HSBC Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,460 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

The HSBC reviews on Smart Money People can help you to find out more about this global banking giant. Use these genuine reviews, left by individuals and businesses just like you, to work out if HSBC is the right provider for you. We’ve got thousands of ...

READ MORE

The HSBC reviews on Smart Money People can help you to find out more about this global banking giant. Use these genuine reviews, left by individuals and businesses just like you, to work out if HSBC is the right provider for you. We’ve got thousands of genuine HSBC reviews and they span the vast range of products and services offered by the bank, from current accounts to credit cards, loans to savings, and investing to insurance, as well as catering towards both individuals and businesses. Whether you’re taking out a mortgage or an ISA, any financial product is an important decision with an ongoing commitment, so it’s always worth taking the time to make an informed choice. Browse through our reviews of HSBC to find the ones most useful for you. Perhaps you’re already an HSBC customer? Why not share your experiences with others? Include your thoughts on the application process, customer service, or whether you’d recommend this product or service to a friend. Don’t forget to include information about what you took out and when, along with anything else you think would be useful to others doing their research. Smart Money People is the UK’s largest financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services. Read or write an HSBC review below.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Credit Card

Sneaky late fees

Despite setting up a direct debit to always pay my credit card off at the end of the period (under the premise of "never needing to worry about late fees"), it turns out that the direct debit only lasts one year. Without notification, and once in the habi Read more

Despite setting up a direct debit to always pay my credit card off at the end of the period (under the premise of "never needing to worry about late fees"), it turns out that the direct debit only lasts one year. Without notification, and once in the habit of not paying it off manually, suddenly the direct debit disappears and rather predictably I got stung with a late fee. HSBC support very unhelpful in dealing with the matter.

Reviewed on 15th June 2022
Alexander James Mcmahon's avatar
Alexander James Mcmahon
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Absolute shambles

HSBC are an absolute shambles. We've had various mortgages in the past with HSBC with no issues, and because the advisor cannot correctly identify me as self employed as I own 65% of the company that employs me, the underwriter knocked us back. We are n Read more

HSBC are an absolute shambles. We've had various mortgages in the past with HSBC with no issues, and because the advisor cannot correctly identify me as self employed as I own 65% of the company that employs me, the underwriter knocked us back. We are now sorted with another provider. But it doesnt end there, they forgot to cancel their own valuation survey of the property afterwards and so the people we are buying off are getting bothered by HSBC valuation at their doorstep for a mortgage we've been rejected for. Will never use HSBC again and would never recommend to anyone

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
Richard White's avatar
Richard White
Write a review

Bank Account

Its like they want to starve you to death like some governements are trying to

Since changes to so called security with the retards who run HSBC i can never get onto my own account and I am constantly locked out of my account. In a world where when they allow a crook to ripp off your account where you might have £500,000 in the Bank Read more

Since changes to so called security with the retards who run HSBC i can never get onto my own account and I am constantly locked out of my account. In a world where when they allow a crook to ripp off your account where you might have £500,000 in the Bank they will only give you £80,000 back when they allow it to be stolem. AVOID THIS BANK AT ALL COSTS THEY ARE OUT TO CAUSE YOU STRESS AND MONEY PROBLEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ive been stuck here for years until I get permission to Bank at a different BAnk....How I dont know but I hate these cheats at HSBC!!!!!1 Scum ripp off artists!!!!!

Reviewed on 5th June 2022
David Batten's avatar
David Batten
Write a review

Bank Account

Customer care

They are exceptional. I have been with HSBC for over 10 years and I have never considered leaving to another service provider.

Reviewed on 2nd June 2022
Roseline Agyekum's avatar
Roseline Agyekum
Write a review

Business Banking

poor customer service

Tried to open an account. Called up and was referred to online chat, online chat refers to website, start to fil in form and referes to online chat. One big circle. Foreign staff on the chat who are no help. shambles.

Reviewed on 25th May 2022
hannah's avatar
hannah
Write a review

Business Banking

Don't trust your business accounts to HSBC

HSBC have no clue what Business banking is - there is zero customer service or relationship management. They don't really want to attract SMEs in the UK - presumably, we are too small for them - but rather than say so they just behave so badly you are fo Read more

HSBC have no clue what Business banking is - there is zero customer service or relationship management. They don't really want to attract SMEs in the UK - presumably, we are too small for them - but rather than say so they just behave so badly you are forced to go elsewhere - a bit like the teenage boy who doesn't' have the courage to break up with his girlfriend.

Reviewed on 24th May 2022
HC's avatar
HC
Write a review

Premier

word "premier" is meaningless, there is no service at all

There is just no meaning in calling it "premier". There is nothing good about this bank, their phone service and their app

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Marina Eronova's avatar
Marina Eronova
Write a review

Bank Account

shocking

4 hrs on the phone ....do i need to say more

Reviewed on 13th May 2022
Andy Robinson's avatar
Andy Robinson
Write a review

Bank Account

Customer service and security

Hsbc is more proactive with investors rather then general customers who has current account several times failed to act on the issues such as security reset or hsbc app or in terms of physical key nothing is user friendly even afte4 several phone calls lo Read more

Hsbc is more proactive with investors rather then general customers who has current account several times failed to act on the issues such as security reset or hsbc app or in terms of physical key nothing is user friendly even afte4 several phone calls long waiting no call back service very bad customer service .

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
pavan kumar's avatar
pavan kumar
Write a review

Business Banking

Embarrassing customer services

Tried to close the account after various poor experiences. Initially posted account closure form, but was told this 'never arrived' when I called to enquire why I was still getting emails. As advised, I took one into branch to ensure that they received it Read more

Tried to close the account after various poor experiences. Initially posted account closure form, but was told this 'never arrived' when I called to enquire why I was still getting emails. As advised, I took one into branch to ensure that they received it, and was promised that I was given a goodwill gesture to cover the additional months fee.
After taking the form into the branch my log in details stopped working, so I assumed that the closure was going through. I called when I still hadn't received any final statements or confirmation of closure and was told that they hadn't had any account closure form, they hadn't put the goodwill gesture onto the account so it was in debit, and that I needed to send another form and clear a £15.99 fee (which was never really explained as it doesn't add up to the monthly fees) to close the account!
Honestly embarrassing for a large bank to treat their customers this way, I agreed to pay the fee just so that I could be done with HSBC business banking after another 30 mins on the phone with them they were suddenly able to close the account over the phone (although I'll have to wait and see if it actually goes through this time...).
Much cheaper options available elsewhere. Avoid.

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Olivia Martin's avatar
Olivia Martin
Write a review

Premier

Shocking deterioration in service

I have been an HSBC customer for decades and an HSBC Premier customer for nearly 20 years. However, there has been such a shocking deterioration in service over the last few years that I am leaving. The telephone banking service has become infuriating and Read more

I have been an HSBC customer for decades and an HSBC Premier customer for nearly 20 years. However, there has been such a shocking deterioration in service over the last few years that I am leaving. The telephone banking service has become infuriating and almost unusable.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
richardlintongreen@gmail.com 's avatar
richardlintongreen@gmail.com
Write a review

Bank Account

Leaking your information dreadful customer service

The worst bank in the UK. I wish i could give them 0 stars but there is no such option! their customer service tells you they will sort something out for you when they dont. I am almost sure they are leaking some information to third parties. Bunch of sca Read more

The worst bank in the UK. I wish i could give them 0 stars but there is no such option! their customer service tells you they will sort something out for you when they dont. I am almost sure they are leaking some information to third parties. Bunch of scammers. I had an unrecognised transaction of 100£ on my card and I was 100% sure I did not give my details to anyone. I have ordered a new card and asked to dispute the transaction. Normally every transaction even the ones that dont go through are taken from your card for 5 days as “pending”, however this scammer one went through straight ahead. When I wanted to sort it out they asked me for my approval of them sharing my card details with some third parties! I replied later on and they told me it will take 17 weeks for them to dispute the transaction because they are busy!! The card that has arrived has the exact same 16 digit card number as the scammed one, the only sifference is the expiry date and the CVV. These few numbers are very easy to hack! When I keep contacting them again they are saying that they will connect me to the agent whenever they get free as they are very busy and they are not replying for a few days since then no matter how many times I am trying to contact them! I am surprised the government is still letting them to remain open! And when I tried to buy a phone from CEX they blocked my card completely despite of the fact that I have approved the transaction on mobile banking! They are acting like they are super safe but they are leaking information without your knowledge!

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Write a review

Business Banking

Over 1 hour being transferred around various depts to report a fraud

Trying to report possible fraudulent transactions via debit card, over 1 hour being transferred to the various department without success.

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Alec Burden's avatar
Alec Burden
Write a review

Student Bank Account

Just AWFUL at absolutely everything

HSBC offer lucrative offers for students, which you will never receive, and pay for with years of the absolute worst service imaginable - which you could really do without when being a student with a million other things to worry about. I had to go into t Read more

HSBC offer lucrative offers for students, which you will never receive, and pay for with years of the absolute worst service imaginable - which you could really do without when being a student with a million other things to worry about. I had to go into the branch multiple times because they continually failed to set up my bank account as it was ‘simply forgotten’ somewhere along the line of people involved in doing so. Once finally set up I received the wrong card twice, and when I did receive my card it did not come with a pin - so I needed another one sent. This process covered many weeks. Whenever I have a query the live chat refers me to the phone in service, which will leave you on hold for hours and rarely resolve your issue. I never received my reward (which would only partially make up for such rubbish service) and when I rung in they made some nonsense excuse about not offering that service any longer even though the time I set up the back account was well within the dates established in the ToCs. Essentially, they took too long to provide my £80 and reward, and when I finally decided to contact it was “too late”. Don’t bother with these guys. Stick to Barclays.

Reviewed on 11th April 2022
Nico's avatar
Nico
Write a review

Bank Account

Dreadful

HSBC is basically a fully automated bank. The low paid, off shored and inexperienced customer service employees they do have care as little as the algorithms running it. Avoid at all cosrs.

Reviewed on 6th April 2022
Bobby Dazler's avatar
Bobby Dazler
Write a review

Bank Account

Worst customer service

After 20 years with HSBC as a Premier customer, I am refused a small loan. Worst customer service in the world. Now got the load elsewhere within minutes, I will be moving my account to another bank. their loss, if they can't treat loyal customers well, t Read more

After 20 years with HSBC as a Premier customer, I am refused a small loan. Worst customer service in the world. Now got the load elsewhere within minutes, I will be moving my account to another bank. their loss, if they can't treat loyal customers well, they will loose my custom! I would recommend avoid HSBC!!!!!!

Reviewed on 5th April 2022
E B's avatar
E B
Write a review

Bank Account

Great app!

I love the HSBC bank app. It's so easy to use and has very good security features.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Lydia Lillyinthesun Houghton's avatar
Lydia Lillyinthesun Houghton
Write a review

Credit Card

Great customer service

Prompt action by customer service to block lost card

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Sui Ng's avatar
Sui Ng
Write a review

Bank Account

good bank

always looks after me and my money

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Artur Shafray's avatar
Artur Shafray
Write a review

Bank Account

Online service good

Only bank online now and their online service is good.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
gden's avatar
gden
Write a review