Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2020 is open!VOTE NOW
Ratings based on 150 reviews Last review 15 hours ago

Barclays business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at Barclays is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to...

Read Full Description

Barclays business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at Barclays is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to many business owners, Smart Money People is becoming the UK's leading source of Barclays business banking reviews. Remember that you can write yours too, and join our mission to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

5 78
4 25
3 12
2 7
1 28

Your Business Banking Reviews (150)

12th August 2020

Time wasters and excuses makers

I have been banking with Barclays for 25 years. The have been average but for the past 6 months they have used any excuse to give zero resolutions. they ask you to bank online and then when it does not work you cannot speak to anybody in online...

Read more

I have been banking with Barclays for 25 years. The have been average but for the past 6 months they have used any excuse to give zero resolutions. they ask you to bank online and then when it does not work you cannot speak to anybody in online banking. They have 24/7 service which now shuts at 5pm GMT and when you try them during the day you cannot access anybody as their phone typing directions are broken. Their agent in business are to junior to help and the managers are always in meeting. I am about to loose a major deal of 7 figures because I cannot access my money. I am suing Barclays

29th June 2020

Horrendous service

Horrendous service. Been on hold for 2 hours 20 mins and gave up. This is the 3rd time this week. All I need is a code to get online banking on a new devise. Something I should be able to do on my app, but no! Can’t even freeze or cancel a bank card o...

Read more

Horrendous service. Been on hold for 2 hours 20 mins and gave up. This is the 3rd time this week. All I need is a code to get online banking on a new devise. Something I should be able to do on my app, but no! Can’t even freeze or cancel a bank card on the business app. How can I run a business when I can’t log into my business account? Absolutely disgusting. I shall be seeking compensation.

29th June 2020

Awful customer service

Since joining Barclays, I've had nothing but trouble. Agents on the chat facility abruptly end the conversation, takes minimum 20 minutes to connect to an agent over the phone AND they decide to convert currencies without me authorizing? Awful - avoid.

Read more

Since joining Barclays, I've had nothing but trouble. Agents on the chat facility abruptly end the conversation, takes minimum 20 minutes to connect to an agent over the phone AND they decide to convert currencies without me authorizing? Awful - avoid.

10th April 2020

Fraudulent Barclays

We are a UK Based International VAT compliance Firm who help companies around with world with their VAT compliance. We recently found a number of inbound client payments being withheld by Barclays. We immediately called Barclays to try understand...

Read more

We are a UK Based International VAT compliance Firm who help companies around with world with their VAT compliance. We recently found a number of inbound client payments being withheld by Barclays. We immediately called Barclays to try understand what was going on. Barclays claim one of our clients who sent us a (a small one off payment of 800.00GBP) was being called into question.

Barclays claim they tried reaching us Many times in relation to this payment
and claim we never got back to them. Because of this one payment they are questioning. Barclays have now for a period of weeks being withholding a number of our inbound Payments from a number of different clients! This is needless to say causing a number of problems for our business and is of course a serious breach of trust from Barclays who are Fraudulently withholding our Payments! I say fraudulently becuase of the following reasons:

1. The one single payment brought into question, they have never given us any valid reason as to why they are questioning this payment in the first place. We are still in the dark, and have made many attempts to get an answer from Barclays.

2. They claim to have contacted us many times in relation to this one payment, however we have checked our emails and can confirm we have not received any email correspondence from Barclays. We can confirm we received no text messages or voicemails either! We also make use of Barclays online banking and banking App and again we confirm that there was no effort made by Barclays to contact us there Either! Barclays claim they posted us 3 separate letters telling us to contact them. Again we can confirm that we never received a single letter from Barclays! (Utter lies from Barclays)
3. We have subsequently contacted the complaints department and logged 2-3 separate complaints, yet we have not heard back from them either over a period of weeks!

Has anyone else experience such diabolical behaviour from Barclays Business or Private Banking, where Barclays have laid claim to their money (fraudulently keeping it) without any reason or explanation?!

Very concerned about how a Bank such as Barclays can act in such an illegal manner! Please let me know if you have received similar treatment as we have from Barclays.

Regards

29th June 2019

Update as requested by Smart Money People

In response to an e-mail from Smart Money People requesting an update, I confirm that we are still with Barclays - BUT only because events have overtaken us and prevented us from switching. Shortly after my initial review in April, I was rushed to...

Read more

In response to an e-mail from Smart Money People requesting an update, I confirm that we are still with Barclays - BUT only because events have overtaken us and prevented us from switching. Shortly after my initial review in April, I was rushed to hospital for a very serious emergency operation, which took over three hours, but which was suuccessful and apparently saved my life. However, it is a very slow recovery process and so we have soldiered on with Barclays for the ime being - even though things have actually gone from bad to worse.
I have a personal Barclaycard predating our business accounts and, from day one, this seems to have confused your system as it muddles up my personal ID details with my son's ID details. My son is sole Director and both of us have debit cards on the business account, but when I have to contact the Helpline, they sometimes reject my answers -e.g. if MY mother's maiden name is rejected, I now know to gve them my own maiden name (i.e. the answer which my son would give). The same thing has happened with date of birth, home address etc. Here are some of the other problems we are still experiencing:
I am still unable to access the mobile banking ap as every time I try, it rejects my log in details. I have made countless visits to Barclays branches, who take my phone away and return it, assuring me that it will be fine now as there was a ''mix up'' with my ID details which is now sorted. Indeed it IS fine for a couple of days and then it locks me out again (I suspect after my son has accesserd the ap from his phone). So I return to the branch and the saga is repeated again - and again.
I have no idea why you seem obsessed with revamping your on line system - if it's not broken, why try to fix it?? It is very irritating to get used to a new layout only to find that it changes again - usually for something far more confusing and unreliable! But in my case, every time you revamp your on line system, I find myself locked out again and I have to call the help line. Again, the problem is invariably a ''mix up'' over my ID details and usually the help line are able to resolve it, although sometimes I am still unable to log in using my passcode and am forced to use PINsentry - and either way the solution only lasts until the next ''revamp''!
Bank reconciliation is a total nightmare with Barclays. I like to reconcile at least monthly, but our statement option is set to yearly and although I have made numerous attemps to amend this to monthly, each time I just get a message saying that something has gone wrong and you're working to fix it. So I use the search facility to ask for a list of all transactions for the complete month, but your system ALWAYS misses off transactions for the start and/or end of the period. Furthermore, the balances are not only totally inconsistent, but the running balances often make no sense at all. I have a transaction listing in front of me now which begins with a balance of £11,949.14 on 10/05/2019, the next entry is a withdrawal of £100 on 13/05/2019 and, miraculously, Barclays calculate a new running balance of £13,730.47!! Please send me one of your wonderful calculators as I would love to have a bank account where the balance increases tenfold when you wihdraw money! I almost sent myself insane trying to reconcile to your running balances before I realised that they were an absolutely unreliable load of rubbish (to put it politely). I have several similar statements also showing nonsense balances and would be happy to send them to you if you're interested.
There is no way that any business can operate efficiently with Barclays and you are, by far, THE worst Bank we have ever dealt with. Unless you can make some dramatic improvements, we shall be switching to another Bank as soon as I am well enough.

14th May 2019

What a joke! How in the hell are they still in business???

Business banking? With Barclays? Better shoot yourself in your foot then deal with this rubbish bank! Customer service - non-existent! The manager I had the appointment with looked and smelled like a bum! Unshaven and dirty! No interest in the...

Read more

Business banking? With Barclays? Better shoot yourself in your foot then deal with this rubbish bank! Customer service - non-existent! The manager I had the appointment with looked and smelled like a bum! Unshaven and dirty! No interest in the customer whatsoever. Simple reply to any query takes over ten days sometimes. You think they will give you a call if the issue you raised got resolved? Forget it. If you wont chase it thy wont give a shit. Rubbish bank Lewisham branch is the worst in the country as well. Do not go there for nothing. I'm moving all my accounts from barclays. Bunch of parasites.

1st April 2019

Worst on line systems I've ever encountered

We decided to move to Barclays because our local Lloyds branch had closed, but having applied in September 2018, it was months before our account was open - and it's been problems all the way! We have been in business since 2012 and have a first...

Read more

We decided to move to Barclays because our local Lloyds branch had closed, but having applied in September 2018, it was months before our account was open - and it's been problems all the way! We have been in business since 2012 and have a first class credit history, with no defaults and all loans now repaid over 12 months ago. We had a working overdraft of £3,000 with Lloyds, used on only two or three occasions for a very small amount and for just a few days, but Barclays refused to provide any overdraft facility at all and issued us with a Barclaycard instead - and the online system for that is even worse than the on line system for our current account!
Barclays don't understand the fundamental requirements of bank account administration. For example, their on line statements don't even show the type of transaction - so when I am trying to reconcile our account I have no idea whether the ''money out'' has been paid by card, DD, standing order, BACS or on line payment! Also I can reconcile to a balance at the end of the week, but when I try to reconcile at the end of the following week, I often find that Barclays have retrospectively juggled the previous week's transactions and the balance which I previously reconciled to has disappeared completely! ASK ANY ACCOUNT AND THEY WILL CONFIRM THAT BARCLAYS ARE FLOUTING THE MOST FUNDAMENTAL ACCOUNTING RULES - and they are making a simple job of reconciliation into an impossible nightmare.
To cap it all, Barclays have already closed the local branch on Thursdays and rumour has it that, like Lloyds, Barclays will soon be closing their local branch. What a costly and frustrating waste of time this has been for our small business.
I totally agree with the other comments on here about useless customer service, ''help line'' representatives whose responses are incomprehensible, let alone useless and feedback which is totally ignored.

7th March 2019

Bad customer service -Haywards Heath

Unacceptable customer service! I walked in and I was welcomed by a young Asian lady. I asked her about apprenticeship in Barclays. I explained that I already went through the online process, I applied for the closest vacancies but was emailed that...

Read more

Unacceptable customer service! I walked in and I was welcomed by a young Asian lady. I asked her about apprenticeship in Barclays. I explained that I already went through the online process, I applied for the closest vacancies but was emailed that there aren't any near me. Instead of responding with a resolution or consulting with someone if she didn't know about apprenticeship, she simply said "Go on the Barclays website!"

I tried to explain myself again but she said "I don't know what you mean!" It was awkward, clearly she didn't want to communicate. All I wanted it was some help. I was strongly considering becoming an apprentice there but I am very disappointed with the staff; it hasn't been the 1st time as I am a customer there too! For such a well known bank I would have expected high level customer service. Please do train your staff better before letting them talk to customers because they are the ones representing Barclays! I will be awaiting customer service to come back to me and then I will update and post once they have.

2nd February 2019

King of Business Enterprise

When approaching applying for a business...

Read more

When approaching applying for a business bank.
Having banked with them wasn't only quick adaptable friendly. Having been with them for Five years in times of high inflation the rates have been entirely affordable even to say acceptable.
Would highly recommend them for start up
speciallize sole trader partnership small enterprise businesses entrepreneurship development trades.

22nd January 2019

RECAP SERVICES LTD

Barclays Bank is a Bank that Bank Nothing but...

Read more

Barclays Bank is a Bank that Bank Nothing but Security.
Barclays will always be in support in anyways of your needs and they will never turn away the hand of support for your business any time any day, The Business support Bank of our generation Barclays Bank.

Articles related to Barclays