Explorer Travel Insurance Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 10 reviews       Last review 5 days ago    

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different...

READ MORE

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different policies to choose from, finding the right policy for you can be quite confusing. Reading our Explorer Travel Insurance travel insurance reviews can help you find out what other travellers have to say. You can also write your Explorer Travel Insurance travel insurance review too!

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Travel Insurance Reviews

10 reviews

Review Explorer Travel Insurance's Travel Insurance now

Shocking!

Absolutely shocking. My mum took out a policy for herself and my step day with this company to cover travel for the next year. All of their medical history had been declared. A week before their first trip my step dad became seriously ill and hadto go int Read more

Absolutely shocking. My mum took out a policy for herself and my step day with this company to cover travel for the next year. All of their medical history had been declared. A week before their first trip my step dad became seriously ill and hadto go into hospital. As per the policy instructions my mum informed the company of the change in my step dads health. Unfortunately my step dad became very unwell in hospital and they hadto cancel their trip. Despite being covered for the whole year which included cancellation cover the company refused to take on their claim and they have lost over £5000. Do not use this company you'd be better off without insurance as when looking at the fine print there is hardly any reason you could give to claim on the insurance as there are so many things that void the insurance. Read their fine print and get a policy with someone else!

Reviewed on 29th November 2022
Rachel's avatar
Rachel

Shocking

Absolutely shocking. My mum took out a policy for herself and my step day with this company to cover travel for the next year. All of their medical history had been declared. A week before their first trip my step dad became seriously ill and hadto go int Read more

Absolutely shocking. My mum took out a policy for herself and my step day with this company to cover travel for the next year. All of their medical history had been declared. A week before their first trip my step dad became seriously ill and hadto go into hospital. As per the policy instructions my mum informed the company of the change in my step dads health. Unfortunately my step dad became very unwell in hospital and they hadto cancel their trip. Despite being covered for the whole year which included cancellation cover the company refused to take on their claim and they have lost over £5000. Do not use this company you'd be better off without insurance as when looking at the fine print there is hardly any reason you could give to claim on the insurance as there are so many things that void the insurance. Read their fine print and get a policy with someone else!

Reviewed on 29th November 2022
Rachel's avatar
Rachel

Good value insurance, and my claim was paid without any hassle

I'd booked my travel insurance to Malta in March 2019, and just a week before I travelled I had to go into hospital for an emergency operation. I had to cancel my trip, and am glad I arranged my insurance with Explorer. The claim process was very s Read more

I'd booked my travel insurance to Malta in March 2019, and just a week before I travelled I had to go into hospital for an emergency operation.

I had to cancel my trip, and am glad I arranged my insurance with Explorer.

The claim process was very straightforward, and I was paid everything I claimed for within 2 weeks of sending in my claim.

Will definitely use them again

Reviewed on 11th January 2020
warwickshirelad's avatar
warwickshirelad

Excellent annual travel cover that meets my holiday needs

Complete peace of mind with this comprehensive travel cover at a very reasonable price. Thank you Explorer. ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed on 21st July 2019
elham.ruban66@gmail.com 's avatar
elham.ruban66@gmail.com

Never a problem

My wife and myself have used Explorer on a few occasions and have always found them to be very competitive on prices. However, the true worth of any insurance company is when it comes to paying a claim.Unfortunately, last year we had to make a medical cl Read more

My wife and myself have used Explorer on a few occasions and have always found them to be very competitive on prices. However, the true worth of any insurance company is when it comes to paying a claim.Unfortunately, last year we had to make a medical claim when we returned from our holiday.This was handled and paid by Explorer without any problems whatsoever.We are using them again and would not hesitate in recommending them.

Reviewed on 26th May 2018
Clive Wilton's avatar
Clive Wilton

A

PLEASE SHARE. I took this holiday insurance out in full understanding that my cancellation charges would be covered so that I could go away with my Mum on a cruise earlier this year. EXPLORER TRAVEL INSURANCE which I thought it was who then put me in tou Read more

PLEASE SHARE. I took this holiday insurance out in full understanding that my cancellation charges would be covered so that I could go away with my Mum on a cruise earlier this year. EXPLORER TRAVEL INSURANCE which I thought it was who then put me in touch with FOGG TRAVEL INSURANCE have sent me a letter today saying that they won’t pay out any of the £2,500 that is owed because my mums illness was in 2016 despite the fact we have a doctors note stating that she was okay at the time of booking. We’ve had lots of problems with travel insurance in the past and now this on top of my Mum passing away really has topped it off so if you could share this please it would be much appreciated. We take insurance out on cars, on holidays, our homes and many other things but they always seem to have a way of getting out of it rather than providing you with a service you take it out for in the first place ! so it’s quite hard to accept especially after what’s happened and with actually paying more thinking it was the best one. Clearly not

Reviewed on 5th December 2017
Jono Crofts's avatar
Jono Crofts

AVOID AT ALL COSTS - CON ARTISTS

Tried to claim for a cancelled holiday. Avoided paying out alongside a long-winded jargon filled explanation. Terrible company - complete rip off.

Reviewed on 6th September 2017
JAMIE's avatar
JAMIE

Cheap and everything you need

Didn't end up claiming anything on the insurance but it was significantly cheaper than the competition for exactly the same cover. I was going for a month so the difference was about 20 pounds.

Reviewed on 25th August 2017
Callum Robertson's avatar
Callum Robertson

Much worse than other insurance companies DON'T USE

Recently traveled to South America, where my partner and I missed an internal flight due to our taxi breaking down at 3am in the morning in Rio. My insurance company, HSBC, covered my half of the bill for a new flight as stated in my policy. Explorer trav Read more

Recently traveled to South America, where my partner and I missed an internal flight due to our taxi breaking down at 3am in the morning in Rio. My insurance company, HSBC, covered my half of the bill for a new flight as stated in my policy. Explorer travel insurance has the same policy but refused to honor the insurance as they demanded proof from the taxi firm (we got the equivalent to a black cab so there was no booking or company) and managed to get in another cab before breakdown came to fix the original one as we thought we could still make it. DO NOT EVER USE Explorer Travel Insurance, use a proper insurance company so they don't screw you over

Reviewed on 5th September 2016
Aaron's avatar
Aaron

easy to arrange

found the whole experience of buying a policy easy with an excellent quote which beat all others. Thankfully I did not have to claim, so can't rate them on this aspect

Reviewed on 24th December 2015
dianehill's avatar
dianehill