Charter Savings Bank Reviews

  Ratings based on 52 reviews       Last review 11 months ago    

Founded in 2008, this Wolverhampton-based savings bank is owned by Charter Court Financial Services. READ MORE

Founded in 2008, this Wolverhampton-based savings bank is owned by Charter Court Financial Services.

Charter offers a range of savings products, including notice accounts, bonds, ISAs and instant access accounts. Because all of these accounts come with a £1,000 minimum investment, they're more suited to affluent savers looking for a strong interest rate, rather than those looking to gradually build their savings from scratch.

Charter Savings bank is protected by the FSCS, which means your savings with them are protected up to £85,000.

There are no Charter branches. Instead, customers can contact them over the phone, via email or by post.

The digital offering is negligible, with no app and limited online functionality.

If you're a Charter Savings Bank customer, please leave a review. We'd love to hear what you think.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Charter Savings Bank Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Accuracy & Consistency

72% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 55-64

Top Channel Preference: Online

Charter Savings Bank Products 52

Notice Account

Would never use them again

I needed the money quickly for an unexpected house purchase. They absolutely would not return the money to me early even though I offered to pay redemption charges or penalties. I almost lost the purchase that would have changed my family's lives. I... Read more

I needed the money quickly for an unexpected house purchase. They absolutely would not return the money to me early even though I offered to pay redemption charges or penalties. I almost lost the purchase that would have changed my family's lives. I explained all this in detail and they just would not listen. I am appalled. Its disgusting to treat people in such an inhumane way.

Reviewed on 29th April 2020
Nicola's avatar
Nicola
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

A Fair Return on Your Funds

We're all well aware that interest levels on savings are not what we would like on our savings and we search for the best deal around with a bank or building society we know and feel we can trust. Well I've dealt with Charter Saving Bank over a good... Read more

We're all well aware that interest levels on savings are not what we would like on our savings and we search for the best deal around with a bank or building society we know and feel we can trust. Well I've dealt with Charter Saving Bank over a good number of years and have been impressed with the interest rates offered and also the quality service experienced as an account holder.
Give Charter Saving Bank a look before entrusting your hard earned cash to just another bank. They've done well for me!

Reviewed on 11th September 2019
Hughie Shaw's avatar
Hughie Shaw
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Outstanding

Very good would highly recommend

Reviewed on 2nd June 2019
Demi Italian's avatar
Demi Italian
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Never a problem

I have saved with Charter for a few years and have never had a problem, it seems that reading through the reviews that some customers do not read the small print and Ts & Cs and are not fully aware of the contract they are entering in to.

Reviewed on 30th May 2019
Clive Wilton's avatar
Clive Wilton
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

OPENED A FIXED RATE ISA, HAD HEARD HOW THEY GIVE YOU A LOWER RATE AFTER YOU'VE PUT YOUR MONEY IN, AND NONE OF THIER PAPERWORK STATES THE RATE I OPENED IT AT, SO HAVE WRITTEN TO THEM TWICE TO CONFIRM THE RATE IN WRITING BUT NO RESPONSES IN A WEEK BY... Read more

OPENED A FIXED RATE ISA, HAD HEARD HOW THEY GIVE YOU A LOWER RATE AFTER YOU'VE PUT YOUR MONEY IN, AND NONE OF THIER PAPERWORK STATES THE RATE I OPENED IT AT, SO HAVE WRITTEN TO THEM TWICE TO CONFIRM THE RATE IN WRITING BUT NO RESPONSES IN A WEEK BY EMAIL. MY BANKS FRAUD SQUAD HAD CONTACTED ME TOO ABOUT OPENING THIS ACCOUNT WHICH THEY DONT NORMALLY DO WHEN OPENING NEW ONES, SO DECIDED TO GO ELSEWHERE AS GUT FEELING DOESNT FEEL RIGHT

Reviewed on 1st May 2019
justwannahelp's avatar
justwannahelp
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Take your money not happy to give back

As with a number of reviews I have read here on fixed or notice accounts, should your circumstances change the bank expect you to prostrate yourself before them with a begging bowl to access even a small part of your funds. As with others I offered to... Read more

As with a number of reviews I have read here on fixed or notice accounts, should your circumstances change the bank expect you to prostrate yourself before them with a begging bowl to access even a small part of your funds. As with others I offered to pay any penalties they required but they were completely intransigent. I had to call down on some of my pension with a considerable financial penalty to cover a set of circumstances totally beyond our control. DO NOT USE THIS BANK

Reviewed on 30th April 2019
downunderkelly's avatar
downunderkelly
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Tried to open a one year bond.

Tried twice to open a one year bond. Completed the online application and posted off proof of identification (not freepost like others). Emailed to query why I heard nothing. They replied saying could not discuss via email. Rang twice to find out what... Read more

Tried twice to open a one year bond. Completed the online application and posted off proof of identification (not freepost like others). Emailed to query why I heard nothing. They replied saying could not discuss via email. Rang twice to find out what was happening and was told that that they were still checking id (after two weeks!) You're required to make deposit within 14 days??! Three weeks later still not heard from them. I've now given up! Their loss.

Reviewed on 25th January 2019
Sarah's avatar
Sarah
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Very simple to open and a great interest rate

I found it very easy to open my account. It was all online and I completed it very quickly. One time I forgot my password and phoned up, they were lovely people and couldn't do enough for me and helped me set up a new... Read more

I found it very easy to open my account. It was all online and I completed it very quickly. One time I forgot my password and phoned up, they were lovely people and couldn't do enough for me and helped me set up a new password.
I went to Charter as they had the best interest rate, and I'm so glad I did - they've made everything very simple.

Reviewed on 21st January 2019
Kathryn Rucastle's avatar
Kathryn Rucastle
Write a review

Notice Account

An ok bank.

Ok bank. Not exemplary, just ok.

Reviewed on 16th December 2018
HonestJohn's avatar
HonestJohn
Write a review

Easy Access

Value

Good customer services and value for money

Reviewed on 8th December 2018
Shelly's avatar
Shelly
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Good Honest SAVINGS WITH BEST RATES OFFERED.

Excellent service online, safe. with constantly best rates offered.

Reviewed on 7th November 2018
John Aris's avatar
John Aris
Write a review

Easy Access

S L O W TRANSFER

Transferred cash to my nominated account on FRIDAY it didn't arrive till the TUESDAY five [5] days later. - Completely useless service and TOTALLY unacceptable given electronic banking - Closed account and moved to a real bank.

Reviewed on 23rd August 2018
P CHOICE's avatar
P CHOICE
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Appalling

Horrific customer service. Hard to get hold off and attitude issues if you ever even get hold of them.

Reviewed on 19th August 2018
Emma's avatar
Emma
Write a review

Notice Account

Dont touch

Impossible to reach this so-called bank. Do yourself a favour and just stash under the mattress!

Reviewed on 26th March 2018
Jon's avatar
Jon
Write a review

Fixed Rate Bond

Very disappointed

I experienced difficulty in timely encashing my matured bond, not least of all because of what I regarded as the bank's inadequate on-line system. I made a formal complaint which I consider was not thoroughly investigated. Needless to say I will not... Read more

I experienced difficulty in timely encashing my matured bond, not least of all because of what I regarded as the bank's inadequate on-line system. I made a formal complaint which I consider was not thoroughly investigated. Needless to say I will not in the future be investing with this bank again.

Reviewed on 28th January 2018
Terence Jenks's avatar
Terence Jenks
Write a review

Easy Access

Delay in withdrawing funds

Have an instant access internet saver account with... Read more

Have an instant access internet saver account with them.
Went online on 1st January and set up a withdrawal for 2nd January.
It is now 10.20 on the 3rd January and still waiting for the fund to be received in my account although they have been debited from my Charter account on
2 Jan. Read their withdrawal instructions and it seems I have to wait until COB
3 Jan to receive my money!!
Totally unacceptable when other financial institutions can remit money almost immediately. I will be closing the account and going to a bank that trades in the 21st Century!

Reviewed on 3rd January 2018
Anthony John Hide's avatar
Anthony John Hide
Write a review

Easy Access

Competative intererst rates. Internet banking is clear and very easy to use. Helpline staff are friendly and knowledgeable

Had to discuss the opening and transferring over to an Issue 8 account

Reviewed on 19th November 2017
Mark Hickman's avatar
Mark Hickman
Write a review

Notice Account

AVOID Cut rates when base rate falls but refuse to raise - Awful Bank

Retrospectively cut interest rates when base rate fell but refuse to raise the rate that was previously cut when the base rate rises. Not to be trusted bank

Reviewed on 15th November 2017
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Write a review

Easy Access

saving simplicity

great easy access rates with no strings

Reviewed on 8th November 2017
Steve Ballard's avatar
Steve Ballard
Write a review

Easy Access

Excellent web interface

Very easy tto use online savings with top notch security and to top it off the absolute highest interest rate for easy access account.

Reviewed on 7th November 2017
Edward Tomlinson's avatar
Edward Tomlinson
Write a review