One Call Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 14,600 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

One Call Insurance reviews from our Smart Money People can help give you the inside track on life as a One Call Insurance customer. Have you used One Call Insurance? If so, you can join us and write your One Call Insurance reviews today to help increase t...

READ MORE

One Call Insurance reviews from our Smart Money People can help give you the inside track on life as a One Call Insurance customer. Have you used One Call Insurance? If so, you can join us and write your One Call Insurance reviews today to help increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

One Call Insurance Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

58% of feedback is Product related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 55-64

Top Channel Preference: App

Car Insurance

AVOID ONECALL Insurance

AVOID Onecall at all cost. A DISHONEST COMPANY I applied through a comparison site and answered all questions truthfully. OneCalls quote came back (not the cheapest) so I accepted it. 2 hours later I received an email stating that I had been refused In Read more

AVOID Onecall at all cost. A DISHONEST COMPANY

I applied through a comparison site and answered all questions truthfully. OneCalls quote came back (not the cheapest) so I accepted it. 2 hours later I received an email stating that I had been refused Insurance NO REASON WAS GIVEN. I contacted them and they refused to give me the reason.

Because OneCall Insurance refused me Insurance I now have to declare it on future applications.

I went to another 2 Insurance provider who also refused me Insurance because although they could find no reason to not insure me because OneCall had they decided not to insure me because Onecall would not give me the reason why.

I started the complaints process 12 days later I received an email stating

1) that my address did not validate when I had already told them I was staying at my parents address - Why could they not have told me this?

2) I had been refused insurance before but they did not know which company has refused me so they couldnt tell me who it was. I HAVE NEVER BEEN REFUSED INSURANCE BEFORE AND THIS IS A BLATANT LIE.

I have requested an application for a FOI Request and I am in contact with the Ombudsman.

I have now found an Insurance provider.

Reviewed on 12th May 2022
Duncan McInnes's avatar
Duncan McInnes
Write a review

Car Insurance

Total Rip Off

This company is just a money grabbing joke, it is no wonder there is no phone number available to actually speak to some one. The penalty charges to cancel a policy because car has had to be taken off the road is beyond belief. Not only admin charge, whic Read more

This company is just a money grabbing joke, it is no wonder there is no phone number available to actually speak to some one. The penalty charges to cancel a policy because car has had to be taken off the road is beyond belief. Not only admin charge, which was expected, but they also wanted the equivalent of about 4 months payments. Disgusting

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
Kay Lane Dootson's avatar
Kay Lane Dootson
Write a review

Car Insurance

Stay away from them at all costs

No customer service details care about customer they get your money off a broker to provide a service the date care if your car is driver able you get 2nd class service they have more policy then 10 downing street all you hear is that No Read more

No customer service details care about customer they get your money off a broker to provide a service the date care if your car is driver able you get 2nd class service they have more policy then 10 downing street all you hear is that
No on can give any customer service as they are not train it people answer fine and call you mate the mangers are the same no customer service skills want to take my car mile away to get it fix would not give them one star for service so if your car is drivable you get treated as a 2nd class person if your car is not drivable you get special treatment one useless company stay clear of it and pls don't raise you voice as they treat to put the phone down on you very weak men and women that work in the office but the manager keeps them cool with the air conditioning

Reviewed on 6th May 2022
Stuart Pape's avatar
Stuart Pape
Write a review

Car Insurance

Rubbish firm

Please what ever you do don’t go with company they rip you off they make a mistake with your policy then blame somebody else then they have the cheek to charge you nearly £50 to cancel your policy within 24 hrs afford this company

Reviewed on 5th May 2022
Carol connolly's avatar
Carol connolly
Write a review

Car Insurance

Rubbish firm

Please what ever you do don’t deal with this firm they rip you off saying it’s your fault when something is wrong with your policy and when you want to cancel it within 24 hours they charge you a fee of nearly £50

Reviewed on 5th May 2022
Carol connolly's avatar
Carol connolly
Write a review

Car Insurance

Watch for cancellation charges

Took out this company's motorcycle insurance which only cost me £80 and then a few months on, sold the bike and cancelled the policy-was absolutely flabbergasted that the cancellation fee was £55.99!!!! As the cost of the insurance cover remaining on the Read more

Took out this company's motorcycle insurance which only cost me £80 and then a few months on, sold the bike and cancelled the policy-was absolutely flabbergasted that the cancellation fee was £55.99!!!! As the cost of the insurance cover remaining on the policy was only £31 they were going to give me nothing back as the cancellation fee was larger than what was outstanding. Did manage to get a goodwill payment of £25 out of them as I complained but that fee is an absolute rip-off and everyone needs to read and understand the small print,and avoid companies that implement it.

Reviewed on 1st May 2022
Hilary Crook's avatar
Hilary Crook
Write a review

Home Insurance

Awful

Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! Paid for extra boiler cover, but they don't cover if there is a problem with it, like doesn't heat water, only if the thing is totally broke. They use the legal wording in the policy not to pay, there are pages and pages and they jus Read more

Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!
Paid for extra boiler cover, but they don't cover if there is a problem with it, like doesn't heat water, only if the thing is totally broke. They use the legal wording in the policy not to pay, there are pages and pages and they just wriggle out of it. They also pass you around on the phone to the point where you are completely frustrated and irate when you do speak to anyone. Just rubbish.

Reviewed on 27th April 2022
MW's avatar
MW
Write a review

Car Insurance

One of the worst experiences of my life

Just avoid at all costs for your own sanity. In future I will happily pay £100's more to deal with competent and contactable company. Had a non-fault claim over 4 months ago. Policy with One Call uses Markerstudy (read reviews on them). Pillar to post do Read more

Just avoid at all costs for your own sanity. In future I will happily pay £100's more to deal with competent and contactable company. Had a non-fault claim over 4 months ago. Policy with One Call uses Markerstudy (read reviews on them). Pillar to post does not even cover it. Hours and hours and hours!! On the phone to markerstudy and webchat. I am sick to death of confirming my phone number and email with them. Sold vehicle. Cancelled policy, paid cancellation fee. Emailed me the next day saying I owe another £132 as claim been re-opened? It hasnt been, confirmed with markerstudy twice, they even emailed one call (one call won't take phone calls). Awaiting liability admission from 3rd party so that part of claim still open (4 months later!). One call complaints dept supposed to call me back today to discuss. They didnt. Used webchat again, 30 odd in the queue. Then the advisor tell me I owe £179 and it can take upto 8 weeks for claim team to call me back! Which is not what I was promised. Honestly worst company I have EVER dealt with.

Reviewed on 8th April 2022
Ant Maund's avatar
Ant Maund
Write a review

Car Insurance

This Company are a complete rip off avoid like a dose of corona !

Wrote to them to cancell a policy they claim they never received the letter, tried to charge me but i cancelled the direct debit from the date i wanted the policy to end, they tried to take the money for the month after cancellation and it rejected, but Read more

Wrote to them to cancell a policy they claim they never received the letter, tried to charge me but i cancelled the direct debit from the date i wanted the policy to end, they tried to take the money for the month after cancellation and it rejected, but now they are requireing the payment as they didnt get the letter and told me to go to DVLA to get proof that i sold the car on such date, absolute nightmare all for £30 the company must be desperate, for money trying to charge people for insurance when cancelled, they are issuing legal proceedings now to recover the debt and charges, GOOD LUCK WITH THAT MORONS! THE JUDGE WILL LAUGH IT OUT OF COURT !

Reviewed on 7th April 2022
Yvonne's avatar
Yvonne
Write a review

Car Insurance

Avoid - Unauthorised renewal payments taken!

Avoid like the plague! Took money out of my account prior to renewal date and I did not even consent to renewing my policy. Also dedcuted £50 from refund to cover cancellation costs despite within cooling off period. The only way to communicate and cancel Read more

Avoid like the plague! Took money out of my account prior to renewal date and I did not even consent to renewing my policy. Also dedcuted £50 from refund to cover cancellation costs despite within cooling off period. The only way to communicate and cancel is via live chat where they tell you all sorts of nonsense to waste your time and apropriate your money in the best way they can.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
M.S. H's avatar
M.S. H
Write a review

Car Insurance

Do not use took unauthorised payments

These guys are a disgrace, excessive cancellation fees £104 6 months into a £400 learner policy when you pass, they cannot extend policy to full cover so cancel it and then charge you, they then took unauthorised payments from paypal when these were dispu Read more

These guys are a disgrace, excessive cancellation fees £104 6 months into a £400 learner policy when you pass, they cannot extend policy to full cover so cancel it and then charge you, they then took unauthorised payments from paypal when these were disputed, be warned! Go elsewhere!

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Steve's avatar
Steve
Write a review

Home Insurance

DISASTER.

AVOID .. NO ONE THERE TO MAKE A CLAIM!! BE AWARE. THEY WERE NOT AVAILABLE TO MAKE AN URGENT CLAIM. THEY DO NOT RETURN CALLS. IF YOU CANCEL THEY USE DEBT COLLECTION EVEN BEFORE THE POLICY HAS LASPED. A V O I D. A V O I D. A V O I D. Being elde Read more

AVOID .. NO ONE THERE TO MAKE A CLAIM!!
BE AWARE.
THEY WERE NOT AVAILABLE TO MAKE AN URGENT CLAIM.
THEY DO NOT RETURN CALLS.
IF YOU CANCEL THEY USE DEBT COLLECTION EVEN BEFORE THE POLICY HAS LASPED.

A V O I D. A V O I D. A V O I D.

Being elderly, alone and in poor health my insurances are vital to me. They provide me with the security and peace of mind knowing that I have help in any emergency if anything is wrong with my home.

I have needed to claim twice both no being paid as no one was available to take the calls. I could not get a response when water and effluent was bubbling up through all sinks and plug holes and so I had to pay £360 to have the emergency repair done myself. When someone eventually answered to get payment they said they won’t pay as it was not authorised .. regardless of no one answering my calls.
Second time it was gale damage. This time someone did answer and gave me a tel no for the underwriters. I was told they would respond within 2 hrs. THEY DID NOT RESPOND AT ALL after 7 calls, 4 messages left.
And so again I had to pay for the repairs myself.

AS I WAS TOTALLY UNABLE TO GET THE COVER I PAID FOR I HAD NO CHOICE BUT GET THE PEACE OF MIND OF A POLICY WITH A MORE REPUTABLE COMPANY .. ONLY TO BE RELENTLESSLY PURSUED FOR £111.00 CANCELLATION FEE.

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
Eileen Hall's avatar
Eileen Hall
Write a review

Home Insurance

It is an internet based.Company no phone lines unless you threaten to cancel

We are an older couple and we were unable to commute with them satisfactory through the chat line only when we asked to cancel did they give us a phone number . We will not renew our house policy when due we have no idea how it will work if we have to mak Read more

We are an older couple and we were unable to commute with them satisfactory through the chat line only when we asked to cancel did they give us a phone number . We will not renew our house policy when due we have no idea how it will work if we have to make a claim and with a Maltese underwriter !

Reviewed on 23rd March 2022
Diane Pollard's avatar
Diane Pollard
Write a review

Car Insurance

Illegal use of credit card - rip off artists

My car was scapped a week before my insurance expired. This was completly out of my control. One Call informed me that with the admin charges and early canellation I had to pay them £85. I disputed this as my car breaking down was not in my control. One c Read more

My car was scapped a week before my insurance expired. This was completly out of my control. One Call informed me that with the admin charges and early canellation I had to pay them £85. I disputed this as my car breaking down was not in my control. One call insurance somehow got my credit card details and deducted the money from my credit card!!! I have never given one call my credit card details! how on earth where they able to just deduct the money without my approval! Completly illegal and I will be going further with this!!!

Reviewed on 18th March 2022
Joe's avatar
Joe
Write a review

Car Insurance

No call no email

Do not insure with one call. Despite offering dedicated phone lines, there is no ability to contact this company by phone or even by email. As soon as I discovered this I cancelled our policies after one day even before the insurance was due to come in Read more

Do not insure with one call.
Despite offering dedicated phone lines, there is no ability to contact this company by phone or even by email.
As soon as I discovered this I cancelled our policies after one day even before the insurance was due to come into effect and they charged me £49.99 for each policy that I cancelled.
By law you are are allowed to cancel without charge for free within 14-days. One call hit you with an extortionate administration cancellation charge which is not shown when you sign up .

Reviewed on 14th March 2022
Paul Beeston's avatar
Paul Beeston
Write a review

Car Insurance

Worst insurers experience ever...

Literally had the worst experience I have ever had with any insurer. It came to my time for renewal and all of a sudden my new coverage, nothing had changed, no claims, jumped up to nealy double the previous years charge. I went on to the online chat to c Read more

Literally had the worst experience I have ever had with any insurer. It came to my time for renewal and all of a sudden my new coverage, nothing had changed, no claims, jumped up to nealy double the previous years charge. I went on to the online chat to cancel but got duped into signing for another year, instead of cancelling like I wanted to, which I paid in full. I knew I was just about to move and told the agent that, to which he replied ; Once in the new property just change the address. That of course is worse than taking out new insurance. I had tried changing the details via online chat on 8 occasions, the chat would crash and then you would have to start all over again. After going through the nearly 1h30 chat, I get told that my policy has to be cancelled and redone as the new terms were not accepted on the existing policy. I had no option but to cancel, I paid ahead for 12 months, received 4 months cover and get no refund, because there is always hidden charges and the company accepts no responsibility. They are all good till you need to sort or change something, and buyer beware, once they have your money you'll never get it back. Claim or no claim... I am absolutely disgusted and disappointed. Would never use them again. Waste of time and precious money.

Reviewed on 1st March 2022
Dee's avatar
Dee
Write a review

Car Insurance

One Call Insurance

Good value, easy car insurance. The portal is easy to use.

Reviewed on 16th February 2022
MSUG's avatar
MSUG
Write a review

Car Insurance

This company has NO MORALS or ETHICS

Don't use this company to insure your car. I took out a policy and paid upfront £267, to insure an Audi A3 Quattro, then after 3 months I changed to a small car 0.9ltr. Expecting some sort of rebate (with 8 months left on policy) I contacted One Call only Read more

Don't use this company to insure your car. I took out a policy and paid upfront £267, to insure an Audi A3 Quattro, then after 3 months I changed to a small car 0.9ltr. Expecting some sort of rebate (with 8 months left on policy) I contacted One Call only to discover no phone lines but Live Chat, so tried to transfer policy and after 30+ minutes on phone and being bombarded with upsell hard sales I was informed that I would have to pay them £46+ for this transfer to take place. I enquired about cancelling policy and getting refund for 8 remaining months only to be informed that I would have to pay them £19+ for the pleasure! If I had paid by DD I would have cancelled straight away but because I paid upfront for the policy I was backed into a corner. Please learn from this and think before you insure with OC as you may lose money in the same way I have. I will now try to warn as many people as I can through Social Media, Papers and Watchdog.

Reviewed on 13th February 2022
Sue Jewitt's avatar
Sue Jewitt
Write a review

Car Insurance

Worst broker I've ever had.

Tried to do a change of vehicle and their site won't change the details forcing you onto their only means of communication...web chat. After an hour and 40 mins of typing and telling me I couldn't change it and charging a huge cancelation fee, they quoted Read more

Tried to do a change of vehicle and their site won't change the details forcing you onto their only means of communication...web chat. After an hour and 40 mins of typing and telling me I couldn't change it and charging a huge cancelation fee, they quoted a much higher amount than offered by a compassion website(even by them). I canceled the policy and went with a different broker, who gave me the same insurance policy at 2/3rds the cost on the phone and done in 10mins. I've got 3 bikes a van and 2 cars and have been driving 40 years, 35 as an HGV driver. This is the worst broker I've ever had.

Reviewed on 13th February 2022
Simon's avatar
Simon
Write a review

Car Insurance

Terrible Company - Do not use

No contact number, don't want anything to do with you if you make a claim they just say it's the broker. They won't support you in any way. They take your excess and then want the full policy amount and say this is standard. I've never come across this be Read more

No contact number, don't want anything to do with you if you make a claim they just say it's the broker. They won't support you in any way. They take your excess and then want the full policy amount and say this is standard. I've never come across this before. The one thing this company are extremely good at is taking your money.

Reviewed on 9th February 2022
PM's avatar
PM
Write a review