Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 916 reviews Last review 14 hours ago
4.78 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 766
4 116
3 20
2 9
1 5

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (916)

Write a review
23rd October 2020

Very helpful and friendly staff.

All the staff where very polite and professional, and the building was marked out for social distancing in these trying times, Alice who saw to me opening an account was very helpful and professional, any questions I asked about savings, withdrawing...

Read more

All the staff where very polite and professional, and the building was marked out for social distancing in these trying times, Alice who saw to me opening an account was very helpful and professional, any questions I asked about savings, withdrawing money, or depositing money in my account, she was able to answer me with helpful advise that I could understand easily. James

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thanks James for your kind words and taking the time to leave feedback for us. We really appreciate it.
Write a review
21st October 2020

New Welcome account

I opened a new account as another member of my family had good things to say about the Newbury. The whole process went very well with the member of staff who helped me being very efficient and pleasant to deal with. I shall pass on my...

Read more

I opened a new account as another member of my family had good things to say about the Newbury. The whole process went very well with the member of staff who helped me being very efficient and pleasant to deal with. I shall pass on my recommendation to others.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Emmy, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and for your pledge to pass on your recommendation. Welcome to the Newbury!
Write a review
18th October 2020

Excellent service

Although excellent service we would have preferred to conduct our business in a private office instead of the reception area. Maybe this was because of the coronavirus and is temporary, and if so we completely understand.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Lynda, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we appreciate it. Yes, due to the restricted space we have in some branch private rooms we are unable to provide this service due to social distancing requirements to keep both our customers and colleagues safe. Many thanks for your understanding.
Write a review
17th October 2020

Mortgages to Save You Money!

I am very impressed by their level of customer service. Newbury Building Society rang me up and saved me money simply by helping me switch to one of their new mortgage products. Things were easily and concisely explained and more importantly the...

Read more

I am very impressed by their level of customer service. Newbury Building Society rang me up and saved me money simply by helping me switch to one of their new mortgage products. Things were easily and concisely explained and more importantly the correct paperwork to enable me to complete my transaction arrived quickly. No hassle and no fuss. I would definitely recommend dealing with them.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Richard, thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to provide this feedback - we really appreciate it.
Write a review
16th October 2020

Brilliant !!!

Was amazed the account could be opened so quickly and efficiently. Your staff were very informative, and friendly. Just waiting for my passbooks to arrive, couldnt have been easier. THANK YOU.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback and such kind words. Our teams are always thrilled to hear they have made a positive impression on our customers.
Write a review
13th October 2020

Friendly helpful staff who explained all my options

I appreciated being able to have personal contact and I like the flexibility of being able to carry out transactions either in branch, by post or have queries dealt with over the telephone .

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Ruth, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave feedback for us. It's much appreciated.
Write a review
11th October 2020

Nice personal touch

I had to call the NBS HQ as I had a problem online. i was so pleased with the personal and prompt response.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Peter, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we will be sure to share your comments with the online team - who will be so pleased to hear them. Many thanks.
Write a review
9th October 2020

Unable to verify your account details

I opened a Senior savers account. Then I tried to deposit an initial nominal £10.00 into the account. The account details you provide for payment of the initial amount could not be verified by the RBS account verification system, and I was clearly ...

Read more

I opened a Senior savers account. Then I tried to deposit an initial nominal £10.00 into the account. The account details you provide for payment of the initial amount could not be verified by the RBS account verification system, and I was clearly advised (by RBS) not to transfer funds to that account as they would not reimburse the money if the account was shown to be fraudulent. Against that advice I transferred £10, which has shown in my account today.

However, your account details, which I understand are with NatWest, should be verifiable. There is no reason why a Building Society should not have a holding account, into which savers' funds are transferred, which is verifiable by other banks' verification systems. This is not acceptable as it introduces an unacceptable level of doubt into the transaction, and in fact my actions were directly against the advice of my bank (RBS). i suggest that this is rectified as a matter of urgency.
I spoke to one of your colleagues at Hungerford who advised that this happens all the time, is perfectly normal and should not concern me. It shouldn't happen, it is not normal and it did concern me. Please rectify this in your systems so that your account can be verified. I shall not be transferring further funds until that is done and notified.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
HI Colin, thank you for taking the time to advise of your experience - we will look at making this clearer on our website. We understand your concern and our Customer Service Manager will contact you to discuss the account verification. Many thanks again.
Write a review
5th October 2020

Didn't feel like a valued customer

We were reassessing our mortgage for the final few years left on it, And as we have quite a small mortgage for a couple not 50 year's of age. We thought we might add a top up of say ten thousand but the person sorting it out at the other end of the...

Read more

We were reassessing our mortgage for the final few years left on it, And as we have quite a small mortgage for a couple not 50 year's of age. We thought we might add a top up of say ten thousand but the person sorting it out at the other end of the phone was so rude we couldn't be bothered and are looking elsewhere to borrow the money for home improvements as he said we had to get at least three quotes on writing so he could agree if we could get the money or not, my wife was left feeling very under valued as a customer of twenty years and only about five years left on our mortgage.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Dear Geoffrey, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have had this experience and have been left feeling this way. Our Direct Sales Manager will be in contact with you to discuss shortly.