One Call Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 2,572 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

One Call Insurance reviews from our Smart Money People can help give you the inside track on life as a One Call Insurance customer. Have you used One Call Insurance? If so, you can join us and write your One Call Insurance reviews today to help...

READ MORE

One Call Insurance reviews from our Smart Money People can help give you the inside track on life as a One Call Insurance customer. Have you used One Call Insurance? If so, you can join us and write your One Call Insurance reviews today to help increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

One Call Insurance Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

54% of feedback is Product related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 55-64

Top Channel Preference: Online

Car Insurance

What it's like if you actually have a claim...

Never... Read more

Never again.

Car was stolen, pretty straightforward theft. Was assured that after two weeks the car would be deemed a loss if the police don't find it, and then about a week after that, the valuation etc. would be done. Fine, all good. Two weeks goes by, I call them up: Oh sorry sir, you were misinformed - it's three weeks before it's declared a loss. Annoying, but I can live with it.

Sent in my keys and V5 and the signed claim form etc. by recorded delivery, all received fine. Three weeks goes by... Phone them again: "Thanks Sir, we're looking at it this week". A week later: "Sorry Sir, yours is number three in the queue. We'll get to it today". A week later: "Sorry Sir, I'll chase up and find out what's happened. I'll call you back". No call back. A few days later, they finally process the claim. Keep in mind this is now about 5 weeks after the car was stolen and I've been without a car this whole time (no courtesy car for a stolen vehicle - bet you didn't spot that in the policy terms!).

Finally the claim is accepted. It then takes another week of daily harassment before they value the car. They then try to lowball me by about £5k. Finally settle on a figure I'm not overly happy with, because, to be frank, I've lost the will to live now.

And then the kicker: despite the car clearly being on private plates, they didn't tell me I needed to do the plate retention form with DVLA until now. The problem is I need a V5C to do this, which I sent to them... And they've lost my V5C, saying they never received it (despite having signed for the delivery).

So now I have to reapply for a V5C (£25), and then finally retain my plate, and then send the V5C to them so they can close down the claim. Meanwhile I'm still paying my monthly premium, unless I want to sacrifice my private plate.

The irony of them calling themselves One Call is quite hilarious though. I think I'm genuinely up to about 80 calls during the course of this debacle now.

Absolute farce. Just pay a bit more and go to a proper insurance company. Complete joke from start to finish.

Reviewed on 9th July 2021
Nathan's avatar
Nathan
Write a review

Car Insurance

Beware! Extortionate hidden charges. Use any other company!!!!

The hidden charges that one call impose are extortionate. They charge £30 to just renew your policy and then £56 to cancel it. This is an absolute con! They've also suddenly been unable to find a competitive quote to transfer my existing policy, f... Read more

The hidden charges that one call impose are extortionate. They charge £30 to just renew your policy and then £56 to cancel it. This is an absolute con! They've also suddenly been unable to find a competitive quote to transfer my existing policy, forcing me to cancel and pay they're hyped up charges. Using Comparethemarket.com, I found an insurance meeting my current needs for just under £40. The lowest OneCall could offer was £160!!! Absolute rip off!!! Save yourself a lot of hassle and money by insuring elsewhere!

Reviewed on 7th July 2021
Allison Smith's avatar
Allison Smith
Write a review

Car Insurance

Buyer Beware!!!!

This company automatically renewed my classic car insurance without my knowledge. When I found out two days later I went to cancel and they charged me £25 for two days cover (Policy renewal was £160) and a £35.99 'set up' fee, i.e. a set up fee for a p... Read more

This company automatically renewed my classic car insurance without my knowledge. When I found out two days later I went to cancel and they charged me £25 for two days cover (Policy renewal was £160) and a £35.99 'set up' fee, i.e. a set up fee for a policy that was already in existence. When questioned this was apparently what they are charged to set up the policy. Utter disgrace.
If I can stop one potential customer going with this company my review will have been worthwhile and I would feel like I have got something from the money I have just donated to them.

Reviewed on 27th June 2021
stephen smith's avatar
stephen smith
Write a review

Car Insurance

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

DO NOT USE THIS... Read more

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
They took £80 out of my bank account as car insurance deposit. But then messaged me and said I’m not insured, because they wanted to see my drivers licence and no claims bonus, so they don’t know who has a driving license?? A car insurance company? As a result I lost my new job and stuck at home with no car insurance or job.and no £80 to get additional insurance it takes 7 days to return, I’ve had this discrimination loads before. if you have a foreign name do not use them.

Reviewed on 14th May 2021
Jay's avatar
Jay
Write a review

Car Insurance

Awfull experience - Feeling robbed

Awful experience with them, after renew my car insurance and pay full amount in one payment, I find out that they are taking £200 extra from my credit card 20 days after without any communication. All insurance documents show one price which it was ... Read more

Awful experience with them, after renew my car insurance and pay full amount in one payment, I find out that they are taking £200 extra from my credit card 20 days after without any communication. All insurance documents show one price which it was paid on the day requested and suddenly there is an error for a claim fault and I need to pay more...I feel robbed. Never received a letter or email for this extra charge and they debited my account without authorisation. No recommended at all.

Reviewed on 5th May 2021
Elisa's avatar
Elisa
Write a review

Car Insurance

Take my advice they scam you legally

I did not even start my policy had a quote and my policy start in 30 days . They want £49.99 cancellation fee. They are joke and scammer . Listen to me if you work hard for your money . Pay little extra but go with some company well known . I am in ... Read more

I did not even start my policy had a quote and my policy start in 30 days . They want £49.99 cancellation fee. They are joke and scammer . Listen to me if you work hard for your money . Pay little extra but go with some company well known . I am in cooling period of time of my policy and they said they won’t charge 59.99 cancellation fee but I need to pay £49.99 set up fee cancellation .
I made a quote yesterday and less than 24 hours tried to cancel . My policy start next 30 days . Scammer scammer scammer
Imagine if you have a claim what would happen . Tried to call them no answer just chat is available .

Reviewed on 1st May 2021
kamran_alavy@yahoo.com's avatar
kamran_alavy@yahoo.com
Write a review

Car Insurance

Awful experience all round

The worst experience to date. Made unauthorised and unapproved withdrawal of a year's worth of subscription directly from my account. Despite my having an alternative provider in place and no knowledge of what they were about to do. This caused... Read more

The worst experience to date. Made unauthorised and unapproved withdrawal of a year's worth of subscription directly from my account. Despite my having an alternative provider in place and no knowledge of what they were about to do. This caused substantial financial problems for me. Than, to add insult to injury, when I made the discovery, notified and queried this unauthorised withdrawal, I was ignored and then started receiving welcome letters, for the insurance I neither needed, wanted or approved. I spent two weeks demanding a refund and was returned only part of what they took from my account on the grounds that ONE DAY that they activated the insurance policy without my authentication warrants a cancellation fee and fee for the use of their services. All whilst I had alternatve insurence in place, which they would automatically see attributed to my car registration, they still took money from my account, which is thefts and only returned part of the money when confronted, which is still theft. Awful, awful company!

Reviewed on 6th April 2021
Anya Zinkivskay's avatar
Anya Zinkivskay
Write a review

Car Insurance

Frausters

Liars and... Read more

Liars and fraudsters.
Liars and fraudsters.
Up until recently I had this insurer for my hubby’s car. Then weeks after policy finished they raided the bank card for just over £103 for no reason and without warning (despite promising and emailing to say on the 5th feb that the card authority had been cancelled their end).
Went on live chat and on many occasions I caught the operator (Claire t) on lies (that’s how blatant she was) and agent Also argued and heavily insinuated I was the liar (I asked for info on how to send a file over to her to back my claims and she ignored this). I was promised a email from a manager - but nothing.
Next day back onto chat and spoke with Aaron c and again just like the previous agent I caught him out telling lies on many occasions. The excuse for no email “oh well we have 48 hrs” well why not say that previously.
Still waiting for my email from the manager - the only thing that coincides with the two agents is that the manager is a she.
PLEASE PLEASE I URGE ANYONE PLEASE DO NOT ISE THIS COMPANY.

Reviewed on 2nd April 2021
Rachel davies's avatar
Rachel davies
Write a review

Home Insurance

Worst Home Insurance Company Experience Ever! I would prefer not to give any star rating.

I would have preferred not to have... Read more

I would have preferred not to have left…
I would have preferred not to have left any star ratings whatsoever!
I wish i had stayed with my old Home Insurers, or one of the better names.
I had storm damage during some of the worst winds this year and damage to my front door, guttering and aerial. They have put down all of these to wear and tear including a 4.5 meter guttering blown completely off my garage and will now have to go to Trading Standards and the Ombudsman. Beware!!!!!!!

Reviewed on 25th December 2020
Paul Smith's avatar
Paul Smith
Write a review

Car Insurance

NOT GOOD

they made a mistake with my insurance, then asked for £45 to put their mistake right, attention was just on getting the £45 and blame me for their mistake. complete disregard ONE CALL Insurance have for their customers.

Reviewed on 10th November 2020
Garry Schofield's avatar
Garry Schofield
Write a review

Car Insurance

Overcharged on second car policy

Bought second policy one after the other and was charged £70 more than Moneysupermarket quote without notice. One Call insurance said that my second car refused to acknowledge the actual quote even though I offered to send them a screenshot. Very ... Read more

Bought second policy one after the other and was charged £70 more than Moneysupermarket quote without notice. One Call insurance said that my second car refused to acknowledge the actual quote even though I offered to send them a screenshot. Very obstinate when I asked to change this and then wanted to charge £50 for me to cancel my policy. Really unethical behaviour.

Reviewed on 30th October 2020
Michael Griffiths's avatar
Michael Griffiths
Write a review

Car Insurance

Shocking Customer Service

Trying to contact this company is diabolical. Only provision available is via Live Chat. Queued for hours before being cut off. No phone number or email address... Read more

Trying to contact this company is diabolical. Only provision available is via Live Chat. Queued for hours before being cut off. No phone number or email address available.
I cancelled my policy in July (after many hours and 2 attempts over Live Chat) and I'm still receiving letters stating that my policy is due to be cancelled if I don't make a payment. Won't ever use or recommend this company again, it's a shambles! They seem to be able to get in touch with you when they are looking for a payment but can't afford the same when you need to contact them. It's a joke!

Reviewed on 9th October 2020
Claire Townend's avatar
Claire Townend
Write a review

Insurance Broker

Top insurance

Very efficient company and always get you the best deal

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
Stephen Rowcroft's avatar
Stephen Rowcroft
Write a review

Insurance Broker

Early days

So far service has lived up to expectations, but I guess the real test is when you have to make a claim! Better to travel hopefully than to arrive as they say.

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
Pat Prime's avatar
Pat Prime
Write a review

Insurance Broker

One of a kind

When I have needed help One Call are there. They have sent me regular emails throughout the Pandemic they care. Their Customer Services are always very knowledgeable

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
Luci Wanstall 's avatar
Luci Wanstall
Write a review

Insurance Broker

hassle free insurance

a very good broker that keeps you well informed all through your policy time frame

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
robin mccormick's avatar
robin mccormick
Write a review

Insurance Broker

Fabulous !

Fabulous policy for a brilliant price. Super easy to set up online. Great service !

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
Vikki's avatar
Vikki
Write a review

Insurance Broker

Excellent

Quick and easy car insurance all done online.

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
Mel's avatar
Mel
Write a review

Insurance Broker

Very Good Company

Never had any problems with this company

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
David Buck's avatar
David Buck
Write a review

Insurance Broker

most likely 9

very professional and always ready to help and give more info frequently. which me aware of thi he l would not have taught off e.g. using my insurance to drive another third party car and other matters which was very informative

Reviewed on 19th September 2020
Rolland 's avatar
Rolland
Write a review