Family Building Society Mortgages Reviews

Ratings based on 17 reviews Last review 1 month ago

Family Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of...

Read Full Description

Family Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Family Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

5 9
4 6
3 2
2 0
1 0

Our Smart Money People 360° Rating

NOT RATED
Combines our customer review data set with wider market analysis. Find out more here.

Your Mortgages Reviews (17)

Get Product
6th February 2019

Simple and Seamless

Good products, simple terminology, good communication. Have just re-mortgaged due to their performance over the last three years.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Janette, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
4th February 2019

Really helpful team

Great to have access to a support team who are friendly and helpful.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Claire, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
3rd February 2019

Flexible product. Communications not ideal

A great product for parents wanting to help their children to buy a place. My one gripe is with the communications. The statements are infrequent (annual by letter). I would like to be able to check the balance on line.

Reply from Family Building Society
Dear Miss Galton, Thank you for your feedback regarding your account. As you have an online account you are able to view your balance online as long as you have entered your verification code successfully. If you need any further help, please email savings.service@familybsoc.co.uk or call our Family Service Team on 03330 140144.
Get Product
31st January 2019

Overall very good.

Took a bit long firstly about two weeks getting answers to questions then with docs not arriving and then after a week docs not yet sent, but good result in being able to switch mortgage and also pay down my mortgage. NCBS honoured original terms...

Read more

Took a bit long firstly about two weeks getting answers to questions then with docs not arriving and then after a week docs not yet sent, but good result in being able to switch mortgage and also pay down my mortgage. NCBS honoured original terms despite the delay out of time. We got there
and staff were helpful so very happy about it all.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi again Mike, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
26th January 2019

Provided what I needed

Following an intensive search the FBS was the only provider that provided a mortgage that met my needs. Subsequent transfer of the produce was straightforward.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
26th January 2019

Good provider for older borrowers

Everything has gone smoothly with my original mortgage and recent remortgage.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Murray, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
26th January 2019

Not a "cookie-cutter" Building Society. Adaptive to each customer!

Truly understands the MANY different needs of families (especially older...

Read more

Truly understands the MANY different needs of families (especially older people).
Most Building Societies have great marketing hype - but underneath have an inflexible one-size-fits-all philosophy.
You go the extra mile to understand each customers needs and adapts to them - and with highly competitive rates.
Well done - you are truly different.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Pete, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

A contented customer

We are extremely impressed with this company, with whom we have a small mortgage. We expect financial competence from mortgage providers, but the Family Building Society is also friendly, helpful and trustworthy. The human face of financial services...

Read more

We are extremely impressed with this company, with whom we have a small mortgage. We expect financial competence from mortgage providers, but the Family Building Society is also friendly, helpful and trustworthy. The human face of financial services best describes this company.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Peter, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Care Kindness& Courtesy

We are treated as family.,even though our mortgage and savings are modest.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi William and Grace, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage and savings. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Care Kindness and Courtesy

We have a small mortgage and a small savings account. Whenever we contact the Family Building Society we are treated as "family".

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi William and Grace, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage and savings. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Really Ives up to its name "The Family Building Society".

We, my wife and I were recommended to remortgage with the Society, by our financial advisor. This was several years ago when a number of other lenders were turning their noses up at Siver Surfers in need of a mortgage. From day one we found that...

Read more

We, my wife and I were recommended to remortgage with the Society, by our financial advisor. This was several years ago when a number of other lenders were turning their noses up at Siver Surfers in need of a mortgage. From day one we found that anyone we contacted at the Society was friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to help. After a relatively short time we were hoping to move home, this time I contacted directly. We were give my a personal contact who organised everything smoothly. Unfortunately the sale and purchase fell through but the help from the Society's team will not be forgotten. I think the should possible be called " The Friendy Building Society".

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi William, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Friendly, professional and helpful.

Outstanding service. The phone is answered quickly by someone who knows what they are talking about and who deals with my queries and mortgage arrangements promptly and professionally. They are friendly and helpful and a pleasure to do business with.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Jay, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Easy to deal with and very good service

Sorted out re mortgage in only a few weeks without any problems. It was simple and excellent service

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Chris, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Does what it says on the tin.

As far as arranging a mortgage goes, this was fairly straightforward. The mortgage wasn’t the life mortgage I wanted, but pretty close. When the introductory period was over changing to another product was easy, and my broker recommended staying where ...

Read more

As far as arranging a mortgage goes, this was fairly straightforward. The mortgage wasn’t the life mortgage I wanted, but pretty close. When the introductory period was over changing to another product was easy, and my broker recommended staying where I was. My pension easily covers repayments so hopefully the period can be increased eventually especially as this type of mortgage must be the way to go with an aging population that needs choice.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Chris, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Your response to my message

Many thanks for such a user-friendly online site, I registered to use it about a week ago. I do have one issue though, I left you a question regarding my mortgage product using the message system and am still waiting for a reply. Thanks for your...

Read more

Many thanks for such a user-friendly online site, I registered to use it about a week ago. I do have one issue though, I left you a question regarding my mortgage product using the message system and am still waiting for a reply. Thanks for your assistance and have a pleasant weekend. Regards, Nick Lawrence.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Mr Lawrence, thanks for your review and feedback. I understand that someone from our customer services team has now been in touch to help you with your mortgage query. If you need any further help, please call our Family Service Team on 03330 140146 or email mortgage.service@familybsoc.co.uk
Get Product
9th December 2018

Mortgage variation at end of Fixed Rate Mortgage Repayments

Staff were very helpful. Product Options were very clearly stated with sufficient detail to enable the right product to be choosen. Minimum paperwork and a fast and efficient service.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi James, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
21st November 2018

Quality Service, Friendly People

Took out a Fixed Term Mortgage with the Society just over six months ago and I found that the staff were fully up dated on the range of products on offer and very helpful in answering any questions which I had and made the whole process as easy as...

Read more

Took out a Fixed Term Mortgage with the Society just over six months ago and I found that the staff were fully up dated on the range of products on offer and very helpful in answering any questions which I had and made the whole process as easy as they could.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hello again Bob, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with the mortgage. Thanks, Vicky