Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 282 reviews Last review 1 day ago
4.85 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 314
4 38
3 5
2 1
1 1

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (282)

Write a review
14th June 2019

Friendly and efficient

Visited the branch in Newbury to open an account. All the staff I interacted with were polite, efficient and courteous. A pleasure to do business with.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Graham, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Our Newbury branch team will be thrilled to hear your experience was so positive.
Write a review
13th June 2019

Not quite there yet

NBS are obviously trying to come to terms with real 'customer service' but the little things, that may not seem important to some but are to others tend to be missing or off the mark. For example when I rang up to make an appointment to open an ISA...

Read more

NBS are obviously trying to come to terms with real 'customer service' but the little things, that may not seem important to some but are to others tend to be missing or off the mark. For example when I rang up to make an appointment to open an ISA with them the receptionist and I agreed a time but she offered no information about what I would need to bring with me, I suggested a passport, which prompted her to tell me to also bring my driving licence, she failed to mention, completely, that I would require my NI number - shoddy. On receiving my pass book and welcome letter I looked for a place for feedback on-line and found a section in the welcome letter telling me to go to smp.reviews/newburysavings2 which I di, only to find that the page does not exist and cannot be found on line, after searching through other parts of their site I came across this area BY CHANCE. These two examples may seem small but if you are striving for perfection then you need to get the little things right because, to many, they do make the difference between being good and very good

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry that you have not had a smooth experience so far and are reviewing your experience with our team, we have reviewed the link in the welcome letter and will offer alternative options within it going forward. We have also added further prompts on our website for feedback to ensure that they can be found in all menus and easily by search. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Write a review
11th June 2019

Finished paying my Mortgage

Despite not taking the redemption fee with my final monthly payment by direct debit, thus requiring me to pay this by cheque, I found the whole mortgage process quite satisfactory and straightforward. What was a particular unexpected surprise was the...

Read more

Despite not taking the redemption fee with my final monthly payment by direct debit, thus requiring me to pay this by cheque, I found the whole mortgage process quite satisfactory and straightforward. What was a particular unexpected surprise was the complimentary gift I received a few day later as congratulations on finishing my mortgage. Amazing.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback on your recent experience. We are pleased the gift arrived to congratulate you in a timely fashion! We will share your feedback on payment of the redemption fee, to see if this can be improved. Thanks again and we hope you enjoy/ed the gift!
Write a review
7th June 2019

A decent interest rate and easy and pleasant to deal with

Looking for an alternative savings account with a reasonable return discovered NBS on a google search and it was really easy to set up, transfer funds and manage online. A decent interest rate and easy and pleasant people to deal with

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Jeff, pleased to hear you've had a positive experience.
Write a review
3rd June 2019

Excellent!

With all the hiccups buying a new build with delays etc. Newbury eased the stress with their speedy reassurances with my offer - I can’t recommend them enough

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you Nina, we are pleased to hear that you got through the process of purchasing your new build home! We hope you're now happily settled in!
Write a review
6th April 2019

Mortgage made easy

During my mortgage process NBS made everything effortless. I was given a choice of offer and they really helped me during the process to make all looks effortless. This is best experience of my life

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us Peter. So pleased to read your experience was so positive.
Write a review
4th April 2019

Easy online account set up

I did have some trouble with the second stage of the set up as I hadn't read the requirements for the password and memorable word, but once I obeyed the rules, it was straightforward. I would definitely recommend Newbury.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for leaving feedback Norman, pleased that you are successfully set up online!
Write a review
29th March 2019

Excellent Mortgage Experience

We employed the services of a mortgage broker who recommended Newbury Building Society whom we had not previously heard...

Read more

We employed the services of a mortgage broker who recommended Newbury Building Society whom we had not previously heard of.
Newbury came up with a very good and competitive mortgage offer and also provided us with the loan amout we needed.
The overall experience from beginning to end was excellent.
We would highly recommend Newbury Building Society.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for leaving this feedback Gary. It's always great to hear of positive experiences. Our colleagues will be so pleased to see this. Thank you and welcome to Newbury Building Society as a member!
Write a review
28th March 2019

Very fast and efficient service

Throughout the mortgage application I have found the staff at Newbury building society to be very helpful and friendly. They have explained the process to me and the various pros and cons of the different products. I would recommend it to anyone who...

Read more

Throughout the mortgage application I have found the staff at Newbury building society to be very helpful and friendly. They have explained the process to me and the various pros and cons of the different products. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a more personal feel to the mortgage applications.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Chinedu, thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience with us. It's great to be able to share this with our colleagues that assisted you. We are pleased to welcome you as a member.
Write a review
7th February 2019

Opening a second account at Thatcham branch

I recently needed to open a second account for my club at Thatcham branch. I spoke with Louise Davies who couldn't have been more helpful & she guided me through the whole process. When the documents for the club & all its signatories were deposited...

Read more

I recently needed to open a second account for my club at Thatcham branch. I spoke with Louise Davies who couldn't have been more helpful & she guided me through the whole process. When the documents for the club & all its signatories were deposited at the branch, I received the paying in book by post within 2 days. Brilliant & friendly service, as always. Thank you Louise.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We are so pleased to read your experience was positive, and will share your comments with our colleagues at the branch.
Write a review
1st February 2019

Polite, honest, transparent, excellent.

Eve macdowell as always was excellent. Always on hand to respond to questions. She made the whole process easier and offered sound advice.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for leaving such great feedback Lian, we will pass on your comments to Eve. It's always great to hear about positive experiences our members have.
Write a review
29th January 2019

A proper, traditional building society

One of the few remaining building societies that still feels like a 'friendly society'. Good, friendly service in branch. Good savings rates with recognition of customer loyalty. Online banking not quite as slick as the big banks but good enough.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thank you for your review David, we appreciate you taking the time to leave such positive feedback and we are pleased your experience has been positive. We are working to improve our digital offering and hope to add to the services available online in the near future.
Write a review
28th November 2018

Multiple Mortgages

The Newbury Building Society packaged 4 mortgage offers for one client and the service I received from getting the overall lending approved to dealing with one senior underwriter I could not...

Read more

The Newbury Building Society packaged 4 mortgage offers for one client and the service I received from getting the overall lending approved to dealing with one senior underwriter I could not fault.
Their bespoke underwriting allowed for my clients to move forward with their purchase.
I have dealt with the Newbury for over 15 years and I can't recall a bad experience.
Thank you

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Thanks for your review John, we will share it with our teams who will be so pleased to hear your feedback.