Voting in the British Bank Awards 2020 is now open.
VOTE NOW

Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 513 reviews Last review 16 hours ago
4.80 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 434
4 63
3 11
2 2
1 3

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (513)

Write a review
6th December 2019

Friendly professional service

The staff in The Hungerford branch are always so helpful and I never feel rushed, friendly and professional service always

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us, we will be sure to share your comments with our colleagues in the Hungerford branch, they will be so pleased to hear this.
Write a review
3rd December 2019

Reward for Existing Members

opening an existing members account was quick and straightforward and the interest rewards existing members with a good rate. I'm happy to stay loyal to Newbury if they continue to offer this service as they are be difficult to beat. Other larger...

Read more

opening an existing members account was quick and straightforward and the interest rewards existing members with a good rate. I'm happy to stay loyal to Newbury if they continue to offer this service as they are be difficult to beat. Other larger building societies could learn much from this.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Nicola, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we are so pleased to hear account opening was hassle free. Thanks, it's much appreciated.
Write a review
2nd December 2019

1st Class - we couldn't have asked for more

My husband and I called in to our local Andover Branch as potential new customers, having recently moved to the area. We opened a savings account each without any fuss or bother. It took about 30 minutes and Charlotte Couch handled the process in a...

Read more

My husband and I called in to our local Andover Branch as potential new customers, having recently moved to the area. We opened a savings account each without any fuss or bother. It took about 30 minutes and Charlotte Couch handled the process in a friendly, courteous and professional way, explaining everything we needed to know about the society and its products. We left very impressed with the building society and the branch and have every intention of investing our savings in more products and look forward to being Newbury Building Society customers for many years to come.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Sue, Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for us, it's much appreciated. We will be sure to share your comments with Charlotte, who will be so pleased to hear them. many thanks and welcome to the Newbury!
Write a review
29th November 2019

Great job Will!

We wanted to revisit our savings accounts one year on from opening...

Read more

We wanted to revisit our savings accounts one year on from opening them.
Will did an outstanding job in both understanding our circumstances and optimizing our interest earning opportunities for the year ahead, while also keeping us entertained with anecdotes while the accounts were being updated,
Great job Will (Winchester Branch)!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi John, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. We will be sure to share your comments with Will :-)
Write a review
29th November 2019

Not Just Box Ticking

Unlike a lot of lenders who have a tick box system Newbury Building Society look beyond this and treat each case individually. It certainly worked for my ‘not normal’ circumstances. Can’t thank Newbury Building Society enough.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Angie, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's very much appreciated. It's great to hear when we have been able to help.
Write a review
29th November 2019

Really pleasant and helpful person and comfortable premises to do the business in.

Convenient appointment; nice welcome; comfortable and private room; very able and pleasant lady who successfully won our business for you. Happy.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated.
Write a review
29th November 2019

The stress of a new build

They have never failed to be friendly, helpful and efficient during what has been a very stressful period of our lives

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Lindsey, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We are so pleased to hear that we helped make the stressful times a little less so.
Write a review
29th November 2019

Fantastic Service

We received a fantastic service while applying for our new mortgage. Our mortgage advisor Ella was lovely and always provided feedback and help where needed. 100% recommend NBS to friends and family.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us, it's much appreciated. We will be sure to share your comments with Ella, who will be thrilled. Thanks again.
Write a review
29th November 2019

Efficient and dast

My mortgage redemption form was emailed to me within a few hours and I seamlessly paid it off that day. No fuss, no bother! All very easy and a few days later I got a letter through the post saying my mortgage with Newbury was now over. Hassle free...

Read more

My mortgage redemption form was emailed to me within a few hours and I seamlessly paid it off that day. No fuss, no bother! All very easy and a few days later I got a letter through the post saying my mortgage with Newbury was now over. Hassle free and easy transactions at all times . Thank you

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Jane , thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us, it's much appreciated.
Write a review
27th November 2019

A mortgage provider who delivers real customer service

I can honestly say it has been a pleasure dealing with the Newbury Building Society. Everybody is responsive, friendly and professional. Your customer service is excellent, process simple and efficient and the speed at which you make decisions beats...

Read more

I can honestly say it has been a pleasure dealing with the Newbury Building Society. Everybody is responsive, friendly and professional. Your customer service is excellent, process simple and efficient and the speed at which you make decisions beats the competition hands down. I would happily recommend NBS to anyone. Thank you for making the mortgage transfer so painless.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Emma, thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, it really is appreciated by us all. We will be sure to share your comments with the teams that have helped with your transfer, they will be so pleased to read this. Thanks again.
Write a review
27th November 2019

Online account

Opening and viewing the account online was a little bit fraught because I couldn't distinguish between an oh and a zero on the verification code . However Newbury were very helpful and it is all sorted now

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Roy, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are pleased to hear you have now sorted you online accounts, please do let us know if there is any other issues. Many thanks
Write a review
23rd November 2019

Outstanding service made re-mortgaging simple and stress free.

The Mortgage Adviser at the Abingdon branch was outstanding and very patient whilst we sorted out our...

Read more

The Mortgage Adviser at the Abingdon branch was outstanding and very patient whilst we sorted out our requirements.
All the staff dealt with were extremely helpful and very efficient which made the process of re-mortgaging simple and stress free.
The product chosen suited our unusual circumstances and is one of the most competitive in the market.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Hugh, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are pleased to hear that your re-mortgaging was a stress-free process. We will share your comments with the team at Abingdon. Many thanks again.