Skipton Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 29 reviews Last review 5 months ago
4.03 / 5Great overall rating

The Skipton Building Society was established in 1853 in Skipton, North Yorkshire. Smart Money People is the place for Skipton Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 16
4 6
3 3
2 0
1 4

Your Skipton Building Society Reviews (29)

Write a review
19th May 2020

Poor service, sharp practice

I would recommend against using Skipton for your savings. I recently opened an ISA account with Skipton. I was about to move funds from my previous bank into the new account, and Skipton closed my ISA before I could do so. Their Terms state you have...

Read more

I would recommend against using Skipton for your savings. I recently opened an ISA account with Skipton. I was about to move funds from my previous bank into the new account, and Skipton closed my ISA before I could do so. Their Terms state you have 30 days to make a deposit, but they unexpectedly closed my ISA well before this. Their explanation that the ISA account I opened (in good faith) happened to be taken ‘off sale’ during the 30 days. Hardly my fault. This is at best unfair and I would class it as sharp practice. So much for banks & building societies being sensitive during the coronavirus crisis!

Write a review
18th April 2020

Total failure to do their jobs constant cut and paste mentality zero adjustments for disabled customers

Terrible just terrible toward diverse...

Read more

Terrible just terrible toward diverse customers...

Where to start! Firstly they don't understand anything relating to disabled customers. Managers don't even deal with complaints always front line customer service advisor teams instead. Front line staff in the contact centre clearly have no disability awareness training and the same for departments behind the scenes as constant failures to even look at disability needs throughout all dealings.

Clear a customer financially ok but then faff about no end to avoid having to lend. Weeks and months of endless LIVING HELL stress with constantly being passed about and cut and paste generic responses no regard for disabled customers accessibility needs or circumstances at all. Clearly don't understand the Equality Act at all. Even told me to go elsewhere! What a disgrace.

For a company that advertises when your money is in a good place so are you... Clearly not living up to your values! Treating customers as individuals would be a good start. Quite happy to give lots of money to Mental Health UK as their charity partner but have zero regards for the distress of their failure to make disability accommodations has on their own members and customers.

Don't even include full information in the complaints when submitted and issue final responses before they even compile the full information. "This is our final response" only to then read down the page where it says if we have missed any information please let us know... How can you issue a final reply without even referencing the content of the complaint??? Or even having used the full information you were supplied with...???!!!!

Shambles doesn't even sum this up. HR seriously need to start educating about disability and train their staff on what the Equality Act means. So sad as you would think that with a presence and perception to the public of local service they would do well.

Write a review
9th February 2020

Lifetime isa

An excellent product which sees the government reward you for saving by adding to your savings in line with the amount that you save up to a maximum of £4,000.00 per year for a set period of time within prescribed timescale. All money paid out when ...

Read more

An excellent product which sees the government reward you for saving by adding to your savings in line with the amount that you save up to a maximum of £4,000.00 per year for a set period of time within prescribed timescale. All money paid out when you reach age 60 years, ideal savings plan to benefit you at retirement.

Write a review
12th March 2019

Cash back scam

I purchased home insurance via Quidco in June 2018 because there was an offer of cash back. Have chased this several times via Quidco who informed me it just takes time. 9 months later got email from Quidco telling me skipton had refused to pay...

Read more

I purchased home insurance via Quidco in June 2018 because there was an offer of cash back. Have chased this several times via Quidco who informed me it just takes time. 9 months later got email from Quidco telling me skipton had refused to pay something to do with the terms and conditions. If I had been told 9 months ago that they weren’t going to pay I would have cancelled my insurance and looked elsewhere. I get 14 days to cancel but they get 9 months to refuse cash back. What a scam. Don’t use Quidco or Skipton if you want a fair deal.

Write a review
12th January 2019

Lifetime Isa for first home

One of the few banks to offer a lifetime isa and make it easy to understand through their website. The ISA can be managed online and email notifications let you know when the bonus is being applied. Very good and informative bank making it easy for...

Read more

One of the few banks to offer a lifetime isa and make it easy to understand through their website. The ISA can be managed online and email notifications let you know when the bonus is being applied. Very good and informative bank making it easy for young professionals to hop onto the property ladder.

Write a review
1st January 2018

Great Savings Product

I have encouraged both of my children-aged 18 and 20- to open a LISA with Skipton this year. It is great to know that they will both be saving for a house deposit in the future and getting a great bonus. The easy online application helped a great deal.

Read more

I have encouraged both of my children-aged 18 and 20- to open a LISA with Skipton this year. It is great to know that they will both be saving for a house deposit in the future and getting a great bonus. The easy online application helped a great deal.