Avanti Travel Insurance Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,608 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different...

READ MORE

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different policies to choose from, finding the right policy for you can be quite confusing. Reading our Avanti Travel Care travel insurance reviews can help you find out what other travellers have to say. You can also write your Avanti Travel Care travel insurance review too!

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Your Travel Insurance Reviews

1,608 reviews

Review Avanti Travel Insurance's Travel Insurance now

babies not covered.....

WOW, just been told that if a babies passport is not being held by them its not covered by the travel insurance! A BABY! We had our families passports stolen and they refused to pay out as the chidren were not holding their own passports. We paid for a fa Read more

WOW, just been told that if a babies passport is not being held by them its not covered by the travel insurance! A BABY! We had our families passports stolen and they refused to pay out as the chidren were not holding their own passports. We paid for a family cover.

Reviewed on 17th October 2022
Steve Porter's avatar
Steve Porter

Babies must carry own passports to be insured!

We claimed on our family poilcy for stolen passports and they refused to pay on our chidren's passports as they were not on them at the time of theft. So babies and chidlren can only claim for theft if they are holding the passports when stolen.

Reviewed on 17th October 2022
Steve Porter's avatar
Steve Porter

Declare EVERY pre-existing condition.

Tore skin on ankle 10 days before travel. Minor. Dressed by nurses prior to holiday. Wound became infected whilst on holiday. Phoned help line for guidance. Conversation shut down when informed injury pre-existing and not declared. No advice. On retur Read more

Tore skin on ankle 10 days before travel.
Minor. Dressed by nurses prior to holiday. Wound became infected whilst on holiday. Phoned help line for guidance. Conversation shut down when informed injury pre-existing and not declared. No advice.
On return asked if an in growing toenail would need to be declared in case of infection. Answer-YES!
ALL previous medical conditions to be declared!
At 79 years of age that would be reams of paperwork!!
Buyer beware!!!

Reviewed on 15th October 2022
Peter Davies's avatar
Peter Davies

Hopeless Do Not Use

Have been trying to make a claim and they make it practically impossible. Be warned.

Reviewed on 14th October 2022
Margaret Begley 's avatar
Margaret Begley

transparent

purchased travel cover for recent trip to mauritius. The cover included covid. Everything on the website and policy document was clear and concise, and we considered the premium competitive. Would recommend.

Reviewed on 9th October 2022
pelham brewer's avatar
pelham brewer

Best price

Best price found for holiday and personal criteria

Reviewed on 1st September 2022
andrew renouf's avatar
andrew renouf

Do Not Trust Avanti/Staysure

Like previous reviews have said, it's all very well rating Avanti highly when you've not actually had to claim. Try doing so and it's a whole new story. I was delayed due to the recent airport chaos. Had to spend a night at Gatwick Hotel and buy new fligh Read more

Like previous reviews have said, it's all very well rating Avanti highly when you've not actually had to claim. Try doing so and it's a whole new story. I was delayed due to the recent airport chaos. Had to spend a night at Gatwick Hotel and buy new flights the next day. Missed my pick up too which was prepaid. £500 out of pocket and Avanti sent me £60 with message saying this is full and final settlement. Oh I don't think so. I can't progress to legal action because I need to give them time to address the matter. In the meantime I'm addressing the matter on every platform available to me. The payment I received was from Staysure. I've heard Avanti is in trouble but not sure if they're up to the old trick of shutting down and reopening under a different name. Be sensible, be safe, avoid Avanti.

Reviewed on 16th August 2022
IsKing's avatar
IsKing

All good reviews are for taking the policy, claims are terrible.

I see a lot of good reviews, but these are for insurance being taken out, not for a claim. I called Avanti to make sure I did everything required and correctly. I sent my full claim with medical certificate filled in by my doctor (which I paid for). I se Read more

I see a lot of good reviews, but these are for insurance being taken out, not for a claim.
I called Avanti to make sure I did everything required and correctly. I sent my full claim with medical certificate filled in by my doctor (which I paid for). I sent it via recorded delivery which was signed for by Avanti on May16th. I phoned them on the 27th as I had heard nothing, no confirmation they were looking at the claim to find out they had not loaded it to their system, but did confirm they had received it on the 16th. Received an email on the 6th July requesting medical certificate, I called again and person I spoke to confirmed they did actually already have the medical certificate and did not understand why I had been sent the email, he said he apologised and said he was going to escalate my case, this was on the 8th July. Now it is the 25th July and still not heard anything.

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
Mick's avatar
Mick

Had Cruise Cover and Covid Cover

Had Cruise Cover and Covid Cover within my policy. Once we got to Barcelona I was refused boarding on to the ship as they tested for Covid and I was positive. Avanti are refusing to pay my claim so current dealing with the Insurance Ombudsman. Be very car Read more

Had Cruise Cover and Covid Cover within my policy. Once we got to Barcelona I was refused boarding on to the ship as they tested for Covid and I was positive. Avanti are refusing to pay my claim so current dealing with the Insurance Ombudsman. Be very careful to check that the cover you think you have is the cover you actually do have.

Reviewed on 21st June 2022
Tyna Campbell's avatar
Tyna Campbell

No response to claim received by Avanti 13 April 2022

My claim was sent recorded delivery. Since then I have chased by email (no one answers the phone) and had two apparently unconnected emails asking for the same information. When I reply I get the automatic response which has increased over the two months Read more

My claim was sent recorded delivery. Since then I have chased by email (no one answers the phone) and had two apparently unconnected emails asking for the same information. When I reply I get the automatic response which has increased over the two months from 7 days, to 14, to 21 and now 31 days. Their excuse of course is a 'surge' in claims. I wonder if they ever paid out on time!

Reviewed on 20th June 2022
Anne Matthews's avatar
Anne Matthews

Very Poor Service

We paid over £1000 for our cruise insurance cover as my husband had medical conditions. Everything was superb when I was taking out the insurance, but unfortunately we had to make a claim and I have now been waiting since 23rd March for contact re our cl Read more

We paid over £1000 for our cruise insurance cover as my husband had medical conditions. Everything was superb when I was taking out the insurance, but unfortunately we had to make a claim and I have now been waiting since 23rd March for contact re our claim (which was for the relatively small amount of around $200). I have tried phoning on at least 4 occasions, holding on for anything up to 15/20 minutes and have still not had an update or settlement. Would certainly not recommend based on my experience.

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Margo's avatar
Margo

24hr emergency medical helpline

The only part of the title that is true, is that it is 24hr, be prepared to organise everything yourself

Reviewed on 5th May 2022
aJR's avatar
aJR

Still waiting

Dreadful company. Still waiting to hear about my claim since March. No communication and don't try ringing.. They rarely answer emails and if they do they are generated

Reviewed on 1st May 2022
Jacqueline Phillips's avatar
Jacqueline Phillips

Dreadful company

Avanti earns many favourable reviews for their insurance offer and the ease of setting up insurance. They're not so great if you need to make a claim. Five months after I was unable to go on holiday because I hurt my back (not a pre-exisiting condition), Read more

Avanti earns many favourable reviews for their insurance offer and the ease of setting up insurance. They're not so great if you need to make a claim. Five months after I was unable to go on holiday because I hurt my back (not a pre-exisiting condition), I am still trying to resolve my claim. I have spent hours waiting in queues on the phone, sent emails and letters by recorded delivery, and received no response. Eventually my claim was rejected because, they said my GP had prescribed pain relief for my back, and therefore it must have been a pre-existing condition! In fact, no pain relief was prescribed, but even if it had been, how on earth does that make it a pre-existing condition? Interestingly, my husband's associated claim was paid in January. As soon as my claim is settled, I will be cancelling my annual policy.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Ann Southwick's avatar
Ann Southwick

AVOID!!!!

Lost my laptop, reported to police got everything, made a claim which by their policy takes up to 10 working days, BIG LIE!!! it took nearly 2 months to get the dismissal, don't waste your time/money with them, they wont help you, in a case you need them Read more

Lost my laptop, reported to police got everything, made a claim which by their policy takes up to 10 working days, BIG LIE!!! it took nearly 2 months to get the dismissal, don't waste your time/money with them, they wont help you, in a case you need them. AVOID!!!!!

Reviewed on 18th March 2022
Real SV2's avatar
Real SV2

Will avoid paying out at all costs

We had travel insurance with Avanti and have only ever tried to make one claim for theft of a bag of items from a vehicle. This theft took place while I was resting in the vehicle and my partner was cooking food within 2 meters of the vehicle. Avanti have Read more

We had travel insurance with Avanti and have only ever tried to make one claim for theft of a bag of items from a vehicle. This theft took place while I was resting in the vehicle and my partner was cooking food within 2 meters of the vehicle. Avanti have rejected this claim on the grounds that the vehicle was "Unattended" despite both myself and my partner being present. We are currently taking Avanti to the Ombudsman. All I can say to everyone looking to use Avanti Travel Insurance is they will do their best to wriggle out of any responsibility they have to pay.

Reviewed on 15th March 2022
Luke Petersen's avatar
Luke Petersen

Steve66

I have used this company in the past and have found them very competitive with their pricing. At the time of taking out my annual cover they were the only company offering COVID 19 cover plus they offer 15 months cover for the price of 12. They are the Read more

I have used this company in the past and have found them very competitive with their pricing. At the time of taking out my annual cover they were the only company offering COVID 19 cover plus they offer 15 months cover for the price of 12. They are the leading company in this area and that is why they get my vote

Reviewed on 13th October 2021
Steve Howes's avatar
Steve Howes

Very easy company to buy travel insurance from

my wife, her friend and I all bought travel insurance from Avanti on the same day for our various travels , at very competitive prices! Very easy website to navigate for your requirements .

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Tony Ingleton's avatar
Tony Ingleton

Really good insurance

Really good insurance that covers what others don”t whether older travelers or those with medical conditions.

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Alison Woods's avatar
Alison Woods

Helpful and friendly.

The first time I called Avanty the operator was so helpful and friendly made the experience easy

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Mr W morrison's avatar
Mr W morrison