Voting in the British Bank Awards 2020 is now open.
VOTE NOW

Family Building Society Mortgages Reviews

Ratings based on 24 reviews Last review 4 weeks ago

Family Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of...

Read Full Description

Family Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Family Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

5 14
4 8
3 2
2 0
1 0

Your Mortgages Reviews (24)

Get Product
8th November 2019

Stress Free Experience

Our 2 year fixed rate mortgage was up for renewal and I found swapping to a new product with The Family Building Society was carried out in a friendly helpful manner with an easy switch over and would highly recommend contacting The Family Building...

Read more

Our 2 year fixed rate mortgage was up for renewal and I found swapping to a new product with The Family Building Society was carried out in a friendly helpful manner with an easy switch over and would highly recommend contacting The Family Building Society when considering a mortgage.

Get Product
27th July 2019

This is a family BS for all the family and best of all it is local.

...

Read more






As a family we value being able to visit our BS rather than it being an anonymous organisation via computer. We are seen quickly by courteous staff who seem to be able to answer any questions off the tip of their tongue - no delays while they 'find out'!

Would definitely recommend.

Get Product
26th July 2019

Great financial products and service.

Had a lot of organising to do including off set montage and savings accounts to set up. Family BS were great, very professional and offered everything we needed with online access for easy use and very secure website for peace of mind... would recommend.

Read more

Had a lot of organising to do including off set montage and savings accounts to set up. Family BS were great, very professional and offered everything we needed with online access for easy use and very secure website for peace of mind... would recommend.

Get Product
6th February 2019

Simple and Seamless

Good products, simple terminology, good communication. Have just re-mortgaged due to their performance over the last three years.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Janette, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
4th February 2019

Really helpful team

Great to have access to a support team who are friendly and helpful.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Claire, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
3rd February 2019

Flexible product. Communications not ideal

A great product for parents wanting to help their children to buy a place. My one gripe is with the communications. The statements are infrequent (annual by letter). I would like to be able to check the balance on line.

Reply from Family Building Society
Dear Miss Galton, Thank you for your feedback regarding your account. As you have an online account you are able to view your balance online as long as you have entered your verification code successfully. If you need any further help, please email savings.service@familybsoc.co.uk or call our Family Service Team on 03330 140144.
Get Product
31st January 2019

Overall very good.

Took a bit long firstly about two weeks getting answers to questions then with docs not arriving and then after a week docs not yet sent, but good result in being able to switch mortgage and also pay down my mortgage. NCBS honoured original terms...

Read more

Took a bit long firstly about two weeks getting answers to questions then with docs not arriving and then after a week docs not yet sent, but good result in being able to switch mortgage and also pay down my mortgage. NCBS honoured original terms despite the delay out of time. We got there
and staff were helpful so very happy about it all.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi again Mike, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
26th January 2019

Provided what I needed

Following an intensive search the FBS was the only provider that provided a mortgage that met my needs. Subsequent transfer of the produce was straightforward.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
26th January 2019

Good provider for older borrowers

Everything has gone smoothly with my original mortgage and recent remortgage.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Murray, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
26th January 2019

Not a "cookie-cutter" Building Society. Adaptive to each customer!

Truly understands the MANY different needs of families (especially older...

Read more

Truly understands the MANY different needs of families (especially older people).
Most Building Societies have great marketing hype - but underneath have an inflexible one-size-fits-all philosophy.
You go the extra mile to understand each customers needs and adapts to them - and with highly competitive rates.
Well done - you are truly different.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Pete, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

A contented customer

We are extremely impressed with this company, with whom we have a small mortgage. We expect financial competence from mortgage providers, but the Family Building Society is also friendly, helpful and trustworthy. The human face of financial services...

Read more

We are extremely impressed with this company, with whom we have a small mortgage. We expect financial competence from mortgage providers, but the Family Building Society is also friendly, helpful and trustworthy. The human face of financial services best describes this company.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Peter, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Care Kindness& Courtesy

We are treated as family.,even though our mortgage and savings are modest.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi William and Grace, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage and savings. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Care Kindness and Courtesy

We have a small mortgage and a small savings account. Whenever we contact the Family Building Society we are treated as "family".

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi William and Grace, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage and savings. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Really Ives up to its name "The Family Building Society".

We, my wife and I were recommended to remortgage with the Society, by our financial advisor. This was several years ago when a number of other lenders were turning their noses up at Siver Surfers in need of a mortgage. From day one we found that...

Read more

We, my wife and I were recommended to remortgage with the Society, by our financial advisor. This was several years ago when a number of other lenders were turning their noses up at Siver Surfers in need of a mortgage. From day one we found that anyone we contacted at the Society was friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to help. After a relatively short time we were hoping to move home, this time I contacted directly. We were give my a personal contact who organised everything smoothly. Unfortunately the sale and purchase fell through but the help from the Society's team will not be forgotten. I think the should possible be called " The Friendy Building Society".

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi William, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Friendly, professional and helpful.

Outstanding service. The phone is answered quickly by someone who knows what they are talking about and who deals with my queries and mortgage arrangements promptly and professionally. They are friendly and helpful and a pleasure to do business with.

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Jay, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky
Get Product
25th January 2019

Easy to deal with and very good service

Sorted out re mortgage in only a few weeks without any problems. It was simple and excellent service

Reply from Family Building Society
Hi Chris, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for giving us such positive feedback. We really appreciate it. I’m so glad we could help you with your mortgage. Thanks, Vicky