LV - Liverpool Victoria Reviews

  Ratings based on 325 reviews       Last review 20 hours ago    

LV (Liverpool Victoria) reviews can help you to find out more about this leading UK based insurance company. Smart Money People is the place for LV reviews. Read and write reviews today, and together we can help increase trust and transparency in financia...

READ MORE

LV (Liverpool Victoria) reviews can help you to find out more about this leading UK based insurance company. Smart Money People is the place for LV reviews. Read and write reviews today, and together we can help increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Insurance Choice Awards logo Winner of 'Best Big Insurance Company' in the 2017 Insurance Choice Awards

Home Insurance

An absolute godsend

During a pretty vicious storm here in the Highlands we lost part of our roof during the night. It was only in the morning when I left the house that I found the whole roof ridge with one end hanging from the roof and the other in the front garden surroun Read more

During a pretty vicious storm here in the Highlands we lost part of our roof during the night. It was only in the morning when I left the house that I found the whole roof ridge with one end hanging from the roof and the other in the front garden surrounded by various slates and other stuff. We live quite close to the main road and I was worried that due to the ongoing high winds we were going to lose the rest of the roof and possibly injure a passer by or driver. I needn't have worried.!

I knew that LV were my insurers but couldn't find my policy documents or any details but when I spoke to them, they found all my info in seconds.! They asked if I had a roofer I wanted to use or would they get on for me. I decided to use a local chap and all I had to do was give him a ring. He came out and looked at the job, sent photos by email to LV and they phoned him 5 mins later to tell him to carry on with the job. I was absolutely gobsmacked..!
They also phoned me a day or two later just to check if we had suffered any water damage to our belongings stored in the loft. I just don't think you can beat that for service.

We hear so many horror stories about how difficult insurance companies can be but LV were wonderful. They were calm, re-assuring and got the job done without drama or panic over the cost.

I just wouldn't go anywhere else.

Reviewed on 13th August 2016
Martha Chisholm's avatar
Martha Chisholm
Write a review

Car Insurance

Contactable

First rate for car insurance and easily renewable at a fair price

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
ian jones's avatar
ian jones
Write a review

Home Insurance

Good until you have a claim

Not a good company to be with. Everything is alright until you have to claim something with them.

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Write a review

Income Protection

Takes too long to pick up their calls.

I tried to enquire and make changes on my policy, it says i am first in the que and still on hold.

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
Ade Odumosu's avatar
Ade Odumosu
Write a review

Car Insurance

if you want to lost your non claim bonus years, insure your car with LV

when I got my car insurance with LV= 2 years ago, I already had 9 years Non-Claim bonus years. however, after 2 years with LV= with no claim and no incident, when I decided to move away from them to join the next insurer, LV= said their max non-claim bo Read more

when I got my car insurance with LV= 2 years ago, I already had 9 years Non-Claim bonus years. however, after 2 years with LV= with no claim and no incident, when I decided to move away from them to join the next insurer, LV= said their max non-claim bonus years is 9! check this out https://www.lv.com/car-insurance/how-can-i-get-the-maximum-ncd

Reviewed on 19th July 2022
Howie Dong's avatar
Howie Dong
Write a review

Home Insurance

Will not pay you out and will do their best to avoid refunding too

Absolutely awful, insured my wedding ring and engagement ring, spoke to them over the phone regarding the policy and took it out online to get my quidco cashback,I had a plus policy. My rings sadly have been stolen which has been extremely distressing and Read more

Absolutely awful, insured my wedding ring and engagement ring, spoke to them over the phone regarding the policy and took it out online to get my quidco cashback,I had a plus policy. My rings sadly have been stolen which has been extremely distressing and now they have come back to say they are voiding my policy as the rings are worth more than my policy cover, even though I am only asking for what they were insured for I do not wish to have more money for them just what I paid the policy for. Be very wary. When I asked them to trace the phone call they are saying they can't find a record and whats more is if I rang off a withheld number they would never be able to find the call as its through phone numbers not account information which is insanity. Appalled at their service, now they are stating that they will more than likely not refund me for my policy either, I just find it disgusting and will be taking this to the ombudsman.

Reviewed on 14th July 2022
natasha reynolds's avatar
natasha reynolds
Write a review

Home Insurance

VERY HELPFUL

Phoned the otherday about a pension withdrawel , after speaking to Elliot Webb he explained the circumstace, the problem was from my investment firm PORTAFINA , we went throught a few things and he managed to sort the problem so that I can get payed Midwe Read more

Phoned the otherday about a pension withdrawel , after speaking to Elliot Webb he explained the circumstace, the problem was from my investment firm PORTAFINA , we went throught a few things and he managed to sort the problem so that I can get payed Midweek, nothing was to much trouble and I appologise for being angery at the start put after he explained i have nothing but praise for him

Reviewed on 9th July 2022
bob gaunt's avatar
bob gaunt
Write a review

Life Insurance

Mo understanding of bereavement

Mother recently passed away at 93, found 3 LV policies she had told us about then tried to claim. Told she actually had 6 and some were pre 1950. On review the agent (who didnt show an ounce of care by the way) that 2 from 1928 and 1938 showed discrepcn Read more

Mother recently passed away at 93, found 3 LV policies she had told us about then tried to claim. Told she actually had 6 and some were pre 1950. On review the agent (who didnt show an ounce of care by the way) that 2 from 1928 and 1938 showed discrepcnncy on age logged therefore we needed the policies. Who has policies from 80-90 years ago? Asked him to pay ot for the 4 that were good and if necessary we could forego the others until and if we can find the others (unlikely) LV refused saying it was one claim. So after many decades of paing in so that we could afford her funeral, my mother remains unburied due to an uncaring company that is only interested in taking your money and not paying out. As part of her estate I dealt with Royl London who were brilliant. caring and payeid out each policy separately

Reviewed on 23rd June 2022
Dav's avatar
Dav
Write a review

Car Insurance

,Three half weeks and still no car fixed for a minor accident

Been with LV for a few years and just paid the money each month to insure the car, the first time I've need to make a claim and oh my god what a shamble. They use ABL to fix the vehicles, who have taken over 2 weeks to assess the vehicle and start orderin Read more

Been with LV for a few years and just paid the money each month to insure the car, the first time I've need to make a claim and oh my god what a shamble. They use ABL to fix the vehicles, who have taken over 2 weeks to assess the vehicle and start ordering parts. I'm being advised it's going to take another 2 weeks at best to get the parts and look to return the vehicle totalling 4+ weeks. When contacting LV and ABL neither would look to provide a courtesy vehicle even after agreeing the repair is taking much longer then they would expect. I would stay away from these guys and look to use a company that has correct contracts in place with their suppliers to fix a vehicle in a timely manner.

Reviewed on 15th June 2022
Dave Hawkins's avatar
Dave Hawkins
Write a review

Home Insurance

A nightmare

I had some water damage and LV referred it to Refurbishment UK, to whom they had given delegated authority to approve the claim. It took them three weeks to tell me it wasn’t covered in spite of initially being told it was covered. LV just passed the buck Read more

I had some water damage and LV referred it to Refurbishment UK, to whom they had given delegated authority to approve the claim. It took them three weeks to tell me it wasn’t covered in spite of initially being told it was covered. LV just passed the buck and didn’t want to know. Shameful! Needless to say, I won’t be renewing.

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
Pete Hrekow's avatar
Pete Hrekow
Write a review

Car Insurance

Rude staff

They were very rude on the phone and did not want to fight my case although the dash cam footage shows my car in my lane. I honestly gave up on explaining something so simple to them, it was almost like they just wanted to be blind to it and not take m Read more

They were very rude on the phone and did not want to fight my case although the dash cam footage shows my car in my lane.

I honestly gave up on explaining something so simple to them, it was almost like they just wanted to be blind to it and not take my case the legal route.

My advice is don’t waste your money and insure with them, you’re better of paying an extra premium with another insurer and trying your luck elsewhere.

Reviewed on 30th May 2022
Zakeel Abdin-Monium's avatar
Zakeel Abdin-Monium
Write a review

Home Insurance

Disappointed

Our cats damaged three carpets, so we made a claim. We didn’t want to replace with carpet because it will only happen again. It cost us £250 excess, and now we have exactly £542 to replace carpets in two rooms and on the landing with lino. We’re only g Read more

Our cats damaged three carpets, so we made a claim. We didn’t want to replace with carpet because it will only happen again. It cost us £250 excess, and now we have exactly £542 to replace carpets in two rooms and on the landing with lino. We’re only going to be about £800 short and I suspect they will load our policy next year. I’m sure other companies are the same, but two carpets were only a few months old. I’m not impressed, and all because we don’t want to replace with like-for-like (and claim again inside a year).

Reviewed on 22nd May 2022
DebH's avatar
DebH
Write a review

Home Insurance

Same old insurance story

LV covers my household insurance. I had a leak from the skylight into the kitchen but because this happened ‘over a period of time’ as opposed to a one off event ( not true - It was a number of one off events) I was told i was not covered. I have had to Read more

LV covers my household insurance. I had a leak from the skylight into the kitchen but because this happened ‘over a period of time’ as opposed to a one off event ( not true - It was a number of one off events) I was told i was not covered. I have had to pay for my ceiling to be repainted the skylight to be mended the leak to be blocked & the decking that was above it to be replaced because it had rotted due to the leak. I thought LV was different and trusted them – it turns out that, as usual, you pay the premiums and they refuse to pay out on your policy when you need them. Always finding a way to squirm out of paying out. I have cancelled my polucy.

Reviewed on 20th May 2022
Emma Henderson's avatar
Emma Henderson
Write a review

Home Insurance

Poor customer service experienced

After receiving a renewal letter for my home insurance I noticed that some of the details were incorrect. I phoned LV to be kept on hold for a considerable amount of time whilst the member of staff tried to get some advice. When he finally came back to me Read more

After receiving a renewal letter for my home insurance I noticed that some of the details were incorrect. I phoned LV to be kept on hold for a considerable amount of time whilst the member of staff tried to get some advice. When he finally came back to me he said they were cancelling my policy from that moment. No care, support or advice given, despite the fact they could hear I was very shocked. I have been a valued customer for many years and felt very badly treated!

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
gilcatherine's avatar
gilcatherine
Write a review

Home Insurance

If I could give you zero I would

My advice would be never go near this company. My parents are both nearly 80 and are in poor health found this out the hard way. A Leaking upstairs toilet, through to the ceiling. Several people came with different views, parents were given the option of Read more

My advice would be never go near this company. My parents are both nearly 80 and are in poor health found this out the hard way. A Leaking upstairs toilet, through to the ceiling. Several people came with different views, parents were given the option of paying for the bathroom tiles to be changed which would of cost them their £500 excess and a 50% contribution, the area is under 1 ms and they had 33 SPARE yes spare tiles so they said no, because they couldn’t afford it, LV agreed that the area could be re-tiled using existing tiles and the spares. First the kitchen ceiling was coated, not repaired. Next the toilet was removed, a new cistern fitted, original was slim line and whilst old was of good quality, what went back was neither, the toilet now being 9” further into the room, this left enough room for Dad to walk sideways with his sticks between the sink and toilet, LV agreed to change the cistern back to a slim line, the toilet had now been fitted at an angle, laughable if my mom wasnt stood there crying and saying sorry. 2 weeks then Gelder supervisor finally visited and said “I know it looks bad but it’s only 10mm” refitted and again another day of disruption, keep in mind my parents are nearly 80, Dad has terminal cancer and mom suffers with nerves.
Again I visited on the weekend, next was tiling, pieces of cardboard from toilet role and pizza box’s had been used as spacers, none of the joints matched, the tiles were kicked out at the tops, sides, bottoms and gaps were between 2mm and 10mm, the tiles appeared to have been cut with a bread knife and the tile edges were snapped and the corners not even 45 degree joints, Gelder supervisor came out and said “I know it’s not his best work, but it might hide it when it’s grouted” he finally agreed to send round his tiler to redo the job, when I asked who the hell had done this then if it wasn’t his tiler he told me it was the plumber as the tiler was busy. A few days later, Gino a great guy came to look at it, called the Gelder group office and said it was the worst tiling job he had seen in 30 years, he then asked them to find out where the plumber had put the 33 spare tiles to which the reply “he errr used them all” he fought our corner for us for an hour with Gelder group, explained that this could not be redone and the standard was appalling. Gelder promptly passed it back to LV to deal with, after weeks of ignored emails finally insisted on sending a company round called “Magic Man” who could repair broken tiles and rebuild tiles that were cut short, they had ever confidence “we would hardly notice" The results:“no chance at all, never seen a job that bad and I’ve seen a few, who’s done that?" We were then offered a compromise,“how about we get some white tiles and make a feature out of that part of the wall?”the next compromise was “we noticed you had spare kitchen tiles, can we use those, I know the colour and size is different but if we mix them in it will look ok” we insisted on a retiling . We now choose our own contractor, LV agreed, they offered was £2100 for everything, this includes putting the leaking toilet right (still leaking a year on) replacing the floor, replastering and new tiles, the bathroom has to come out for tiling, shower, radiator, toilet, sink
We had two quotes from bathroom fitters, around £4,500.
For months now LV have delayed making a final decision on paying out, full of sympathy but it’s going from person to person, dept to dept.
“there were mistakes on both parts”, my parents mistake being they couldn’t make up their minds quickly, partly because they are old and partly because that many different people came that told them different things they got confused to hell, the other mistake according to LV was my parents didn’t want to pay the excess or 50% contribution because of upheaval and finances, of course they wouldn’t?? Who would when you have a 1ms area and 33 spare tiles!!
An unfortunate case of “their old, don’t worry about it”
Think about this story before you take out a policy with this company.

Reviewed on 15th February 2022
Matt C's avatar
Matt C
Write a review

Equity Release

Fairly efficient poor penalty computation

No automatic product switch Available Had to start again from scratch and do everything over

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
David Kass's avatar
David Kass
Write a review

Home Insurance

Best home insurance we have had

Great customer service when making a claim. Excellent at restoring contents and property with great tradesmen.

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
WendyS 's avatar
WendyS
Write a review

Car Insurance

Absolutely no problems here.

First-class website: can view policies online and download documents if necessary. Phone support was excellent - English-speaking and very helpful. AAAA++++

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Labrador McGraw's avatar
Labrador McGraw
Write a review

Car Insurance

Best in The U.K.

Best company to be with.Reliable,trustworthy,and honest.

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
Nigel Parker's avatar
Nigel Parker
Write a review

Home Insurance

HIUGE PRICE INCREASE NO EXPLANATION

Had a 20% price uplift, no claims and no explanation, despite numerous contacts who promised a response that never came. Used to be a caring company but management changes give me the strong impression that they are living off a old reputation.

Reviewed on 30th September 2021
Peter Gittings's avatar
Peter Gittings
Write a review