Smart Money People Logo

Footman James: Classic Car Insurance Broker reviews

4.90
Based on 592 reviews, last reviewed 22nd Sep 2023
No new 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
No new 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
92%
See only 4 star reviews
7%
See only 3 star reviews
0%
See only 2 star reviews
0%
See only 1 star reviews
1%

Latest highest rating:

5

Classic car insurance Easy to sort what I needed, friendly knowledgeable staff on the phone, and a competitive renewal price Reviewed on: 22nd September 2023
Peter Winfield's avatar
Peter Winfield

Latest lowest rating:

1

Check your policy I had a classic loved BMW E30.I believed that Footman James were my insurer, they were not. Although their glossy website looks great, READ THE SMALL ... Read more Reviewed on: 1st June 2022
Lorraine Vickery's avatar
Lorraine Vickery

About the Classic Car Insurance Broker

Looking to read or write Footman James classic car insurance broker reviews? Smart Money People is the best place online for independent financial services reviews. Our community writes Footman James classic car insurance broker reviews to help you decide when choosing financial products, so if you're already a Footman James client, join in and share a review of your own!

Review Footman James: Classic Car Insurance Broker now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

Footman James Classic Car Insurance Broker reviews (592)

Classic car insurance

5
Easy to sort what I needed, friendly knowledgeable staff on the phone, and a competitive renewal price Reviewed on: 22nd September 2023
Peter Winfield's avatar
Peter Winfield

Check your policy

1
I had a classic loved BMW E30.I believed that Footman James were my insurer, they were not. Although their glossy website looks great, READ THE SMALL PRINT. There was an accident where my E30 was deemed a total loss. Then all became clear, I had been passed to Ageas. Ageas are not classic car insurers they will not insure a classic car unless it is passed to them by a BROKER. I now know that Footman James acted as a broker not an insurer ,I was oblivious to this. I specifically wanted an insurer that appreciated a classic car owners needs, they are so unlike modern vehicles. I believed that Footman James could provide this. They did not. Ageas have made my life an absolute nightmare and I would not wish this on anyone else. I have been through hell. Check your policy you could be with Ageas or similar. Just be very careful, you could lose your precious vehicle and your mind. Reviewed on: 1st June 2022
Lorraine Vickery's avatar
Lorraine Vickery

Great Broker

5
Competitive and Great Staff with good knowledge Reviewed on: 16th September 2021
Gary Hughes 's avatar
Gary Hughes

Outrageous attempt to rip me off

1
Utter rip off. A failed attempt to rip me off after 8 years by trying to charge me over 51% (£182.71) more for classic car insurance than that provided by another well known and renowned classic car insurance provider. I have been with Footman James for over 8 years for classic car insurance. Unfortunately, they decided to use that longevity in order to try and rip me off with the upmost contempt. I can only assume that those 8 years loyalty suggested to Footman James that I am either stupid or gullible or too lazy to shop around. Probably all three. I received a classic car renewal quote of these people showing a marked increase in my premium that I believed could not be justified. A premium quoted at £436.91. Upon questioning their price they stated that if I came back to them with a cheaper quote off another supplier they would look at their pricing. I came back to them with a quote at £100.91 cheaper for increased insurance provisions. I also informed them, as I had the other provider, that I had had a modern car wrote off by a lorry in December 2019 as a no fault and settled claim. A no fault settled claim as my car had been parked in a car park, empty with no one in it when a lorry decided to drive over it. That declaration was like a green light for them to really treat me like a fool. Upon this notice they decided to stick on a further £98.80, increasing the quote from £436.91 to £535.71. They even threw at me the added insult of claiming this further £98.80 increase included a 10% discount. On my challenge this was all justified by way of claiming the increase was computer driven and there was nothing they could do to reduce it. To that end I have dropped Footman James with the same contempt they have shown towards me. I have now insured with another renowned classic car insurer with better provisions at just £353. This includes full breakdown, home start, recovery, tax and arrangement fee, etc. To spell this out in no uncertain terms, Footman James wanted £182.71 more for providing less cover than that which I now have with another well known provider. In percentage terms that is approximately 51.25% more for less cover. This was nothing less than an outrageous attempt to rip off even though I had been with them for over 8 years. I hope as many people as possible read this review in its entirety. Reviewed on: 25th February 2020
T Johnson's avatar
T Johnson

Review Footman James: Classic Car Insurance Broker now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review
Are you a business? Get insights, reply to reviews, invite customers and understand their needs