdell's avatar
Chloe Totterdell
Write a review

Bank Account

Good all round service

I have been banking with Barclays for over 20 years and have always had a positive experience and feel like a valued customer

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
niccola taylor's avatar
niccola taylor
Write a review

Bank Account

Excellent customer service and inclusion; Dipesh Kerai, Willesden Branch

Dipesh Kerali of the Willesden branch provided excellent customer service with life affirming inclusion of my gender identity. He puts the heart and trust back into banking.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Jaxx blue's avatar
Jaxx blue
Write a review

Bank Account

Reliable

Great bank , great customer service

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
Susie's avatar
Susie
Write a review