Are You Owed Money Reviews

  Ratings based on 35 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Are You Owed Money offers commercial and consumer debt collection. If you've worked with Are You Owed Money, we'd like to hear about your experiences of this firm. Please leave a review below to help us find out more.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Are You Owed Money Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

55% of feedback is People related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: App

Are You Owed Money Products 35

Debt Collection

Nice lady

The lady sorted out everything great customer service

Reviewed on 17th September 2021
Louise Speed's avatar
Louise Speed
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good morning Louise. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to see you had a positive interaction and result with us. Please get in touch if we can answer any questions for you. Kind regards, the AYOM team.

Debt Collection

Very happy with the service from debbie

Have agreed a payment plan which suits all involved

Reviewed on 11th September 2021
Kevin marsh's avatar
Kevin marsh
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good morning Kevin. Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the feedback on your experience with us. Please get in touch if we can provide any further assistance on your matter. Kind regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

Quick and Efficient

Debbie was very efficient and dealt with my query quickly and have good customer service.

Reviewed on 7th September 2021
Sam's avatar
Sam
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good afternoon Sam. Thank you for reviewing your experience. We are very pleased to see your case handler abided by our core values to provide a positive and efficient service while engaging with you. Please get in touch if you have any questions. Kind regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

Helpful Service

I spoke with Victoria who has very polite and understanding of my issue. After raising a dispute she talked me through the actions I need to take to ensure I am not paying anymore money than is required. Thank you for all your help today Victoria x

Reviewed on 7th September 2021
Gina Short's avatar
Gina Short
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good afternoon Gina. Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking some time to talk about your experience. We are very pleased to see your case handler resolved your matter in a way suitable for all parties. Kind regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

Friendly and efficient

Was able to resolve my query quickly and effieciently, pleasure to deal with.

Reviewed on 2nd September 2021
Jack's avatar
Jack
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good morning Jack. Thanks for taking some time to leave your review. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy you had a good experience with our case handler. Kind regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

Amaazing service

Debbie my account manager was very clear and helpful! Would definitely recommend

Reviewed on 2nd September 2021
Xxxxxx's avatar
Xxxxxx
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good morning. Thank you for your review. We are very appreciative of the recommendation. Please do get in touch if we can answer any questions about the case. Kind regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

Incorrect information and failure to provide a refund

This is an ongoing issue and as such I will update this review as necessary. This is a long detailed review, but worth reading for any potential clients.... Read more

This is an ongoing issue and as such I will update this review as necessary. This is a long detailed review, but worth reading for any potential clients.

However, this is the situation I currently find myself in and as such, I feel it's important that anyone potentially looking to instruct AYOM Ltd to conduct debt collection are fully aware of how my case has been handled thus far.

BLUF - AYOM charged £1560 to conduct debt collection under what I believe to be the provision of incorrect or false information. As such I have requested a full refund, which thus far has not be paid.

During my initial Zoom consultation I was informed by the representative from AYOM that a new address had been found for my debtor. This was hugely important, as I had my reservation about the likelihood of a successful outcome, but was reassured that at the very least AYOM would be able to begin the process immediately, in the knowledge that they had an address to send correspondence to.

The consultation went on for almost an hour, as I asked more detailed questions relating to the process and in particular what would occur if AYOM were unable to achieve any debt recovery. I was very keen to ensure that a CCJ would be filed on our behalf, as I felt it was important there be consequences for the debtor moving forward.

Looking at some of the other reviews, I noticed that a few mention a lack of visibility concerning T&Cs and the contract. This was also something I experienced. I had to request access to these before paying the invoice, which was sent to me before i'd seen any T&Cs and or the contract. That being said, the documents were sent to me via email upon my request.

My invoice was for 10% of the debt total (plus VAT), so AYOM charged £1560. I was also offered a "brand new" customer service guarantee, which stated that after 6 months, if AYOM had failed to make 75 points of contact with the debtor, I would be refunded 50% of my fee. At this point I decided to proceed, reassured that AYOM already had an address for the my debtor and that at the end of the process, if nothing else, AYOM would assist with our request for a CCJ.

After one month, I requested a progress update and was informed that no progress had been made, as AYOM didn't have an address for the debtor.I immediately sought clarification, as this wasn't what I was told during my video recorded consultation.

It should be noted, that at this time the client portal did indicate that a letter had been sent to the debtor the day after I paid my invoice. However, when I questioned this, I was informed that this was just an automated entry and that no letter had actually been sent.

Since then I have requested a full refund (minus what I consider to be generous admin costs), as I feel that I entered into the agreement due to provision of incorrect or false information.

AYOM have failed to provide me with a copy of the recorded consultation and unsurprising the representative who conducted the initial consultation says he doesn't remember stating he had a new address for the debtor.

I have contacted the Financial Ombudsman Service for assistance and AYOM have 8 weeks from 27 July 2021 to complete their investigation.

As it stands, it is likely that AYOM will keep £750 for conducting a simple track and trace. Something that you can pay several other online firms to do for around £50 (please note this is only to obtain an address not to conduct debt collection).

I will post an update, once the 8 week period has passed. At which point AYOM should have completed their investigation and found that an error has been made on their behalf, which will then lead to a full refund.

Reviewed on 1st September 2021
Chris Nash's avatar
Chris Nash
Write a review

Debt Collection

Fantastic

Helpful knowledgeable no pressure literally fantastic

Reviewed on 31st August 2021
Chris 's avatar
Chris
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good morning Chris. Thanks for taking some time to review your experience. We appreciate the feedback and are pleased you had such a positive experience with our case handler. Please get in touch if you have any questions about the case. Kind regards, the AYOM team.

Debt Collection

Good customer service

Spoke to a lovely lady and was very satisfied with service and the outcome.

Reviewed on 27th August 2021
Karen powrie's avatar
Karen powrie
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good morning Karen. Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the feedback and are very pleased to see you have had an easy and positive experience with our representative. Kind regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

Very helpful

Very quick reply to my query via email and my problem was sorted within one email. Debbie was very helpful and non judgemental.

Reviewed on 27th August 2021
Emma's avatar
Emma
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Good morning Emma. Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and are pleased to see you have had a positive experience with us. Kind regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

*****DON'T USE THESE CLOWNS*****

********DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY WITH THESE... Read more

********DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY WITH THESE CLOWNS******""

Paid £200 in April/21 for debt collection of £1600 for a County Court Judgement in my favour.
All they can do is call, text and email. After 4 months with no success and limited info on their portal. I asked [staff name redacted] (account handler) to escalate my case, he said he couldn't do anything more. No doorstep visits until authorised by his MD which was unlikely. I asked for a refund, he hung up. Clown city!!!!! Don't waste your money or time with AYOM.

Reviewed on 20th August 2021
Melanie's avatar
Melanie
Write a review

Debt Collection

Awful

Got less back from debtors than I paid for the service from AYOM. Communication terrible, lies after lies

Reviewed on 19th August 2021
Chorley Vets's avatar
Chorley Vets
Write a review

Debt Collection

Scam

This company is a scam. As soon as we paid them for their services, we never heard from them again. They stopped replying to email and do not take our calls. I am noticing that many people have experienced the same. What a scam. These people need to... Read more

This company is a scam. As soon as we paid them for their services, we never heard from them again. They stopped replying to email and do not take our calls. I am noticing that many people have experienced the same. What a scam. These people need to be reported

Reviewed on 15th July 2021
Khaliyl Guevera's avatar
Khaliyl Guevera
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Are You Owed Money limited is a professional debt recovery company regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, registration number 664900. We provide to you, as we do for all of our customers 24 hour a day, 7 days a week, real-time access to case information via your client portal log-in, which also provides additional contact information for the company. This is explained to you with your welcome information when you became a customer and within our terms and conditions of business. We do not accept that we have not taken your calls or that we have stopped replying to emails. You have spoken to our customer services team who have sent copies to you of previous replies to the emails you claim not to have received. To claim that as soon as our services were engaged we suddenly stopped responding to you is factually incorrect, as are your defamatory remarks pertaining to the integrity of our business. All of our contact and regulatory information can be found on our website www.areyouowedmoney.co.uk.

Debt Collection

Reply to my review not entirely true

In my review of this company my charge about them not being upfront with the true cost of their fees still... Read more

In my review of this company my charge about them not being upfront with the true cost of their fees still stands.
I was under the impression that the fee I paid on first contact was the total charge. I find out later that they will also charge you in excess of 30% of the total amount recovered in commission. They should be sailing in a galleon flying the Jolly Roger☠️

Reviewed on 28th June 2021
Colin Goddard's avatar
Colin Goddard
Write a review

Debt Collection

I was not told of the true cost of this 'service' during my initial enquiry.

When I first enquired I was told that the cost to recover would be £120 inc. ... Read more

When I first enquired I was told that the cost to recover would be £120 inc. VAT.
The amount I wanted to recover was only £280 but I was told that the fee would be added to the original debt. In the event, the debtors mother contacted me, ( I appreciate that was partially due to AYOM contact), and said she would pay the debt and my fee. This she did, and AYOM then made a further charge on the account of £150. I had to bear this further charge myself, making a cost of £270 to recover £280. If I could wind the clock back I would definitely not engage AYOM.

Reviewed on 26th June 2021
Colin Goddard's avatar
Colin Goddard
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Thank you for your review. We are glad that the debt was paid and that, as advised, the agreement fee charged for our time and effort in recovery of the case was also repaid. You should also be aware from the terms and conditions of the contract that there is a collection charge on payment of the debt, also recoverable by the debtor, which we advised you at the time of the total sum when the offer of payment was made. You have not been charged £270 to recover £280. You were charged £100 (excluding VAT), to recover £300, which was repaid to you by the debtor meaning a cost of £Nil. We are entitled under the contract to a further sum from monies received and advised you of the total sum on 3rd June 2021. It then appears from the cease notes that you accepted a lower amount than the total advised. We are sorry that you feel aggrieved, had you not accepted the lower amount and instead taken payment of the full amount as advised then the cost to you would have been zero. Regards, the Are You Owed Money team.

Debt Collection

They'll owe you money is a better name

Do not give your money to these parasites, genuinely considering legal action.

Reviewed on 10th April 2021
hadleygladly77@gmail.com's avatar
hadleygladly77@gmail.com
Write a review

Debt Collection

Radio Silence and utterly inactive!

I instructed this company last year for a long outstanding debt. OK, so Covid happened in the meantime, but they have been 100% ineffective, unresponsive, and 7 months later - no sign of the debts having been recovered and no sign of any activity.... Read more

I instructed this company last year for a long outstanding debt. OK, so Covid happened in the meantime, but they have been 100% ineffective, unresponsive, and 7 months later - no sign of the debts having been recovered and no sign of any activity. Their so-called client portal doesn't work, probably to hide the fact that they are ineffective.
Not worth even picking up the phone to these people!

Reviewed on 3rd March 2021
techno's avatar
techno
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

Hi. Based on your username we are unable to locate your case on our customer database. Could you please email customerfeedback@ayom.co.uk with your case reference, contact telephone and email for us to investigate. Regards, the AYOM team.

Debt Collection

Complete scam!

This company is a complete scam. They’ll tell you all the bad reviews are due to the nature of their business, people that owe money etc..this is not true! I employed this company a year ago, ref AY- 5159-3070 they never return my calls or emails, t... Read more

This company is a complete scam. They’ll tell you all the bad reviews are due to the nature of their business, people that owe money etc..this is not true! I employed this company a year ago, ref AY- 5159-3070 they never return my calls or emails, they haven’t got my money back and I’m now reporting to the ombudsman and police because I believe they’ve fraudulently obtained my money through deception!

Reviewed on 10th December 2020
Jenny Ann's avatar
Jenny Ann
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

We strongly refute all instances of this review which question our legitimacy and integrity. Are You Owed Money Ltd are a fully licensed and regulated company. We comply with all UK laws and legislation. We will always seek to provide the best service possible for our clients but even in instances where recovery has not yet materialised, we will endeavour to keep working in line with our core values.

Debt Collection

Scam Alert!!!

This is a scam company. Only reports of scam here are genuine. All other reviews are entered by areyouowedmoney themselves. Please note that you can find a genuine debt recovery service using networks like FSB - federation of small businesses - for... Read more

This is a scam company. Only reports of scam here are genuine. All other reviews are entered by areyouowedmoney themselves. Please note that you can find a genuine debt recovery service using networks like FSB - federation of small businesses - for free. Never sign up to a service that you find on google. 99% are crooks who are waiting for a vulnerable pray. They take advantage of the fact that you have little access to legal help. Make sure your insurance comes with a good legal expenses cover. I am now applying to court after chasing them for my money for almost a year with no success. Imagine how much time I would have saved, had I had joined FSB before. Thanks to my neighbour, I heard about FSB now and I can ask questions to small businesses like mine about similar problems that they might have experienced already.

Reviewed on 23rd November 2020
Alex's avatar
Alex
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

We strongly refute all instances of this review which question our legitimacy and integrity. Are You Owed Money Ltd are a fully licensed and regulated company. We comply with all UK laws and legislation. We will always seek to provide the best service possible for our clients but even in instances where recovery has not yet materialised, we continue to keep working in line with our core values. Based on the username alone we are unable to locate you as an AYOM client. Please email customerfeedback@ayom.co.uk with a case reference number, email and phone number for us to investigate these allegations.

Debt Collection

Con Artists

Steer clear. They do nothing. Talk a great talk. Complete waste of money. They should be in jail

Reviewed on 16th November 2020
Jackie's avatar
Jackie
Write a review

Reply from Are You Owed Money

We strongly refute all instances of this review which question our legitimacy and integrity. Are You Owed Money Ltd are a fully licensed and regulated company. We comply with all UK laws and legislation. We will always seek to provide the best service possible for our clients but even in instances where recovery has not yet materialised, we continue to keep working in line with our core values. Based on your username alone we are unable to identify you as an AYOM customer. Please could you email customerfeedback@ayom.co.uk with your reference number, contact email and phone number for us to investigate your case and claims.