Smart Money People Logo

Santander: Loan reviews

2.38
Based on 53 reviews, last reviewed 24th Jan 2024
No new 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
100% decrease in 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
26%
See only 4 star reviews
6%
See only 3 star reviews
4%
See only 2 star reviews
8%
See only 1 star reviews
56%

Latest highest rating:

5

Cheapest Loan I Found I took out a Personal Loan with Santander which was an excellent offer at a great interest rate. It enabled me to consolidate my debts giving me a red... Read more Reviewed on: 1st August 2023
Sandra Laybourn's avatar
Sandra Laybourn

Latest lowest rating:

1

Hugely misleading APR% My bank is Santander and I checked how much APR a loan of 7k would be for a new car with them - was quoted 7.5% preliminary. Went through the eligibil... Read more Reviewed on: 24th January 2024
Jo B's avatar
Jo B

About the Loan

Santander personal loan reviews on Smart Money People are honest reviews. If you're trying to determine whether this is the right personal loan for you, reading our Santander personal loan reviews can help you to find out what other people have to say. Smart Money People launched in October 2014 to help people like you to find the best personal loans. If you have used a Santander personal loan, we'd love you to write a quick review too.

Review Santander: Loan now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

Santander Loan reviews (53)

Hugely misleading APR%

1
My bank is Santander and I checked how much APR a loan of 7k would be for a new car with them - was quoted 7.5% preliminary. Went through the eligibility checker, and was then quoted 9.9%...higher, but still better than all other lenders. I did a complete application and received an email 10 mins later quoting a APR of 16.9%!! I have a perfect credit score and have banked with them for 8 years. Called to ask about this and was told to look out for a letter within the next week to confirm the APR. Letter received 2 days later with no info about APR whatsoever, just an activation code for this loan. Called again today and was told to wait up to 2 weeks for another letter which will tell me the correct APR percentage, but that I could accept the loan in the meantime, and they will honor the 9.9% I was originally quoted. Obviously I am not going to sign the contract and 'accept' a loan with an APR of 16.9% in the hopes that they will honor the lower amount. So I now either need to wait 2 weeks and hope for the best, or go with another lender and get another hard search on my file. Totally misleading and unethical as a bank. The repercussions of customers doing multiple credit checks seems to mean nothing to them. AVOID. Reviewed on: 24th January 2024
Jo B's avatar
Jo B

Cheapest Loan I Found

5
I took out a Personal Loan with Santander which was an excellent offer at a great interest rate. It enabled me to consolidate my debts giving me a reduced payment. The extra money I'm saving on monthly repayments certainly comes in handy in this current climate. The loan was done on line quickly and securely and the loan was agreed and in my account within 5 days. The process was so easy. I would definitely recommend Santander for a loan and all banking needs Reviewed on: 1st August 2023
Sandra Laybourn's avatar
Sandra Laybourn

Easy and fast!

5
Amazing efficiency with my online application and so fast to both respond and then send me the money. This money was a big deal and it helped. Big thanks to Santander and I highly recommend this service if you bank with them. Reviewed on: 7th April 2023
James P's avatar
James P

Misleading interest rates!

1
I applied for a loan with Santander to consolidate some other debts I have. My Experian credit score is 999 (Excellent). Equifax and TransUnion scores are also in the excellent band, so I thought I'd have a high probability of receiving the advertised 5.9% APR. I submitted my application, which was accepted - but at the astronomical rate of 18.9% APR!!! This is almost credit card levels of interest, and was far higher than the current loans I have. As such, I have NOT taken them up on this outrageous offer. I've now got a hard search on my credit file which is not good. It seems Santander are taking advantage of people. If someone with an excellent credit score is being offered this rate, I'd hate to imagine what others would get. Their website states up to 26.9% could be offered. Daylight robbery if you ask me! Reviewed on: 30th March 2023
Richard H's avatar
Richard H

Do you have a different Santander product?

Share your experiences with products to help others make smarter financial decisions and learn more about different products available. Write a review
Are you a business? Get insights, reply to reviews, invite customers and understand their needs

There's still more to see!

Santander has a range of products available. Check the ratings of each product to find the right one for you. View all products