Skipton Building Society Savings Reviews

  Ratings based on 10 reviews       Last review 4 weeks ago    

Skipton Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out more about life at Skipton Building Society. How easy is it to contact Skipton Building Society? And how friendly are they? Our Skipton Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out information like this. Smart Money People...

READ MORE

Skipton Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out more about life at Skipton Building Society. How easy is it to contact Skipton Building Society? And how friendly are they? Our Skipton Building Society savings reviews can help you to find out information like this. Smart Money People is an independent source of honest reviews.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Your Savings Reviews

10 reviews

Review Skipton Building Society's Savings now

ROBBING LOYAL CUSTOMERS!

Skipton's approach these days seems to be to constantly degrade existing customers accounts to ensure they pay less interest than they do new customers (Beware new customers, your time will come!). In the case of my ISA an account opened last year had bee Read more

Skipton's approach these days seems to be to constantly degrade existing customers accounts to ensure they pay less interest than they do new customers (Beware new customers, your time will come!). In the case of my ISA an account opened last year had been degraded to about 75% of the rate offered new investors! And account had already been changed by me last year because exactly the same had happened then! If you don't keep checking, you lose interest. If you do check, you waste time going in to "upgrade" account , causing inconvenience, and extra CO2 caused by extra unnecessary visits! They say they all do it, but compare Nationwide and Family/National Counties who have treated loyal customers fairly throughout. When it's re-opened, it's the same money as before, but change is necessitated by Skipton constantly moving the Goal posts. Come on Skipton, start treating long term loyal customers fairly. You wouldn't be there without us!

Reviewed on 1st November 2022
TECHNOPHOBE's avatar
TECHNOPHOBE

Horrible - difficult to withdraw your own money!

If you ever need to withdraw your entire funds from a savings account at Skipton to buy a house, you'll go through hell and high water to get YOUR money out, even from a flexible savings account. They will drag it out 4 weeks or so and many many calls of Read more

If you ever need to withdraw your entire funds from a savings account at Skipton to buy a house, you'll go through hell and high water to get YOUR money out, even from a flexible savings account. They will drag it out 4 weeks or so and many many calls of absolute misinformation. First they tell you it is being processed one week. Two weeks later someone will tell you they need a letter from your solicitor to authorise a withdrawal of YOUR funds. Unbelievable! Their customer service is appalling with one person telling you it is being processed and then another putting a stop on the transfer to YOUR bank account and this will likely go on for 4-6 weeks. If you happen to be managing funds for someone with a legitimate legally recognised and registered Power of Attorney (with the Office of Public Guardian), well they refuse to recognise it even though months prior, they acknowledged it. They can't tell you what law they use to refuse withdrawal of funds, because clearly they are acting illegally. They will tell you that THEY will decide if purchasing a house by the account holder in the account holder's name is the right thing for that account holder. Really! Since when did the consumer entrust their purchasing power and freedom to a building society? Since when did we hand over that freedom? I don't recall they had the right to manage funds over and above the Lasting Power of Attorney.

Stay away from this horrible organisation who think the consumer account is their money. There are plenty of other reputable financial institutions to choose from who operate more ethically and morally. Customer service and my review would be negative 10 (-10) if I could give such a rating here.

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
APeters's avatar
APeters

as good as any other but more personable

great customer service in all branches i have been to. know their products well too.

Reviewed on 24th September 2021
Elizabeth's avatar
Elizabeth

Excellent Building Society

Skipton have just launched a regular saver account for existing customers, paying 3.50% interest. This is an excellent rate. I have always found the staff at Skipton to be friendly and helpful. The app and service from staff are really excellent - it is e Read more

Skipton have just launched a regular saver account for existing customers, paying 3.50% interest. This is an excellent rate. I have always found the staff at Skipton to be friendly and helpful. The app and service from staff are really excellent - it is easy to send a direct mail via the app, and I can see all of my former accounts and the interest rates. Everything is simple to use and well thought through.

Reviewed on 29th August 2021
George's avatar
George

Could do better

I never really got on with Skipton Building Society. I could not seem to get their online account to work, and I do everything online now so this is a huge annoyance. The staff in my local branch have always been nice and polite though so that is a posit Read more

I never really got on with Skipton Building Society. I could not seem to get their online account to work, and I do everything online now so this is a huge annoyance.
The staff in my local branch have always been nice and polite though so that is a positive. Unsure whether I'd recommend though, would depend on the person.

Reviewed on 5th July 2017
Terri Ellis's avatar
Terri Ellis

Skipton Building Society

I've never had a problem with Skipton Building Society yet. They are always very helpful whenever I go into branch and always try to help me get the best return on my money. I would recommend Skipton to others. The one issue I have is that I don't find t Read more

I've never had a problem with Skipton Building Society yet. They are always very helpful whenever I go into branch and always try to help me get the best return on my money.
I would recommend Skipton to others. The one issue I have is that I don't find their website very user friendly but if you live close enough or have transport then you can pop into branch.

Reviewed on 22nd June 2016
Terri Ellis's avatar
Terri Ellis

Great sevice by friendly competent staff ,

We have had a saving account with The Skipton for 8 years , The company advise other options so you are always on the best scheme . The staff always competent ,knowledgeable and friendly . I wouls reccomend them to friends and famuily

Reviewed on 19th February 2016
Beryl Drake's avatar
Beryl Drake

Excellent service in branch

My branch of the Skipton maybe small but the service is really excellent. I love the 1 year saver account which I use to save for Christmas, very easy to manage with a good interest rate

Reviewed on 24th December 2015
Pauline Woodcock's avatar
Pauline Woodcock

Friendly and easy to manage

Fantastic service in branch makes it a delight to have this account with the Skitpon.

Reviewed on 19th October 2015
Ann 's avatar
Ann

On-line Saver with 4% interest

I have been a customer of Skipton Building Society for the last 20 years and in January this year they brought out a fixed rate on-line savings account paying 4% interest for the first year. I think this is one of the most competitive rates I've seen for Read more

I have been a customer of Skipton Building Society for the last 20 years and in January this year they brought out a fixed rate on-line savings account paying 4% interest for the first year. I think this is one of the most competitive rates I've seen for a few years. They are always very easy to deal with - either in the local office or when you telephone their UK based office. When I had to "wind" up my parents estate last year after their passing they were most compassionate and helpful. Every so often they have a deal on where they will do a free Will writing campaign, which I took advantage of last year. When the interest rates change on any savings account - they always write to you well in advance so that you can move your money to a higher paying account. I would recommend Skipton as a trustworthy Company to invest in.

Reviewed on 9th August 2015
Susan Hall's avatar
Susan Hall