Darlington Building Society Reviews

  Ratings based on 3,935 reviews       Last review 3 hours ago    
  Visit Darlington Building Society

Darlington Building Society reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about this building society. The Darlington Building Society is the only mutual building society based in County Durham, the Tees Valley and North...

READ MORE

Darlington Building Society reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about this building society. The Darlington Building Society is the only mutual building society based in County Durham, the Tees Valley and North Yorkshire. Smart Money People is the UK's independent financial services review site. Read and write Darlington Building Society reviews, and together we can help to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Darlington Building Society Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Skills & Knowledge

57% of feedback is People related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: App

Darlington Building Society Products 3,935

Mortgages

Good experience

The process was made very easy on the phone.

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
DBS Verified Member's avatar
DBS Verified Member
Write a review

Savings

Barnard Castle branch review

Some branches have long waiting times - Darlington closes at 2pm - not helpful

Reviewed on 30th September 2021
Barnard Castle branch customer's avatar
Barnard Castle branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Redcar branch review

Pleasant staff, always helpful and advise on mortgage and savings are realistic

Reviewed on 30th September 2021
Redcar branch customer's avatar
Redcar branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Stockton branch reviews

I like it because it's building society. Better interest rates would be good

Reviewed on 29th September 2021
Stockton branch customer's avatar
Stockton branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Guisborough branch review

Been with Darlington for many years very good through good + bad times

Reviewed on 29th September 2021
Guisborough branch customer's avatar
Guisborough branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Stockton branch reviews

Very helpful friendly knowledgeable

Reviewed on 28th September 2021
Stockton branch customer's avatar
Stockton branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Barnard Castle branch review

The chairs in reception were particularly low

Reviewed on 27th September 2021
Barnard Castle branch customer's avatar
Barnard Castle branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Stockton branch reviews

Very friendly approachable team always happy to help

Reviewed on 27th September 2021
Stockton branch customer's avatar
Stockton branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Redcar branch review

Love the light airy feel of new location. Extremely pleasant, knowledgeable staff

Reviewed on 26th September 2021
Redcar branch customer's avatar
Redcar branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Stockton branch reviews

Staff are very polite and has a very nice atmosphere

Reviewed on 26th September 2021
Stockton branch customer's avatar
Stockton branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Guisborough branch review

Your doing fine. I met Tony a fortnight ago and he is doing absolutely great well done

Reviewed on 26th September 2021
Guisborough branch customer's avatar
Guisborough branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Tubwell Row branch review

Propose limit of high street saver account to be £85,000 -

Reviewed on 25th September 2021
Tubwell Row branch customer's avatar
Tubwell Row branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Redcar branch review

Staff always friendly and helpful

Reviewed on 25th September 2021
Redcar branch customer's avatar
Redcar branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Redcar branch review

Staff excellent, explain in detail. Lovely new premises and convenient siting Redcar

Reviewed on 24th September 2021
Redcar branch customer's avatar
Redcar branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Stockton branch reviews

Summer bond was coming to a close. Lady explained this very professionally

Reviewed on 24th September 2021
Stockton branch customer's avatar
Stockton branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Redcar branch review

Local BS with regional offices. As building society which cares for its members. Not a bank (which doesn't')

Reviewed on 23rd September 2021
Redcar branch customer's avatar
Redcar branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Bishop Auckland branch review

Would like to see a fixed rate option

Reviewed on 22nd September 2021
Bishop Auckland branch customer's avatar
Bishop Auckland branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Barnard Castle branch review

Staff very friendly and helpful. Longer opening hours would be good. Allowing more than 1 customer in at a time would be good - esp. when raining

Reviewed on 22nd September 2021
Barnard Castle branch customer's avatar
Barnard Castle branch customer
Write a review

Savings

Why is everything so difficult

After having my help to buy ISA for three years with Darlington Building Society, I finally decided to close it and go elsewhere. This is due to how difficult they make everything. Want to add a bank account to your savings? Then not only do you need... Read more

After having my help to buy ISA for three years with Darlington Building Society, I finally decided to close it and go elsewhere. This is due to how difficult they make everything. Want to add a bank account to your savings? Then not only do you need to fill out the online form, but wait for that to be accepted then receive a letter in the mail, to send it back to them with the same banking information.

Everything you change through Darlington Online has to have a letter with a 'wet signature' alongside it. Why have an online service that still requires someone to use a wet signature.

All of this makes the progress incredibly long and drawn out. There has been points where it has taken so long that I have forgotten to complete another step in the process then i'm put right back at the beginning.

I have two other banks accounts where changing my address is a one minute job, but due to how difficult DBS's system is this could take me days to have sorted- hence why I am going elsewhere.

Its a big shame because the ISA im closing is the one i've had since being a child that my dad opened for me, but it is becoming too painful to keep up with it therefore i'm not making the most of the opportunity I could have with it.

Reviewed on 22nd September 2021
hcooper's avatar
hcooper
Write a review

Savings

Northallerton branch review

Local servicesHelpful & knowledgeable staff 1 DY Later opening - Not Wednesday

Reviewed on 21st September 2021
Northallerton branch customer's avatar
Northallerton branch customer
Write a review