Voting in the British Bank Awards 2020 is now open.
VOTE NOW
Ratings based on 1274 reviews Last review 1 week ago
4.94 / 5Amazing overall rating

By Miles is a new type of insurance company which offers car insurance cover mile by mile. This award-winning, innovative insurance product launched in 2018, designing policies that were fairer for lower mileage drivers. Are you an early adopter and...

Read Full Description

By Miles is a new type of insurance company which offers car insurance cover mile by mile. This award-winning, innovative insurance product launched in 2018, designing policies that were fairer for lower mileage drivers. Are you an early adopter and could this service be ideal for you? Please write a By Miles review once you've used this new company and help others decide if this type of insurance is right for them!

5 1200
4 68
3 5
2 0
1 1

Your By Miles Reviews (1274)

Write a review
28th November 2019

A no- brainer!

By Miles may not be for everyone, but if like me your mileage is low and share the car with a family member, it makes splitting the cost of insurance easy and much fairer. I have shared the good news with friends so they can see if By Miles is for...

Read more

By Miles may not be for everyone, but if like me your mileage is low and share the car with a family member, it makes splitting the cost of insurance easy and much fairer. I have shared the good news with friends so they can see if By Miles is for them too. It was so easy to sign up and install the tracker, I have not used the claims service (fortunately) but all other aspects of the service has been excellent. If you are thinking of moving to By Miles I thoroughly recommend it - use this link to be eligible for a discount https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/BJ14PXA.

Write a review
8th November 2019

Only for what you use

Great concept and easy to set up. The app also has a car diagnostic option because of where the plug in...

Read more

Great concept and easy to set up. The app also has a car diagnostic option because of where the plug in goes.

You can also get £50 worth of free miles by using a referral link. I didn't pay anything for my first few months due to the free miles. I've added a link here in case you're interested:
https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/NA15HMJ

Happy driving!

Write a review
28th October 2019

Cheap and secure for now at least :D

Recently purchased my insurance through ByMiles, I do around 20k miles a year and it comes out cheaper than getting a regular insurance...

Read more

Recently purchased my insurance through ByMiles, I do around 20k miles a year and it comes out cheaper than getting a regular insurance policy.

If you guys want £50 off and want to help me out as well use my promo code: https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/NX15OGV

Write a review
23rd September 2019

Excellent

By miles have cut the cost of my insurance for the year by nearly half!!! If like me ur mileage for the year is pretty low I’d definitely recommend trying them, as not only could u cut ur insurance quote right down, I’ve found dealing with the company ...

Read more

By miles have cut the cost of my insurance for the year by nearly half!!! If like me ur mileage for the year is pretty low I’d definitely recommend trying them, as not only could u cut ur insurance quote right down, I’ve found dealing with the company a complete pleasure.

Write a review
20th September 2019

Saved money - brilliant app.

After getting my renewal with a 25% increase I did research and ByMiles came out near the top for me. Very easy process and it is working brilliantly. Another benefit, as I'm now paying by the mile, is to encourage me to use the car less! Good...

Read more

After getting my renewal with a 25% increase I did research and ByMiles came out near the top for me. Very easy process and it is working brilliantly. Another benefit, as I'm now paying by the mile, is to encourage me to use the car less! Good environmentally as well!

Write a review
16th September 2019

Fantastic service that is a must for low mileage drivers!

By Miles has been a life changer for me....

Read more

By Miles has been a life changer for me.

I only use my car for short distances so paying high insurance premiums has always been something that has caused me a great deal of stress. It's always felt disproportionate to the amount of driving I have done and I seriously considered selling my car a number of times as the costs do add up.

Since switching to By Miles, my yearly insurance cost has reduced to nearly a third of the cost of my previous insurance and the money I have saved has reduced my stress levels considerably. I was able to pay for an MOT and service with much less worry and and it even allowed me to go on short holiday which was great.

I have recommended By Miles to a number of friends who have all been impressed with the competetive pricing and the app which allows you to track and monitor your travels.

I also love that the app allows you to contact By Miles using live chat. I had a query about the service and didn't want to start using my car before I could clarify the terms with them. I was able to get hold of a knowledgeable reprensentative almost instantly and I was able to use the car straight away. This was in stark contrast to my previous insurers who would keep me on hold for several minutes and redirect my call to different departments.

I can't stress how important a company like By Miles and the service they offer is for low to mid mileage drivers that feel penalised by insurance companies for owning a car.

I hope they continue to be as competitive in pricing and the service remains as excellent as to what I have experienced so far as they have been a revelation for me.

Write a review
16th September 2019

BRILLIANT.

I could not believe my...

Read more

I could not believe my luck.
Finally and certainly not before time, does an insurance company offer a real deal, especially for those of us infrequent users, like me, that use their car for a weekly shop and very little else.
Not only that they send their little (big brother) gadget by post that you can plug-in by yourself. My last company had to send an engineer, for almost an hours work, to take half the dashboard apart to install their gadget. You would be forgiven for thinking that this occurred 'back in the day'. Just last year in fact.
I can't begin to express the relief (cue audible sigh of relief) I feel, as a long-term user of car insurance (50 years) to finally have some common sense and clarity.
Necessary proof of Insurance is translated into 5 other European languages.
Their constant reminder on the website of their contact details if help is needed are many, cristal clear and so reassuring. However, the 'proof of the pudding is in the eating' as the saying goes. I had to put it to the test as I completely messed up on my start date.
They passed with flying colours ticking all essential boxes. They were polite, friendly and efficient. They took what I saw as a disaster and turned it into a delight.
Their website does not need a degree in computing to navigate it.
It's more than 'user' friendly, it's human' friendly. Even so far as it not being necessary to have a smartphone.
It makes the whole process so very simple and dare I say it, pleasant.
I will no longer have the yearly nightmare to find the best car insurance because I ain't going nowhere else, baby.
For the first time in years, I look forward to not spending frustrating hours on the computer searching and filling forms etc. etc.
No longer feels like wading through an endless deep swamp for hours. More like a pleasant dip in a warm tropical ocean.
By Miles documents are all clearly worded and although I searched really thoroughly the dreaded fine-print is pleasingly absent.
Sincere thanks to all at BY MILES which, in my vast experience, beats ALL the other companies BY MILES.