Bell Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 16 reviews       Last review 1 year ago    

Bell Insurance reviews can help you to find out what other customers have to say about this insurance company (which is part of the Admiral Group). Read and write Bell Insurance reviews and help us to increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Bell Insurance Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

75% of feedback is People related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: Online

Car Insurance

Absolutely incredible customer service

Great company. Always helpful. Always polite. Will offer support whenever you need. Any problems I have had they would be there to provide the answers. Affordable.

Reviewed on 16th July 2020
Luke Alfano 's avatar
Luke Alfano
Write a review

Car Insurance

I FEEL LIKE I AM BEING ROBBED BY THIS COMPANY!

I am having absolutely the worst experience with this... Read more

I am having absolutely the worst experience with this company!
I feel like they've abducted my bank account and that they have the right to just take money from it whenever they want!
I feel trapped with this company and powerless to do anything about it.
I was hit by another driver on my driver's side rear door while on a roundabout lane closest to the exit I was going to take. Both my lane and the lane the other car came from could be used to exit the roundabout but somehow the other driver decided to come to my lane and hit me, causing my car to spin in the middle of the roundabout and when it stopped it was facing the opposite direction. I took pictures and sent them to Bell. Since then, I had so many calls with them and I had to explain to several different people EVERYTHING over and over again, even though everything was already written in their file! Every time I'd spend an hour on the phone explaining all the details again, just because they couldn't be bothered to read the file.

This incident happend when my policy renewal date was almost due and of course they took the chance to increase my premium my nearly 200 pounds! They had just opened the claim and they were nowhere near having a conclusion. It has been 6 weeks already and they sent me another e-mail today, asking for the same information I already gave them so many times!! This just makes me think they are nowhere close to resolving this.
When I complained about the raise in premium, they said they had to quote me as having had an accident AT FAULT just because I have an open claim!!!! THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I was hit by someone else a couple of weeks before my renewal and now I have to pay as if it was my fault, just because they are still investigating (or so they say)!!
They just charged me directly through direct debit and there was nothing I could do!
This is just disrespectful and unfair! They should have to wait until they have a conclusion before they can raise my premium and charge me for that. They don't even have a maximum amount of time they are required to resolve the claim, so they are not even worried! The money is already IN THEIR POCKETS!
I also asked if I could get another quote, to which they responded that they couldn't change my policy premium since a claim was open. Well this is just a LIE because when I was unfortunate enough to get a speeding ticket shortly after, they were very happy to raise my premium AGAIN (retroactively!!) and inform me they were going to charge me through direct debit again!
When it suits them, they can change the premium and charge me directly even if a claim is open and the renewal premium was already paid for and if it doesn't suit them, they just say they can't change the premium because there is an open claim.
I feel TRAPPED in a situation I can't do anything about, despite my many phone calls with them and I feel lied to and robbed, as they say and do whatever they see fit and just take my money.
I am seriouly considering paying more to switch to another insurance company just so that I don't have to deal with them anymore!

Reviewed on 6th December 2019
HC's avatar
HC
Write a review

Car Insurance

Great

I have had a great experience with Bell Insurance. I signed up to Bell when I bought my 1st ever car. At the beginning I was anxious as I had to get a black box put in my car in order to keep the price down however it did actually teach me to be a... Read more

I have had a great experience with Bell Insurance. I signed up to Bell when I bought my 1st ever car. At the beginning I was anxious as I had to get a black box put in my car in order to keep the price down however it did actually teach me to be a better driver. Bell also keep me up to date with plenty of time as to when I need to renew my insurance ect so I never forget. I would highly recommend this company as their insurance prices are great .

Reviewed on 10th July 2019
Lori Gorman's avatar
Lori Gorman
Write a review

Car Insurance

Great customer service

I've been with Bell for 4 years now and just signed up for the 5th year. They're great at keeping costs low and whenever there's been any small issues they've sorted them straight away.

Reviewed on 17th July 2018
EnFuego82's avatar
EnFuego82
Write a review

Car Insurance

good

In general good insurance company, one of the reasonable prices on the market.

Reviewed on 15th July 2018
franck's avatar
franck
Write a review

Car Insurance

Sham moneyback/cashback/discount advertising - misselling

I purchased Bell car insurance in Apr 2017. Buying experience was good. I was told to connect the telematics device to my car so that they monitor my driving and if it is good then I would potentially get some money back/cash back/discount from what I... Read more

I purchased Bell car insurance in Apr 2017. Buying experience was good. I was told to connect the telematics device to my car so that they monitor my driving and if it is good then I would potentially get some money back/cash back/discount from what I paid them.
Fast forward 3 odd months and after receiving many gold standard driving accolades from Bell, I received a letter in Aug 2017 saying two things:
(1) Based on my driving, they estimate that I will be doing double the miles than I had estimated at the start of purchasing insurance so I have to pay XXX amount to them which they will deduct from my account directly by certain date.
2) Since my driving was good I was eligible to get moneyback/cashback/discount of YY amount of money. That YY will be adjusted against the XXX I owe them.

I asked them what if I don't do the miles they have estimated and remain at around the amount I had estimated. I was promised that I will get the full money or part money back.

Fast forward to end of year, I had done less than the miles that I had estimated so I am eligible for getting the entire XXX that Bell had taken from me. For everyone I spoke with , it seems logical but not to Bell. Bell are saying they will give me only (XXX-YY) as I never paid them YY. I said yes, I did not pay YY because that was something I earned and you had adjusted against XXX. But the staff don't seem to get it.
Staff gave me following example: You go to supermarket, buy goods worth GBP200 and the supermarket is very happy and gives you discount of GBP30. If you return all the goods then you get GBP170 back or GBP200. But I tried to explain to him that your example is not comparing apples to apples.
I told him that lets say(again in a hurry as the staff was super busy), supermarket announce to me for being a good & loyal customer we will give you GBP30 for being a good customer. I go to supermarket buy goods worth GBP200, supermarket says since we are giving you GBP30 as a good will gesture, you pay only GBP170. Now for some reason if I return everything I purchased i.e. GBP 200 worth of goods then supermarket must pay me GBP200 or GBP30? Staff tell me that it will be GBP170 and not GBP30 as I never paid GBP30. I am telling them that GBP30 was something I earned as a good and loyal customer but no. Not sure if the staff dont understand or they are acting dumb!

Reviewed on 18th April 2018
KGM's avatar
KGM
Write a review

Car Insurance

helpful for young people

helped get the cost down for a medical student by exporing all options

Reviewed on 10th February 2018
mark osborne's avatar
mark osborne
Write a review

Car Insurance

IF YOU VALUE YOUR SANITY - GO ELSEWHERE, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

After a bad experience with the AA last year I switched to Bell Car Insurance. Their Plug and Play telematics device, fell to bits within a few days, after having interfered with the car's ecu and had to be sent back. They tried to charge me extra for... Read more

After a bad experience with the AA last year I switched to Bell Car Insurance. Their Plug and Play telematics device, fell to bits within a few days, after having interfered with the car's ecu and had to be sent back. They tried to charge me extra for keeping me covered without their "rubbish" device, but I was not going to fall for that one! About a month ago a driver was reversing the "wrong way along a one-way street" and hit my car, which was stationary at the time. I rang and asked for some advice and asked if they could look at some CCTV footage that had captured the entire event. The damage to my car was minimal, so I hadn't made a claim. All I wanted was some advice as to who they thought was to blame! I was then bombarded with letters, texts, e-mails and phone-calls, all wanting to speak about my claim. I hadn't made claim! They reduced my No Claims Bonus, even though it was protected, added £200 to renew my policy, added another £80 to my current year's policy, and believe it or not, arranged an automated call to me at 2.30am to discuss my claim. What part of "I HAVE NOT MADE A CLAIM" do they not understand? This is harassment and I have now issued legal proceedings against them. I

Reviewed on 12th December 2017
Sheila Harris's avatar
Sheila Harris
Write a review

Car Insurance

Promises much, delivers little

Initially the product of 'plug and drive' car insurance sounds excellent! A chance to plug in a simple device to your cigarette lighter port, whereby your driving style is monitored. If you drive well you can get money back from your insurance... Read more

Initially the product of 'plug and drive' car insurance sounds excellent! A chance to plug in a simple device to your cigarette lighter port, whereby your driving style is monitored. If you drive well you can get money back from your insurance premium! Doesn't really play out like that......I drove with the device for 3 months, consistently under every speed limit, cornering slowly, ensuring I never once broke harshly or accelerated harshly. For each review I was given a bronze rating (huh?!) this was generally because, (something they fail to tell you) I had to drive home due to working in a restaurant, during the early hours of the morning. This was classed as driving at statistically dangerous times? (Again- huh?!) Furthermore, another loophole to bring down your rating was using the locations you drove in- if more statistically dangerous- you were given a poorer rating. Overall a complete fad. If you have any hope of gaining a reward for good driving and getting a bit of money back from your extortionate premium with Bell, I'm afraid you have better chance of winning the grand national, riding a 3 legged horse, whilst balancing a tea set on top of your head.

Reviewed on 1st September 2017
Stephen (Whittingham)'s avatar
Stephen (Whittingham)
Write a review

Car Insurance

Good customer service

Great customer service helpful and friendly staff and good value for money

Reviewed on 13th August 2017
Alexis McGhee kasravi 's avatar
Alexis McGhee kasravi
Write a review

Car Insurance

Fantastic customer care

Not long after I bought my car I had an accident on my way to work. The staff member at Bell was so kind to me on the phone&I had no hassle with sorting out my insurance. Thank you

Reviewed on 15th July 2017
Katarina Ljubica's avatar
Katarina Ljubica
Write a review

Car Insurance

Do not value customer loyalty

Every automatic renewal is higher than previous years - but, once you phone the price magically reduces. the headline price does not include key aspects of the cover though. Bell/Admiral guilt you into taking additional insurance to cover everything... Read more

Every automatic renewal is higher than previous years - but, once you phone the price magically reduces. the headline price does not include key aspects of the cover though. Bell/Admiral guilt you into taking additional insurance to cover everything from breakdown, hire cars, motor legal protection and personal injury.

Reviewed on 30th May 2017
John howard's avatar
John howard
Write a review

Car Insurance

helpful for under21

friendly and easy to understand. good value

Reviewed on 1st August 2016
Sarah Birkett's avatar
Sarah Birkett
Write a review

Car Insurance

Excellent value for money

They are excellent value for money having been with them from the beginning of my driving days!

Reviewed on 24th June 2016
Rik Rollin's avatar
Rik Rollin
Write a review

Car Insurance

Good value for money!

I always found that they were much cheaper than competitors.

Reviewed on 20th June 2016
Rik Rollin's avatar
Rik Rollin
Write a review

Car Insurance

Cheap and amazing!

Got the best insurance for a young driver through them!

Reviewed on 26th April 2016
Ashley Baldwin's avatar
Ashley Baldwin
Write a review