Performance Direct Insurance Broker Reviews

  Ratings based on 50 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Read our reviews of Performance Direct broker services from customers just like you. If you're thinking of using & Performance Direct as a broker, our reviews will let you know more about their services. Already used Performance Direct in the past? Share your own review and help out others.

READ MORE

Read our reviews of Performance Direct broker services from customers just like you. If you're thinking of using & Performance Direct as a broker, our reviews will let you know more about their services. Already used Performance Direct in the past? Share your own review and help out others.

Overall Rating

Poor

1

2

3

4

5

Your Insurance Broker Reviews

50 reviews

Review Performance Direct's Insurance Broker now

Not recommeded .bad communication. terrible service.

Took out car insurance they were the cheepest quote on Quote zone Did everything correct to the best of my abbility. Paid £607 upfront 14 days later got a email telling me to get in contact withPerformance direct . I called was redirected and waited 20 m Read more

Took out car insurance they were the cheepest quote on Quote zone Did everything correct to the best of my abbility. Paid £607 upfront 14 days later got a email telling me to get in contact withPerformance direct . I called was redirected and waited 20 minits . I redailed and told them no one was answering my call they told me they would re direct me they said I was number 1 in the quew I waited 15 minits . They answerd and checked by information. the said I had said I bought the car in 2018 I told no I bought the cat in2021 and I had the log book changed when I bought the car. I told them to change the information on the year . They then told me they wanted £400 + and then they said I had quoted 10.000 miles ayear . I told them It was an estimate. It worked out I was doing 12.000 ayear . I had to cancel , and go with a new compony . The told me they would refound me £490 in 3/5 days . I told them on the phone the were turning me over . I am now going to the Ombusman for a affcial complaint .

Reviewed on 12th October 2022
Garry Williams's avatar
Garry Williams

Charge you money for cancelling your policy

Don't be fooled by the cheap rates. I sold my van and called to cancel my monthly direct debit policy - they told me I had to pay £240 outstanding balance as another company "Premium Credit' "paid my insurance for the year and I'm paying them back". If th Read more

Don't be fooled by the cheap rates. I sold my van and called to cancel my monthly direct debit policy - they told me I had to pay £240 outstanding balance as another company "Premium Credit' "paid my insurance for the year and I'm paying them back". If that's the case Performance Direct should be paying Premiium credit for the months I didn't use. All my years driving, I've NEVER came across anything like that. if you cancel, the DD should END. They've been told they won't be getting the money

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
Chris Casey's avatar
Chris Casey

Frustrated

I tried to change the car I own but getting through to somebody and then not being put on hold and disconnected is almost impossible. Furthermore with 4 months left on the policy I was told but I was not entitled to a refund. The new policy they wanted me Read more

I tried to change the car I own but getting through to somebody and then not being put on hold and disconnected is almost impossible. Furthermore with 4 months left on the policy I was told but I was not entitled to a refund. The new policy they wanted me to take out was more than twice what I obtained online.Avoid.

Reviewed on 12th September 2022
John Parsons's avatar
John Parsons

SCAMMERS

I took out a policy. Two weeks later (after the 14 day cool off), they sent me an email telling me that my policy is being cancelled. I contacted them and they told me they'd noticed that I'd obtained quotes in the past stating a different career. I told Read more

I took out a policy. Two weeks later (after the 14 day cool off), they sent me an email telling me that my policy is being cancelled. I contacted them and they told me they'd noticed that I'd obtained quotes in the past stating a different career. I told them what I had entered was correct, but they asked for a contract of employment. This is a data protection breach!!! I'm now faced with a £55 cancellation fee as per all the other customers who have given such reviews

Reviewed on 4th August 2022
Paul Whitham's avatar
Paul Whitham

Cancellation Fee rip off

Sold my car two months after taking out Policy and they tried to say I owed them money. Total rip off.

Reviewed on 29th April 2022
David Scott's avatar
David Scott

Been ok with me

I've been with them a few years and found them very helpful. Happy with the price and service

Reviewed on 23rd November 2021
Steve bond's avatar
Steve bond

Being charged 67pct for 1 month on car insurance policy

I just sold my car after 1 month into the yearly insurance policy and was charged 190 pounds for the pleasure. This was after paying 280 pounds a month ago. Needless to say I will NEVER use this company again and please all be warned.

Reviewed on 10th November 2021
Nancy Tol's avatar
Nancy Tol

Avoid Avoid Avoid

I chose this broker because it came up the cheapest on a comparison site for a van insurance to commence in 3 days time. After I paid for the quote (in the evening) a notice flagged up that they need to speak to me before they send the policy out to make Read more

I chose this broker because it came up the cheapest on a comparison site for a van insurance to commence in 3 days time. After I paid for the quote (in the evening) a notice flagged up that they need to speak to me before they send the policy out to make sure its correct. An agent rang me promptly at 9am and started to try to upsell. I decided that I don't want to do business with this broker and ask for a refund. He is now trying to charge £55 cancellation fee for a policy that hasn't commenced and he cunningly put the cancellation date forward to one day after the commencement that never happened! I checked with other brokers, none charge cancellation for a policy that hasn't commenced! Save yourself the hassle - don't deal with them. PS: Check the other review sites - same complaints!

Reviewed on 9th November 2021
Annette White's avatar
Annette White

Incredibly bad

All ok until I had an accident, called to advise, put straight through to FixAuto. Gave me the number of a garage who would fix my motorhome. They came and collected my vehicle (I thought it would go on carrier) they drove it to a garage 50 miles away on Read more

All ok until I had an accident, called to advise, put straight through to FixAuto. Gave me the number of a garage who would fix my motorhome. They came and collected my vehicle (I thought it would go on carrier) they drove it to a garage 50 miles away on the 3rd September. To cut it short, my motorhome needed a new bumper, six weeks later and me making many phonecalls (12 hrs on the phone to performance direct, FixAuto and the garage) nothing had been done to my vehicle, lots of excuses, finally phoned AXA the insurer, they got me Motorhome returned, I have found a garage to fix it, sent photos and they will fetch it when the parts arrive (7 days). It will be done straight away and then returned.
Wish I had seen the reviews for performance direct I would never have used them, but be sure I will never use them again.

Reviewed on 15th October 2021
Ros Hasbury's avatar
Ros Hasbury

Not worth one star

Absolute shysters - only seem to exist in order to fleece their customers with huge penalties. Like £55 to change 20 years NCB (which is impossible to prove because we are compelled to switch supplier every year) to 9 years NCB which my last insurer, in c Read more

Absolute shysters - only seem to exist in order to fleece their customers with huge penalties. Like £55 to change 20 years NCB (which is impossible to prove because we are compelled to switch supplier every year) to 9 years NCB which my last insurer, in common with the vast majority of the industry guaranteed. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE and find a reputable source. Which these charlatans are not!

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
Robert Watson's avatar
Robert Watson

Thieves

AVOID AT ALL COSTS, they are a number crunching scam company who make money off the £55 fee if you cancel after paying in full

Reviewed on 27th September 2021
craigstafford01@hotmail.com's avatar
craigstafford01@hotmail.com

STAY AWAY

This company cons you into a very attractive quote but please BE AWARE they are not genuine

Reviewed on 20th August 2021
debbie fox-hale's avatar
debbie fox-hale

Don't trust these people!

Having discussed the conditions of my no claim bonus with their representative, I would add here that I have totalled up well in excess of 25 years NCB. The conversation then became somewhat "heated" because my having two vehicles insured with different Read more

Having discussed the conditions of my no claim bonus with their representative, I would add here that I have totalled up well in excess of 25 years NCB.
The conversation then became somewhat "heated" because my having two vehicles insured with different companies, neither being Performance Direct, they would not allow any NCB on my second vehicle for which I was going to take out insurance with them.
Accordingly, I politely told their representative not to bother any further and I would cancel the planned policy where the initial documentation had been completed via Compare the Market.com (I would note here that I had only been talking to salesman for about 10 minutes) the result of this altercation was that he then told me that anyway, it would still cost me 55 quid to cancel the policy! Note here that I had literally only been talking to him for 10 minutes before my patience expired!
Subsequently, I contacted my bank to stop and cancel the payment only to be told by my bank that Performance Direct had already debited my account in the preceding 20 minutes or so and thus, the payment could not be stopped. Furthermore and following a 10 minute very annoying conversation with their salesman I am now 55 quid worse off!
14 Days cooling off period without charge, forget it!
DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE IF THEY CAN SCREW YOU THEY WILL AND GOD KNOWS WHAT THE SITUATION WOULD BE IF YOU EVER WANTED TO MAKE A CLAIM!!!!
There is only one star to the review as it is not possible to give them no stars at all.

Reviewed on 20th July 2021
George's avatar
George

WHATEVER YOU DO, DON'T SIGN UP ONLINE TILL YOU'VE READ THIS

On a comparison web site, Performance Direct came up with the cheapest quote but not by much. Never having heard of them I naturally checked on a company review web site and immediately clicked on the poor reviews. They all indicated that after they ha Read more

On a comparison web site, Performance Direct came up with the cheapest quote but not by much.
Never having heard of them I naturally checked on a company review web site and immediately clicked on the poor reviews. They all indicated that after they had committed online, they then got contacted by phone about various discrepancies on their proposal form. Once the price started to rocket up, naturally, the potential customer wanted to bail out, but was stung with a massive cancellation fee. Either pay the excess or the cancellation fee.... win win situation for them.
So rather than book it online, I rang the telephone number indicated on the comparison web site, and sure enough that's when things got interesting.
I was told I had an accident in 2017 which I had'nt mentioned. No I hadn't. Yes you have they said, mentioning a cars make. No I said, that definitely wasn't me, I have never owned that particular car. Well, he said, it's on our database and hey its only another £6. So far so bad.........
Then, when do you purchase the vehicle? (me) 2019 as I put on the form. (Them) No you haven't you've put 2015. (Me) I couldn't possibly have put 2015 as the computer knew my car details already and that it was brand new in 2019 and so it is physically impossible to change that date down to 2015. No he said , you've put the wrong purchase date on which means I have to charge you more for a newer car. See where this is going?
Keep finding things wrong with my proposal form and what started off as a great price becomes no better or even worse than many other insurance quotes.
So if I had been stupid enough to book online, they presumably would have rung me with these "fictitious findings" - forced me to pay for an increased premium or if I decided to cancel, a stonking cancellation fee.
Bordering on criminal? You decide..........

Reviewed on 5th April 2021
Honest Jo's avatar
Honest Jo

Avoid No refunds after you sold your car

Paid for a full year for car insurance after few months I have sold my car. No refunds for 6 months left after cancellation. Avoid Avoid Avoid

Reviewed on 25th March 2021
Gregory 's avatar
Gregory

Stole my money and thought it was ok

I took insurance out on the 30/11/2019, unfortunately, I was in an accident days later and by the end of December, the bike was written off so I had 1 days insurance for over £200. Fast forward to 30/11/2020 it seems they auto-renewed the policy even th Read more


I took insurance out on the 30/11/2019, unfortunately, I was in an accident days later and by the end of December, the bike was written off so I had 1 days insurance for over £200. Fast forward to 30/11/2020 it seems they auto-renewed the policy even though the bike was destroyed and I received no email no letter and never asked for it leaving me another £200 out of pocket. In over 10 years with different insurance companies, I have never had this problem. so I will not be using any to do with grove and dean.


Reviewed on 13th January 2021
Enigma0999's avatar
Enigma0999

wish I was aware of this beforehand so that I never signed up with them in the first place.

They attract you with a low price and when you conclude everything, a few days later they keep sending emails threatening that if you don't call them, they will cancel your policy. And they ask about photocopy of MOT, license, V5, no claim bonus - all the Read more

They attract you with a low price and when you conclude everything, a few days later they keep sending emails threatening that if you don't call them, they will cancel your policy. And they ask about photocopy of MOT, license, V5, no claim bonus - all the papers. I've never had this experience before. They say it is to check for fraud and they come out with the idea that the insurer needs to raise the premium because I haven't given them the right information. They charged me £25 extra per month on top of what has been agreed. I was about to cancel the policy, but I have to bite the bullet so that I don't lose more money in charges in cancellation fees. I'm glad the year is almost over so that I can go elsewhere. Seriously, don't recommend, you're better of going somewhere else. I wish I was aware of this beforehand so that I never signed up with them in the first place. I'm hoping that by sharing my experience, others can be warned.

Reviewed on 28th December 2020
R Bouarra's avatar
R Bouarra

AVOID at all costs......No Refunds ..REGRET can offer NO STARS ....Muppets

Paid a full years premium up front ..comprehensive cover......after 3 months sold the car .. not being used .. advised PERFORMANCE DIRECT .. parent company is .... GROVE & DEAN.....advised that the amount to be returned was the same as the cancelation f Read more

Paid a full years premium up front ..comprehensive cover......after 3 months sold the car .. not being used .. advised PERFORMANCE DIRECT .. parent company is .... GROVE & DEAN.....advised that the amount to be returned was the same as the cancelation fee........robbery.. I complained and advised that "its in the small print"......AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 18th November 2020
Mad Max 2's avatar
Mad Max 2

Dreadful

Customer service is the worst I’ve ever dealt with . Avoid

Reviewed on 10th November 2020
Dipper 's avatar
Dipper

THEIVES!! DO NOT USE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE.

Shocking! Greedy Dishonest Company! I paid for a years insurance up front in good faith, then sold my van 4 months before the end of the term. Expecting my 4 months back minus the cancellation fee which with any other company this would be the cas Read more

Shocking! Greedy Dishonest Company!

I paid for a years insurance up front in good faith, then sold my van 4 months before the end of the term.

Expecting my 4 months back minus the cancellation fee which with any other company this would be the case! I was told they were doing me a favour and waving cancellation fee, we would call it quits and I wouldn’t be charged anything but I also wouldn’t be getting my 4 months back!

I argued on the phone that if I was paying monthly, the payments would have ceased and I would have only had a £60 cancellation fee. Top and bottom of it is they have stollen £140 from me.

I have read on anoher thread from an ex-manager that the staff get bonuses for arguing with customers on the phone and keeping these payments. I also wouldnt be at all surprised if they're writing their own good comments on these review sites!

No morals what so ever! Absolute cowboys!

Do not use this company! Absolute greedy thieves!

Reviewed on 10th November 2020
Dale Jefferies's avatar
Dale Jefferies