Ecology Building Society Mortgages Reviews

  Ratings based on 97 reviews       Last review 2 months ago    

Ecology Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Ecol...

READ MORE

Ecology Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Ecology Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Ecology Building Society Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

37% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 55-64

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Mortgages Reviews

97 reviews

Review Ecology Building Society's Mortgages now

A personal bank that outs its money where its beliefs are

Our housing coop took a mortgage with Ecology Building Society almost 20 years ago. A man called Jon sorted it out for us. We're now building 29 new houses and need a new mortgage - guess what? Jon has sorted it for us.

Reviewed on 15th March 2022
Peter's avatar
Peter

Making our dream come true!

When we went for a mortgage with the bank we use for all our banking, one that says it supports people like us -farmers wanting to build a home and going that extra mile for us and then they turned us down and so did all the other normal banks just becaus Read more

When we went for a mortgage with the bank we use for all our banking, one that says it supports people like us -farmers wanting to build a home and going that extra mile for us and then they turned us down and so did all the other normal banks just because our barn conversion was a little unique and different it was Ecology who gave us a mortgage and made our dream come true. It was easy and simple and more importantly sensible. Just common sense!

Reviewed on 14th March 2022
RachaelG's avatar
RachaelG

Underpinned a 50 year community for the last 10 years.

The Ecology Building Society provided a large loan for us to buy back half of a historic building that has been home to a changing community over 50 years. We have a social and environmental approach to sharing while we also all get on with our own lives. Read more

The Ecology Building Society provided a large loan for us to buy back half of a historic building that has been home to a changing community over 50 years. We have a social and environmental approach to sharing while we also all get on with our own lives. A grand house built for a rich family has been home to up to 19 people of all ages and backgrounds at a time. Without the Ecology we could not have done this.

Reviewed on 13th March 2022
Rosemary's avatar
Rosemary

Mortgages safe as houses

The Ecology Building Society has been helpful over the years in providing information and advice

Reviewed on 13th March 2022
Edwin Roland van Teijlingen's avatar
Edwin Roland van Teijlingen

Very helpful

We needed a self-build mortgage for an unusual house built to high thermal eficiency standards. Elsewhere was often "computer says no". Ecology took the time to understand the concept and then couldn't have been more helpul. Great people, great philosop Read more

We needed a self-build mortgage for an unusual house built to high thermal eficiency standards. Elsewhere was often "computer says no". Ecology took the time to understand the concept and then couldn't have been more helpul. Great people, great philosophy. All lenders are not equal!

Reviewed on 12th March 2022
John Sandbach's avatar
John Sandbach

Community and friendly

Old school banking principles in a digital age

Reviewed on 27th April 2021
Gregor's avatar
Gregor

Imaginative and individual service

The Ecology supports the sympathetic preservation of old buildings and granted a mortgage on our 450-year-old home after a major building society withdrew its offer at the last minute on questionable grounds.

Reviewed on 16th April 2021
Happy ancient home owner's avatar
Happy ancient home owner

Mrs Carole Neal

They were the only Building Society that would finance our unusual eco project and provided support and took an interest right through to completion. We were invited to present our project to other members at their AGM in order to help those members in Read more

They were the only Building Society that would finance our unusual eco project and provided support and took an interest right through to completion. We were invited to present our project to other members at their AGM in order to help those members in their own projects. We have not hesitated to recommend the Ecology Building Society to other people in our position. They provided finance up front which meant that we didn't have to get a bridging loan which is common practice for self builders, When we required more money late in the project that money was readily forthcoming. As both borrowers and savers we have attended many AGMs, which are always well attended, and have been made welcome and our points and opinions have been valued. It is truly a members' society.

Reviewed on 13th April 2021
Carole's avatar
Carole

Opportunity

The Ecology B.S through their mortgage products gave me the opportunity to fulfil my dream of a self build using non mainstream products ie car tyres and strawbale. I would like to thank both the founders of the society and the always helpful staff.

Reviewed on 13th April 2021
Alison Cruickshank's avatar
Alison Cruickshank

Best ethical mortgage provider/Customer Service Champion

We chose the Ecology Building Society because we wanted to build an Eco friendly PassivHaus. We knew nothing about them apart form the fact that this was the type of project to which they lent money. However, our journey with them has been very enjoyable. Read more

We chose the Ecology Building Society because we wanted to build an Eco friendly PassivHaus. We knew nothing about them apart form the fact that this was the type of project to which they lent money. However, our journey with them has been very enjoyable. The staff at Ecology have been delightful and easy to deal with. They understood the building process and didn't delay decisions. They have treated us fairly and continue to do so, and their instructions are straightforward and understandable. We always feel like everything is transparent and there is no hidden red tape. We would wholeheartedly recommend them.

Reviewed on 10th April 2021
Cindy McIntyre's avatar
Cindy McIntyre

Always helpful, kind and professional, with a mission that is positive to the world

They gave us a self build mortgage at a time that no one else would as mortgages were tougher to get. Our house is environmentally positive with good insulation, solar panels, air source heat pump and underfloor heating, with no gas connection, which fits Read more

They gave us a self build mortgage at a time that no one else would as mortgages were tougher to get. Our house is environmentally positive with good insulation, solar panels, air source heat pump and underfloor heating, with no gas connection, which fits well with ecology's mission. We couldn't have achieved our dream home without their support. They made the process really easy to apply, with a lot of support throughout and stayed in contact throughout the build to ensure that we were always on the best rate that they could offer. Always helpful, kind and professional, with a mission that is positive to the world.

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
Vicky Gilbert's avatar
Vicky Gilbert

Eco focussed Loans

We obtained a mortgage for a piece of natural English woodland to enjoy the peace and tranquility of nature. Without Ecology and their products this would never been a reality. Thanks to Ecology and their forward thinking approach to sustainability we hav Read more

We obtained a mortgage for a piece of natural English woodland to enjoy the peace and tranquility of nature. Without Ecology and their products this would never been a reality. Thanks to Ecology and their forward thinking approach to sustainability we have been able to live the dream to own our own Woodland! I can't recommend them enough!

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
Andre S's avatar
Andre S

True to their principles

The Ecology BS provided us with a mortgage when no one else would. It was a risky project but one true to Ecology's principles and a zero carbon future. The Ecology look at the big picture and support those of us working for a better, greener future.

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
Helen Gould's avatar
Helen Gould

Satisfied customer

We are delighted to have our mortgage with Ecology. We know that our money is doing good in the community and that social responsibility and ethics are taken very seriously. Without the Ecology, many socially responsible eco-housing projects across the Read more

We are delighted to have our mortgage with Ecology. We know that our money is doing good in the community and that social responsibility and ethics are taken very seriously. Without the Ecology, many socially responsible eco-housing projects across the UK would not have been possible. Their newsletter is very positive and inspiring. We have had no issues with the management of our mortgage over the past 15 years and we have made many energy-efficiency improvements to our home during that time. We wish them every success.

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
christine mackay's avatar
christine mackay

Game-changer

Without our loan from Ecology BS, we would never have got our community-led housing project off the ground.

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
Bill Phelps's avatar
Bill Phelps

Excellent experience - Eco renovation mortgage

The Ecology Building Society (BS) have been exceptional. We bought an agricultural property, which had a number of restrictions that other lenders knew very little about and/or were not willing to consider (either at all or without a 20%+ deposit). The Ec Read more

The Ecology Building Society (BS) have been exceptional. We bought an agricultural property, which had a number of restrictions that other lenders knew very little about and/or were not willing to consider (either at all or without a 20%+ deposit). The Ecology BS had fantastic working knowledge of agricultural ties and Mary Blackburn supported us throughout the application process - which involved a number of additional steps, due to the type of property. Their customer service is truly amazing, run by a small and incredibly friendly team.

We are renovating the mortgaged property to a high energy efficient standard. The Ecology BS shared our enthusiasm for the project, advising on both short and long term options. We will soon complete Phase 1 of the retrofit, with the Ecology renovation mortgage offering C-Change discounts on the mortgage interest rate, to reward improved energy ratings. Amid the current context of a climate emergency, this type of financial incentive for Eco works is immensely valuable – both in terms of individual finances and the wider impact on the planet. It has been a genuine pleasure to deal with such an ethical and sustainable bank and I would 100% recommend them to anyone and everyone. Thank you Ecology!

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
H Wilkinson's avatar
H Wilkinson

Excellent communication, efficient service

We have had a superb experience with Ecology. They have by far been the most helpful and easiest financial institution we have dealt with. The communication with staff has been excellent and service has been really efficient - something that is often lack Read more

We have had a superb experience with Ecology. They have by far been the most helpful and easiest financial institution we have dealt with. The communication with staff has been excellent and service has been really efficient - something that is often lacking with financial institutions. I have already recommended them to others a number of time sand will continue to do so.

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
Dee's avatar
Dee

Keeping it simple

First time self building a home, so was very daunted by the prospect of this type of mortgage, however I needn't have worried. The flexibility offered by Ecology is second to none, allowing you to withdraw funds as and when you need, and the process to do Read more

First time self building a home, so was very daunted by the prospect of this type of mortgage, however I needn't have worried. The flexibility offered by Ecology is second to none, allowing you to withdraw funds as and when you need, and the process to do so only involves a quick email.
Can't recommend them highly enough

Reviewed on 8th April 2021
Rebecca 's avatar
Rebecca

Simply Outstanding - A brighter, greener future to mortgage finance

Our experience of Ecology has been absolutely faultless from the very first phone enquiry that we made, throughout the mortgage application process and through the duration of our self-build so far. Their customer service is outstanding - questions an Read more

Our experience of Ecology has been absolutely faultless from the very first phone enquiry that we made, throughout the mortgage application process and through the duration of our self-build so far.

Their customer service is outstanding - questions and queries are dealt with very efficiently by friendly, helpful people, who seem to really know what they are doing. Each time we’ve made a draw down, the funds have reached our bank account on the same day. When we needed to request a short payment holiday, they facilitated that seamlessly.

Whenever we speak to someone at Ecology, they seem very knowledgable and well informed and that means that our queries have been answered fully and swiftly. They also seem to really understand the challenges facing self-builders; their guidance and advice has always been clear and reassuring.

Their commitment to sustainable approaches to building and development is fundamental to all that they do. They lend money to projects in ways which enable genuinely progressive approaches to building and renovating houses and communities.

With a very modest budget, we have built an accessible timber frame home that is ultra energy efficient and sustainable in the true sense. It also complies fully with building regulations, yet because our house isn’t traditional bricks and mortar, Ecology were the ONLY lenders that would even consider offering us a mortgage. Home building must evolve to become more efficient and sustainable in order to meet the challenges of this century. The materials and technology to do this already exist, but if they are to be widely adopted in the mainstream it will require more mortgage providers to be like Ecology - supporting and funding projects which demonstrate how a brighter, greener future could be built.

Reviewed on 7th April 2021
Charlotte Spencer's avatar
Charlotte Spencer

They try to understand you

People who will listen to projects and will support individuals by making decisions on merit. Clients are not just anonymous ticked boxes.

Reviewed on 7th April 2021
Alastair Yule's avatar
Alastair Yule