Share your insurance feedback and make your voice heard.Vote in the Insurance Choice Awards

Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 313 reviews Last review 3 days ago
4.83 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 335
4 47
3 5
2 1
1 2

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (313)

Write a review
12th July 2019

Transferring funds to ISA

Transferred funds only for them to be returned as had to re-register ISA and fill out manual form. There is nothing on the website to say that and not sure the reason if the account is open and active.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Alison, sorry to hear this, we would like to understand why this has happened. There are a few possibilities due to HMRC requirements, i.e. if there is a break in the subscription, with no deposit was made in a fiscal year, there is then a requirement to re-register to retain the tax-free status of the account. We'd like to help if this is or is not the case, if you contact us at mail@newbury.co.uk or call us on 01635 555700, and we can investigate what happened and improve the information available on the website. Many thanks.
Write a review
12th July 2019

Extremely efficient

The fastest and easiest application for a mortgage i have ever known. Why can’t all mortgage lenders be as easy to deal with. Hope future relations are as good. 1st glass

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Sue, so pleased to hear your experience was so straightforward. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.
Write a review
12th July 2019

Very welcoming

The gentleman who dealt with me was very friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful in ensuring I opened up the correct savings account for my needs.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Rachel, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we really appreciate it. So pleased to hear your experience was straight forward.
Write a review
12th July 2019

Easy to open account

Compared to some banks, that will remain nameless, it was very easy and quick to open account. Friendly and efficient service and they even wished my father a happy birthday!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience. Belated birthday wishes to your father!
Write a review
7th July 2019

Friendly, professional speedy service

Received professional speedy service and opened a new savings account, I only called in to deposit funds into another account and wanted further advice on savings. I did not even have an appointment and was lucky to see someone at that time, great...

Read more

Received professional speedy service and opened a new savings account, I only called in to deposit funds into another account and wanted further advice on savings. I did not even have an appointment and was lucky to see someone at that time, great customer service, many thanks!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Nicola, thank you so much for your kind words about your recent experience with us! It is greatly appreciated.
Write a review
6th July 2019

Fast ,friendly and efficient.

I opened a new savings account after being shown the best options for my personal situation. The young lady was very professional. The account was opened quickly and passbook arrived the following day .

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi there, thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Write a review
6th July 2019

Simple, friendly, honest and helpful

The Newbury simply kept us fully informed at every step of the way on our journey to remortgaging with them onto a new repayment based, discounted deal over an extended term. Simply put, they excelled!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi there, we're delighted to hear your remortgage went smoothly! Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.
Write a review
5th July 2019

Great, friendly and personal service.

Whenever we have needed to contact Newbury B/S, both prior to securing our mortgage and since , we have always been made to feel as a genuine customer with the personal service we have received. Our experience with all other banks and B/Ss is that you...

Read more

Whenever we have needed to contact Newbury B/S, both prior to securing our mortgage and since , we have always been made to feel as a genuine customer with the personal service we have received. Our experience with all other banks and B/Ss is that you are simply a number and the service is not personal or bespoke at all. Great work Newbury, please keep it up!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Kevin, thank you so much for your kind words! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Write a review
5th July 2019

Advice on opening a new account

I called into NBS in Wokingham for advice on opening an account. Holly was friendly and professional, encouraging but not ‘pushy’. She explained everything I needed to know, without rushing, and I opened an initial account. I came away with plenty of i...

Read more

I called into NBS in Wokingham for advice on opening an account. Holly was friendly and professional, encouraging but not ‘pushy’. She explained everything I needed to know, without rushing, and I opened an initial account. I came away with plenty of information about savings accounts.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Gillian, we're delighted to hear you had a positive experience visiting our Wokingham branch! Thank you for your feedback.
Write a review
5th July 2019

First contact with the Society

Gillian Fry was very courteous and professional - a pleasure to deal with. The whole business of opening two accounts was handled efficiently but without any feeling of undue haste. Everything was well explained, noting that I had done some web...

Read more

Gillian Fry was very courteous and professional - a pleasure to deal with. The whole business of opening two accounts was handled efficiently but without any feeling of undue haste. Everything was well explained, noting that I had done some web research so things weren't laboured for the sake of going through a checklist.
My only small criticism is that sitting on the public side of the reception desk gave me nowhere to put my feet and knees, meaning a somewhat uncomfortable sideways posture throughout.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback! We're delighted your account opening experience with us was positive.
Write a review
4th July 2019

With draw funds into a cheque

With my existing account the limit was £3.000 and needed to deposit an other £3.000 in cash, so was advised to open another account, that was done and new pass book, was sent to my home, when back and then received my cheque to give to my ...

Read more

With my existing account the limit was £3.000 and needed to deposit an other £3.000 in cash, so was advised to open another account, that was done and new pass book, was sent to my home, when back and then received my cheque to give to my solicitor, all when we'll and on time.

Write a review
1st July 2019

Renewal of fixed term mortgage

We came in to review or fixed rate mortgage which had come to an end and to discuss a new mortgage for a new property. The service and help we received was great and our adviser was able to explain everything clearly....

Read more

We came in to review or fixed rate mortgage which had come to an end and to discuss a new mortgage for a new property. The service and help we received was great and our adviser was able to explain everything clearly.
We have managed to save some money on our new fixed term mortgage which is great.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Ross, that's great to read, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us!