BUPA Reviews

  Ratings based on 39 reviews       Last review 2 days ago    

Smart Money People is the place for BUPA reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Health Insurance

Avoid them

The staff is consistently rude, access to healthcare is unnecessarily bureaucratic and complicated, and I've been on the receiving end of so many issues on their part that I've decided to not continue coverage with them. The waiting times for private medi Read more

The staff is consistently rude, access to healthcare is unnecessarily bureaucratic and complicated, and I've been on the receiving end of so many issues on their part that I've decided to not continue coverage with them. The waiting times for private medical care are also increasingly long, and I've had a shorter wait on the NHS recently, which is saying something.

Reviewed on 5th August 2022
Hannah Williams's avatar
Hannah Williams
Write a review

Health Insurance

Very Poor

I have tried to claim for the first time after 2 years and have been met with a host of lame excuses. They also appear short staffed and proudly announce they do not have to investigate complaints for up to 8 weeks; which could be terminal for some.

Reviewed on 29th July 2022
J Carpenter's avatar
J Carpenter
Write a review

Health Insurance

terrible service. System is a fraud

Worst service ever. I had my mother in law applied for an overseas health cover as she was planning to come back to Australia as a tourist. Bupa deducted 170 aud the following day without her membership being finalized yet. Unfortunately we found out that Read more

Worst service ever. I had my mother in law applied for an overseas health cover as she was planning to come back to Australia as a tourist. Bupa deducted 170 aud the following day without her membership being finalized yet. Unfortunately we found out that her visa has been invalid. Bupa refused to give refund even though her cover wasn't supposed to start on the day of her arrival. I wish I've read other reviews first before proceeding with them.

Reviewed on 3rd June 2022
master Bay-Tor's avatar
master Bay-Tor
Write a review

Health Insurance

Inexperienced and rude service

I been to the health assessment which costs £c700, the practitioner is untrained, and he couldn’t took the blood out and make me feel pain and left big bruise on my arm. Then they wasted all the time and didn’t carry out the assessment but still charged f Read more

I been to the health assessment which costs £c700, the practitioner is untrained, and he couldn’t took the blood out and make me feel pain and left big bruise on my arm. Then they wasted all the time and didn’t carry out the assessment but still charged fees. Never to go to BUPA, the worst health Center you will experience

Reviewed on 18th April 2022
Cloris Sun's avatar
Cloris Sun
Write a review

Health Insurance

Dental injury definition

Bupa`s interpretation of their own guidance documents are biased in their favour and totally contradict the definitions of the British dental association in relation to dental injury. I have exhausted their appeal process .Another disappointed customer wh Read more

Bupa`s interpretation of their own guidance documents are biased in their favour and totally contradict the definitions of the British dental association in relation to dental injury. I have exhausted their appeal process .Another disappointed customer who will advice their employer that the works scheme provides unreliable cover.

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Ross Bennett's avatar
Ross Bennett
Write a review

Health Insurance

Impossible to get approval for even a consultant to look at you

They ask you to have a call with their Babylon GP who is useless. Then when you get the referral, you still have to go through your GP to get paperwork sorted before you can book something. WIth other insurance companies it was much simpler

Reviewed on 16th March 2022
Claudiu's avatar
Claudiu
Write a review

Health Insurance

Mis Selling Health Insurance

When taking out my insurance, I went for a top level, comprehensive cover, However, during my policy time it was discovered that I had primary lymphodema in my arm, which is unusual to come to light when middle aged without any prior indication. As it w Read more

When taking out my insurance, I went for a top level, comprehensive cover, However, during my policy time it was discovered that I had primary lymphodema in my arm, which is unusual to come to light when middle aged without any prior indication.
As it was stage 1 and the condition was not chronic yet, , I was eligible for an operation at the Oxford Lymphodema practice. BUPA did not want to pay for the operation saying that they do not cover chronic conditions. I was not made aware of that when signing up, as of course I did not have a chronic condition at the time. BUPA opts out of all chronic diseases in their terms and conditions in their small print and only then includes mainstream chronic diseases, such as cancer after,
That was not made clear and I personally had to pay over 16k to have the operation. The hospital gave me 6 months to have the operation otherwise I would have to be re assessed. BUPA had a very bad complaints procedure, did not come back on time with responses and was generally very unhelpful and unsympathetic to my situation. To add insult to injury, Bupa increased my fees by 2k on renewal of the policy

Reviewed on 24th January 2022
Beate Grosskurth's avatar
Beate Grosskurth
Write a review

Health Insurance

Highly unprofessional and complete rip off

As a health professional, I have seen many of my customers not being given what they are entitled to claim from Bupa, a lot of times their claims get rejected for no reason and when you get on phone to them they keep you on hold for hours and then just ke Read more

As a health professional, I have seen many of my customers not being given what they are entitled to claim from Bupa, a lot of times their claims get rejected for no reason and when you get on phone to them they keep you on hold for hours and then just keep transferring you to someone else and some of them are even extremely rude and unprofessional. My latest experience was with one of my customers who was quite old and on top cover paying more than $300 a month got her claim rejected for no reason and as she was not into technology and didn't have an email address, I tried to help her by calling Bupa on her behalf and got a very rude person (after being put on hold for more than half an hour) who did not help or give any information even after explaining the situation.
Wouldn't recommend Bupa to anyone I know.

Reviewed on 12th November 2021
behappy everp's avatar
behappy everp
Write a review

Health Insurance

Always evading claims

It took me a month to get the claim rejection overturned. BUPA has no idea on medical conditions. Only after getting evidence from the consultant and after having our company HR apply pressure, and providing 20pp of published evidence did BUPA pay the cla Read more

It took me a month to get the claim rejection overturned. BUPA has no idea on medical conditions. Only after getting evidence from the consultant and after having our company HR apply pressure, and providing 20pp of published evidence did BUPA pay the claim. Even then they refused fault.

Reviewed on 20th October 2021
Tim Passey's avatar
Tim Passey
Write a review

Health Insurance

Avoid being a member of BUPA

I've been a loyal member with BUPA since end of 80s I started with a full policy to cover for anything i may have needed they have made it so difficult for me to continue with them now my policy is not worth the paper it's written on. My premiums are £232 Read more

I've been a loyal member with BUPA since end of 80s I started with a full policy to cover for anything i may have needed they have made it so difficult for me to continue with them now my policy is not worth the paper it's written on. My premiums are £232 a month a increase of £40 a month from last year's renewal I also have a ,£500 excess and have to pay all my consultation fees and no cover for any physio out patient cover. As a member we were all promised a fair rebate for being unable to access treatment during March-September of last year I didn't receive a month's payment back. They say they gave a loyalty team don't be fooled they may have a department called loyalty team but I've been told no one gets treated any different if you are a loyal member for over 30 years or not guess the word loyalty gives members a false sense of security because BUPA do not seem to understand the meaning of the word. I've recently found out if a member wishes to be transferred out of a NHS hospital after being admitted to a ward and under a consultant there's no way for the foreseeable future BMI or Spire Hospitals will accept transfers BUPA did not even know this they strongly denied it then I made them phone the hospitals and they then had to inform me I was right they then tried to tell me all memberships are for elective admissions only absolute rubbish. No one wants to speak to you they hide behind closed doors I could go on I have cancelled my membership today and yave been told I now have to wait up to 38 days for my refund complete joke. Please do not waste your money on this company they are a greedy profit making organisation who care very little about its members only about the amount of money they receive from them. Shameful

Reviewed on 3rd August 2021
Karen Stevenson 's avatar
Karen Stevenson
Write a review

Health Insurance

No Stars

No stars!!! Not worth having the cover, they’ll find any excuses not to provide treatment. I had purchased a fully comprehensive plan for my 2 year old son. My son was referred by BUPA recommended GP Babylon and when I called BUPA to arrange treatment we Read more

No stars!!! Not worth having the cover, they’ll find any excuses not to provide treatment. I had purchased a fully comprehensive plan for my 2 year old son. My son was referred by BUPA recommended GP Babylon and when I called BUPA to arrange treatment we were told we had to have a referral from our GP and our GP had to fill in the form. The whole point of going to Babylon GP was because our GP didn’t have any appointments available. How can our GP fill in the form when our son was seen and referred by Babylon? He was not seen by our GP, BUPA staff are very rude when you complain. I’ve written a complaint email 6 weeks ago I’m still waiting for their reply. I was sold a comprehensive plan which was completely useless and waste of time and money. They won’t be there for you when you need them please avoid. I’ve cancelled my sons plan and gone to much better insurer.

Reviewed on 30th July 2021
Dinesh Kathrecha's avatar
Dinesh Kathrecha
Write a review

Health Insurance

BUPA service

Get your lawyer and medical practitioner to examine BUPAs terms and conditions and never accept their attempts to deny treatment against medical advice. They do not employ qualified medical personnel to make decisions regarding treatment.

Reviewed on 2nd July 2021
J Johnson's avatar
J Johnson
Write a review

Health Insurance

Scam

5 years with them, never asked them for anything, ones I really need and of course the where looking for excuses!!! My case is so simple and they where digging I'm my pa's when I was 14 I felt off and my nose was bleeding, now I'm 43 and recently I h Read more

5 years with them, never asked them for anything, ones I really need and of course the where looking for excuses!!!
My case is so simple and they where digging I'm my pa's when I was 14 I felt off and my nose was bleeding, now I'm 43 and recently I have a bit problem with breathing and i asked for help, they said to me I have preexisting condition because what happened about 25 years ago.. Ridiculous!.
Please don't give them money! They are Scam

Reviewed on 18th June 2021
Sasho 's avatar
Sasho
Write a review

Health Insurance

Disappointing zero stars

I would give this a zero if I could. I have been paying $125 a month for 6 yrs and recently got braces which I was Originally told was covered when I signed up in 2015. On the site it also says I am covered for orthodontics including braces, however, appa Read more

I would give this a zero if I could. I have been paying $125 a month for 6 yrs and recently got braces which I was Originally told was covered when I signed up in 2015. On the site it also says I am covered for orthodontics including braces, however, apparently after sending in all the receipts I'm only covered for braces if I have an accident. So unethical. Please do not go with bupa. I am paying 10k out of pocket for braces, Bupa is not even giving me back $1 of my own money!

Reviewed on 19th March 2021
Sarah's avatar
Sarah
Write a review

Health Insurance

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY I'VE EVER USED. PLEASE TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE!

I am honestly so utterly disgusted with BUPA, the way they have treated me and the absolute lies they have told me. I am 49 and have been with BUPA for a large part of my life through private and company policies and chose to stay with them when moving f Read more

I am honestly so utterly disgusted with BUPA, the way they have treated me and the absolute lies they have told me.
I am 49 and have been with BUPA for a large part of my life through private and company policies and chose to stay with them when moving from a company to private policy in April as they offered a continuation policy (apparently!!)
I was quoted approx £80 per month and having had around 10 brain operations I thought was very reasonable. I was then asked if I had had any issues with my back such as arthritis and whilst I hadn't, I explained that I had fallen over on an icy travellator a few years ago and had 2 lots of injections in my back (which didn't work) and some physio but that there was no further treatment that I could have nor would be able to have (I had written proof of this) as I had been left with chronic pain and not a back condition.
Bupa do not cover treatment for Chronic Pain but despite this they loaded my premium by 150% from £80 per month to over £200 per month, purely because of my back pain and told me that it would not be reduced again at any point, even though they could see that I was not and could not claim anything for it and that it would increase further every year with age etc
I asked them to exclude my back if they were happier doing so, although I did not really see why it was necessary, but they refused, and despite there being recordings and written proof that the loadings were solely because of the fall and not my brain ops (the brain condition has now been cured), they then lied and started suggesting that it was to do with the brain ops after all to justify the huge increase. They also said that I was told it could be changed within the first 21 days of cover and they could have looked at excluding it, another lie as I was never told that.
I pointed out that they had already told me it was not to do with my brain and I asked for an explanation as to why the loading was so huge. They then told me they don't have to explain that to me and if I wasn't happy I could seek cover elsewhere, which will obviously leave me with no cover for anything that is considered pre existing, such as any treatment relating to my brain should I ever need it again.
This is only a snapshot of what has happened and the way that I have been treated by them but I can honestly say I have never been treated with such total indifference and lack of compassion by a company before.
They have absolutely stitched me up and taken an additional £1500 from me this year for something that they themselves admit they do not even cover.
I would urge you to go elsewhere for cover. My family are now cancelling their policies too and I will never ever recommend BUPA to anyone, indeed I would urge anyone looking for cover to take their business elsewhere.

Reviewed on 21st January 2021
SARAH L's avatar
SARAH L
Write a review

Health Cash Plan

Brilliant service

Easy and benefits are amazing. Highly recommended :-)

Reviewed on 24th September 2020
KuKaur's avatar
KuKaur
Write a review

Health Insurance

Too complicated, disorganised and terrible customer service

My company had a automatic policy with Bupa- so I used it for the first time for Mental Health counselling. First of all, it took about one week for them to access my information and my policy cover. They recommended three therapists of two who were no lo Read more

My company had a automatic policy with Bupa- so I used it for the first time for Mental Health counselling. First of all, it took about one week for them to access my information and my policy cover. They recommended three therapists of two who were no longer active. (generalists, nothing too niche) The policy was so complicated so I have double checked that the treatment was being covered 100% and have asked them to let me know before any cost incurs. I went ahead with the treatment, only to find out that I had to pay after which I really couldn't afford.

The only therapist from the recommendation, was not qualified to deal with my issues, I found out half way through the x10 sessions I've had.

I've raised a complaint to Bupa, whilst I was being pestered for the invoice to be paid ASAP (because she 'needed the money for holiday'...) they repeatedly promised me to call me back, get back to me, I am still awaiting, after 2 weeks.

In the meantime I paid the invoice.

I called them because I suffered anxiety- this experience made it so much worse.

Reviewed on 16th August 2020
ottie's avatar
ottie
Write a review

Health Insurance

Cowboys

They classed new symptoms I had as pre existing conditions even though I'd never even seen a GP about them previously and they weren't on my medical record. I lodged an official complaint which was dismissed and am cancelling my policy (with no refund obv Read more

They classed new symptoms I had as pre existing conditions even though I'd never even seen a GP about them previously and they weren't on my medical record. I lodged an official complaint which was dismissed and am cancelling my policy (with no refund obviously). The second time they did this it cost me a surgery date that I'd been waiting 9 months for. The result is... I'm going to miss my surgery window and am still currently walking round with a bone sticking into my skin. Avoid at all costs, like insurance salesmen they'll find a way to get out of making a payout for absolutely everything. It should probably also be worth a mention that I held the most extensive policy

Reviewed on 7th August 2020
NS's avatar
NS
Write a review

Health Insurance

THEY CAUSED ME HEALTH ISSUES

Everything you read below is TRUE! I am sat waiting for an appointment for two months and still have not been seen. Lord help me

Reviewed on 23rd July 2020
Stacey Magnifique's avatar
Stacey Magnifique
Write a review

Health Insurance

Crap

These people just take your money and don’t pay for anything . Big con! Don’t bother with the money I paid them I could have paid for all my medical needs . Now I’m well out of pocket because of them

Reviewed on 3rd May 2020
Nick zammit 's avatar
Nick zammit
Write a review