The Melton Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 245 reviews Last review 2 weeks ago
4.83 / 5Amazing overall rating

The Melton Building Society was established in 1875, making it one of the oldest building societies in the UK. Members share their reviews to help you find out more about life at The Melton. Smart Money People is the place for The Melton Building...

Read Full Description

The Melton Building Society was established in 1875, making it one of the oldest building societies in the UK. Members share their reviews to help you find out more about life at The Melton. Smart Money People is the place for The Melton Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 222
4 16
3 1
2 0
1 6

Your The Melton Building Society Reviews (245)

Write a review
11th November 2020

The Melton, the way it should be done.

Just joined the Melton Building Society. Impressed with the service I received when I phoned with queries about using internet banking. Your not waiting for hours pushing this and that button to try to speak to a human being. Just the ticket for...

Read more

Just joined the Melton Building Society. Impressed with the service I received when I phoned with queries about using internet banking. Your not waiting for hours pushing this and that button to try to speak to a human being. Just the ticket for older internet users like me. Well done.

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Mr Williams - lovely feedback, thank you for this. I will ensure this is fed back to the rest of the team.
Write a review
13th October 2020

Efficient friendly service

Easy to set up an account online. Quick and easy to get through on the phone - no being put on hold loop on for 10-20 mins. Efficient and friendly people actually answering the phone, not an automated service - even during Covid restrictions. ...

Read more

Easy to set up an account online. Quick and easy to get through on the phone - no being put on hold loop on for 10-20 mins. Efficient and friendly people actually answering the phone, not an automated service - even during Covid restrictions. Competitive interest rates too. What's not to like!

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Great to hear you had such a positive experience. I will feed this back to the rest of the team. Thank you!
Write a review
12th October 2020

So far, so excellent!

Just opened my first on line account with you and received excellent telephone support, from your courteous staff, with online queries. Many thanks

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Thank for taking the time to leave us your feedback - this has been communicated to the team!
Write a review
17th August 2020

Reply

Not at all happy but as we are so far down the line I dont really have much choice. But will in no way ever use the Melton ever again. I would rather pay buildstore extra fees than use the Melton.!!!!

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Good morning Mr Mason, Thank you for your comments, we treat all feedback seriously and I have asked somebody from our Lending team to give you a call to discuss any issues you may be experiencing.
Write a review
14th August 2020

Wonderfully helpful

As a broker i deal with many lenders daily and can honestly say to service provided by MBS and in particular, underwriter Emmy-Jane Short made a difficult process so much easier, a complex case and being able to talk through with a decision maker made...

Read more

As a broker i deal with many lenders daily and can honestly say to service provided by MBS and in particular, underwriter Emmy-Jane Short made a difficult process so much easier, a complex case and being able to talk through with a decision maker made the process feel smooth. It was also easy to feed this back to the clients as progress reports were so important. Thank you Emmy!

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Very nice to hear! I will ensure that this feedback is passed onto Emmy and the Team.
Write a review
1st July 2020

False information

...

Read more


I'm currently going through a mortgage application first started back in Jan 2020.
I'm disgusted at the length of time this has taken, I have paid your fee's and surveys but here we are in JULY now still no mortgage offer. The service is atrocious from the Melton. No feedback on what's happening. I was assured back in May that mistakes had been made and things now would move much more quickly. This is an absolute joke, every month that goes by is costing me £750 in rent. I'm now going to raise this with the FCA as I'm been strung along with no feedback whatsoever.


I'm at a loss as to how on earth you manage to get any customers at all. I will also share the quality of discontent that has been shown by the Melton on my social media platforms to make people alert as to how you treat potential clients.. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. You've been warned.

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Thank you for your review Mr Mason. I believe that you have been in contact with Society and are happy with the outcome of your conversation. If you need to speak to us further then please telephone on 01664 414141.
Write a review
27th June 2020

Mortgage Rates

I'd like to understand why the Melton Mowbray Building Society decided to profit from the recent base rate reductions, and not to reduce the standard variable rate for mortgages in line with many other lenders? Wouldn't it be more in line with your...

Read more

I'd like to understand why the Melton Mowbray Building Society decided to profit from the recent base rate reductions, and not to reduce the standard variable rate for mortgages in line with many other lenders? Wouldn't it be more in line with your statement "being a mutual building society which places customers and the community at the heart of everything we do.".

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Thank you for your review. Unlike other lenders, we chose not to increase our Standard Variable Rate when Bank of England Base Rate was last increased. Accordingly, our SVR was already lower than many of our competitors during the recent rate reductions. If you would like to discuss in more detail then please telephone us on 01664 414141.
Write a review
18th April 2020

Cash ISA

Unable to check my account on line, told this service is not available for cash ISA.

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Good morning David, Can you please make contact with us directly using this email address - marketing@mmbs.co.uk and we will arrange for our savings administration department to make contact with you to sort this out for you. Many thanks.
Write a review
15th April 2020

Excellent!

I have been in contact with the society several times in the last few days. All of the staff I have dealt with have been utterly professional, efficient, and so friendly and relaxed. I cannot praise them highly enough. And in such difficult times!

Read more

I have been in contact with the society several times in the last few days. All of the staff I have dealt with have been utterly professional, efficient, and so friendly and relaxed. I cannot praise them highly enough. And in such difficult times!

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Thank you for the lovely feedback. We will make sure this is passed on to the team :)
Write a review
5th April 2020

Clarification regarding online accounts

Even in these difficult times promptly answered the telephone and ensured I had correct information nothing was too much trouble.

Reply from The Melton Building Society
What lovely feedback - thank you for taking the time to do this for us. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team!
Write a review
4th February 2020

Good bank, good service

I have two savings accounts for my little ones. They aren't fussed about loose piggy banks and when one of the free ones broke, they replaced it for free. There and then

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Lovely feedback - thank you for taking the time to leave this for us.
Write a review
13th December 2019

Friendly helpful staff

Willing to review unusual cases and treat each customer on it's own merits. We had a complex client situation that Melton reviewed and quickly gave us a decision in principle. Kept us well informed throughout the process.

Reply from The Melton Building Society
Thank you for your positive feedback - I will pass this onto the rest of the team.