Tackle your big money questions with our Money Bites podcastListen now

Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 433 reviews Last review 3 days ago
4.84 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 374
4 51
3 6
2 0
1 2

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (433)

Write a review
12th October 2019

We applied for an addition to our mortgage to cover a new heating system

Obtaining approval for the loan was efficient and straightforward. Due to a delay in the discussions and signing of the heating installation contract, we asked to put the loan on hold. The response of your staff was excellent, the delay was agreed to...

Read more

Obtaining approval for the loan was efficient and straightforward. Due to a delay in the discussions and signing of the heating installation contract, we asked to put the loan on hold. The response of your staff was excellent, the delay was agreed to with absolutely no fuss and it was a very easy matter to trigger the transfer when finally needed. Your staff are efficient, courteous and provide a really personal service. Thank you!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Grant, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It's much appreciated and our teams will be so pleased to read this.
Write a review
12th October 2019

Always very good service

We have been with the Newbury for 15 years with our mortgage and always get a great deal with exceptional service and fantastic staff to deal with, please just carry on as you are!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi David, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We're pleased to hear your experiences with us have been so positive.
Write a review
11th October 2019

Take your money...then keep it.

A joke organisation. Easy to open an account. Verification codes entered, proof of receiving account sent. A few months later when we need to withdraw money, no permission as they deny receiving proof of receiving account and say we didn't verify our...

Read more

A joke organisation. Easy to open an account. Verification codes entered, proof of receiving account sent. A few months later when we need to withdraw money, no permission as they deny receiving proof of receiving account and say we didn't verify our online banking which we had to do to be logged in. Utter disgrace leaving us in difficulty and £6000 overdrawn.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Andy, we would like to look into this for you further, if you can contact us on 01635 555700 we can explore what happened? Many thanks
Write a review
11th October 2019

Newbury Building Society - make it personal

NBS excelled again! I know that I can always trust Newbury Building Society to come up with the best deal, tailored to us which is where so many other banks have fallen down before. With the big lenders if the criteria is not a simple one and met...

Read more

NBS excelled again! I know that I can always trust Newbury Building Society to come up with the best deal, tailored to us which is where so many other banks have fallen down before. With the big lenders if the criteria is not a simple one and met you immediately hit the buffers but NBS always have the edge because they use common sense and logic to always provide the best product and service. After being a customer of yours since my parents opened an account for me when I was born 50 years ago I now wouldn't go anywhere else. It's how banks used to be 'a relationship' which I am sure will last my lifetime. And don't just take it from me. I have recommended your services to anyone who asks and they also now wouldn't go anywhere else. The moving in box of goodies was the icing on the cake! Fantastic staff, particularly Kate Rockall, fantastic NBS; a benchmark for all other banks and building societies to aspire to. Thank you!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Michelle, thank you for your kind words and taking the time to leave this wonderful feedback. It will mean a lot to our teams and to Kate, and we make sure we share this with them. Lovely to hear also you got the move in box! Enjoy :-)
Write a review
11th October 2019

Good rates and very east to deal with

I am a fairly newcomer to Newbury BS. I opened an online easy access savings account last year, and have now opened another at a slightly higher rate. The website is easy to navigate, and the text is plain English and easy to understand. I've also...

Read more

I am a fairly newcomer to Newbury BS. I opened an online easy access savings account last year, and have now opened another at a slightly higher rate. The website is easy to navigate, and the text is plain English and easy to understand. I've also dealt with them over the phone, and again a no-hassle straighforward approach. Very happy to recommend.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Rosemary, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. We are pleased to hear your experiences have been positive and hassle-free.
Write a review
10th October 2019

Re-mortgage application

We approached the Newbury Building Society's branch in Wokingham about re-mortgaging our house so that we could help our daughter purchase a new apartment. The staff at the Wokingham branch were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with,...

Read more

We approached the Newbury Building Society's branch in Wokingham about re-mortgaging our house so that we could help our daughter purchase a new apartment. The staff at the Wokingham branch were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with, particularly Justine Ransom. Once we had submitted our application the approval was given very quickly and when we requested the release of the funds this was done withing two days. A big thank you to Jill Bennett of the mortgage underwriting team in Newbury for her efficient handling of our case. We would definitely recommend the Newbury Building Society to anyone seeking a mortgage.
Stewart and Jennifer Barnes

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Stewart and Jennifer, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It's very much appreciated. We will be sure to share your comments with Justine and Jill who will be thrilled. Thank you
Write a review
5th October 2019

WE have always found the Newbury Building Society a friendly Society in which to invest our savings

This week my husband & I opened a senior saving account . The young lady who served us was very efficient and friendly. She explained every thing that was felt we should know about the new account.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's always good to hear that our members have had a positive experience when opening accounts. Thank you!
Write a review
4th October 2019

Good start, bad ending

Initially used NBS to purchase our first home back in 2011. At the time you offered a mortgage for shared ownership properties where we only needed a 5% deposit. Fantastic way to help you get on the property ladder....

Read more

Initially used NBS to purchase our first home back in 2011. At the time you offered a mortgage for shared ownership properties where we only needed a 5% deposit. Fantastic way to help you get on the property ladder.

Your interest rates are not that competitive. However when we purchased the remaining half of the house in October 2016 we stayed with you as you provided good advice and a stress free transaction. Our interest rate was on a 3 year deal expiring October 2019.

So far so good but unfortunately we have left NBS feeling very disappointed. On the 25th September 2019 we sold our house and changed provider as at 1.68% fixed NBS just couldn’t compete. We had less than 1 month of our 3 year offer so I find your early repayment charges of £1891.46 absolutely disgusting! Not only have we had a high interest rate over the last 8 and half years that fee came as a bit of a shock. Happy to pay fee to leave 3 and half weeks early but I think that is a little extortionate! Such a shame that you feel that’s acceptable

Write a review
4th October 2019

Excellent customer service

Wonderful to have our applications considered by people rather than an automatic decision from a computer. Such great service and an excellent customer experience. Thank you!

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi SD, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. It's always good to hear our members have had a positive experience with their transaction.
Write a review
4th October 2019

Excellent

I had an appointment with Dawn in the Andover Branch. Very kind and very helpful when I asked questions. I left with a folder of relevant information and I was promised I’d get my book in the post the following day, and I did. Couldn’t be more ple...

Read more

I had an appointment with Dawn in the Andover Branch. Very kind and very helpful when I asked questions. I left with a folder of relevant information and I was promised I’d get my book in the post the following day, and I did. Couldn’t be more pleased.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Chris, thank you for taking the time to give feedback, so pleased you have had a good experience. Many thanks
Write a review
4th October 2019

Amazing speedy service

Wanted to open a new savings account and the service was fantastic. Did not need to book appointment, just walked in and was seen straight away by a polite young man. He talked me though all my options and I let fully assured I had made the right...

Read more

Wanted to open a new savings account and the service was fantastic. Did not need to book appointment, just walked in and was seen straight away by a polite young man. He talked me though all my options and I let fully assured I had made the right choice. Thank you

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Andy - thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, so great to hear you had a good experience with us.
Write a review
4th October 2019

Excellent Service

As executor of my wife’s estate your staff were most helpful. However your ceiling of £500 before a statutory declaration needs to updated in line with other building societies and banks who use £5,000.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Godders3, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we will pass your comments to the team. Many thanks
Write a review
4th October 2019

great rates and easy to open account

I was looking for somewhere that had a better than average interest rate but still gave me the access I wanted - Newbury B S ticked those boxes and more. The account was easy to open and all the information I needed was easily found. Would recommend...

Read more

I was looking for somewhere that had a better than average interest rate but still gave me the access I wanted - Newbury B S ticked those boxes and more. The account was easy to open and all the information I needed was easily found. Would recommend highly.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Lynn, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated and thank you for the recommendation.
Write a review
4th October 2019

excellent customer service from Andover branch

Excellent customer service from the team at Andover branch, in particular the manager. He has helped me with a variety of transactions and changes to accounts over the last couple of months and has been very helpful indeed.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Sam, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, it's much appreciated. We will be sure to share your comments with our colleagues at the Andover branch.
Write a review
27th September 2019

Local and friendly approach

Overall, happy with the outcome but found the assessment process puzzling given the financial details that I provided. However, I understand the need for careful consideration to be given before remortgaging can be agreed.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Keith, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, much appreciated.