Smart Money People Logo

HomeLet: Landlord Insurance reviews

2.60
Based on 5 reviews, last reviewed 24th Feb 2023
No new 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
No new 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
40%
4 star
See only 4 star reviews
0%
3 star
See only 3 star reviews
0%
2 star
See only 2 star reviews
0%
See only 1 star reviews
60%

Latest highest rating:

5

Homelet Excellent insurance company. Would highly recommend Homelet to anyone who needs Landlord insurance. Reviewed on: 16th July 2017
Rochelle Benson's avatar
Rochelle Benson

Latest lowest rating:

1

Failed reference for no reason One week before our scheduled move-in date, we were informed by our estate agent that HomeLet had failed my housemate's reference. Upon contact with H... Read more Reviewed on: 24th February 2023
Peter's avatar
Peter

About the Landlord Insurance

Are you a landlord looking for cover for your properties? Read our HomeLet reviews to see what other landlords have said about their landlord insurance. Whether it's for a single, or multiple properties, our community shares reviews on levels of cover, customer service provided, and other details about this specialist insurance to help you make better decisions about HomeLet and other landlord insurance companies.

Review HomeLet: Landlord Insurance now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

HomeLet Landlord Insurance reviews (5)

Failed reference for no reason

1
One week before our scheduled move-in date, we were informed by our estate agent that HomeLet had failed my housemate's reference. Upon contact with HomeLet as to the reason for this, the only information they would divulge was that it was for a "residential" reason, and they would only divulge this to the estate agent, not to us. We have rented many times before this where other referencing companies were used and this has never happened. Because of the failed reference, our offer fell through and we were left without a place to live. Moreover, we will be unable to rent any property in the future that uses HomeLet as a referencing company. Only once threatened with the financial ombudsman did HomeLet show any willingness to tell us what the issue was. And guess what? The issue was so minor that the current landlord (that the issue apparently affected) didn't think it was an issue at all. But still HomeLet refused to budge, even when we presented them with multiple possible solutions. It is disgusting that a company like HomeLet can hold such power over people's lives. Avoid at all costs. Reviewed on: 24th February 2023
Peter's avatar
Peter

Missold landlords insurance for ten years.

1
I bought landlords insurance 10 years ago for my three bedroom property. I told Homelet it was a house with individual tenants. I tenant referenced each and every tenant with Homelet. In September 2021 I was told my insurance had been reassessed, the property didn't meet the policy requirements and wouldn't be renewed. It was declined because it was a multi lease property, not one lease for the entire property. I explained that all the tenants had been referenced checked by Homelets own referencing department. I explained that Homelet insurance had been specifically told in writing in 2014 that there were more than one AST at the property. Homelets Landlords insurance had continued to take the premiums. By not renewing in September 2021 they were confirming it was in fact the incorrect policy since 2012. They offered to make an adjustment with the underwriters for an amended policy that may or not pay out in the event of a claim i.e an incomplete policy. I rejected their offer and asked for a refund of all missold premiums over 10years circa £6k. They failed to meet their own complaints deadlines three times. My complaint was escalated twice until Head of Complaints confirmed they would refuse to repay the missold premiums. There is no appeal process. No explanation for poor communication between their personal or their customers. No attempt at decent customer service. Homelet, was in my experience, an insurance company who do not communicate between their own tenant reference and landlord insurance departments. I would not buy their services or policies again. Reviewed on: 5th May 2022

Slow and inefficient

1
I had to make an insurance claim last year due to no fault of my own. This company were uncommunicative, missed or ignored emails and took an age to reply to any enquiry. In the end it took months to resolve my claim even though it was a very cut-and-dry case. This is a company to be avoided! Reviewed on: 6th August 2017
Emily Caseley's avatar
Emily Caseley

Homelet

5
Excellent insurance company. Would highly recommend Homelet to anyone who needs Landlord insurance. Reviewed on: 16th July 2017
Rochelle Benson's avatar
Rochelle Benson

Do you have a different HomeLet product?

Share your experiences with products to help others make smarter financial decisions and learn more about different products available. Write a review
Are you a business? Get insights, reply to reviews, invite customers and understand their needs

There's still more to see!

HomeLet has a range of products available. Check the ratings of each product to find the right one for you. View all products