Voting in the British Bank Awards 2020 is now open.
VOTE NOW

Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 481 reviews Last review 11 hours ago
4.82 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 412
4 56
3 10
2 1
1 2

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (481)

Write a review
19th November 2019

Very helpful and I got a better deal than I had before

The service given was professional, friendly and very helpful. The information I needed was presented clearly and I was very pleased to get a better rate on my mortgage by going direct to NBS and discussing in person was very helpful.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Nick, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated.
Write a review
18th November 2019

Newbury branch service

I opened a new account after receiving some great one on one advice as to the benefits and availabilities of the various options for new members. Its lovely going back to a more personal service. thank you!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Anne, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated!
Write a review
18th November 2019

A friendly yet professional service

We were advised to apply for a mortgage with newbury through our financial advisor. They offered us a prompt and fair offer for our first ever mortgage and we are truly thankful as it meant we could finally get on the ladder. Thanks Newbury!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback - and congratulations on your new home!
Write a review
16th November 2019

Great customer service

We had a thoroughly positive experience. We completed our first shared ownership mortgage recently and it meant such a lot to my family and I. They provide a professional and friendly service that meant you feel they are always approachable. Thanks...

Read more

We had a thoroughly positive experience. We completed our first shared ownership mortgage recently and it meant such a lot to my family and I. They provide a professional and friendly service that meant you feel they are always approachable. Thanks Newbury!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Steven, thank you! It's always lovely to hear that we have helped our customers purchase their homes. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and you're very welcome :-)
Write a review
16th November 2019

The Newbury was one of the very few building societies willing to help people of our age (over 70) to obtain a mortgage at a competitive rate as an alternative to equity release.

We had to request an extension of our mortgage offer twice due to unavoidable and unexpected delays in the sale of our existing property and purchase of the new and found the underwriter to be very helpful and understanding in granting our request via...

Read more

We had to request an extension of our mortgage offer twice due to unavoidable and unexpected delays in the sale of our existing property and purchase of the new and found the underwriter to be very helpful and understanding in granting our request via our mortgage broker Mark Cornes (MC Mortgages).

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Stuart, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. Pleased to hear that your offer went through and we could be of help.
Write a review
15th November 2019

Very pleased to be renewing our mortgage with NBS!

We've been very satisfied with the service from you the last 3 years and pleased to ne renewing again with...

Read more

We've been very satisfied with the service from you the last 3 years and pleased to ne renewing again with you.

The only niggle we have is that NBS were not able to offer a fixed rate product (shared ownership mortgage) when we renewed our mortgage earlier this month.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Lisa, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we really do appreciate it. We have shared your feedback with the product team who are always reviewing the products we offer are meeting our customers needs. Thank you
Write a review
15th November 2019

Setting up savings account

I found it really easy to set up the savings account online. The only snag was that when I transferred some money into the account it didn't appear for a few days, leading to a bit of a panic! I followed the instructions on the website, but when I...

Read more

I found it really easy to set up the savings account online. The only snag was that when I transferred some money into the account it didn't appear for a few days, leading to a bit of a panic! I followed the instructions on the website, but when I looks at FAQs they contradicted the instructions. However with one quick and easy phone call everything was resolved, so no harm done and I'm a happy customer.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Matt, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. Sorry for the panic! We will ensure we review the FAQs and instructions, thank you for letting us know and we are glad all is resolved.
Write a review
15th November 2019

Friendly, professional, local service

Having been a member for a number of years, I've been happy to recommend the Newbury to others. They have always been very approachable and take the time to talk through available options and products to suit different situations. Well done & keep it up.

Read more

Having been a member for a number of years, I've been happy to recommend the Newbury to others. They have always been very approachable and take the time to talk through available options and products to suit different situations.
Well done & keep it up.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback it's much appreciated.
Write a review
15th November 2019

Wait Time

It took a long time to receive responses back regarding a retention which is a fairly important part of a mortgage since it meant we had to pay more upfront.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Sam, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear the wait time was longer than anticipated, we are happy to review this with you if you'd like to contact us at marketing@newbury.co.uk.
Write a review
15th November 2019

Helpful provider but could be more proactive

My rate was due to expire and Newbury got in contact well in advance which was great. I arranged a chat with them and the adviser was helpful although they were only able to offer me one option. They sent me through the details by post but there was...

Read more

My rate was due to expire and Newbury got in contact well in advance which was great. I arranged a chat with them and the adviser was helpful although they were only able to offer me one option. They sent me through the details by post but there was no obvious way to accept the proposed new rate and no one contacted me for weeks afterwards. I ended up having to call Newbury the week before to ask how i could accept. It would have been more helpful to have a follow up call or to include the neccessary paperwork the first time rather than me needing to ring around to get it sorted on time. Other than that i'm happy with my provider and they are easy to use.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Toni, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. We have shared your comments with the mortgage team and apologise for not being more proactive following your appointment, we will review this process and take on your suggestions. Many thanks again.
Write a review
11th November 2019

No hassle transfer

As a new member of the Newbury Building Society I transferred money from a current account I have with a bank via the internet; there was no problem and it is good to enjoy a hassle-free experience. Why did I not find the Newbury BS sooner?

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Tony, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. Welcome to the Newbury and we are glad you've found us!
Write a review
8th November 2019

A really good experience

I called in at your Winchester branch to open savings accounts with you at about lunch time last Wednesday. It was a quiet time but I was immediately ushered into a private space where Subhashini Venkatesan took me through all the business and made it...

Read more

I called in at your Winchester branch to open savings accounts with you at about lunch time last Wednesday. It was a quiet time but I was immediately ushered into a private space where Subhashini Venkatesan took me through all the business and made it so easy. I opened 2 accounts and the passbooks were delivered to me on Thursday. All in all and enjoyable experience and the products seem very good value as well.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Eileen, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we will be sure to share your comments with Subhashini, welcome to the Newbury!