Coventry Building Society Savings Reviews

  Ratings based on 47 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Coventry Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out more about life at Coventry Building Society. How easy is it to contact Coventry Building Society? And how friendly are they? Our Coventry Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out information like this. Smart Money People...

READ MORE

Coventry Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out more about life at Coventry Building Society. How easy is it to contact Coventry Building Society? And how friendly are they? Our Coventry Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out information like this. Smart Money People is an independent source of honest reviews.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Savings Reviews

47 reviews

Review Coventry Building Society's Savings now

Coventry building society kill OAP

The Coventry building society used a forged mortgage to steal an OAPs home. The court case caused him to stop eating and taking his medication. He died a scared broken old man. Coventry building society does it really take 10 years to show him the unsigne Read more

The Coventry building society used a forged mortgage to steal an OAPs home. The court case caused him to stop eating and taking his medication. He died a scared broken old man. Coventry building society does it really take 10 years to show him the unsigned mortgage he never signed. AVOID AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 11th August 2022
Carl Mason's avatar
Carl Mason

Regular Saver

We opened our joint account online in April. The whole process took one week, and we were set up with easy to view and manage internet banking. I transfer money regularly to this account from another bank, via internet banking. Coventry BS takes accoun Read more

We opened our joint account online in April. The whole process took one week, and we were set up with easy to view and manage internet banking. I transfer money regularly to this account from another bank, via internet banking. Coventry BS takes account security seriously, though it is straightforward to access your account. So far I have only needed to contact the Cov by telephone, and that was a query while the account was initially being set up; the lady I spoke with was professional, friendly and helpful. Since opening our account Cov BS have honoured the inflation rises by raising the interest rate some 3 times now (not all banks/building societies do this, and they're not obliged to). I also joined their separate site which sends out invites now and again (via email) to answer the odd survey or question. For one short survey I won £200 in M&S vouchers! I get the impression the Cov genuinely listens to feedback. Cov BS moderators regularly converse with customers on the blog section, and anyone can start a thread - most of the stuff on there is interesting with very few gripes! Sure, it's not the best rate out there, yet I like their set up and their features. They have a lot of accounts on offer - something for everyone, no matter what age. Wish we'd got involved with them sooner.

Reviewed on 5th August 2022
Villan's avatar
Villan

Very Helpful staff and a great rate .

Been with CBS for quite a number of years always found them extremely helpful , Often one of the best interest rates around.

Reviewed on 24th June 2022
Chris Bouanani's avatar
Chris Bouanani

Received excellent service

Staff Avni Gandhi was very helpful.Provided excellent service.

Reviewed on 23rd June 2022
Raj Pau's avatar
Raj Pau

Devious and incompetent

You want to close an account ?? LOL best of luck. Complain !!! ?? don't bother. Accountable ?? err no .

Reviewed on 7th May 2022
Brian Singleton's avatar
Brian Singleton

Best ever experience with opening accounts

Was so experienced with information given

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Barbm's avatar
Barbm

The best savings rates available from a major building society

The Coventry frequently launches new savings accounts with very competitive interest rates, especially its fixed rate bonds and ISAs. The management listen to what the members say and work in the members' best interests which is more than can be said for Read more

The Coventry frequently launches new savings accounts with very competitive interest rates, especially its fixed rate bonds and ISAs. The management listen to what the members say and work in the members' best interests which is more than can be said for the high street banks and Nationwide.

Reviewed on 1st February 2022
Chris McCol's avatar
Chris McCol

Great Range of Savings Products

Coventry is probably my favourite Bank/BS. Their Rates are becoming less competitive but I love their Dashboard, the fact that one can view Balances and Transaction without the Phone Call Challenge (only needed to do transactions). I like the new design o Read more

Coventry is probably my favourite Bank/BS. Their Rates are becoming less competitive but I love their Dashboard, the fact that one can view Balances and Transaction without the Phone Call Challenge (only needed to do transactions). I like the new design of the DashBoard and the Range of Products. But I also like that they reach out for feedback from their Customer on how to improve.

Reviewed on 23rd January 2022
DaveO's avatar
DaveO

Disgusted by their actions

After reading online an article about how the Coventry building society cheated 2 OAPS out of their home of 40 years . The ordeal caused 1 OAP to die a broken man. My wife was appalled by the Coventrysite action and will transfer her account to another B Read more

After reading online an article about how the Coventry building society cheated 2 OAPS out of their home of 40 years . The ordeal caused 1 OAP to die a broken man. My wife was appalled by the Coventrysite action and will transfer her account to another Bank. Avoid Avoid Avoid

Reviewed on 5th January 2022
Carl Mason's avatar
Carl Mason

refusing to close my account

2 weeks and CBS still refusing to close my account. This establishment think its THEIR money and not the customers money. Ignore them at all costs

Reviewed on 5th November 2021
jim patterson's avatar
jim patterson

You're a criminal

Bad experience at the Highworth branch. Got treated like a money laundering criminal. Was asked to provide proof of a private sale of a motorcycle. I was explicit concerning the sale and when asked how I could provide further evidence the manager said I Read more

Bad experience at the Highworth branch. Got treated like a money laundering criminal. Was asked to provide proof of a private sale of a motorcycle. I was explicit concerning the sale and when asked how I could provide further evidence the manager said I could've (and I quote) taken a screenshot of the eBay advert. I was astonished. The end result was that they just wouldn't believe the money was from an honest transaction and refused to deposit less than £3000. So I closed my account and went to the Post Office and paid it in there. What makes me laugh is that the manager had no idea about motorcycles and I could've shown him a photo of a pram and he wouldn't have known the difference.

Reviewed on 11th August 2021
Michael James's avatar
Michael James

Sharp practice over interest rates and no communication

I opened a Double Access Saver (online) account with the Coventry paying 1.2% interest on 22 September 2020. While preparing my tax return for the 20/21 year, I noticed from the end of year statement issued by the Coventry in April that the account was li Read more

I opened a Double Access Saver (online) account with the Coventry paying 1.2% interest on 22 September 2020. While preparing my tax return for the 20/21 year, I noticed from the end of year statement issued by the Coventry in April that the account was listed as a Limited Access Saver (online) account paying 0.55% interest.

I queried this by phone & was told that the Society had supposedly sent me an email on 10 February telling me of this change. No such e-mail was received. I complained about this, and was told that as far as the Coventry was concerned, it had met its obligations. And so, on the back of a single email, of which I have seen no evidence whatsoever, the Society believes it can unilaterally close a customer’s account and open another one on considerably reduced terms – in this instance a c. 70% interest rate reduction - without first seeking consent.

Unlike other financial organisations, the CBS feels no need to ensure that a customer has received an email on such matters by inviting a response. It doesn't believe it's necessary to issue a follow-up confirmation either electronically or via the post. I see that it subsequently ‘reissued’ the Double Access several times in Autumn at a continuously lower interest rate. This in itself doesn't inspire confidence.

My extended family & I have been customers of the Coventry for 20 years. It's a shame that, having once traded on its ethical reputation, the Coventry now freely resorts to sharp practices & treats its loyal customers with such contempt. My family will be taking its custom elsewhere. Not that its managers will care, of course.

Reviewed on 6th July 2021
Michael Hrebeniak's avatar
Michael Hrebeniak

Good rate

Easy to open a saving account on line and manage it on line. best rate in town at the time of opening.

Reviewed on 4th April 2021
Peter Costello's avatar
Peter Costello

Good interest rate in comparison

Opened as best savings interest of the day. Been reduced regularly since but still slightly better than the rest. Only gripe would be to add a SMS authentication option as well as automated call - not.everone can take a call!

Reviewed on 11th March 2021
Italiano's avatar
Italiano

Successful Investment

I invested lump sum in an ISA after seeing the rate at the time- content investor .

Reviewed on 18th January 2021
Glyn's avatar
Glyn

Coventry b soc Online not recommended

A year ago Internet Banking was easy until I was locked out! Trying to access a new Internet Account proved very long winded and in the end I gave up and withdrew funds except for bonds. Not recommended! M King

Reviewed on 11th August 2020
Michael King's avatar
Michael King

Still living in the 20th century

tried to open an account online - the normal way to do it nowadays. All that happens is that they send you an envelope of paper which took so long to arrive I had forgotten that I had made the application. not sure I can be bothered frankly

Reviewed on 29th May 2020
onecounsel 's avatar
onecounsel

Excellent service

Always kept informed - good rates - no harrassing!!

Reviewed on 24th May 2020
Gigi's avatar
Gigi

Good savings product

Receive a decent interest rate for saving a set amount each month to be held for a fixed period of time. Easy to set up online. Staff available to talk with on the phone for help and guidance if required.

Reviewed on 9th February 2020
Fiona sutherland's avatar
Fiona sutherland

Savings Accounts

Friendly & very easy to get through to on phone - good if not great rates but talking to real people who are happy to help makes the difference

Reviewed on 5th February 2020
Helsbells20's avatar
Helsbells20