Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 593 reviews Last review 21 hours ago
4.79 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 497
4 76
3 14
2 2
1 4

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (593)

Write a review
22nd February 2020

Beyond helpful

I was scared about how to deal with my mortgage, and expected to come in for a formal meeting. I was delighted to be offered a telephone interview, Kayleigh completely understood my situation, and was very helpful offering a solution and explaining...

Read more

I was scared about how to deal with my mortgage, and expected to come in for a formal meeting. I was delighted to be offered a telephone interview, Kayleigh completely understood my situation, and was very helpful offering a solution and explaining what I had to do. All was rearranged with no problems. I don't know why I worried, Newbury Building Society has always found a way to help me since I first enquired about a mortgage 24 years ago. Thank you.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Dawn, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave feedback. We will share your comments with Kayleigh, who will be so pleased to know this. Thanks again, it's much appreciated.
Write a review
22nd February 2020

professional, accessible and efficient service

Easy to get hold of someone knowledgeable to talk to, kept promises with timings and managed expectations efficiently. Friendly, personal service and no hard sell on other NBS 'products' was appreciated

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Ollie, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. Its always good to hear service has been straightforward and helpful.
Write a review
21st February 2020

Overall a good experience

My experience was good. It would’ve been better had there been bonds to purchase. Also being offered a beverage at the appointment would’ve given a more welcoming, professional touch.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Holly, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. We will share your comments with our colleagues who deal with products and branches to review.
Write a review
21st February 2020

Amazing

Went into the the branch to made a deposit and while there asked if I could review my savings. ...

Read more

Went into the the branch to made a deposit and while there asked if I could review my savings.
Providing I did not mind waiting then someone would help. I took a seat for a few minutes and
Chloe appeared took me into a private room and suggested what was possible and promptly
proceeded to complete the necessary paperwork advised the terms surrounding the account
I signed the paperwork and came home with everything managed to my satisfaction. One of the benefits of using a local renowned building society. All on my doorstep and with knowledgeable staff.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Celia, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We will let Chloe know, she will be so pleased. It's much appreciated.
Write a review
21st February 2020

easy to open

staff were friendly and knowledgeable we were taken through all steps to open a joint account in an efficient manner,advised of the interest decrease so no hidden surprises...

Read more

staff were friendly and knowledgeable we were taken through all steps to open a joint account in an efficient manner,advised of the interest decrease so no hidden surprises there.
after paying our initial fee the following day all papers were received.
This is how to do business

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Chris, thank you for your comments and for taking the time to leave feedback.
Write a review
21st February 2020

Very helpful and easy to deal with!

Straight forward application, pleasant staff called me to check some details and account all opened and operational within a few days. Nice to speak to real people.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi David, thank you for taking time to leave feedback. It's much appreciated and it's good to hear that your transaction was straightforward.
Write a review
21st February 2020

Justine the superstar

I told Justine to make sure she is still there in 3 years time when we renew again, as she is a credit to your company and a fantastic help to our family! She managed to make the process of renewing easy, despite my 2 year old chatting in the...

Read more

I told Justine to make sure she is still there in 3 years time when we renew again, as she is a credit to your company and a fantastic help to our family! She managed to make the process of renewing easy, despite my 2 year old chatting in the background for most of the call! It's our first mortgage so always scary but Justine made it feel like a walk in the park! You have kept a customer because your company genuinely seems to care. She even delayed the renewal to get us on a better deal that wasn't released at the time, so top marks all round. One happy family here!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, I know Justine will be thrilled to hear this. It's always great to hear that the mortgage process has been made stress free and straightforward. Congratulations on your new home and we also hope Justine will still be here in three years!
Write a review
17th February 2020

Very helpful lady and set up account with the minimum of stress

I knew what I wanted and came in with completed form for her to input onto computer ( although computer was having a “ Monday Morning Moment”). It took a while to do but as I didn’t have an appointment, I wasn’t kept an overly long time doing it. As I...

Read more

I knew what I wanted and came in with completed form for her to input onto computer ( although computer was having a “ Monday Morning Moment”). It took a while to do but as I didn’t have an appointment, I wasn’t kept an overly long time doing it. As I had opened another savings account a few months previously, she remembered me. I do like to support local businesses and as such have recommended you to my parents so they will. Be opening accounts with you shortly

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Nuttynan, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated by us. We are so pleased to hear that you have received good service and thank you for recommending us to your parents.
Write a review
14th February 2020

Excellent Customer Service

My wife and I had an interview with Tracie at the Basingstoke branch as we wanted to open a savings account. She was very professional and helpful and made it very easy to select the right savings account for our needs. Excellent old-school customer...

Read more

My wife and I had an interview with Tracie at the Basingstoke branch as we wanted to open a savings account. She was very professional and helpful and made it very easy to select the right savings account for our needs. Excellent old-school customer service like this is hard to find nowadays and it is so refreshing that the Newbury building society still maintains it. We would highly recommend the society to any new saver.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi, thank you for taking time to leave feedback for us. We will be sure to share your comments with Tracie, who will be pleased to hear them. Thank you again and welcome to the Newbury.
Write a review
14th February 2020

Efficient Service

On wanting to opening a savings account I telephoned the help line. It was answered quickly with a friendly voice. I was transferred to another team member who knew the answer to my question. No hanging or the line or ‘hold music’. I returned the p...

Read more

On wanting to opening a savings account I telephoned the help line. It was answered quickly with a friendly voice. I was transferred to another team member who knew the answer to my question. No hanging or the line or ‘hold music’. I returned the paper work and two days later I had my account opened with all the relevant documents in a neat folder sent to me. Quick, efficient and professional service. Thank you.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. It's much appreciated and we are always pleased to hear that your transaction was straightforward and simple.
Write a review
14th February 2020

Reassuring and easy to understand

The lady that dealt with my account was friendly, knowledgeable and patient. We need to keep people like her in branch otherwise online gets lonely. Very professional service .

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Hilary, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are committed to providing personal customer service through our branch as we agree that it is is important to our members. Thanks again.
Write a review
14th February 2020

Excellent Service

It has been one of the easiest and most friendliest appointment with opening a new savings account the staff are very efficient and friendly

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. It's always lovely to hear the experience has been straightforward.
Write a review
14th February 2020

Setting up new savings accounts in Basingstoke branch

The Newbury Head Office and Basingstoke teams have all been very helpful, friendly, approachable, informative and...

Read more

The Newbury Head Office and Basingstoke teams have all been very helpful, friendly, approachable, informative and professional.

Isobel managed our appointment to set up multiple accounts, and explained all aspects to ensure we were opening an account to suit our needs. We opened an account for my spouse and I, and our son who is under 16.

Isobel answered all of our questions illustrating excellent knowledge of the available products, which enabled us to make an informed decision on the products suiting our needs.

Our experience with Newbury BS has been exemplary and we will be a long term customer no doubt investing in further products with Newbury BS from hereon.

Thank you Newbury Building Society, wish we had found you sooner!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Mrs Smith, thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback for us, it's really appreciated. We will be sure to share your comments with Isobel and our colleagues, who will be so pleased to hear this. We are so gladdened to hear your experience with us has been straightforward and smooth. Thanks again and welcome to the Newbury!
Write a review
9th February 2020

A very good traditional mutual building society

We are in our 70s and had difficulty extending our mortgage for another ten years with our existing lender. Of all the mortgage providers Newbury offered the best deal by far for our age group. In addition the service provided by the underwriting team...

Read more

We are in our 70s and had difficulty extending our mortgage for another ten years with our existing lender. Of all the mortgage providers Newbury offered the best deal by far for our age group. In addition the service provided by the underwriting team was informative, professional and friendly. Regular visits to the branch in Newbury ( a beautiful old town with superb setting on the Kennet and Avon canal are an unexpected bonus.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Jeff, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback it's much appreciated. It's always great to hear we have been able to help.
Write a review
8th February 2020

Telephone help

Lovely not to have to deal with an automated messaging service, Julie was delightful and dealt with my issue very swiftly and professionally.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Karen, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, it's much appreciated. We will let Julie know your comments, she will be pleased to know she was a help.