Debenhams Reviews

  Ratings based on 37 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    

Smart Money People is the place for Debenhams reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Debenhams Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

82% of feedback is Product related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: Online

Car Insurance

£145 minimum to cancel

They are not clear with their absolutely joke off charges They are so unprofessional and emails look like a school child has conducted it Dire company I'd hate to have had to use them if I had of had an accident No faith in them

Reviewed on 27th March 2021
Deanna Shortt's avatar
Deanna Shortt
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

Should be disgusted with themselves

-100 STARS THAT IS HOW... Read more

-100 STARS THAT IS HOW BAD!!

PLEASE I BEG YOU DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE!1

WOULND NOT WISH THIS COMPANY ON MY WORST ENEMEY!! Thats how bad they are!!

Just do not do it - there are millions better one. I have has all different types of insurance but this beyond belief of how bad!

I just seriously how can this company be still operating.

Reviewed on 18th November 2020
jag's avatar
jag
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

AVOID IF YOU CAN!!

Avoid these guys were possible. They have had my laptop for over a month now only for me to finally get a hold of them and them to say they wont fix it (despite me paying for insurance for three years) will offer me vouchers instead and are refusing... Read more

Avoid these guys were possible. They have had my laptop for over a month now only for me to finally get a hold of them and them to say they wont fix it (despite me paying for insurance for three years) will offer me vouchers instead and are refusing to send the laptop back as apparently they now own it and all their contents. Very shady people.

Reviewed on 17th November 2020
KATIE's avatar
KATIE
Write a review

Travel Insurance

covers nothing

I had platinum insurance but when I claimed for cancellation of holiday costs, they were not covered. Would not use them again

Reviewed on 9th July 2020
nat's avatar
nat
Write a review

Credit Card

Good for 0/0 credit transfers

Easy to do money or credit transfers - remember to pay them back in the required time.

Reviewed on 29th June 2020
Thea's avatar
Thea
Write a review

Car Insurance

Debenhams doesnt even bother to send a confirmation / policy

We have paid 900 pounds for the Debenhams car insurance and all I have received from them was a text message from a no-reply-to number. Would expect at least an email with a copy of policy and info how to login to my customer account. Now trying to... Read more

We have paid 900 pounds for the Debenhams car insurance and all I have received from them was a text message from a no-reply-to number. Would expect at least an email with a copy of policy and info how to login to my customer account. Now trying to get this information from them but it is a nightmare to get through on their helpline.
Definitely not recommended.

Reviewed on 15th February 2020
Dr P Glisboury's avatar
Dr P Glisboury
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

DISGRACEFUL

I have been discussing this with taurus for weeks. It seems they will do anything to avoid paying out.... Read more

I have been discussing this with taurus for weeks. It seems they will do anything to avoid paying out.

Be warmed !! THEY WILL DO ANYTHING TO AVOID PAYING OUT

Be warned ! they seem happy to fix phones etc. However, reading the reviews it seems when you actually lose your phone they don't want to pay you...they don't want to fork out the big bucks to pay and will find any reason to refute your claim! If you look at other review websites they have significantly lower scores!

I am nothing short of disgusted with this service. I have never dealt with such a badly run company in my life, asking for all manner of documents such as travel documents (even though I lost my phone in the UK) and all in the obvious hope I would get bored and give up!

Well...I have no intention on giving up and I will go to the ombudsman, resolver etc until this is fixed and Taurus do the right thing and pay me what I am owed !!

Also, whilst this claims process has been dragged out unnecessarily, they have charged me again for this months insurance...insurance for what...the phone is lost! Seems like more ways to squeeze money.

PLEASE EVERYONE AVOID AND SIMPLY PICK A MARGINALLY MORE EXPENSIVE PROVIDER - IT WILL SAVE YOU A LOT OF TIME AND HASSLE !!!

Reviewed on 10th February 2020
b park's avatar
b park
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

Mess around

I’ve had to send a broken phone back 3 times and it’s still not working. They’ve now offered me a third of the cost of the phone as a replacement. Don’t touch this company and make sure you read the terms and conditions!!!

Reviewed on 30th January 2020
Tommy McAndrew's avatar
Tommy McAndrew
Write a review

Car Insurance

If I could put 0 stars I would

If you are ever unlucky enough to be in an accident that was not your fault well that means absolutely nothing. It is your fault, you will lose your NCB, have to pay your excess and any other costs. They will not let you make a non-fault claim it... Read more

If you are ever unlucky enough to be in an accident that was not your fault well that means absolutely nothing. It is your fault, you will lose your NCB, have to pay your excess and any other costs. They will not let you make a non-fault claim it always has to be a claim against you

A year later £900 excess paid, injured in the accident and they still have not provided me any information on if this case has moved at all. Thank god for solicitors who actually do something because if it was down to Debenhams then it would never be resolved

The staff are rude and you spend all your time on hold to then be cut off.. or they will say they are awaiting an update for the third party. Hmm, not sure how they can use this excuse after a year? Luckily I have solicitor and family support to make sure I get everything back from this claim

Do not waste your money or time because you end up doing their job to get anything done!

Reviewed on 28th October 2019
lucy 's avatar
lucy
Write a review

Travel Money

Very small denomination notes supplied and staff and customer support unhelpful

Went to collect 4000 Croatian Kuna, ordered online, from local Bedford store. It was given to me in 60 x 50 Kuna notes (1 x 50 Kuna note = £6.25) and 100! x 10 Kuna notes (1 x 10 Kuna note = £1.25). This wedge of notes was over an inch thick, not h... Read more

Went to collect 4000 Croatian Kuna, ordered online, from local Bedford store. It was given to me in 60 x 50 Kuna notes (1 x 50 Kuna note = £6.25) and 100! x 10 Kuna notes (1 x 10 Kuna note = £1.25). This wedge of notes was over an inch thick, not handy at all to fit into your wallets. This is no better than ordering Euros and being given 80 x1 Euro coins! I tried querying this with the guy at Debenhams but it was a ‘computer says no’ and was completely unhelpful. On returning home I phoned the Debenhams help line (should have just banged my head against the wall instead) and informed that’s just the way it is, but I could take it back and they would change it back to pounds. Obviously they would generously charge me for this! Shall not bother with Debenhams again, most unhelpful.

Reviewed on 5th September 2019
Derick Wheelhouse's avatar
Derick Wheelhouse
Write a review

Travel Money

Offers

If you exchange your money, they will give you vouchers or gift cards. Then you can this to make purchases in store.

Reviewed on 27th July 2019
Vaishali Arora's avatar
Vaishali Arora
Write a review

Car Insurance

Great staff

I helped my mum to get her car insurance with them and managed the account for her. They were fantastic

Reviewed on 10th July 2019
Maria Gellar's avatar
Maria Gellar
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

Excellent service

Made a claim online for a damaged mobile phone and this was approved the following working day. Able to take the phone to an Apple Store to be repaired and charge back to the insurance which makes the process a lot easier and less stressful.

Reviewed on 3rd July 2019
Cameron 's avatar
Cameron
Write a review

Travel Money

Faith restored after they sorted out a mistake

After getting some eastern European money for a trip my daughter was going on, she discovered that she had been given the wrong currency! By this time she had landed and was hoping to begin enjoying her holiday! I was extremely cross and made a trip... Read more

After getting some eastern European money for a trip my daughter was going on, she discovered that she had been given the wrong currency! By this time she had landed and was hoping to begin enjoying her holiday! I was extremely cross and made a trip to the store in question the very next morning, a round trip of 130 miles. I am so happy to report that the bureau has secure systems in place and I had not even finished my opening sentence when the cashiers knew who I was and the process is in motion to sort everything out. Sure, the mistake should not have happened, but human error is a fact of life, and as long as things can be sorted and people admit their errors, I am happy. There are more important things in life to get anxious about!

Reviewed on 28th June 2019
Anne H's avatar
Anne H
Write a review

Car Insurance

They do not care

Terrible insurance company. £25 cancellation fee is disgusting, it would not have cost them anything to cancel my policy, it had not even started. When I phoned they were rude and when you email they do not acknowledge your complaint or answer your ... Read more

Terrible insurance company. £25 cancellation fee is disgusting, it would not have cost them anything to cancel my policy, it had not even started. When I phoned they were rude and when you email they do not acknowledge your complaint or answer your questions. I will not ever consider again.

Reviewed on 30th May 2019
Caroline Pritchard's avatar
Caroline Pritchard
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

They dont'y pay out

Unless you tick all the boxes exactly, they don't pay out. You are better of keeping your money in your pocket. They will always find a reason not to pay

Reviewed on 22nd March 2019
Robert Copley's avatar
Robert Copley
Write a review

Travel Money

NEVER AGAIN

NEVER... Read more

NEVER AGAIN!

Ordered £500 worth of Euros online - got a confirmation email and money was taken straight away. Went in to collect my money the next day and was told they'd run out of Euro and shouldn't have taken my money. 19 days and many frantic phonecalls later I finally got my refund - a far cry from the "10 working days" I was promised when they shouldn't have taken my money in the first place!!

Down £1000 and I had to go somewhere else to get my Euro for my holiday - would never use them again and I'd urge anyone else against it too.

Reviewed on 20th March 2019
Aisling Murphy's avatar
Aisling Murphy
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

Mr Nas

Please do not take a policy. It may say Debenhams but they have nothing to do with Debenhams store. They refurbish mobile phones are not purchased from the UK for example on the iphone I received is not covered under the manufacturers warranty in uk... Read more

Please do not take a policy. It may say Debenhams but they have nothing to do with Debenhams store. They refurbish mobile phones are not purchased from the UK for example on the iphone I received is not covered under the manufacturers warranty in uk because it was Registered in Cyprus. This company is a waste of time please please spend your money wisely do not look at the name Debenhams Gadget insurance scam scam

Reviewed on 10th March 2019
Mr nas's avatar
Mr nas
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

The worst insurance company EVER

What a absolute joke of a company!! Debenhams should be ashamed to be associated with such a company, promise the best service and cover.... couldn’t be further from the truth!!! Do not take policy out.

Reviewed on 11th February 2019
Jenna's avatar
Jenna
Write a review

Gadget Insurance

Nasir

This company is literally after your money do not think that the name Debenhams gadget insurance is part of Debenhams it is NOT. I made a claim which was accepted after they wanted a picture of me next to my passport ID and all the other relevant... Read more

This company is literally after your money do not think that the name Debenhams gadget insurance is part of Debenhams it is NOT. I made a claim which was accepted after they wanted a picture of me next to my passport ID and all the other relevant documents the time. It tookthem to process the claim two weeks each time you email it takes 48 hours for them to give Reply back Do you have given me a replacement handset which is not Purchase the UK After I did a check on the Apple site the phone does not even have warranty. Apple help with any issues So I made a complaint and I’m not happy with this replacement handset as it’s not a UK handset. Since I’ve given all the proof I’m raised a complaint in reply they said we have to cancel your policy due to a high number of claims. this is my second claim in nearly 8 months I would not recommend this company to anyone really bad attitude over the phone and when you asked them a question in reply you get please hold the line for one minute lol It’s a bunch of monkeys under the side

Reviewed on 11th December 2018
Nas's avatar
Nas
Write a review