Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2020 is open!VOTE NOW

Newbury Building Society Reviews

Ratings based on 851 reviews Last review 13 hours ago
4.78 / 5Amazing overall rating

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for...

Read Full Description

Newbury Building Society pride themselves on their reputation. They provide excellent customer service, are involved with the local community, and have a firm commitment to giving its members long-term value. Smart Money People is the place for Newbury Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 710
4 111
3 18
2 7
1 5

Your Newbury Building Society Reviews (851)

Write a review
10th August 2020

Top marks!

I have always found Newbury Building Society (Winchester branch) to be not only professional but also very friendly. The staff are knowledgable about the range of accounts offered. Currently they are also taking appropriate measures to function safely.

Read more

I have always found Newbury Building Society (Winchester branch) to be not only professional but also very friendly. The staff are knowledgable about the range of accounts offered. Currently they are also taking appropriate measures to function safely.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi GD, thank you so much for taking the time to leave these kind comments. We appreciate your feedback and our branch colleagues at Winchester will be so pleased to hear their efforts are appreciated.
Write a review
10th August 2020

Opening a new savings account could not have been easier.

I telephoned the branch and discussed my requirements re a new savings account. The person I was talking to was friendly, efficient, helped me identify the best account for my needs, took the relevant details and said there would be a package in the...

Read more

I telephoned the branch and discussed my requirements re a new savings account. The person I was talking to was friendly, efficient, helped me identify the best account for my needs, took the relevant details and said there would be a package in the post the following day, which there was. Went into the branch with proof of identity and account was set up within 5 minutes. Passbook arrived in the post two days later.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Philip, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us - we much appreciate it.
Write a review
7th August 2020

Caroline explained everything clearly

Caroline took time to help me understand the various accounts on offer. This helped me to decide which was the right account for me. The online process took longer than I expected. As an existing member I thought the system would have pre...

Read more

Caroline took time to help me understand the various accounts on offer. This helped me to decide which was the right account for me. The online process took longer than I expected. As an existing member I thought the system would have pre populated forms and linked the accounts immediately, but it seemed Caroline had to re-input information you already hold.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Sandra - thank you for taking the time to leave feedback - we will share your comments with our development team who are looking to improve our systems to make processes more efficient for customers. We will also share your comments with Caroline who will be pleased to hear them. Thank you for sharing this feedback it helps us improve processes to make them as smooth as possible.
Write a review
3rd August 2020

Easy and straightforward process, more post-buy details please

We had no difficulty or issueswith the process of prurchasing our new home. However, we would be happier if there was an online account service for our mortgage which allowed us to view itemised details of the amount owed, the amount of interest we...

Read more

We had no difficulty or issueswith the process of prurchasing our new home. However, we would be happier if there was an online account service for our mortgage which allowed us to view itemised details of the amount owed, the amount of interest we have accrued, and how our payments have been applied against the interest and the principal.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
HI David, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We will forward your comments to the development teams who are looking at how we improve our digital services for mortgage customers. Your feedback is very welcome.
Write a review
3rd August 2020

Dream home achieved

My mortgage experience with Newbury felt very smooth and caused me little apprehension but more excitement. Customer service fantastic and now my daughter and I have our very first dream home.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Rae, Congratulations and happy new home! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback for us - we really appreciate it. We wish you happy times in your dream home :-)
Write a review
27th July 2020

All Round Service

Having first had a self build mortgage with Newbury Building Society and now having transferred to a repayment mortgage. We have been guided and look after throughout both of our processes. Dave Murray being our principle contact was great.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Lisa - thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us - we really appreciate it and we will be sure to share your comments with Dave who will be so pleased to hear them. Thanks again
Write a review
26th July 2020

Efficient and professional during a difficult time

Applied for a mortgage through a broker. It did seem to take a fairly long time to process but we were in the middle of the Coronovirus outbreak

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi Chris - thank you for taking the time to leave feedback - we do appreciate it. It has been a very different time so many thanks for your patience.
Write a review
24th July 2020

To open another savings a/c (my 4th) with the Society for funds from another savings institution whose rate had been reduced to next to zero.h

I had a friendly and detailed explanation of the options. Having decided on the account to open I was given all the help needed to complete the paperwork in a very helpful manner.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
HI John, thank you very much for taking time to leave feedback, we much appreciate it. Thanks
Write a review
20th July 2020

Changing mortgage product.

It was a swift process which was straight forward & hassle free. Our paperwork was approved for the change to take place quicker than we had expected. My husband and I have been very happy with their service through the years we have been with Newbury.

Read more

It was a swift process which was straight forward & hassle free. Our paperwork was approved for the change to take place quicker than we had expected. My husband and I have been very happy with their service through the years we have been with Newbury.

Reply from Newbury Building Society
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback - we really do appreciate it. It's always good to hear that the service has been smooth and efficient.