Churchill Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 302 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    

Smart Money People is the place for Churchill Insurance reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Car Insurance

Terrible phone service and poor communication

I had a car accident and called Churchill to submit a claim, during this process I was hung up on twice with the person I was speaking to. In the end I used another service to pick my car up and submitted the claim online. When it became apparent my car w Read more

I had a car accident and called Churchill to submit a claim, during this process I was hung up on twice with the person I was speaking to. In the end I used another service to pick my car up and submitted the claim online. When it became apparent my car was a write off I waited the time they said for the money to be paid into my account. When this period of time came and went I called churchill (taking close to 45 minutes to speak to someone) and the person I spoke to said it had not been submitted to finance as they did not know who was the owner of the car. This was shocking to me as 1. when I last spoke to someone on the phone they said they had all the information they needed to be able to process the payment 2. if they needed information from me, why did they wait for me to call, why did they not get in contact with me. I also asked for confirmation by email that we had the conversation and that the payment was being processed. I am yet to receive any confirmation.
All this is very infuriating at need the money to be able to buy another car, which is essential for me to do my job. I definitely will not be renewing with churchill insurance once I am at the end of my contract.

Reviewed on 8th August 2022
Alero Omatsone's avatar
Alero Omatsone
Write a review

Car Insurance

Terrible customer service

When trying to make changes online website continually crashes saying “something went wrong! We are working on this” leaving no option but to call customer services (never respond to emails, even when you directly email the person dealing with your claim) Read more

When trying to make changes online website continually crashes saying “something went wrong! We are working on this” leaving no option but to call customer services (never respond to emails, even when you directly email the person dealing with your claim) so….. call customer services and wait an eternity just to speak to someone who says they will call you back but never do. Waste of time, won’t be renewing with Churchill.

Reviewed on 6th August 2022
Disgruntled's avatar
Disgruntled
Write a review

Home Insurance

Terrible service

Utter usless! Claimed for a damaged tablet and 2 months, still waiting for a solution. They expect for someone to be at home all day on a given day, no evenings or weekends for collection of item. Basically loose a day of work for that!!

Reviewed on 27th July 2022
L Zanchi's avatar
L Zanchi
Write a review

Car Insurance

Long waits on phone

I have been trying to talk to Churchill customer service for 3 days cut off twice and when I did get a customer service advisor could not help put me through to another department back on hold again shambles

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
david king's avatar
david king
Write a review

Car Insurance

Long Wait Times and Unacceptable Extra Fees

Tried to cancel my policy online but it wasn't allowed. Had to call them to cancel. Waited 38 minutes on hold. Got through and cancelled my policy for a £53.76 admin fee. The total call length with the representative was 2 minutes and 16 seconds. A huge w Read more

Tried to cancel my policy online but it wasn't allowed. Had to call them to cancel. Waited 38 minutes on hold. Got through and cancelled my policy for a £53.76 admin fee. The total call length with the representative was 2 minutes and 16 seconds. A huge waste of time and money for a simple task. Wouldn't recommend or choose again.

Reviewed on 23rd July 2022
Sean D's avatar
Sean D
Write a review

Home Insurance

No one answers the phone for Home insurance renewal.

Waited over 30minutes and gave up. Called back the next day and still the same. No one answers. jsut automated message. What is going on? Premium up by 38%! stupidly crazy. confused gave me 30% cheaper price than what their renewal was- so cancelled Read more

Waited over 30minutes and gave up. Called back the next day and still the same. No one answers. jsut automated message. What is going on? Premium up by 38%! stupidly crazy. confused gave me 30% cheaper price than what their renewal was- so cancelled and re-done online. Not happy. Poor service.

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
S.Mulla's avatar
S.Mulla
Write a review

Car Insurance

Good online process

Getting a quote that met my wishes was simple

Reviewed on 18th July 2022
gordybe1956@gmail.com's avatar
gordybe1956@gmail.com
Write a review

Car Insurance

Not at fault claim.

Thumped up the rear while stationery awaiting turn onto main road, a no fault claim on an Axa customer, took 16 weeks for them to pay up and then only because I threatened to tell Martin Lewis. That did the trick, paid within the week. Rubbish company, do Read more

Thumped up the rear while stationery awaiting turn onto main road, a no fault claim on an Axa customer, took 16 weeks for them to pay up and then only because I threatened to tell Martin Lewis. That did the trick, paid within the week. Rubbish company, do everything by phone, don't answer emails. Cheap but not straight.

Reviewed on 9th July 2022
Adrienne May's avatar
Adrienne May
Write a review

Car Insurance

Start off cheap on first time you insure with them but ramp up the price year after year afterwards

I have been with Churchill insurance a couple of times now. When you contact to get a quote they give you a good quote just to poach you. If you stay with them for a few years the prices go up year after year. Im no longer with them now and save myself a Read more

I have been with Churchill insurance a couple of times now. When you contact to get a quote they give you a good quote just to poach you. If you stay with them for a few years the prices go up year after year. Im no longer with them now and save myself a fortune. I will never use Churchill again for the simple reason they are really direct line who are ludicrously expensive. Do yourself a favour and with another insurance company and save yourself a fortune as I have done.

Reviewed on 6th July 2022
Stephen Watling 's avatar
Stephen Watling
Write a review

Home Insurance

churcill home insurance is the most liar/cheater insurance on the planet

very bad experience still waiting for the job to be completed by Churchill I reported on 15th April 2022 Pennyjames and Neilchurchill so called ceo are hiding when customer claims both of them are interested only in grabing people's money. I shall not let Read more

very bad experience still waiting for the job to be completed by Churchill I reported on 15th April 2022 Pennyjames and Neilchurchill so called ceo are hiding when customer claims both of them are interested only in grabing people's money. I shall not let them get away with our hard earning money no way. this is a disabled home and they give us so much stress and harrassment. Penny james if you are not capable to provide the service then refund our money because I shall not let you Pennyjames to get away with my money and hiding so refund our money. the most liar/cheater insirance I have come across. I will spread this in the whole community to make them aware...

Reviewed on 21st June 2022
savita sehdev's avatar
savita sehdev
Write a review

Car Insurance

They take the pxxx

I was sent a text review thing. Background: been with Churchill for a few years, happy with prices and service. Due to a bungled change of bank account my insurance was cancelled.... l was unaware, due to admin difficulties with working away. Anyway Read more

I was sent a text review thing.

Background: been with Churchill for a few years, happy with prices and service.

Due to a bungled change of bank account my insurance was cancelled.... l was unaware, due to admin difficulties with working away. Anyway.

Rang them. 45 minutes on hold when I want to pay tgem? Then another two or three sessions on hold after explaining the situation... then hold again....

Below is the feedback I gave but their SMS rejected it.

Judge if you like. "Steve" is the guy I tried to buy off.... Churchill wouldn't allow a direct debit and no human could intervene. Computer says no.

‐--------
(My SMS review):


The guy I spoke to was really professional. He was let down by the wait times, which led to us going elsewhere. You need more call handlers. A recorded message saying my call is important, and you're doing "everything we can" to take the call, is bullshit. You are having customers hang on a line when they could be doing something else, because you don't want to pay great guys like Steve. Your prices are OK, your insurance is excellent, the few people you employ in customer facing rôles are good but overall you treat those of us who pay you like crap.

40 minutes on hold, three times, when I'm trying to pay you? Fuck off.

Employ more Steves. Take the hit on profits.

Wankers.


Oh yes.

Reviewed on 19th June 2022
Steve Window's avatar
Steve Window
Write a review

Home Insurance

Appalling service

Impossible to get an answer on any of the supposedly 'customer care' lines. Do not under any circumstances purchase a policy from this company unless you are prepared to commit to them for life!

Reviewed on 9th June 2022
Andrew W's avatar
Andrew W
Write a review

Car Insurance

Worst experince ever

My dad had a minor accident, and was unfortunately covered by this joke of a company. The whole claims proceedure was a fiasco, repeatedly asking for photo's over and over again. They had upsold my dad onto their highest cost cover, with literally every o Read more

My dad had a minor accident, and was unfortunately covered by this joke of a company. The whole claims proceedure was a fiasco, repeatedly asking for photo's over and over again. They had upsold my dad onto their highest cost cover, with literally every option added. He was supposed to get immediate help in an accident, a courtesy car etc. They gave NONE of this. They lied to him and me, saying only one company did their repairs, based in Romford, London. We live in Newcastle! They gave us numbers for this repair place to book, but they then told my dad it would be late June before they'd even do any repairs. They allowed my Dad to continue driving an unroadworthy car. At my advise we sought out our local Citroen Dealer, who was happy to do the repair under the insurance. On getting the Car booked in we requested our courtesy car, only to now be told my Dad won't get it. Because we weren't using their repairer! They then claim to have repairers in Sunderland and Middlesborough. Chaging thrir story completely. We have the emails from their 'accident repair' company, all based in ROMFORD. And we had asked repeatedly for the car to be repaired locally and were refused outright, told this was their only repairer. They basically did everything they could to get out of repairing the car by making it has difficult as they possibly could. A total disgrace of a company. Never insure with them ever... oh and they also lumped a £650 excess on my Dad too. (He's 83 years old and they exploited this giving him an overpriced policy he did not understand). They never sent him his policy booklet either, in any form.

Reviewed on 23rd May 2022
The Mecha Station's avatar
The Mecha Station
Write a review

Home Insurance

MY WORST EXPERIENCE EVER WITH AN INSURANCE COMPANY

My home insurance renewal quote was 35% up on the previous year and there was absolutely no coming or going with the agent. I have never had a claim in 60 years so this rather goes against what the ombudsman says about customer protection. The result is t Read more

My home insurance renewal quote was 35% up on the previous year and there was absolutely no coming or going with the agent. I have never had a claim in 60 years so this rather goes against what the ombudsman says about customer protection. The result is that despite having insured home and family cars with Churchill I will never use the company again.

Reviewed on 14th May 2022
Brian Stewart's avatar
Brian Stewart
Write a review

Home Insurance

Appalling

Renewal letter received 4 days before renewal date and premium increased by approx 350%. Eventually got an apology but nothing else and they still wanted their massively increased commission. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 4th May 2022
Phil Earland's avatar
Phil Earland
Write a review

Car Insurance

wasters

dont bother £70.00 to cancel your insure if you got money to waste try them

Reviewed on 6th April 2022
j patti's avatar
j patti
Write a review

Car Insurance

dont waste your time get other quote you will get better deal

£70.00 to cancel my car insurance of no fault of mine 1.45 hours waiting on a call to talk to someone after third party fault give dog a good kick up the back side

Reviewed on 6th April 2022
j patti's avatar
j patti
Write a review

Home Insurance

waiting time

35 minute waiting time to renew policy to be told someone will be with you very shortly every 3minutes is so bloody infuriating no doubt this angry customer will be treated with the same contempt.

Reviewed on 16th March 2022
william pryde's avatar
william pryde
Write a review

Home Insurance

Completely let down by Churchills

Churchills don’t even deserve one star. Having had a roof tile dislodged during Storm Dudley I put in a claim for repair. However Churchills just accepted a report from one of their assessors that wear and tear was to blame. The report was based on photog Read more

Churchills don’t even deserve one star. Having had a roof tile dislodged during Storm Dudley I put in a claim for repair. However Churchills just accepted a report from one of their assessors that wear and tear was to blame. The report was based on photographs only; no-one went up on the roof and yet 'nail fatigue' was mentioned as a possible cause. I asked them what was more likely: a tile that has been in situ for years suddenly fails due to wear and tear during a severe storm, or that storm winds might have dislodged it? No answer. Just fobbed off with repeated references to the assessor’s report. My questions and points to them were not even addressed. Just ignored. And my only recourse now is the Financial Ombudsman. This would take months. Churchills know this. I have no option other than to get the roof repaired. They win. Of course. I will not be using this company ever again. The worst kind of insurance experience. Terrible service.

Reviewed on 8th March 2022
Roy Sainsbury's avatar
Roy Sainsbury
Write a review

Home Insurance

Since Christmas I have a leak

Have been trying to get someone to fix a leak since Christmas. No luck they pass you to Sedgwick who are based in Glasgow and still today no result.

Reviewed on 22nd February 2022
Parmjeet Kaur's avatar
Parmjeet Kaur
Write a review