Smart Money People Logo

Melton Building Society: Savings reviews

4.79
Based on 1,647 reviews, last reviewed 12th Feb 2024
47% decrease in 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
167% increase in 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
86%
See only 4 star reviews
9%
See only 3 star reviews
2%
See only 2 star reviews
1%
See only 1 star reviews
2%

Latest highest rating:

4

online banking Easy to use account online, never had any problems, good interest rates Reviewed on: 7th February 2024
Lynn H's avatar
Lynn H

Latest lowest rating:

1

Poor Customer Service We have been with the society for a number of years using Online Fixed Rate Savings but customer service is now very poor. We can't get through on the... Read more Reviewed on: 12th February 2024

About the Savings

The Melton Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out more about life at The Melton Building Society. How easy is it to contact The Melton? And how friendly are they? Our Melton Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out information like this. Smart Money People is an independent source of honest reviews.

Review Melton Building Society: Savings now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

Melton Building Society Savings reviews (1647)

Poor Customer Service

1
We have been with the society for a number of years using Online Fixed Rate Savings but customer service is now very poor. We can't get through on the phone as they are very busy, the call back system is a waste of time and logging in online is very difficult. We also don't get a final balnce for closure of the account. Reviewed on: 12th February 2024
Reply from Melton Building Society We're sorry to hear of the difficulty you have had trying to reach us and would like to hear more about your experience so we can try and be better next time. If you can send us more information and your details to [email protected] we can look into what’s happened and support you where we can. Many Thanks, Kayleigh Response date: 14th February 2024
Melton Building Society Logo
Melton Building Society

online banking

4
Easy to use account online, never had any problems, good interest rates Reviewed on: 7th February 2024
Lynn H's avatar
Lynn H
Reply from Melton Building Society Great to hear, thanks Lynn Response date: 8th February 2024
Melton Building Society Logo
Melton Building Society

Stealth charges!!!!

1
In December, despite having given the required 180 days notice on a withdrawal from my savings account, the Oakham branch incorrectly processed the transaction with a penalty charge. Now this is where it gets interesting. Rather than show this penalty as a single open and transparent transaction on my statement, they deducted the amount from my monthly interest without any reference to it on the statement. If I hadn't been on the ball it would have gone unnoticed. Complained and after chasing, received an apology and a derisory amount of compensation for stress and distress "Branch error, won't happen again etc ". Well the exact same thing has happened AGAIN in January. Have you checked your interest if you've made a withdrawal because I would suggest you do!!! Reviewed on: 1st February 2024
Tim Miled's avatar
Tim Miled
Reply from Melton Building Society Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you feel this way. Please email [email protected] as we'd like to hear about your thoughts in more detail. Thank you. Response date: 5th February 2024
Melton Building Society Logo
Melton Building Society

Melton Building Society Branch Review

5
I like the efficiency of dealing with your staff on telephone. Disappointed in not being allowed to open an ISA account due to the rule that I must apply in person because of the distance. Reviewed on: 29th January 2024

Do you have a different Melton Building Society product?

Share your experiences with products to help others make smarter financial decisions and learn more about different products available. Write a review

There's still more to see!

Melton Building Society has a range of products available. Check the ratings of each product to find the right one for you. View all products