Scottish Building Society Reviews

  Ratings based on 178 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    
  Visit Scottish Building Society

Established in 1848, Scottish Building Society is Scotland’s only independent building society. We offer a range of savings and mortgage products for every stage in life.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Scottish Building Society Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

54% of feedback is People related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: N/A

Top Channel Preference: N/A

Scottish Building Society Products 178

Mortgages

Peter McSherry

I bought a house back in September 2020. This is all thanks to Peter at the Edinburgh office. He provided the best customer service I have ever experienced. Peter worked so hard to make this process as straight forward and easy as possible despite... Read more

I bought a house back in September 2020. This is all thanks to Peter at the Edinburgh office. He provided the best customer service I have ever experienced. Peter worked so hard to make this process as straight forward and easy as possible despite some issues that arose on our behalf. He couldn’t have been any more professional, clear and friendly and I’m so grateful that when I picked up the phone one day to enquire it was him that answered. He is to thank for our amazing first home and we appreciate all of his hard work so much. I highly recommend him to anyone. Thank you so much Peter. Melissa Cummings

Reviewed on 10th February 2021
melissacummings15@gmail.com's avatar
melissacummings15@gmail.com
Write a review

Savings

Savings review

It's Scottish, and concentrates on just being a building society. providing a safe, secure home for savings

Reviewed on 31st January 2021
Savings customer's avatar
Savings customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

Attractive interest rate. Easily accessible information, Speedy response when posting items

Reviewed on 28th January 2021
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

We completed our mortgage with SBS over 30 years and have dound them welcoming and friendly on our return

Reviewed on 27th January 2021
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Savings review

Simple to apply, good communication, helpful, friendly staff

Reviewed on 26th January 2021
Savings customer's avatar
Savings customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

Passbooks allow me to see my finances clearly, very pleasant staff in the Glasgow office

Reviewed on 25th January 2021
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

Easy to get answers and helpful, giving information and filling forms.

Reviewed on 25th January 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

Requesting documentary proof, this by delaying the process by two weeks. Who has paper copies these days anyway. Get Doctors Certify - in a pandemic!

Reviewed on 22nd January 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Inverness branch review

Just a phone call away, listened to what product I was after, gave me all I needed

Reviewed on 21st January 2021
Inverness branch customer's avatar
Inverness branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

Pamela at the BS advised me correctly, she knows what she was doing and acted on what was promised. It could be better if a/cscould be openned online and verification done by experian checks.

Reviewed on 21st January 2021
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

Fast, friendly, helpful, efficient service

Reviewed on 19th January 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Troon branch review

Staff were very helpful, but some did not appear to understand online protocol

Reviewed on 18th January 2021
Troon branch customer's avatar
Troon branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

Super fast transaction in setting up a savings bond at Glasgow branch. Clear information on phone. Very impressive!

Reviewed on 27th December 2020
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

A friendly, mutual society with very good customer service. Thank you.

Reviewed on 26th December 2020
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Troon branch review

Only just opened my account but good service so far

Reviewed on 23rd December 2020
Troon branch customer's avatar
Troon branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

The Scottish Building Society are efficient and good to deal with. I like the folder the documents come in and that you still do passbooks

Reviewed on 22nd December 2020
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Stuck in the 19th century

I applied for a monthly savings account but because I did not send up enough ID documents, they cannot open an account. I will now send up further ID but what a faff. The staff on the phone were very pleasant and rang me back as promised BUT the... Read more

I applied for a monthly savings account but because I did not send up enough ID documents, they cannot open an account. I will now send up further ID but what a faff. The staff on the phone were very pleasant and rang me back as promised BUT the Scottish Building Society must move into the 21st century and do electronic checks. I have accounts with lots of small building societies, Loughborough, Principality, Buckinghamshire and Cambridge to mention a few. They all confirmed my ID by electronic checks. Why can't SBS?

Reviewed on 21st December 2020
paul holtham's avatar
paul holtham
Write a review

Savings

Savings review

Straightforward application proces, rising interest rates would be welcomed, UK based

Reviewed on 19th December 2020
Savings customer's avatar
Savings customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

Good range of products at competitive rates, convenience of branch location and also passbooks! Everything I like in a building society

Reviewed on 18th December 2020
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

Form got posted out quickly. Branch service was good. Interest rate OK

Reviewed on 17th December 2020
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review