Petplan Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,882 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Since Petplan's inception in 1976, Petplan's priority has been to keep the nation's pets healthy and their owners happy. By offering the very best pet insurance policies and great customer service they have helped millions of owners get their beloved pets...

READ MORE

Since Petplan's inception in 1976, Petplan's priority has been to keep the nation's pets healthy and their owners happy. By offering the very best pet insurance policies and great customer service they have helped millions of owners get their beloved pets back on their feet following illness and injury. Smart Money People is the place for Petplan reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Petplan Products 1,882

Pet Insurance

Covered For Life

PetPlan offers Cover for Life and it really does mean this. The problem with so many other pet insurance companies is that they have limits for specific illnesses and then they are excluded after a claim. But this allows you to renew the benefit each year Read more

PetPlan offers Cover for Life and it really does mean this. The problem with so many other pet insurance companies is that they have limits for specific illnesses and then they are excluded after a claim. But this allows you to renew the benefit each year.

Having made a claim on the policy, it was easy to do through my vets who filled in all the details and sent it off. Another reason to choose PetPlan is they are very trusted and respected by vets, who know they will pay out without quibbles and in my experience this has been the case; the premium did not even go up loads afterwards as might have been expected. They support lots of charities and also run the Veterinary awards.

Reviewed on 8th August 2016
Karen Scammell's avatar
Karen Scammell
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Happy cat 58

Always helpful, polite should I have any questions.

Reviewed on 30th July 2022
Cheryl Hamm's avatar
Cheryl Hamm
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Simply outstanding

We have held a policy with Petplan for many years the ease and speed of addressing claims and the quality of communication is outstanding they are clearly very customer focused and provide a great policy and service

Reviewed on 21st July 2022
Neil D's avatar
Neil D
Write a review

Pet Insurance

No Complaints ever!

We've been with a Petplan for 4 years now and never had any issues. We lodge a claim and are promptly reimbursement. No issues at all and a comprehensive policy.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Samir Durrani's avatar
Samir Durrani
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Save your money .....

I insured my German Shepherd since a pup, she's 10yrs old now so I've paid roughly £6k in premiums to Petplan. My second claim was last month for £420.00. So they deducted the £95 excess + 20% of the OVERALL amount + ALL the PRESCRIBED foodstuffs over the Read more

I insured my German Shepherd since a pup, she's 10yrs old now so I've paid roughly £6k in premiums to Petplan. My second claim was last month for £420.00. So they deducted the £95 excess + 20% of the OVERALL amount + ALL the PRESCRIBED foodstuffs over the critical period and they're proposing sending a cheque for £163.00 , for a claim they've had over 5 weeks.

I also discovered that Petplan had tried to convince my vet that the illness claimed for was in fact the same illness as my only previous claim, Petplan clearly trying to wriggle out of paying anything! Petplan 'Claim Team' seem appear to try anything to negate a claim and mistake their knowledge, or lack thereof, for a veterinary degree plus years of practise.

You'll find most of the positive reviews for Petplan are employees or new pet owners thinking they have 'peace of mind' as it was 'so easy to sign up'. When it comes to making a claim, not so easy. Also, bear in mind the vast majority of visits to the vet come well below the excess charged by Petplan and even if its £20 or £30 over the likelihood is you'll not make a claim in the hope they'll be more receptive when you do. This is most definitely not my experience with Petplan.

My advise, put the cost of the premium away each month, it'll be significantly cheaper, you wont need to debate with Petplan to pay the vet bill and you'll more than likely find you've initiated a lovely savings plan which will show a large surplus over and above it's intended use.

I have cancelled my policy with Petplan, to not do so would be simply throwing money away and enabling this company to perpetuate their disgraceful business.

I have to say I'm amazed Mr Fitzpatrick has seen fit to endorse this disreputable company for his few pieces of silver, staggering how some will apparently say anything for a greedy pound!

Reviewed on 15th January 2022
Stuart Mason's avatar
Stuart Mason
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Always helpful

They make claiming very easy. Never had a problem

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Jemma Louise Beynon's avatar
Jemma Louise Beynon
Write a review

Pet Insurance

I recommend PetPlan to everyone I know who has a pet.

I can't say enough about PetPlan pet insurance. They are absolutely no hassle and have taken the additional burden of the financial stress out of a terrible situation for me and my cat. My vet actually takes the policy without upfront payment, so I only h Read more

I can't say enough about PetPlan pet insurance. They are absolutely no hassle and have taken the additional burden of the financial stress out of a terrible situation for me and my cat. My vet actually takes the policy without upfront payment, so I only have to pay my co-pay on the day. Now I am confident that in an emergency, I can focus on my pet and not spend extra energy worrying about the added financial strain of an uncovered vet bill. 10/10

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Pauline Danley-Cox's avatar
Pauline Danley-Cox
Write a review

Pet Insurance

We have found pet plan to be very helpful

If ever we have a problem, they are always friendly and understanding.

Reviewed on 30th December 2021
Susan Yeatman's avatar
Susan Yeatman
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Reassuring simple insurance

I am a first time dog owner and had to take my puppy for emergency treatment for the first time. The claiming system is simple quick and all I had to do was worry about making my dog better! To taking away the anxiety of dog ownership and vet bills away a Read more

I am a first time dog owner and had to take my puppy for emergency treatment for the first time. The claiming system is simple quick and all I had to do was worry about making my dog better! To taking away the anxiety of dog ownership and vet bills away and I can just enjoy him. Thank you Petplan

Reviewed on 7th December 2021
Hannah Constable's avatar
Hannah Constable
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Always there when I need

Always there when we need support claiming or with information, great service, great price and fully trust them

Reviewed on 7th December 2021
Sian's avatar
Sian
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Awesome Service

Easy talking and quickly solved problem. Amazing staff.

Reviewed on 6th December 2021
Vagner de Souza's avatar
Vagner de Souza
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Brilliant

Excellent company and very helpful customer care

Reviewed on 6th December 2021
Debbie 's avatar
Debbie
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Great Pet insurance

I like using Petplan, it covers a lot of problems and it's easy to work with

Reviewed on 6th December 2021
Lauren Allen's avatar
Lauren Allen
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Excellent

Really great prices and they are really helpful when you need to make a claim or have questions. One of my animals was taken sick and they were really swift. Whenever I called to make enquiries they always asked how my pet was doing. These small things ma Read more

Really great prices and they are really helpful when you need to make a claim or have questions. One of my animals was taken sick and they were really swift. Whenever I called to make enquiries they always asked how my pet was doing. These small things matter to pet owners.

Reviewed on 5th December 2021
David Collier's avatar
David Collier
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Excellent service and cover

Deal direct with vet when going through stress of dog being unwell takes the strain of more worry

Reviewed on 4th December 2021
Anna Scoltock's avatar
Anna Scoltock
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Excellent

Easy clear website and excellent customer service

Reviewed on 3rd December 2021
lucyowen555@btinternet.com's avatar
lucyowen555@btinternet.com
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Good value for money ..a company dedicated to animals.

Looked at a lot ov insurance companies once i purchased my dog ...then decided to have him castrated at the vets an was offered this service with petplan with one mths insurance free to which i thaught was amazing ...then looked them up on ther website an Read more

Looked at a lot ov insurance companies once i purchased my dog ...then decided to have him castrated at the vets an was offered this service with petplan with one mths insurance free to which i thaught was amazing ...then looked them up on ther website an decided that not only am i getting good value for money ...but they are also a company dedicated to an animals welfare ...an dont seem to be in it just for the money ..like other companies ..

Reviewed on 3rd December 2021
Darren smith's avatar
Darren smith
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Friendly and understanding

I have used Petplan for years, previously my horse was insured and now my cat is insured. My horse was a nightmare with injuries and Petplan took the stress away. Thankfully my Maine Coon is a healthy and fit ball of fluff, but animals are unpredictab Read more

I have used Petplan for years, previously my horse was insured and now my cat is insured. My horse was a nightmare with injuries and Petplan took the stress away.
Thankfully my Maine Coon is a healthy and fit ball of fluff, but animals are unpredictable and it takes one small thing and your looking at huge bills, however making monthly payments lessons that burden and the friendliness of the staff definitely take the stress out of making a claim.

Reviewed on 30th November 2021
Susan's avatar
Susan
Write a review

Pet Insurance

A little pricey but worth it

I have claimed a few times for my jrt and have had no problems. Staff seem to be warm, caring and ready to help with respect and empathy.

Reviewed on 29th November 2021
RN's avatar
RN
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Just brilliant

I’ve never had pet insurance before, but decided to obtain for our new puppy, he fell very ill and the vets and pet plan were brilliant no hassle stress free and a happy heathy little fur baby at the end of it. They made the claim so easy leaving me to ju Read more

I’ve never had pet insurance before, but decided to obtain for our new puppy, he fell very ill and the vets and pet plan were brilliant no hassle stress free and a happy heathy little fur baby at the end of it. They made the claim so easy leaving me to just concentrate on his after care . Thankyou

Reviewed on 28th November 2021
Gail's avatar
Gail
Write a review