Coventry Building Society Mortgages Reviews

  Ratings based on 17 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Coventry Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Coventry Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your...

READ MORE

Coventry Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Coventry Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Mortgages Reviews

17 reviews

Review Coventry Building Society's Mortgages now

TERRIBLE COMPANY AVOID AND DO NOT USE !!!!

shocking company offered us a mortgage held till october then when we came back to finalise told us we could still have it then two weeks later someone higher up said we couldnt !! shocking has put us back two weeks and we may lose the house now AVOID USI Read more

shocking company offered us a mortgage held till october then when we came back to finalise told us we could still have it then two weeks later someone higher up said we couldnt !! shocking has put us back two weeks and we may lose the house now AVOID USING THESE PEOPLE

Reviewed on 24th August 2022
christopher parker's avatar
christopher parker

Mortgage fraud

Coventry building society used a forged mortgage to steal an OAPs home. He died a scared broken old man. Coventry building society does it really take 10 years to show him the unsigned mortgage he never signed. How long before this is taken down?

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Carl Mason's avatar
Carl Mason

Amazing team

The customer service team at Coventry are extremely helpful and all issues are resolved quickly.

Reviewed on 21st June 2022
Aaron McManamon's avatar
Aaron McManamon

Feeble Staff Training

Don't even think of applying for a mortgage with these people if you are a company director. They have absolutely no idea how Ltd companies operate. If you're a sole director and your company has shareholder funds just under a million this does not comput Read more

Don't even think of applying for a mortgage with these people if you are a company director. They have absolutely no idea how Ltd companies operate. If you're a sole director and your company has shareholder funds just under a million this does not compute with the Coventry. Feeble training of underwriters and ludicrous questions.
They feel they are doing you a favour not providing a service.

Reviewed on 28th November 2019
Richard Sutton's avatar
Richard Sutton

Mutual values

Coventry is how a building society should be. It listens to its customers and puts their interests first.

Reviewed on 5th November 2019
Alex White's avatar
Alex White

Bad experience

I have applied for a mortgage 3 weeks ago and still waiting for a decision. Keep asking stupid and irrelevant questions. Do not recommend, don't waste your time and money with them.

Reviewed on 22nd May 2019
Cosmin's avatar
Cosmin

Great value, great service

Cheap rates speak for themselves, but Coventry also provides superb customer experience and the best complaints handling I've ever experienced

Reviewed on 27th January 2019
Andrew Turvey's avatar
Andrew Turvey

Helpful and reasonable

Very helpful when switching, reasonable rates, easy to use website.

Reviewed on 30th December 2018
Bigbirt's avatar
Bigbirt

10-year fix with offset

A mutual, it puts the customer first with maximum flexibility

Reviewed on 17th December 2018
Alex White's avatar
Alex White

Great service

Fast, efficient, friendly and best rates

Reviewed on 9th November 2018
neil jones's avatar
neil jones

Slow, but they get there in the end

Getting a mortgage through Coventry Building Society was a bit laborious. After a quick start, the home buyers survey was conducted and reported on within a week - great! Week after week, we were promised to hear from CBS with an offer, but the offer did Read more

Getting a mortgage through Coventry Building Society was a bit laborious. After a quick start, the home buyers survey was conducted and reported on within a week - great!
Week after week, we were promised to hear from CBS with an offer, but the offer didn't come for nearly a month. Everything else was ready to go, but the underwriter apparently forgot that he had a few queries that we never got asked.
In the end, we got there and although it's early days with the mortgage, everything else has been smooth...

Reviewed on 17th July 2018
Laura Nesbitt's avatar
Laura Nesbitt

Good product, a little slow

Customer services were always polite and helpful and the mortgage product itself was very competitive, but our application was processed rather slowly.

Reviewed on 2nd June 2018
Vicky's avatar
Vicky

Best Mortgage Company!

I'm absolutely over the moon with Coventry Building Society. Not only for their competitive mortgage rates for existing and new customers but for their outstanding customer service! 10/10 Coventry!

Reviewed on 28th November 2017
Rachel Dann's avatar
Rachel Dann

waste of money

pay 495 in advance and didnt get mortgage! waste of money dont go with them at all.

Reviewed on 3rd November 2016
Tomas Hospodar's avatar
Tomas Hospodar

Shambolic customer service and hopeless internet banking.

Been a member for three years. Not had any problems with them until we went on holiday last year and instead of lifting the block on accessing the account outside the UK (this is a default for them) the manager kindly blocked access to the account complet Read more

Been a member for three years. Not had any problems with them until we went on holiday last year and instead of lifting the block on accessing the account outside the UK (this is a default for them) the manager kindly blocked access to the account completely for the week and the weekends either side of the holiday. Which was not what he had been instructed to do, and which was quite inconvenient. A complaint on return from holiday brought an apologetic phone call from someone in a call centre but nothing in writing.

After that, I tried to set up online banking with them. This is a convoluted system requiring you to send off a form to get a password and then get a card with codes to access your account. Two step security. First form went off. No response. Popped into branch to enquire. 'Not received. We'll generate another form'. Second one goes off. Card received. Account unaccessible. Ring to activate account. Get into system. Clunky but manageable. Second time I logged in, system fails to recognise new password, locks me out. Try online password reset. Doesn't work. Ring up help desk. 'You can't reset your password online - your email address isn't registered with us'. Explain patiently that I receive e-mails frequently from the Coventry but to no avail. Third form generated, filled in and returned. No answer. Call into branch. 'Form not received'. Fourth form requested. Has been filled in and sent off. Two weeks now and nothing received back from them. Am just about to ring them and find out if they have fallen out with the postal service as well as me. Then I am going to request details of my direct debits prior to closing the account and opening up one with another provider. Reasonable rates of interest in these penurious times, average customer service, online banking system run by a bunch of sloths. Avoid unless ringing call centres is a hobby of yours.

Reviewed on 24th September 2016
Ade Jones's avatar
Ade Jones

Brilliant customer service

Recently went in for a mortgage review and the last couldn't of been more helpful, explained all the options Available to us as I find some of the jargon difficult to understand, went ahead with a really good deal, very happy

Reviewed on 28th March 2016
Brooksie's avatar
Brooksie

Very helpful and profesonal whilst buying my new house.

I found all the staff to be very helpful and informative, whilst not overly pushy as I have found with other companies. Would happily go back to them again following this purchase for other products.

Reviewed on 9th April 2015
Rainbow's avatar
Rainbow