Avanti Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,601 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Buy quality, low-cost travel insurance for the elderly from Avanti Travel Insurance, an over 50s and pre-existing medical condition specialist UK travel insurance provider. Smart Money People is the #1 place online for Avanti Travel Care Insurance reviews...

READ MORE

Buy quality, low-cost travel insurance for the elderly from Avanti Travel Insurance, an over 50s and pre-existing medical condition specialist UK travel insurance provider. Smart Money People is the #1 place online for Avanti Travel Care Insurance reviews, so help us by reading and writing your own reviews of this company to help increase trust and transparency in financial services. Founded in 1996, and headquartered in Essex, if you've used this company before please share a review of your own and help others!

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Avanti Travel Insurance Products 1,601

Travel Insurance

All good reviews are for taking the policy, claims are terrible.

I see a lot of good reviews, but these are for insurance being taken out, not for a claim. I called Avanti to make sure I did everything required and correctly. I sent my full claim with medical certificate filled in by my doctor (which I paid for). I se Read more

I see a lot of good reviews, but these are for insurance being taken out, not for a claim.
I called Avanti to make sure I did everything required and correctly. I sent my full claim with medical certificate filled in by my doctor (which I paid for). I sent it via recorded delivery which was signed for by Avanti on May16th. I phoned them on the 27th as I had heard nothing, no confirmation they were looking at the claim to find out they had not loaded it to their system, but did confirm they had received it on the 16th. Received an email on the 6th July requesting medical certificate, I called again and person I spoke to confirmed they did actually already have the medical certificate and did not understand why I had been sent the email, he said he apologised and said he was going to escalate my case, this was on the 8th July. Now it is the 25th July and still not heard anything.

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
Mick's avatar
Mick
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Had Cruise Cover and Covid Cover

Had Cruise Cover and Covid Cover within my policy. Once we got to Barcelona I was refused boarding on to the ship as they tested for Covid and I was positive. Avanti are refusing to pay my claim so current dealing with the Insurance Ombudsman. Be very car Read more

Had Cruise Cover and Covid Cover within my policy. Once we got to Barcelona I was refused boarding on to the ship as they tested for Covid and I was positive. Avanti are refusing to pay my claim so current dealing with the Insurance Ombudsman. Be very careful to check that the cover you think you have is the cover you actually do have.

Reviewed on 21st June 2022
Tyna Campbell's avatar
Tyna Campbell
Write a review

Travel Insurance

No response to claim received by Avanti 13 April 2022

My claim was sent recorded delivery. Since then I have chased by email (no one answers the phone) and had two apparently unconnected emails asking for the same information. When I reply I get the automatic response which has increased over the two months Read more

My claim was sent recorded delivery. Since then I have chased by email (no one answers the phone) and had two apparently unconnected emails asking for the same information. When I reply I get the automatic response which has increased over the two months from 7 days, to 14, to 21 and now 31 days. Their excuse of course is a 'surge' in claims. I wonder if they ever paid out on time!

Reviewed on 20th June 2022
Anne Matthews's avatar
Anne Matthews
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Very Poor Service

We paid over £1000 for our cruise insurance cover as my husband had medical conditions. Everything was superb when I was taking out the insurance, but unfortunately we had to make a claim and I have now been waiting since 23rd March for contact re our cl Read more

We paid over £1000 for our cruise insurance cover as my husband had medical conditions. Everything was superb when I was taking out the insurance, but unfortunately we had to make a claim and I have now been waiting since 23rd March for contact re our claim (which was for the relatively small amount of around $200). I have tried phoning on at least 4 occasions, holding on for anything up to 15/20 minutes and have still not had an update or settlement. Would certainly not recommend based on my experience.

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Margo's avatar
Margo
Write a review

Travel Insurance

24hr emergency medical helpline

The only part of the title that is true, is that it is 24hr, be prepared to organise everything yourself

Reviewed on 5th May 2022
aJR's avatar
aJR
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Still waiting

Dreadful company. Still waiting to hear about my claim since March. No communication and don't try ringing.. They rarely answer emails and if they do they are generated

Reviewed on 1st May 2022
Jacqueline Phillips's avatar
Jacqueline Phillips
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Dreadful company

Avanti earns many favourable reviews for their insurance offer and the ease of setting up insurance. They're not so great if you need to make a claim. Five months after I was unable to go on holiday because I hurt my back (not a pre-exisiting condition), Read more

Avanti earns many favourable reviews for their insurance offer and the ease of setting up insurance. They're not so great if you need to make a claim. Five months after I was unable to go on holiday because I hurt my back (not a pre-exisiting condition), I am still trying to resolve my claim. I have spent hours waiting in queues on the phone, sent emails and letters by recorded delivery, and received no response. Eventually my claim was rejected because, they said my GP had prescribed pain relief for my back, and therefore it must have been a pre-existing condition! In fact, no pain relief was prescribed, but even if it had been, how on earth does that make it a pre-existing condition? Interestingly, my husband's associated claim was paid in January. As soon as my claim is settled, I will be cancelling my annual policy.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Ann Southwick's avatar
Ann Southwick
Write a review

Travel Insurance

AVOID!!!!

Lost my laptop, reported to police got everything, made a claim which by their policy takes up to 10 working days, BIG LIE!!! it took nearly 2 months to get the dismissal, don't waste your time/money with them, they wont help you, in a case you need them Read more

Lost my laptop, reported to police got everything, made a claim which by their policy takes up to 10 working days, BIG LIE!!! it took nearly 2 months to get the dismissal, don't waste your time/money with them, they wont help you, in a case you need them. AVOID!!!!!

Reviewed on 18th March 2022
Real SV2's avatar
Real SV2
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Will avoid paying out at all costs

We had travel insurance with Avanti and have only ever tried to make one claim for theft of a bag of items from a vehicle. This theft took place while I was resting in the vehicle and my partner was cooking food within 2 meters of the vehicle. Avanti have Read more

We had travel insurance with Avanti and have only ever tried to make one claim for theft of a bag of items from a vehicle. This theft took place while I was resting in the vehicle and my partner was cooking food within 2 meters of the vehicle. Avanti have rejected this claim on the grounds that the vehicle was "Unattended" despite both myself and my partner being present. We are currently taking Avanti to the Ombudsman. All I can say to everyone looking to use Avanti Travel Insurance is they will do their best to wriggle out of any responsibility they have to pay.

Reviewed on 15th March 2022
Luke Petersen's avatar
Luke Petersen
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Steve66

I have used this company in the past and have found them very competitive with their pricing. At the time of taking out my annual cover they were the only company offering COVID 19 cover plus they offer 15 months cover for the price of 12. They are the Read more

I have used this company in the past and have found them very competitive with their pricing. At the time of taking out my annual cover they were the only company offering COVID 19 cover plus they offer 15 months cover for the price of 12. They are the leading company in this area and that is why they get my vote

Reviewed on 13th October 2021
Steve Howes's avatar
Steve Howes
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Very easy company to buy travel insurance from

my wife, her friend and I all bought travel insurance from Avanti on the same day for our various travels , at very competitive prices! Very easy website to navigate for your requirements .

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Tony Ingleton's avatar
Tony Ingleton
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Really good insurance

Really good insurance that covers what others don”t whether older travelers or those with medical conditions.

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Alison Woods's avatar
Alison Woods
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Helpful and friendly.

The first time I called Avanty the operator was so helpful and friendly made the experience easy

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Mr W morrison's avatar
Mr W morrison
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Easy to use online

Very good price and the Comprehensive cover is very good price

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
ivan bailey's avatar
ivan bailey
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Excellent service all round

Everything explained. Everything covered.

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
John Leyton's avatar
John Leyton
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Going the extra mile.

Avanti Travel Insurance are so easy to deal with. Always polite and co-operative, going the extra mile to provide the cover to meet your requirements.

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
Robert Fox's avatar
Robert Fox
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Definitely will ues avanti next time

Would recommend avanti to family and friends very helpful over the phone felt relaxed while given My information to her and she was Very happy person

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
Andrew's avatar
Andrew
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Proactive without being pushy, they made us an offer we appreciated

We didn't know when we would be able to travel, so Avanti extended their cover plus offering COVID cover.

Reviewed on 7th October 2021
Susan Kimberley's avatar
Susan Kimberley
Write a review

Travel Insurance

I have travelled abroad every year and always I am insured with Avanti

I have never had to make a claim but I am sure that if I had to make a claim it would be settled promptly

Reviewed on 7th October 2021
Lily Kecheran 's avatar
Lily Kecheran
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Excellent company

Easy to book and reasonably priced

Reviewed on 7th October 2021
Jackie's avatar
Jackie
Write a review