Scottish Building Society Reviews

  Ratings based on 248 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    
  Visit Scottish Building Society

Established in 1848, Scottish Building Society is Scotland’s only independent building society. We offer a range of savings and mortgage products for every stage in life.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Scottish Building Society Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

53% of feedback is People related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 55-64

Top Channel Preference: Phone

Scottish Building Society Products 248

Mortgages

Excellent personalised service

We were first attracted to SBS by the fact that it is a mutual organisation, owned and run for the benefit of its members. Unlike many other financial institutions is not primarily motivated by maximising profit and has a strong ethical... Read more

We were first attracted to SBS by the fact that it is a mutual organisation, owned and run for the benefit of its members. Unlike many other financial institutions is not primarily motivated by maximising profit and has a strong ethical commitment.

What we didn’t expect, when we first became SBS members, was an incredible personalised service from dedicated professionals.

The fact that we can talk to the same person about an issue rather than have to go through a call centre has been invaluable. Advice has always been provided clearly, in a timely and pleasant manner.

The level of service provided is second to none, particularly during Covid which must have challenging. The high level of service was maintained and the reassurance and expertise provided was invaluable.

Reviewed on 16th November 2021
Kirsty R's avatar
Kirsty R
Write a review

Mortgages

Website is outdated

Called and wasted my time completely to find out that they haven’t update their website, so that I now won’t qualify despite prior it appearing that I would.

Reviewed on 3rd November 2021
Jenna's avatar
Jenna
Write a review

Savings

Online review

It's Scottish. Why stop the regular saver?

Reviewed on 21st October 2021
Online customer's avatar
Online customer
Write a review

Savings

Troon branch review

I can go in an chat with the staff who are extremely pleasant

Reviewed on 21st October 2021
Troon branch customer's avatar
Troon branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

Local, helpful & friendly. Mutual

Reviewed on 18th October 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Troon branch review

The transfer went through without a problem and any questions I had were quickly and professionally answered. The welcome pack was well laid out and very informative

Reviewed on 14th October 2021
Troon branch customer's avatar
Troon branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

Very friendly staff, always willing to help

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Troon branch review

Staff always very pleasant and helpful - taking time to explain transactions. Branch in Troon easily accessible. Calmly deal with transactions in a positive way

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
Troon branch customer's avatar
Troon branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Glasgow branch review

Well done on your recent article in Society Magazine Loraine. So interesting to read and a lot I can relate to, you are very much a people person. Very helpful and knowledge

Reviewed on 6th October 2021
Glasgow branch customer's avatar
Glasgow branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Troon branch review

Friendly, knowledgeable staff, all questions answered. Transfer of cash ISA from Virgin Money executed without any problems. Comprehensive information pack posted with transfer details

Reviewed on 5th October 2021
Troon branch customer's avatar
Troon branch customer
Write a review

Mortgages

Peter McSherry was great.

We applied for additional borrowing against our existing mortgage with SBS and Peter McSherry was spot on from the beginning with what was a bit of a complex application for us. His advice and explanations definitely show his experience. Thank you!!

Reviewed on 16th September 2021
Blair Aitchison's avatar
Blair Aitchison
Write a review

Savings

Inverness branch review

Easy to use website, has local branch in Aberdeen

Reviewed on 13th September 2021
Inverness branch customer's avatar
Inverness branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

I was not informed in advance that the regular savings account was to be discontinued

Reviewed on 10th September 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

I like the branch network and especially the traditional passbook for transactions - especially suitable for an older customer with little digital knowledge skills or interest

Reviewed on 8th September 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Edinburgh branch review

Gives you a chance to put some money aside for when you may need it

Reviewed on 7th September 2021
Edinburgh branch customer's avatar
Edinburgh branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Aberdeen branch review

Fine and handy, good times, very helpful

Reviewed on 6th September 2021
Aberdeen branch customer 's avatar
Aberdeen branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Aberdeen branch review

I prefer they now have an Aberdeen branch, as opposed to an agency. I like their ISA accounts being 'open ended' as opposed to 'fixed term'. Obviously interest rates could always be better (this applied to the entire banking industry!)

Reviewed on 17th August 2021
Aberdeen branch customer's avatar
Aberdeen branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

Friendly but professional staff. Very helpful. Better interest rate - but that's a sign of the times at the moment :(

Reviewed on 17th August 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Aberdeen branch review

Cashier (Sam) was very friendly and gave first class service. Can't fault anything.

Reviewed on 9th August 2021
Aberdeen branch customer's avatar
Aberdeen branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Galashiels branch review

Personal counter service is excellent - it's important to know your customers. Very important to retain passbooks!

Reviewed on 9th August 2021
Galashiels branch customer's avatar
Galashiels branch customer
Write a review