Voting in the British Bank Awards is now open! Share your feedback & enter our £1,000 prize draw.Vote now

AA Reviews

Ratings based on 168 reviews Last review 1 day ago
3.63 / 5Great overall rating

AA insurance reviews can help you to find out what other AA insurance customers have to say about one of the UK's best known insurance providers. At Smart Money People, our mission is to increase trust and transparency in financial services and by...

Read Full Description

AA insurance reviews can help you to find out what other AA insurance customers have to say about one of the UK's best known insurance providers. At Smart Money People, our mission is to increase trust and transparency in financial services and by reading and writing reviews, you can help this to happen!

5 69
4 39
3 16
2 6
1 34

Your AA Reviews (168)

Write a review
13th November 2018

WASTE OF TIME, AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Approved online instantly so I decided to go with them and wait 5 days for some paper work to be sent via post. Upon waiting, I received the documents and signed same day and uploaded on their website. I received an email a few days later stating...

Read more

Approved online instantly so I decided to go with them and wait 5 days for some paper work to be sent via post. Upon waiting, I received the documents and signed same day and uploaded on their website. I received an email a few days later stating every check has been firmly carried out and we will receive the money within 3 days, I call them up on the 4th day upon waiting and say said we haven't been accepted, WASTE OF TIME! I put down a deposit on a car which is now gone due to these time wasters and liars! AVOIDDD

Write a review
23rd October 2018

Mihai-Claudiu

I got a free 1 year cover when I purchased my...

Read more

I got a free 1 year cover when I purchased my car.

When I started, AA told me if I pay extra 5£/month I would get the 11£ option from their website.
I started paying monthly 5£ and on 22/10/18 I made a call to pay the remaining 8-9 months left, all at once.
They said I need to cancel the active one and they will create a new one with the same options and I can pay for the full year

But the new option was for 150+£ a year , so they almoust triple it.
When I told them to cancel everything, them made me an "one time offer" for 99£/year +10£(to end the year without continuing)

Just seen now on their website that it's the actual offer they have for everyone 99£/year or 11£/month
So, basically I was getting a higher price. Nice way to treat customers.

To confirm, I took the 99£ deal on the and I am an active customer as we speak.
Unless I get cancelled for this honest review.

Write a review
21st September 2018

Great Product & Service

With 3 weeks to my due date, I did a bit of homework online to see what alternative prices were out there for my house insurance. With this information I called The AA and we talked through the options and I managed to negotiate a saving on just over...

Read more

With 3 weeks to my due date, I did a bit of homework online to see what alternative prices were out there for my house insurance. With this information I called The AA and we talked through the options and I managed to negotiate a saving on just over 20% on the new premiums. I am here to say it is worth haggling with your current Insurer, and The AA were most professional and keen to keep me as a long standing Client.

Write a review
27th August 2018

SCAMMERS DO NOT EVEN WASTE YOUR TIME SHAMEFUL CORPORATE BEHAVIOUR

ont waste your money! Life Draining service to say the least first and foremost i urge anyone who is considering AA home insurance to pay a little extra and use a more reliable honest and understanding...

Read more

ont waste your money! Life Draining service to say the least first and foremost i urge anyone who is considering AA home insurance to pay a little extra and use a more reliable honest and understanding firm.

Have home and contents insurance with AA who have supposedly brokered it to another company which is fine however do you not do due diligence on any of these rogue firms, trident claims is an absoloute shack of a company and from the onset it has become the most difficult endevour of my life. I am a pensioner and you are making my life utterly miserable. We had a leak in our home and firstly tried to call them but the offices were closed circa 10 days ago, since then i have been messed around firstly we had a long list of questions and i was asked five times if i wanted to make a claim like it was some sort of crime to claim on your home insurance, every reply i gave was replied with an element of doubt.

Then i was told i had died some years ago which is alarming when i am on the phone he was adamant that his checks showed i passed away twenty years ago, then he said i had a CCJ against my name, i have immaculate credit and was startled pre bank holiday so he fobbed me off sayign someone would call me back

How can i have a CCJ 18 years after i had supposedly passed away its almost like they were making it up as they go along, all we wanted is for someone to come fix our ceiling!

Having done several credit checks etc it transpires there is no CCJ or any record of one being open or closed in the last 35 years against me so that was a complete lie, they keep telling me that its with some team doing validation checks! What checks are you doing exactly, they just bluffing and buying time so they dont have to send an engineer out or pay out against the claim, shame on the AA board members i would name them but is easy to find online, your running the biggest sham company in the UK, take your money provide no service dont pay out. Dont buy any form of insurance from AA because you will never get any recompense.

You have been warned AA is more like DD Diabolical and disgraceful

Write a review
11th August 2018

Not fit for purpose. 6 1/2 hrs & waiting...

We've now been sat here waiting for vehicle recovery for 6 1/2 hours... They've now told us, after changing their time guesstimate 3 times already, that they will be at least another hour. These phone calls have no relation to the app estimations...

Read more

We've now been sat here waiting for vehicle recovery for 6 1/2 hours... They've now told us, after changing their time guesstimate 3 times already, that they will be at least another hour. These phone calls have no relation to the app estimations either. The lady on the end of the phone was next to useless and put us down as being on a completely different road about 100 miles away from where we actually are. We've also told them that I have a disability and need to get home a.s.a.p because of this. They've now told us to leave the vehicle with the keys in it and get a taxi home! No one should have to wait this long, and to think we are paying for this service - gold membership too! Not for much longer! We won't be renewing our membership, that's for sure. They are not honouring their side of the deal whatsoever.

Write a review
19th July 2018

Dreadful treatment. No recovery. Use a different company.

As I write it is near midnight. I'm waiting for an urgent recovery phoned in at 6.20pm. I explained clearly that my motorbike was unsafe to ride and I needed recovery. 2 hours later someone who knew nothing about bikes turned up, without a recovery...

Read more

As I write it is near midnight. I'm waiting for an urgent recovery phoned in at 6.20pm. I explained clearly that my motorbike was unsafe to ride and I needed recovery. 2 hours later someone who knew nothing about bikes turned up, without a recovery van. I used my own tools and had to show him where the battery was. He couldn't even get it off its stand.
Recovery was initially estimated another 2 hours later, and this was then moved to 5am the following day!!
Despite calls to the AA letting them know I was a woman on my own, in the dark and did not feel safe. Several phone calls later this estimate was moved to 11pm.
Eventually I abandoned the bike, leaving keys to be collected. Some other idiot has just turned up at the breakdown site and says he can't load the bike onto the trailer.
I've just been told the new estimate is 48 hours, because I'm not with the bike now, despite being advised to leave it for my own safety and being assured it would be recovered by 11pm.
So, after hours of shifting estimates which meant I had to stay with the vehicle, without water, a toilet and a dwindling phone battery, my bike is now left, keys under the tank on a dangerous and busy road and it may or may not turn up sometime over the next two days.
Incompetence does not even begin to describe this bunch of clowns.
None of them care or communicate with each other, so each person you deal with is worse than useless and disdainful in their indifference.
I was not told when requesting recovery that they would not send a recovery van.
I was lied to about estimates.
I was not told that leaving would mean possibly waiting a further 48 hours.
I was told they had prioritised and outsourced the job as I was in a vulnerable position. That too was a lie.
To pay for something called a service, which does you the disservice of causing undue stress, wasting your time and complicating the situation at every turn, is an insult and a theft.
Things only got worse. Following a call for urgent recovery at 18.20 my motorbike was eventually dumped on the pavement outside my house, with no phone call, at 5am the next day! The top box was left not just unlocked but open, with a £200 helmet inside and the keys left with the bike without my permission. I had to push the bike to the nearest bay and start all over again to get it recovered to a garage.

Days later I'm waiting for a recovery to take my bike to a garage. The estimates are shifting...here we go again.

Write a review
5th July 2018

The AA credit card customer service is rubbish and steal your money

Unfortunately we overpaid our last statement and 6 weeks later we are still awaiting our money back all because Michael is not good typing in account numbers and sent our money to someone else’s bank account number. We are now going to have to go to a ...

Read more

Unfortunately we overpaid our last statement and 6 weeks later we are still awaiting our money back all because Michael is not good typing in account numbers and sent our money to someone else’s bank account number. We are now going to have to go to a solicitor and try to claim our money back. Please do not use this company as their customer service is rude and unhelpful and they steal your money. Very disappointed with such a large company and there procedures.

Write a review
26th May 2018

Absolute wrip off

i would not touch this insurance with a barge pole. them and the garage work together to rip people off. I had a perfectly good car and they decided to write it off along with Bodykraft their repairer who over estimate repairs big time. I will not be...

Read more

i would not touch this insurance with a barge pole. them and the garage work together to rip people off. I had a perfectly good car and they decided to write it off along with Bodykraft their repairer who over estimate repairs big time. I will not be having insurance through AA again and unless you have a AA approved repairer on your door step don't bother. mine was 55 miles away so I couldn't do anything about it hands tied.