Share your insurance feedback and make your voice heard.Vote in the Insurance Choice Awards

Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 351 reviews Last review 23 hours ago
4.83 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 369
4 49
3 7
2 1
1 2

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (351)

Write a review
18th August 2019

Opening account

Opening the account was a little daunting, as I could have done with the account number straight away, to avoid delay in transaction being made. NBS information received quickly to open online and easy to follow. Would like to see app?

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Lance, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are in the early stages of investigating an app. We will advise when this is available to members. Thanks again for feedback, it's much appreciated and will be shared with the operations team.
Write a review
17th August 2019

2nd account opening

I opened a senior savers account and did this online. For an instant access, no limits on the number of withdrawals account, the interest rate was much better than my existing account with another provider. All went smoothly, but I was asked to...

Read more

I opened a senior savers account and did this online. For an instant access, no limits on the number of withdrawals account, the interest rate was much better than my existing account with another provider. All went smoothly, but I was asked to provide a recent bank statement for my nominated account, even though this was the same one already confirmed. A quick exchange of emails resolved this promptly and efficiently.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Steve, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I am glad the issue was resolved and will pass on process feedback to the operations team.
Write a review
16th August 2019

Friendly, comprehensive advice

Wandered in to Winchester branch without an appointment, having been recommended by a family member. Was greeted promptly and dealt with immediately. Will talked me through all the savings options and advised me on the most appropriate for me. Talked...

Read more

Wandered in to Winchester branch without an appointment, having been recommended by a family member. Was greeted promptly and dealt with immediately. Will talked me through all the savings options and advised me on the most appropriate for me. Talked me through the process and opened my account; no fuss or difficulties. Friendly, approachable - I was very pleased.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us, its much appreciated and lovely to hear your experience has been positive. Welcome to the Newbury!
Write a review
16th August 2019

So easy to contact really friendly and personable, can't do rough to help.

Incredibly helpful and easy to talk to. I couldn't of wished for better customer care and service.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Gill, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, it's much appreciated - so lovely to hear when our customers have had a positive experience :-)
Write a review
12th August 2019

Friendly, customer focused, resolve issues swiftly

Had issues with a standing order, Will (from Winchester) was wonderful in resolving the sue and setting me up savings and an isa.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Rachel, Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, its much appreciated. We will be sure to pass your comments to Will.
Write a review
12th August 2019

Refreshingly straightforward!

After several stressful experiences with my original lender and others it was a great relief to be told that NBS were able to provide me with an appropriate solution for my re-mortgage. The entire operation was completely painless due to the...

Read more

After several stressful experiences with my original lender and others it was a great relief to be told that NBS were able to provide me with an appropriate solution for my re-mortgage. The entire operation was completely painless due to the uncomplicated application process and the considerate, informal manner employed by your advisor, Angela.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Roger, many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. It's much appreciated and we will be sure to let Angela know your comments.
Write a review
9th August 2019

Very helpful staff

I noticed tempting savings rates as I passed the branch in Winchester on my way to a hair appointment. The staff were very helpful providing me with the information I needed quickly so I was able to get to my appointment on time. When I returned...

Read more

I noticed tempting savings rates as I passed the branch in Winchester on my way to a hair appointment. The staff were very helpful providing me with the information I needed quickly so I was able to get to my appointment on time. When I returned later, another member of staff completed my application thoroughly and allowing me sufficient time to get my bus.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Fifi, thank you for taking time to leave feedback for us. Our Winchester colleagues will be pleased to hear they were able to help :-)
Write a review
6th August 2019

Kind've old school service

I set up my account with Newbury at the same time as setting up a Monzo current account, and there were a few notable differences. Monzo have found how to set up an account using your phone which takes minutes and is being used by more and more...

Read more

I set up my account with Newbury at the same time as setting up a Monzo current account, and there were a few notable differences. Monzo have found how to set up an account using your phone which takes minutes and is being used by more and more people. Setting up an account with you guys was a bit more like setting off a nuclear bomb in the 1950s. At one point I was asked to send a cheque (I've not owned a cheque book since about 1987) and the paying in book looks like my nan's ration book after the war.
Just as high street shops are being replaced by online equivalents, banks and building societies need to think carefully about their operating systems so they don't go the same way I think.
That's my 2 bobs worth- hope it helps.
Sam.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Sam, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, and yes your feedback does help! We are working on improving our digital capability, which features strongly in our plans for now and the coming years. We are committed to maintaining our branch network and improving our online services, and as a mutual organisation we need to ensure that we invest our member's money in digital improvements which are secure and efficient. You can manage savings accounts online using myaccounts , as soon as we have any new digital developments to share we will let you know. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your 2 bob, we do appreciate it!
Write a review
3rd August 2019

Just what I would want from a customer focused organisation.

I initially phoned the Branch in Winchester and was pleasantly surprised when a helpful person answered within a few rings telling we exactly what I needed to know. My in Branch opening of my account was equally straightforward and trauma free.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Jonathan, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It's much appreciated and we are always pleased to hear the service has been helpful and straightforward.