Voting in the British Bank Awards is now open! Share your feedback & enter our £1,000 prize draw.Vote now

RIAS Reviews

Ratings based on 21 reviews Last review 3 weeks ago
3.7 / 5Great overall rating

RIAS is a specialist provider of home and car insurance for the over 50s. We have the expertise to find the cover you want for all the possessions and memories you've collected over the years. Smart Money People is the place for RIAS reviews. Read and...

Read Full Description

RIAS is a specialist provider of home and car insurance for the over 50s. We have the expertise to find the cover you want for all the possessions and memories you've collected over the years. Smart Money People is the place for RIAS reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 9
4 6
3 0
2 0
1 5

Your RIAS Reviews (21)

Write a review
22nd November 2018

No Customer Service Skills Whatsoever

My mother passed away & I received an abruptly worded letter demanding answers to numerous questions & an alternative funding source for her contents...

Read more

My mother passed away & I received an abruptly worded letter demanding answers to numerous questions & an alternative funding source for her contents insurance.
Upon phoning them I was left on hold for 12 minutes, they are the only company to totally disregard the common courtesy of offering condolences. The woman (having put me on hold three times by this point) and whose manner was barely civil said that I couldn't cancel the insurance and they would need a copy of the Death Certificate (which is standard) plus they would need payment of £11.27 for the months premium pro rata (payment was last made on the 3rd and she died on the 7th). Once again she was dismissive and seemed totally oblivious of the fact that although RIAS could lose £11.27, I had just lost my mother. I would never recommend them & hope never to have to deal with them & having looked at a comparison site today found the premium was twice what other companies are quoting.

Write a review
5th October 2018

Unprofessional

My Mother sadly passed away two weeks...

Read more

My Mother sadly passed away two weeks ago.

She had taken contents insurance for her house from Riaz and been with them for a number of years.

Upon her passing, I contacted Riaz to inform them of the same.

The gentleman (using the term loosely) that I spoke to seemed more interested in recovering the last premium payment (due out of her account some 7 days after she passed) than actually offering any sentiment of condolence.

However, like my mother taught me, I firmly believe that a debt of any kind (in this case £14.25) needs to be settled & gave them my name & contact details to facilitate the same.

Today I received a letter from Riaz at my (not my mother’s address) addressed to my mother stating there was an outstanding balance and demanding settlement within 7 days of the date of the letter (dated some four days earlier).

There was no reference to the fact she was recently deceased.

Please do not misunderstand me, I was not expecting a condolence card and flowers, but a professionally worded letter addressed to me at my address (AND NOT HER) referencing my earlier report of her passing stating there was an outstanding amount would have been perfectly acceptable... Dare I even suggest a remark noting sympathy???

Instead, my Mum (NOT ME) at my address receives a needlessly poorly toned and possibly threatening letter demanding payment.

One can only conclude the Riaz are either unprofessional, disorganised, incompetent, don’t really care about their clients or are possibly in such troubled times that £14.25 could make or brake them to such a degree that they have to send such a shocking letter to a recently deceased person!

Disgusted!!!!

After calling them to again state I would settle the amount and objecting to the letter, they did write off the out-standing balance, but frankly, not nearly sufficient for my anger with them to subside!

Would strongly discourage anyone from using them!

Write a review
18th August 2018

Nothing hidden

Having had my home contents insurance with RIAS last year, when my renewal came up I was amazed to find there was hardly any increase in the cost for my second year's insurance, making them still cheaper than any other. Included in that is a great...

Read more

Having had my home contents insurance with RIAS last year, when my renewal came up I was amazed to find there was hardly any increase in the cost for my second year's insurance, making them still cheaper than any other. Included in that is a great customer service who listen to your needs and process everything exactly when they are asked to. Hopefully next year's renewal quote will be just as competitive.

Write a review
29th August 2017

Gouging Pensioners by charging over 3 times the average - AVOID!!

I just found out my 88 year old mother is paying £459.93 per year for home insurance. I only pay Admiral £135.64 for a holiday home of very similar value and property type which is unoccupied for 3 weeks of the month. I called Rias and spoke to a guy c...

Read more

I just found out my 88 year old mother is paying £459.93 per year for home insurance. I only pay Admiral £135.64 for a holiday home of very similar value and property type which is unoccupied for 3 weeks of the month. I called Rias and spoke to a guy called George in Customer Service who offered no explanations or anything as to why they are taking advantage of a lady who is nearly 90. A quick look on the web reveals that RIAS is bad news I recommend anyone using them and especially if there are elderly family members check the price VERY, VERY, CAREFULLY!!

Write a review
1st August 2017

Home insurance

I found Rias helpful and the house insurance was reasonable, they are a reputable company and are easy to deal with, when I needed to make a claim the lady helped me all of the way, no pressure or difficulties, I have always trusted this insurer for...

Read more

I found Rias helpful and the house insurance was reasonable, they are a reputable company and are easy to deal with, when I needed to make a claim the lady helped me all of the way, no pressure or difficulties, I have always trusted this insurer for my needs.

Write a review
21st November 2016

Stunning revelation on follow up!

I have made the most extraordinary discovery re my 90 year old mother's claim. So exasperated have i been by my perception of the contempt that RIAS appear to have displayed to the elderly and vulnerable, I decided to request a copy of my file and all...

Read more

I have made the most extraordinary discovery re my 90 year old mother's claim. So exasperated have i been by my perception of the contempt that RIAS appear to have displayed to the elderly and vulnerable, I decided to request a copy of my file and all related notes under Data Protection legislation.

There were many pieces of information that confirmed my previous views but one which did stand out was that the team leader handling my mother's claim, in writing made a recommendation that my mother's insurance renewal not be permitted as i had Twittered my complaints! Luckily he was advised by compliance and PR not to proceed down this route but it does astonish me that a 90 year-old lady would have been penalised because her son, looking after her affairs, had the audacity to publicly complain!

Incidentally this same team leader just a few days later was making a final judgement on the compensation issues.

Write a review
29th August 2016

A contemptible catalogue of error, inefficiency and mismanagement of a 90 year-old policyholder.

My mother had an escape of water at her property. The claim was acknowledged as valid and that was the end of the good news. I have had to handle my mother's affairs in this regard and I keep asking and not getting a satisfactory answer as to how she...

Read more

My mother had an escape of water at her property. The claim was acknowledged as valid and that was the end of the good news. I have had to handle my mother's affairs in this regard and I keep asking and not getting a satisfactory answer as to how she would have coped with this claim without support. Amongst the problems on this claim:
1. Reluctance by RIAS to properly project manage
2. Necessity for the policyholder to do project management, without compensation apparently
3. Despite being a policy for the older client an institutional misunderstanding of the needs of frail elderly at all levels
4. Aggressive, inappropriate and unprofessional responses when challenged on technical difficulties - on all of which the policyholder was proved correct
5. Contractors being engaged who did not properly complete the job with live electrical works not properly fitted and layers of dust all over the property
6. Extra costs and time incurred because of inefficiencies
7. Family being paid at rates less than the minimum wage rates (and presumably contractors rates) to clear up after contractors
8. Family being inducted to be allowed to go into property, then barred, then allowed. Persistent health and safety failings by those administering the repair.
9. Family being forbidden to repair fences or mow lawn because of incorrect health and safety interpretations, heightening security risks.
10. Company not allowing escalation beyond a certain level i.e. those who adjudicated would not allow their actions to be reviewed.
11. Requests for compensation short-circuited by RIAS and AGEAS by determining compensation without proper reference to evidence or even awaiting the submission of the evidence. Attempt by the company to outsource issue to FOS instead of thoroughly reviewing themselves.
12. A refusal to meet the family to discuss how the next 90 year-old can avoid being handled the same way.

I have found this to be the most extraordinary Kafkaesque organisation I have ever had the misfortune to encounter. They are in deep denial. But, above all. how do they deal with the elderly, their target market, on an ongoing basis?